DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 07/02/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application KR 10-2022-0030376, filed 03/11/2022 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (hereafter Jang, of record) US 20220272238 A1 in view of Park US 20230341650 A (of record), and further in alternative in view of Kuo et al. (hereafter Kuo, of record) US 20190181726 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) a camera module (camera actuator, e.g. 1000A, with 100 zoom, AF first actuator, and OIS 300 actuator, e.g. paragraphs [2-12, 13-30, 56-66, 110-120,122-151, 274-285]) comprising:
a housing configured to have an internal space (310 housing of 300, and housing/base 20 for 100 both with internal space, or integrated in housing body 315, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285, 330-345, 402-405], Figs. 1-3, 18-20, 27);
a lens module disposed in the internal space, and comprising a plurality of lenses arranged in an optical axis direction (i.e. as lens module 110-120 in space of 1000A, 20 with lenses and movable in optical z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20);
a reflective module (i.e. prism unit 330 of 300, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151], Figs. 1-3), disposed in front of the lens module, and comprising a reflective member and a holder provided with the reflective member mounted thereon (330 in front of lens module 110-120 in 100, with prism 331 and prism mover/holder 333, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151], Figs. 1-3);
a driving unit configured to move the lens module in the optical axis direction or configured to rotate the reflective module in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction, as a rotation axis (i.e. as driving unit(s) 141,142 for zoom/AF moving 110 and 120 along Z-axis for zooming/AF, and OIS 300 actuator driving unit 320 for rotating/tilting prism in 330 along first and second axis, e.g. paragraphs [13-30, 56-66, 110-120,122-151,197, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20); and
a cover coupled to the housing (as 100C is cover for all 1000A, and cover 301 of 300, e.g. 110-120,122-151, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20),
wherein the driving unit comprises a plurality of position sensors (i.e. as hall position sensors 71,72, disposed inside the coil/windings of 141-142 and 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and thus along the same Y-direction perpendicular to the ground, and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2),
a plurality of magnets, and a plurality of coils disposed in the housing to face the plurality of magnets, respectively (i.e. as magnets/coils 322M1-2, 323M1-2, facing coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 for OIS in 300, and magnets/coils 116, 126 facing 141, 142, coils, e.g. paragraphs [122-152, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-24),
wherein the plurality of coils are disposed to be closer to a first surface of the cover facing a bottom surface of the housing than to the bottom surface of the housing in a first direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (as e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 are disposed in housing holes 311H1-3 which are slightly closer to the first (top facing housing 310 bottom) surface of 301 (or 100C) cover than to the bottom surface of 310 i.e. outer/bottom surface, i.e. in Y-axis direction, as best depicted in Figs. 6-7,8,2 and also when integrated due to thickness of base part of housing 310 and 315 all coils 322,323,141,142 are closer to cover than to bottom surface of 315, e.g. Figs/ 1-2, 9b, 27, e.g. paragraphs [185-189, 169-173, 402-403]),
wherein at least one of the plurality of coils (coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 ) is disposed offset in the first direction toward the cover from a center of a magnet disposed on the holder (i.e. as at least due to shapes of coil(s) 322C2 that is offset towards top surface of 301 from a center of 322C2, as it is roughly flush with top side of magnet 322M2 which is longer and extends more in Y axis direction as best depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]; and also given shapes as e.g. 323C2 is offset towards top surface of 301, as it extends further above magnet 323M2 towards top surface of 301, as best depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]), and
wherein the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as hall position sensors 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2 spaced from the bottom surface of 310 in Y-direction perpendicular to the ground and optical z-axis direction , and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2).
In the alternative that the descriptions and figure(s) of Jang do not clearly describe at least one of the coils being offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet (given the depictions of shapes of coil(s) 322C2 offset towards top surface of 301 from a center of 322C2, depicted in Fig. 4a; and also given shapes as e.g. 323C2 offset towards top surface of 301, as it extends further above magnet 323M2 towards top surface of 301, depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]), the limitation is still obvious over Kuo. As Kuo teaches in the same field of invention of camera lens system and driving mechanism (see Figs. 1-9, title, abstract, paragraphs [04-26, 52-62, 68-71]), and further teaches that at least one of the coils being offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet (i.e. as coils e.g. C22, C1, C11 are offset towards a cover from a center of magnet(s) M3, M1, respectively, see arrangements in Figs. 3-8 in order to prevent magnetic interference between different driving mechanism, see paragraphs [52-62, 68-71], Figs. 3-9). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust position of at least one of the coils of Jang to be offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet in camera actuator of Jung according to teachings of Kuo in order to prevent magnetic interference between different driving mechanism, (see Kuo, paragraphs [60,62, 68-71]).
But Jang is silent that the position sensors (two or more of 71,72, 324) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. between coils e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and housing 310, 315 bottom surface, as e.g. hall sensor(s) 324 are inside any of the coil 322C1-2, 323C1-2 along the Y-axis direction perpendicular to the ground/bottom surface of 310 while still being spaced from the bottom surface of 310, see paragraphs [131-132,15-151], e.g. Figs. 4a-b).
However, Park teaches in same field of invention of a lens driving apparatus, camera module and optical device (see e.g. Figs. 1-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,5-13,26-27,92-100345, 351-359,365-374,377-387]) and further teaches that the position sensor (170) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. as position sensor 170 is disposed between the coil 120 and bottom surface of housing with base 140,210 along the z-axis direction perpendicular to the ground such that 170 is closer to bottom surface of 140,210 than to the cover 301 upper surface 300, as 170 is disposed in groove 214 of base 210 vertically or in z-direction directly below the coil 120, see paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387], as depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, thereby making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation), and where Park also teaches that the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as 170 is spaced from the bottom surface of housing 140,210, since 170 is embedded in the top surface of the housing 140, 170, but does not reach or penetrate the bottom surface of the housing 140,210, as clearly depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, paragraphs 345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement/positions of position sensors of Jang to be disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing such that their positions(s) are closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover along vertical direction perpendicular to the ground, while still remaining spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing according to teachings of Park, in order to making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation (see Park e.g. paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368]).
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the plurality of position sensors are configured to detect positions of the lens module and positions of the reflective module (i.e. as hall position sensors 71,72, disposed inside the coil/windings of 141-142 and 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2, sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, the Jang-Lee combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the driving unit ( 320, 141-142) comprises: a first driving unit comprising a first magnet and a first coil, and configured to rotate the reflective module with respect to the housing, by implementing a first axis, perpendicular to the optical axis, as a rotation axis (e.g. as 320 includes 2nd driving unit 323 with 2nd magnet/coil 323C1-2,323M1-2, to tilt prism unit 330 in X-axis direction parallel to ground i.e. rotation around Y-axis, with respect to 310, perpendicular to optical axis along z-axis, paragraphs [123, 131-151,148], Figs. 2-4);
a second driving unit comprising a second magnet and a second coil, and configured to rotate the reflective module with respect to the housing, by implementing a second axis, perpendicular to the optical axis, as a rotation axis (e.g. as 320 includes first driving unit 322 with first magnet/coil 322C1-2,322M1-2, to tilt prism unit 330 in Y-axis direction perpendicular to ground i.e. rotation around X-axis, with respect to 310, perpendicular to optical axis along z-axis, paragraphs [123, 131-151, 148], Figs. 2-4); and
a third driving unit comprising a third magnet and a third coil, and configured to move the lens module in the optical axis direction with respect to the housing (i.e. as 141,142 units moving lens module 110, 120 along Z-axis with magnets/coils 116, 126 and coils 141, 142, e.g. paragraphs [122-152, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-24).
Regarding claim 4, the Jang-Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the first magnet and the second magnet have a length in the first axis direction (i.e. as 323M1-2, 322M1-2 have length in Y-direction, Figs. 4a-b, paragraphs [122-152]), and the third magnet has a length in the optical axis direction (as 116,126 has length in z-axis direction, paragraphs [122-152, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-24).
Regarding claim 5, the Jang-Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the third magnet (116,126) is disposed to be closer to the cover, on the first surface of the cover facing the bottom surface of the housing, than the bottom surface of the housing, in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (i.e. given the 116,126 placement on 110, 120 inside 210,220 and 20, due to thickness of base 315, magnets are closer to top surface of cover 100C than bottom surface of base 315, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 20-24, 27, e.g. paragraphs [320-337, 402-403]).
Regarding claim 6, the Jang-Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the plurality of position sensors comprise: a first position sensor configured to face the first magnet (e.g. 324H2 facing 323 magnet, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150], Figs. 4b, 1-2); a second position sensor configured to face the second magnet (e.g. 324H1 facing 322 magnet, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150], Figs. 4b, 1-2); and a third position sensor configured to face the lens module (71 or 72 facing 110, 120, and with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, the Jang- Park e combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that a surface of the first magnet that faces the first coil is provided as a first polarity, a neutral region and a second polarity sequentially in the optical axis direction (as surface of 2nd magnet facing coil 323C1-2, 323M1-2, has magnet polarities N, S and middle, neutral region along optical axis along z-axis, paragraphs [123, 147-148, 233-243], as depicted in Figs. 3b-4b).
Regarding claim 8, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the first position sensor is configured to face the neutral region (e.g. 324H2 facing middle, neutral region of 323M magnet, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150], Figs. 4b).
Regarding claim 9, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that a surface of the second magnet that faces the second coil is provided as a first polarity, a first neutral region, a second polarity, a second neutral region, and a first polarity sequentially in the first axis direction (as surface of 1st magnet facing coil, i.e. 323C1-2, 323M1-2, has magnet polarities N, S and middle, neutral region along vertical Y-axis, paragraphs [123, 147-148, 233-243], as depicted in Figs. 3b-4b).
Regarding claim 10, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the second position sensor is configured to face the second neutral region (e.g. 324H1 facing middle, neutral region of 322M magnet, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150], Figs. 4b).
Regarding claim 11, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the cover is formed of a metal material that shields electromagnetic waves (i.e. as cover 301 is formed of metal material, paragraphs 118-119]).
Regarding claim 12, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that at least one of the housing and the reflective module comprises a first pulling magnet on surfaces that face each other in the optical axis direction (i.e. as housing 310 has puling magnet 360 facing reflective module 333 with magnetic 350 in optical z-axis direction, generating attractive force between the two, abstract, paragraphs [120-121, 178-179]), such that an attractive force acts between the housing and the reflective module in the optical axis direction (i.e. as attractive force is acting between 333,350 and 310, paragraphs [120-121, 178-179], Figs. 9a-10b).
Regarding claim 13, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the first pulling magnet is polarized in a longitudinal direction and a width direction (i.e. as best understood, due to attractive force 350 and/or 360 are polarized magnets such directions, paragraphs [120-121, 178-179, 193-199, 213-231], Figs. 9a-10b).
In regard to independent claim 16, Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) a camera module (camera actuator, e.g. 1000A, with 100 zoom, AF first actuator, and OIS 300 actuator, e.g. paragraphs [2-12, 13-30, 56-66, 110-120,122-151, 274-285]) comprising:
a housing having an upper surface and a bottom surface facing each other in a first direction (310 housing of 300, and housing/base 20 for 100 both with internal space, or integrated in housing body 315, with upper surface towards cover 301 and bottom opposite surface in first direction e.g. Y, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285, 330-345, 402-405], as depicted in Figs. 1-3, 18-20, 27);
a lens module (i.e. as lens module 110-120 in space of 1000A, 20 with lenses and movable in optical z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20) and a reflective module disposed in the housing (i.e. prism unit 330 of 300 in 310, 1000A, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151], Figs. 1-3), and configured to have at least one magnet mounted on a side thereof (i.e. as magnets/coils 322M1-2, 323M1-2, facing coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 for OIS in 300, and magnets/coils 116, 126 facing coils 141, 142, on side of 330, 110, 120 e.g. paragraphs [122-152, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-24);
a substrate disposed on a side surface of the housing and configured to have a plurality of coils mounted on a surface that faces an inside of the housing (drive control unit substrate 320, with coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 for OIS in 300, facing inside 310, also substrate circuit 410 on 20 with coils 141,142 facing inside 20, e.g. paragraphs [112, 122-152, 274-285], Figs. 3-4,10, 18-24); and
position sensors (i.e. as hall position sensors 71,72, disposed inside the coil/windings of 141-142 and 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2, sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2)
wherein the reflective module is configured to rotate with a first axis and a second axis, perpendicular to an optical axis direction, as rotation axes and OIS 300 actuator driving unit 320 for rotating/tilting prism in 330 along first (e.g. X) axis and second (Y) axis perpendicular to optical z-axis, e.g. paragraphs [13-30, 56-66, 110-120,122-151,197, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20);
wherein the plurality of magnets and the plurality of coils are disposed to face each other in a position that is closer to the upper surface of the housing than the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as magnets/coils 322M1-2, 323M1-2, facing coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 for OIS in 300, and magnets/coils 116, 126 facing coils 141, 142, face each in a position surface of 301 (or 100C) cover than to the outer bottom surface of 310, as e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2, facing magnets, are disposed in housing holes 311H1-3 which are slightly closer to the first (top facing housing 310 bottom) surface of 301 (or 100C) cover than to the bottom surface of 310 i.e. outer/bottom surface, i.e. in Y-axis direction, as best depicted in Figs. 6-7,8,2 and also when integrated due to thickness of base part of housing 310 and 315 all coils 322,323,141,142 facing magnets are closer to cover than to bottom surface of 315, e.g. Figs/ 2-4,9b, 27, e.g. paragraphs [122-152,185-189, 169-173, 274-285402-403]), and
wherein at least one of the plurality of coils (coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 ) is disposed offset in the first direction toward the upper surface of the housing from a center of a magnet disposed on the reflective module (i.e. as at least due to shapes of coil(s) 322C2 that is offset towards top surface of 310, 301 from a center of 322C2, as it is roughly flush with top side of magnet 322M2 which is longer and extends more in Y direction as best depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]; and also given shapes as e.g. 323C2 is offset towards top surface of 310, 301, as it extends further above magnet 323M2 towards top surface of 301, as best depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]), and
wherein the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as hall position sensors 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2 spaced from the bottom surface of 310 in Y-direction perpendicular to the ground and optical z-axis direction , and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2).
In the alternative that the descriptions and figure(s) of Jang do not clearly describe at least one of the coils being offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet (given the depictions of shapes of coil(s) 322C2 offset towards top surface of 310,301 from a center of 322C2, depicted in Fig. 4a; and also given shapes as e.g. 323C2 offset towards top surface of 301, as it extends further above magnet 323M2 towards top surface of 310, 301, depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]), the limitation is still obvious over Kuo. As Kuo teaches in the same field of invention of camera lens system and driving mechanism (see Figs. 1-9, title, abstract, paragraphs [04-26, 52-62, 68-71]), and further teaches that at least one of the coils being offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet (i.e. as coils e.g. C22, C1, C11 are offset towards a cover from a center of magnet(s) M3, M1, respectively, see arrangements in Figs. 3-8 in order to prevent magnetic interference between different driving mechanism, see paragraphs [52-62, 68-71], Figs. 3-9). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust position of at least one of the coils of Jang to be offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet in camera actuator of Jung according to teachings of Kuo in order to prevent magnetic interference between different driving mechanism, (see Kuo, paragraphs [60,62, 68-71]).
But Jang is silent that the position sensors (two or more of 71,72, 324) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. between coils e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and housing 310, 315 bottom surface, as e.g. hall sensor(s) 324 are inside any of the coil 322C1-2, 323C1-2 along the Y-axis direction perpendicular to the ground/bottom surface of 310, see paragraphs [131-132,15-151], e.g. Figs. 4a-b).
However, Park teaches in same field of invention of a lens driving apparatus, camera module and optical device (see e.g. Figs. 1-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,5-13,26-27,92-100345, 351-359,365-374,377-387]) and further teaches that the position sensor (170) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. as position sensor 170 is disposed between the coil 120 and bottom surface of housing with base 140,210 along the z-axis direction perpendicular to the ground such that 170 is closer to bottom surface of 140,210 than to the cover 301 upper surface 300, as 170 is disposed in groove 214 of base 210 vertically or in z-direction directly below the coil 120, see paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387], as depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 14, thereby making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation), and where Park also teaches that the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as 170 is spaced from the bottom surface of housing 140,210, since 170 is embedded in the top surface of the housing 140, 170, but does not reach or penetrate the bottom surface of the housing 140,210, as clearly depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, paragraphs 345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement/positions of position sensors of Jang to be disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing such that their positions(s) are closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover along vertical direction perpendicular to the ground, while still remaining spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing according to teachings of Park, in order to making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation (see Park e.g. paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (hereafter Jang) US 20220272238 A1 in view of Park US 20230341650 A (of record) and further in view of Lee et al. (hereafter Lee, of record) US 20200137274 A1, in alternative in view of Kuo et al. (hereafter Kuo, of record) US 20190181726 A1.
Regarding claim 14, the Jang- Park combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) at least one of the housing and the lens module (housing/base 20 for 100, and integrated in housing body 315, and lens module 110-120, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285, 330-345, 402-405], Figs. 1-3, 18-20,24- 27), but not that at least one of them comprises a second pulling magnet on surfaces that face each other in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction, such that an attractive force acts between the housing and the lens module in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (20 with 210,220 does include first/second yoke 141a,142a in combination with magnets 116,126, but not separate puling magnet, paragraphs [278,350-353], e.g. Figs. 20,24).
However, Lee teaches in same field of invention of a camera module (see Figs. 1-12, abstract, paragraphs [7-25, 61-74, 88-95,145-160]) and further teaches that at least one of the housing and the lens module comprises (1010 and/or lens module 1200(1210,1220,1230)) a second pulling magnet on surfaces that face each other in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction, such that an attractive force acts between the housing and the lens module in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (is as 1210, 1220 or 1230 includes puling magnet 1216 (or 1226,1236) generating attractive polling force with puling yoke 1016 (or 1017,1018) perpendicular to optical axis (z-axis direction), as depicted in Figs. 4-7, paragraphs [80-82, 140-143,151,161], in order to facilitate the driving of the first lens barrel).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and provide the lens module(s) and housing of Jang with ball bearings and guide portions, to include second puling magnet on lens module cooperating with yoke on housing according to teachings of Lee in order to facilitate the driving of the lens barrel in the optical axis direction (see Lee paragraphs [140-143,151,161]).
Regarding claim 15, the Jang-Park-Lee combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) that the second pulling magnet is polarized in a longitudinal direction and a width direction (i.e. as best understood, Jang in combination with Lee, due to attractive force 1216 (1226,1236 acting with yokes 141a,142a per combination 1016,1017,1018) are polarized magnets such directions, Lee, as polarization extends in such directions, paragraphs [80-82, 140-143,151,161], Jang, paragraphs [278,350-353], e.g. Figs. 20,24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 07/02/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that the cited prior art of Jung alone or in combination with Park or Kuo does not disclose new features of claims 1 and 16, namely that (1) “the position sensors are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover”
since neither Jung does not disclose such features as noted in the rejection, and since Park does not disclose the above limitation, as allegedly position sensor 170 in Park is not disposed between the coil 120 and the bottom surface of the housing along a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction such that the position sensor 170 is disposed closer to a bottom surface of the housing than the cover, since position sensor 170 and coil 120are disposed along the optical axis in lens driving apparatus of Park. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) as note in the rejection above, Jung teaches most of the limitations of claim 1 (and 16), as Jang teaches (see Figs. 1-28) a camera module (camera actuator, e.g. 1000A, with 100 zoom, AF first actuator, and OIS 300 actuator, e.g. paragraphs [2-12, 13-30, 56-66, 110-120,122-151, 274-285]) comprising:
a housing configured to have an internal space (310 housing of 300, and housing/base 20 for 100 both with internal space, or integrated in housing body 315, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285, 330-345, 402-405], Figs. 1-3, 18-20, 27);
a lens module disposed in the internal space, and comprising a plurality of lenses arranged in an optical axis direction (i.e. as lens module 110-120 in space of 1000A, 20 with lenses and movable in optical z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20);
a reflective module (i.e. prism unit 330 of 300, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151], Figs. 1-3), disposed in front of the lens module, and comprising a reflective member and a holder provided with the reflective member mounted thereon (330 in front of lens module 110-120 in 100, with prism 331 and prism mover/holder 333, e.g. paragraphs [110-120,122-151], Figs. 1-3);
a driving unit configured to move the lens module in the optical axis direction or configured to rotate the reflective module in a direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction, as a rotation axis (i.e. as driving unit(s) 141,142 for zoom/AF moving 110 and 120 along Z-axis for zooming/AF, and OIS 300 actuator driving unit 320 for rotating/tilting prism in 330 along first and second axis, e.g. paragraphs [13-30, 56-66, 110-120,122-151,197, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20); and
a cover coupled to the housing (as 100C is cover for all 1000A, and cover 301 of 300, e.g. 110-120,122-151, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-20),
wherein the driving unit comprises a plurality of position sensors (i.e. as hall position sensors 71,72, disposed inside the coil/windings of 141-142 and 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and thus along the same Y-direction perpendicular to the ground, and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2),
a plurality of magnets, and a plurality of coils disposed in the housing to face the plurality of magnets, respectively (i.e. as magnets/coils 322M1-2, 323M1-2, facing coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 for OIS in 300, and magnets/coils 116, 126 facing 141, 142, coils, e.g. paragraphs [122-152, 274-285], Figs. 1-3, 18-24),
wherein the plurality of coils are disposed to be closer to a first surface of the cover facing a bottom surface of the housing than to the bottom surface of the housing in a first direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction (as e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 are disposed in housing holes 311H1-3 which are slightly closer to the first (top facing housing 310 bottom) surface of 301 (or 100C) cover than to the bottom surface of 310 i.e. outer/bottom surface, i.e. in Y-axis direction, as best depicted in Figs. 6-7,8,2 and also when integrated due to thickness of base part of housing 310 and 315 all coils 322,323,141,142 are closer to cover than to bottom surface of 315, e.g. Figs/ 1-2, 9b, 27, e.g. paragraphs [185-189, 169-173, 402-403]),
wherein at least one of the plurality of coils (coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 ) is disposed offset in the first direction toward the cover from a center of a magnet disposed on the holder (i.e. as at least due to shapes of coil(s) 322C2 that is offset towards top surface of 301 from a center of 322C2, as it is roughly flush with top side of magnet 322M2 which is longer and extends more in Y axis direction as best depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]; and also given shapes as e.g. 323C2 is offset towards top surface of 301, as it extends further above magnet 323M2 towards top surface of 301, as best depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]), and
wherein the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as hall position sensors 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2 spaced from the bottom surface of 310 in Y-direction perpendicular to the ground and optical z-axis direction , and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2).
In the alternative that the descriptions and figure(s) of Jang do not clearly describe at least one of the coils being offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet (given the depictions of shapes of coil(s) 322C2 offset towards top surface of 301 from a center of 322C2, depicted in Fig. 4a; and also given shapes as e.g. 323C2 offset towards top surface of 301, as it extends further above magnet 323M2 towards top surface of 301, depicted in Fig. 4a, paragraphs [131-145,151-152]), the limitation is still obvious over Kuo. As Kuo teaches in the same field of invention of camera lens system and driving mechanism (see Figs. 1-9, title, abstract, paragraphs [04-26, 52-62, 68-71]), and further teaches that at least one of the coils being offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet (i.e. as coils e.g. C22, C1, C11 are offset towards a cover from a center of magnet(s) M3, M1, respectively, see arrangements in Figs. 3-8 in order to prevent magnetic interference between different driving mechanism, see paragraphs [52-62, 68-71], Figs. 3-9). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust position of at least one of the coils of Jang to be offset toward the cover from a center of a magnet in camera actuator of Jung according to teachings of Kuo in order to prevent magnetic interference between different driving mechanism, (see Kuo, paragraphs [60,62, 68-71]).
But Jang is silent that the position sensors (two or more of 71,72, 324) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. between coils e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and housing 310, 315 bottom surface, as e.g. hall sensor(s) 324 are inside any of the coil 322C1-2, 323C1-2 along the Y-axis direction perpendicular to the ground/bottom surface of 310 while still being spaced from the bottom surface of 310, see paragraphs [131-132,15-151], e.g. Figs. 4a-b).
However, Park teaches in same field of invention of a lens driving apparatus, camera module and optical device (see e.g. Figs. 1-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,5-13,26-27,92-100345, 351-359,365-374,377-387]) and further teaches that the position sensor (170) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. as position sensor 170 is disposed between the coil 120 and bottom surface of housing with base 140,210 along the z-axis direction perpendicular to the ground such that 170 is closer to bottom surface of 140,210 than to the cover 301 upper surface 300, as 170 is disposed in groove 214 of base 210 vertically or in z-direction directly below the coil 120, see paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387], as depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, thereby making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation), and where Park also teaches that the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as 170 is spaced from the bottom surface of housing 140,210, since 170 is embedded in the top surface of the housing 140, 170, but does not reach or penetrate the bottom surface of the housing 140,210, as clearly depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, paragraphs 345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement/positions of position sensors of Jang to be disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing such that their positions(s) are closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover along vertical direction perpendicular to the ground, while still remaining spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing according to teachings of Park, in order to making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation (see Park e.g. paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368]).
Specifically, Jung teaches that the driving unit comprises a plurality of position sensors (i.e. as hall position sensors 71,72, disposed inside the coil/windings of 141-142 and 324,324H1-2 inside 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and thus along the Y-axis direction perpendicular to the ground, and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2). Jang also teaches the new limitation where the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as hall position sensors 324,324H1-2 in 322C1-2, 323C1-2 spaced from the bottom surface of 310 in Y-direction perpendicular to the ground and optical z-axis direction , and providing sensing position 110, 120, and 330 with respective magnets, e.g. paragraphs [131-132, 150,339, 352-365], Figs. 4b, 24-25, 1-2). The above noted combination does not negate this limitation by somehow suggesting that the position sensors are in or on the bottom surface of the housing. As a matter of fact, Park expressly teaches also that the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as 170 is spaced from the bottom surface of housing 140,210, since 170 is embedded in the top surface of the housing 140, 170, but does not reach or penetrate the bottom surface of the housing 140,210, as clearly depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, paragraphs 345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387]).
As noted above, Jang is silent regarding the vertical exact placement of the sensors along the same vertical axis perpendicular to the ground, where the vertical axis is also perpendicular to the optical axis in Jang, and namely that that the position sensors (two or more of 71,72, 324) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. between coils e.g. coils 322C1-2, 323C1-2 and housing 310, 315 bottom surface, as e.g. hall sensor(s) 324 are inside any of the coil 322C1-2, 323C1-2 along the Y-axis direction perpendicular to the ground/bottom surface of 310, see paragraphs [131-132,15-151], e.g. Figs. 4a-b).
Hence, Park was used as Park teaches in same field of invention of a lens driving apparatus, camera module and optical device (see e.g. Figs. 1-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,5-13,26-27,92-100345, 351-359,365-374,377-387]) and further teaches that the position sensor (170) are disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing along the first direction such that the position sensors are disposed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover (i.e. as position sensor 170 is disposed between the coil 120 and bottom surface of housing with base 140,210 along the z-axis direction perpendicular to the ground such that 170 is closer to bottom surface of 140,210 than to the cover 301 upper surface 300, as 170 is disposed in groove 214 of base 210 vertically or in z-direction directly below the coil 120, see paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387], as depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, thereby making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation), and where Park also teaches that the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as 170 is spaced from the bottom surface of housing 140,210, since 170 is embedded in the top surface of the housing 140, 170, but does not reach or penetrate the bottom surface of the housing 140,210, as clearly depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, paragraphs 345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387]).
Thus, Park does teaches the recited vertical position and placement of the sensor relative to the coil, namely that the sensor 170 is below the coil and closer to the bottom surface of the base than to the cover along the first direction i.e. vertical direction perpendicular to the ground, as depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 14 (see e.g. plan view of Figs. 4A-B where 170 and 120 are aligned along the same vertical axis), while Park also teaches that the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing (i.e. as 170 is spaced from the bottom surface of housing 140,210, since 170 is embedded in the top surface of the housing 140, 170, but does not reach or penetrate the bottom surface of the housing 140,210, as clearly depicted in Figs. 1,4A-B, 11, 14, paragraphs 345, 351-359,365-368, 377-387]).
Hence it was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement/positions of position sensors of Jang to be disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing such that their positions(s) are closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover along vertical direction perpendicular to the ground, while still remaining spaced apart from the bottom surface of the housing according to teachings of Park, in order to making it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation (see Park e.g. paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368]). Moreover, as clearly presented above, the modification with Park does not involve positioning with respect to optical axis, since that positioning is already disclosed in primary reference of Jang, which teaches the optical axis is the axis of the lens module that is separate from the reflective module. Specifically, the vertical axis and direction are relevant directions of separation between the recited elements above, given that the vertical direction separates the first (top) surface of the cover from the bottom surface of the housing or the base in such vertical direction, as the shared characteristic of both Jang and Park.
Applicant’s arguments of the unworkability of the combination, due to teachings of Park reference appear to be based on a literal application of the entire actual structure of Park lens driving apparatus to the actual structure of camera actuator of Jang. However, that is not the proper standard for the analysis required under 35 USC 103(a). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Keller at 881, goes on to revisit the long history of the U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals (CCPA) regarding the nature of suggestion established by the combined teachings of the references rather than the actual results of a physical, bodily incorporation: To justify combining reference teachings in support of a rejection it is not necessary that a device shown in one reference can be physically inserted into the device shown in the other. In re Griver, 53 CCPA 815, 354, F.2d 377, 148 USPQ 197 (1966); In re Billingsley, 47 CCPA 1108, 279 F.2d 689, 126 USPQ 370 (1960). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wood, 599 F.2d 1032, 202 USPQ 171 (CCPA 1979); In re Passal, 57 CCPA 1151, 426 F.2d 828, 165 USPQ 720 (1970); In re Richman, 57 CCPA 1060, 424 F.2d 1388, 165 USPQ 509 (1970); In re Rosselet, 52 CCPA 1533, 347 F.2d 847, 146 USPQ 183 (1965).
The structure taught in the combined teachings of the references, as set forth above, is a proper combination. Because the structure of the combined system is the same as that claimed, it must inherently perform the same function of magnet coil actuator with the magnetic sensor being displaced outside the coil and placed closer to the bottom surface of the housing than to the cover (i.e. top) surface . See MPEP § 2112.01. Moreover, Applicant’s argument that the term vertical direction is irrelevant is not persuasive. As already presented above, the descriptions and the claim introduce the structure with the cover and the housing, where the housing has the bottom surface and the cover has the first or top surface. Such structural arrangement introduces top to bottom sense of direction which is normally associated with vertical direction. Thus the sense of directionality for the positions of coil and magnet sensor was considered in such top-bottom direction in both the primary reference of Jang and in Park reference. The modification therefore places the magnetic position sensor outside the coils and between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing such that their positions(s) are closer to the bottom surface of the housing along the top to bottom or vertical direction. The vertical top to bottom direction is perpendicular to the optical axis defined by the lenses, as required by the claim limitations. As clearly presented above, the modification with Park does not involve positioning with respect to optical axis, since that positioning is already disclosed in primary reference of Jang.
Additionally, regarding Applicants statements that there is no reason for the combination, it is noted that the Examiner provided reason to combine (i.e., see above). Applicant has merely alleged that no reason was provided or no reason exists, and has not provided any evidence or argument directed to how the identified reason in the first action fails to meet the legal requirements of a reason to combine as set forth by KSR. Moreover, in response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The above rejection and the combination expressly states the reasoning for the modification that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement/positions of position sensors of Jang to be disposed between the coils and the bottom surface of the housing such that their positions(s) are closer to the bottom surface of the housing than the cover along vertical direction perpendicular to the ground according to teachings of Park, in order to make it possible to reduce influence of a magnetic field of the coil on the position sensor and to assure reliability of AF operation (see Park e.g. paragraphs [6-13, 26-27,345, 351-359,365-368]).
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that presumably the position sensors are spaced apart from the bottom plate or panel of the housing) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The bottom surface if the housing is take to mean the very bottom or external surface of the housing.
The same responses also apply for claim 16. Therefore Jung discloses most of the limitations in claims 1 and 16, and in combination with Park and Kuo, teaches and renders obvious all limitations in claims 1 and 16.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 7 of the Remarks dated 07/02/2026.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872