DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 12/02/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 7-16, and 21-25 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 2-6 and 17-20 have been cancelled.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous drawing objections set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 09/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1, 7-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “configured to communicate fluid into every channel of the thermal exchange plate” in claim 1, lines 9-10 is indefinite because it is unclear if every channel is the same or different from the plurality of channels previously recited. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “configured to communicate fluid into the plurality of channels of the thermal exchange plate”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “configured to collect fluid expelled from every channel of the thermal exchange plate” in claim 1, lines 10-11 is indefinite because it is unclear if every channel is the same or different from the plurality of channels previously recited. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “configured to collect fluid expelled the plurality of channels of the thermal exchange plate”.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “each thermal exchange plate includes a channel” in claim 7, line 4 is indefinite because it is unclear if the channel in claim 7 is one of the plurality of channels of the thermal exchange plate recited in claim 1 or a different channel. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “each thermal exchange plate includes a channel of the plurality of channels.
Further regarding claim 7, the recitation “the manifold assembly includes a plurality of inlet-side caps” in claim 7, line 7 is indefinite because it is unclear if the inlet cap recited in claim 1 is the same or different from the inlet-side cap. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “the manifold assembly includes a plurality of inlet-side caps wherein the inlet cap is one of the plurality of inlet-site caps”.
Further regarding claim 7, the recitation “the manifold assembly includes a plurality of outlet-side caps” in claim 7, line 9 is indefinite because it is unclear if the outlet cap recited in claim 1 is the same or different from the outlet-side caps. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “the manifold assembly includes a plurality of outlet-side caps wherein the outlet cap is one of the plurality of outlet-side caps”.
Regarding claim(s) 8-16 and 21, the claim(s) is/are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 7-10, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (Pub. No. CN 114497826 A).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a battery pack (10, Fig. 2, see [0084]), comprising: a battery array (all 200, Fig. 2 below, see [0084]) including a plurality of battery cells (200, Fig. 2, see [0084]); a thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], see Fig. 2 where the assembly includes 300, see Fig. 4 where 300 includes 370), wherein the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) includes a plurality of channels (372, Fig. 5, see [0087]) configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) from a first side (first side, Fig. 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) to a second side (second side, Fig. 5 below, see [0087] where 372 extends along the length of 370, in the x-direction, the x-direction seen in Fig. 4) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) opposite the first side (first side, Fig. 5 below, see first side opposite second side) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]); and a manifold assembly (manifold assembly, Fig. 2 below) including an inlet cap (310, Fig. 3, see [0087]) connected to the first side (first side, see Fig. 3/4 and 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) and an outlet cap (320, Fig. 3, see [0087]) connected to the second side (second side, Fig. 3/4 and 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]), wherein the inlet cap (310, Fig. 3, see [0087]) is configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) into every channel (372, Fig. 5, see [0087]) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087] where 310 communicates cooling fluid, see [0088] where the cooling liquid will flow into the liquid cooling channels 372), and wherein the outlet cap (320, Fig. 3, see [0087]) is configured to collect fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) expelled from every channel (372, Fig. 5, see [0087]) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) and to direct the collected fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) downstream of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], see [0089] shows a description of flow of fluid from 310 to 370 to 320, see [0087] and Fig. 4 where fluid flows into 330 and out of 360, therefore fluid collected by 320 would flow downstream through 360).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches wherein: the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) is one of a plurality of thermal exchange plates (all 370, Fig. 4, see [0087] where each 300 includes 370, see Fig. 9 below which gives a clearer exploded view of Fig. 2 shows a plurality of 300) of the battery pack (10, Fig. 2, see [0084]), each thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], each 300 is the same, therefore all the components overlap in citation number) includes a channel (372, Fig. 5, see [0087], each individual 372 is the channel and all 372 is the plurality) configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) from a first side (first side, Fig. 5 above) of the respective thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) to a second side (second side, Fig. 5 above, see [0087] where 372 extends along the length of 370, in the x-direction, the x-direction seen in Fig. 4) of the respective thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]), the manifold assembly (manifold assembly, Fig. 2 above) includes a plurality of inlet-side caps (all 310, Fig. 2 below, see [0087], all of the 310 are equivalent to a single 310), with each of the inlet-side caps (310, Fig. 2 below, see [0087]) connected to the first side (first side, Fig. 5 above) of a respective one of the thermal exchange plates (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], see Fig. 2 below where each plate 370 has a 310 connected to it), and the manifold assembly (manifold assembly, Fig. 2 below) includes a plurality of outlet-side caps (all 320, Fig. 2 below, see [0087]), with each of the outlet-side caps (320, Fig. 2 below, see [0087]) connected to the second side (second side, Fig. 5 above) of a respective one of the thermal exchange plates (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], see Fig. 2 below where each plate 370 has a 320 connected to it).
Regarding claim 8, Song teaches wherein: the battery pack (10, Fig. 2, see [0084]) further includes an enclosure assembly (100, Fig. 2, see [0084]) including an inlet (inlet, Fig. 2 above, the area in front of the inlet pipe is the inlet of the enclosure assembly) and an outlet (outlet, see Fig. 2 above, the area in front of the outlet side pipe is the outlet), the battery pack (10, Fig. 2, see [0084]) is configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087]) from the inlet (inlet, Fig. 2 above, the area in front of the inlet pipe is the inlet of the enclosure assembly) to the outlet (outlet, see Fig. 2 above, the area in front of the outlet side pipe is the outlet, see Fig. 2 diagram of cooling liquid below, see [0087-0088] and description of components above, liquid is configured to flow into pipes 400, see [00133] and into 310, across the plate and out of 320, where the pipe carries the cooling liquid to and from each 310 and 320), a first conduit assembly (all 400 on side of 310, Fig. 2, see [00133]) is configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087]) from the inlet (inlet, Fig. 2 above, the area in front of the inlet pipe is the inlet of the enclosure assembly) to each of the inlet-side caps (310, Fig. 2 below, see [0087], see cooling liquid flow path in Fig. 2 below the fluid flows to each 310, see [00133] where 400 connects between each adjacent 310), and a second conduit assembly (all 400 on 320 side, Fig. 2 below, see [00133]) is configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087]) from each of the outlet-side caps (all 320, Fig. 2 below, see [0087]) to the outlet (outlet, see Fig. 2 above, the area in front of the outlet side pipe is the outlet, see Fig. 2 diagram of cooling liquid below where the cooling flow path shows the flow of cooling liquid from the 320 to the area in front of the outlet, see [00133] where 400 is between each adjacent 320).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches wherein at least a portion (flange inserted, see [00133]) of the first conduit assembly (all 400 on side of 310, Fig. 2, see [00133]) is integrally formed with each of the inlet-side caps (310, Fig. 2 above, see [0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches wherein at least a portion (flange inserted, see [00133]) of the second conduit assembly (all 400 on 320 side, Fig. 2 below, see [00133]) is integrally formed with each of the outlet-side caps (320, Fig. 2 below, see [0087]).
Regarding claim 21, Song teaches wherein each of the plurality of channels (372, Fig. 5, see [0087]) extends through an entirety of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087] where 372 extends along the length of 370, in the x-direction, the x-direction seen in Fig. 4) from the first side (first side, Fig. 5 above) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) to the second side (second side, Fig. 5 above) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]).
Regarding claim 22, Song teaches Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a battery pack (10, Fig. 2, see [0084]), comprising: a battery array (all 200, Fig. 2 below, see [0084]) including a plurality of battery cells (200, Fig. 2, see [0084]); a thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], see Fig. 2 where the assembly includes 300, see Fig. 4 where 300 includes 370), wherein the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) includes a plurality of channels (372, Fig. 5, see [0087]) configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) from a first side (first side, Fig. 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) to a second side (second side, Fig. 5 below, see [0087] where 372 extends along the length of 370, in the x-direction, the x-direction seen in Fig. 4) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) opposite the first side (first side, Fig. 5 below, see first side opposite second side) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]); and a manifold assembly (manifold assembly, Fig. 2 below) including an inlet cap (310, Fig. 3, see [0087]) connected to the first side (first side, see Fig. 3/4 and 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) and an outlet cap (320, Fig. 3, see [0087]) connected to the second side (second side, Fig. 3/4 and 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]), wherein the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) and manifold assembly (manifold assembly, Fig. 2 below) are configured such that all fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) within the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) flows only in a direction (x direction from first side to second side, see Fig. 5 below) from the first side (first side, Fig. 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) to the second side (second side, Fig. 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087] where cooling liquid flows from first side to second side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (Pub. No. CN 114497826 A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Song ‘050 et al. (Pub. No. US 20240283050 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Song fails to teach wherein the battery array is a first battery array, and wherein a second battery array is within the enclosure assembly.
However, Song ‘050 teaches wherein the battery array (first battery array, see Fig. 3 below) is a first battery array (see Fig. 3 below, the first battery array is the first of two) and wherein a second battery array (second battery array, Fig. 3 below) is within the enclosure assembly (100, Fig. 2, see [0079], Fig. 3 is continuation of Fig. 2, enclosure surrounds all both battery arrays).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song such that the enclosure assembly is formed to accommodate the addition of a second battery array within the enclosure assembly as taught by Song ‘050 to improve the cooling effect for a battery cell in a battery (see [0005] of Song ‘050). Further Song teaches that modifications can be made (see [00140] of Song).
Regarding claim 12, Song in view of Song ‘050 fails to teach wherein the first battery array is vertically above the second battery array.
However, Song ‘050 teaches wherein the first battery array (first battery array, see Fig. 3 above) is vertically above the second battery array (second battery array, Fig. 3 above, further see rotated Fig. 3 below where 10 is oriented where the first battery array is vertically above the second battery array).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song in view of Song ‘050 such that 10 is oriented with the first battery array above the second battery array as further taught by Song ‘050 to improve the cooling effect for a battery cell in a battery (see [0005] of Song ‘050). Further Song in view of Song ‘050 teaches that modifications can be made (see [00140] of Song).
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Song ‘050 fails to teach wherein: the thermal exchange plates are first thermal exchange plates, the inlet-side caps are first inlet-side caps, the outlet-side caps are first outlet-side caps, a plurality of second thermal exchange plates are between some battery cells of the second battery array, each of the second thermal exchange plates includes a channel configured to communicate fluid from a first side of the second thermal exchange plate to a second side of the second thermal exchange plate, the manifold assembly includes a plurality of second inlet-side caps connected to the first side of a respective one of the second thermal exchange plates, and the manifold assembly includes a plurality of second outlet-side caps connected to the second side of a respective one of the second thermal exchange plates.
However, Song ‘050 teaches wherein: the thermal exchange plates (370, Fig. 4, see [0082], see Fig. 2 above, there are a plurality of first thermal exchange plates which are 370) are first thermal exchange plates (370, Fig. 4, see [0082], see Fig. 2 above, the first three thermal exchange plates are first thermal exchange plates), the inlet-side caps (see flow pattern of Fig. 4, flow begins from 310 cap, and exits on 320, therefore 310 is an inlet-side cap) are first inlet-side caps (see Fig. 2 above, the first 3 inlet-side caps are first inlet-side caps), the outlet-side caps (320, Fig. 4, see [0082], see the flow pattern in Fig. 4 ends at 320, therefore it is the outlet-side cap) are first outlet-side caps (see Fig. 2 above, first three outlet-side caps are first outlet-side caps), a plurality of second thermal exchange plates (370’, Fig. 4, see [0082], from here on ‘ will designate a component as “second” however Fig. 4 is representative of all the thermal exchange plates, and first vs second thermal exchange plates are differentiated by position, see Fig. 3 above there are two 370’ plates in between cells 200) are between some battery cells (200, Fig. 3 above, see [0080]) of the second battery array (second battery array, see Fig. 3 above the two 370’ are between 200 in the second battery array), each of the second thermal exchange plates (370’, Fig. 4, see [0082]) includes a channel (cooling channels, Fig. 4, see [0083]) configured to communicate fluid from a first side (310 side’, Fig. 4) of the second thermal exchange plate (370’, Fig. 4, see [0082]) to a second side (320 side’, Fig. 4) of the second thermal exchange plate (370’, Fig. 4, see [0082]), the manifold assembly (manifold assembly, see Fig. 2 above, the manifold assembly includes the portions labelled in Fig. 2 below on both sides) includes a plurality of second inlet-side caps (310’, see flow pattern of Fig. 4, flow begins from 310’, and exits on 320’, therefore 310’ is an inlet-side cap, see Fig. 2 above where the 310’ are part of the manifold assembly) connected to the first side (310 side’, Fig. 4) of a respective one of the second thermal exchange plates (370’, Fig. 4, see [0082]), and the manifold assembly (manifold assembly, see Fig. 2 above, the manifold assembly includes the portions labelled in Fig. 2 below on both sides) includes a plurality of second outlet-side caps (320’, Fig. 4, see [0082], see the flow pattern in Fig. 4 ends at 320, therefore it is the outlet-side cap, see Fig. 3 above) connected to the second side (320 side’, Fig. 4) of a respective one of the second thermal exchange plates (370’, Fig. 4, see [0082]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song in view of Song ‘050 such that the second battery array is formed using the same components as taught by Song in a structure as taught by Song ‘050 to improve the cooling effect for a battery cell in a battery (see [0005] of Song ‘050). Further Song in view of Song ‘050 teaches that modifications can be made (see [00140] of Song).
Regarding claim 14, Song in view of Song ‘050 fails to teach wherein: the first conduit assembly is configured to communicate fluid from the inlet to each of the second inlet-side caps, and the second conduit assembly is configured to communicate fluid from each of the second outlet-side caps to the outlet.
However, Song ‘050 further teaches wherein: the first conduit assembly (conduit pieces 400 connected on 310 side (310 side and 310 side’ are the same side of the manifold assembly), Fig. 5, and Fig. 3 above, see [0119]) is configured to communicate fluid from the inlet (inlet, Fig. 3 above) to each of the second inlet-side caps (310’, see flow pattern of Fig. 4, flow begins from 310’, and exits on 320’, therefore 310’ is an inlet-side cap, see [0119] 400 communicates fluid through 330’ and 340’ and also through 330 and 340 of each 310 and 310’, see [0117] flow of fluid description, and the second conduit assembly (conduit pieces 400 connected on the 320 side, Fig. 6, Fig. 3 above) is configured to communicate fluid from each of the second outlet-side caps (320’, Fig. 4, see [0082], see the flow pattern in Fig. 4 ends at 320, therefore it is the outlet-side cap, see Fig. 3 above) to the outlet (outlet, see Fig. 3 above, see [0119] 400 communicates fluid through 350’ and 360’ and also through 350 and 360 of each 320’ and 320 respectively, see flow of fluid described in [0117]) and wherein at least a portion of the first conduit assembly (conduit pieces 400 connected on 310 side (310 side and 310 side’ are the same side of the manifold assembly), Fig. 5, and Fig. 3 above, see [0119]) is integrally formed with each of the second inlet-side caps (310’, see flow pattern of Fig. 4, flow begins from 310’, and exits on 320’, therefore 310’ is an inlet-side cap, see Fig. 5 where 400 is integrated in with and between each 310’), and wherein at least a portion of the second conduit assembly (conduit pieces 400 connected on the 320 side (320 side and 320’ side are the same side of the manifold assembly), Fig. 6, Fig. 3 above) is integrally formed with each of the second outlet-side caps (320’, Fig. 4, see [0082], see the flow pattern in Fig. 4 ends at 320, therefore it is the outlet-side cap, see Fig. 6 above where 400 is integrated with and between each 320’).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song in view of Song ‘050 such that a portion of the 400 on the 310 side are integrally formed with the second inlet-side caps, and wherein a portion of 400 on the 320 side are integrally formed with each of the second outlet-side caps, and wherein 400 are configured to communicate cooling liquid from the inlet to each second inlet-side caps, and from second outlet-side caps and the outlet as taught by Song ‘050 to improve the cooling effect for a battery cell in a battery (see [0005] of Song ‘050). Further Song in view of Song ‘050 teaches that modifications can be made (see [00140] of Song).
Regarding claim 15, Song in view of Song ‘050 teaches wherein at least a portion of the first conduit assembly (all 400 on side of 310, Fig. 2, see [00133]) is integrally formed with each of the second inlet-side caps (310’, see flow pattern of Fig. 4, flow begins from 310’, and exits on 320’, therefore 310’ is an inlet-side cap, see Fig. 5 where 400 is integrated in with and between each 310’ of Song ‘050, see modifications above).
Regarding claim 16, Song in view of Song ‘050 teaches wherein at least a portion of the second conduit assembly (all 400 on 320 side, 320 and 320’ introduced above are on the same side, Fig. 2 above, see [00133]) is integrally formed with each of the second outlet-side caps (320’, Fig. 4, see [0082], see the flow pattern in Fig. 4 ends at 320, therefore it is the outlet-side cap, see Fig. 6 above where 400 is integrated with and between each 320’, see Song ‘050, see modifications above).
6. Claim(s) 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (Pub. No. CN 114497826 A) in view of Ju et al. (Pub. No. US 20180183119 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Song teaches a battery pack (10, Fig. 2, see [0084]), comprising: a battery array (all 200, Fig. 2, see [0084]) including a plurality of battery cells (200, Fig. 2, see [0084]); a thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087], see Fig. 2 where the assembly includes 300, see Fig. 4 where 300 includes 370), including a channel (372, Fig. 5, see [0087]) configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) from a first side (first side, Fig. 5 below) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) to a second side (second side, Fig. 5 below, see [0087] where 372 extends along the length of 370, in the x-direction, the x-direction seen in Fig. 4) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) opposite the first side (first side, Fig. 5 below, see first side opposite second side) of the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]); and a manifold assembly (manifold assembly, Fig. 2 below) configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) into the channel (372, Fig. 5, see [0087] where 310 communicates cooling fluid, see [0088] where the cooling liquid will flow into the liquid cooling channels 372). however, Song fails to teach wherein the first side of the thermal exchange plate is arranged adjacent a first side of a first battery cell of the plurality battery cells and the second side of the thermal exchange plate is arranged adjacent a second side of the first battery cell such that a dimension of the first battery cell between the first side of the first battery cell and the second side of the first battery cell is substantially equal to a dimension of the thermal exchange plate between the first side of the thermal exchange plate and the second side of the thermal exchange plate.
However, Ju teaches wherein the first side (first side, Fig. 6 below) of the thermal exchange plate (First 12, Fig. 6 below, see [0059] note that the term first and second are just used to designate different specific versions of components) is arranged adjacent a first side (first side, Fig. 6 below, first side of 21 is the same side as first side of 12) of a first battery cell (First 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) of the plurality battery cells (all 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) and the second side (second side, Fig. 6 below) of the thermal exchange plate (first 12, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) is arranged adjacent a second side (second side, Fig. 6 below, the second side of 12 and 21 are the same) of the first battery cell (first 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) such that a dimension of the first battery cell (First 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) between the first side (first side, Fig. 6 below, first side of 21 is the same side as first side of 12) of the first battery cell (First 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) and the second side (second side, Fig. 6 below) of the first battery cell (First 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) is substantially equal to a dimension of the thermal exchange plate (first 12, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) between the first side (first side, Fig. 6 below, first side of 21 is the same side as first side of 12) of the thermal exchange plate (first 12, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) and the second side (second side, Fig. 6 below) of the thermal exchange plate (first 12, Fig. 6 below, see [0059] see in Fig. 6 below the length between the first side and second side of 12 and 21 are substantially equal) the battery array (first/second/third 21, Fig. 6 below) includes a second battery cell (second 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) adjacent the first battery cell (First 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059], see in Fig. 6 below where first and second 21 are adjacent to each other), wherein a thermal exchange plate is not present between the first (First 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]) and second battery cells (second 21, Fig. 6 below, see [0059]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song such the battery cells 200 between each 370 are formed and positioned as taught by Ju to reduce the number of components and assembly processes (see [0008] of Ju). Further Song teaches that modifications can be made (see [00140] of Song).
Regarding claim 24, Song in view of Ju teaches wherein: the battery array (all 200, Fig. 2, see [0084]) includes a second battery cell (second 21, Fig. 6 above, see [0059] of Ju, see modification above where the 200 are arranged as taught by Ju) adjacent the first battery cell (first 12, Fig. 6 above, see [0059] of Ju, see modification above where the cells 200 are arranged as taught by Ju), the battery pack (all 200, Fig. 2, see [0084]) includes a second thermal exchange plate (second 370, Fig. 2 above, see [0087]) including a channel (372, Fig. 5 above, see [0087], note the first and second 370 are the same in configuration therefore they have the same channels and sides) configured to communicate fluid (cooling liquid, see [0087] where 372 is a liquid cooling channel, therefore the liquid flowing is the cooling liquid) from a first side (first side, Fig. 5 above) of the second thermal exchange plate (second 370, Fig. 2 above, see [0087]) to a second side (second side, Fig. 5 above, see [0087] where 372 extends along the length of 370, in the x-direction, the x-direction seen in Fig. 4) of the second thermal exchange plate (second 370, Fig. 2 above, see [0087]) opposite the first side (first side, Fig. 5 above, see first side opposite second side) of the second thermal exchange plate (second 370, Fig. 2 above, see [0087]), and the first (first 12, Fig. 6 above, see [0059] of Ju, see modification above where the cells 200 are arranged as taught by Ju) and second battery cells (second 21, Fig. 6 above, see [0059] of Ju, see modification above where the 200 are arranged as taught by Ju) are arranged between the thermal exchange plate (370, Fig. 4, see [0087]) and the second thermal exchange plate (second 370, Fig. 2 above, see [0087], see modification above where the 200 are arranged between each 370 in a set of three as taught by Ju above).
Regarding claim 25, Song in view of Ju teaches wherein a thermal exchange plate is not present between the first (first 12, Fig. 6 above, see [0059] of Ju, see modification above where the cells 200 are arranged as taught by Ju) and second battery cells (second 21, Fig. 6 above, see [0059] of Ju, see modification above where the 200 are arranged as taught by Ju, see modification above for not thermal exchange plate between battery cells).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments, see Page 1, lines 9-19 and Page 2, lines 1-3, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claim 7 and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 7-8 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 22, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination or interpretation of references of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723