Uy DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-21 are pending
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are cancelled
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 and 19 have been amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 1/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drouin; Mathew (US Publication #US 20220128382 A1; hereinafter Drouin) in view of Haraguchi; Kazuma et al. (US patent # US 9778073 B2; hereinafter Haraguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Drouin teaches
An apparatus (par.26 and FIG. 1, an inductive position sensor system 10), comprising:
a sampling circuit (fig.1 sampling and conversion circuit 30) to sample input from a sensor circuit (position sensor interface circuit 28), the input including a cosine coil waveform and a sine coil waveform (figs.2-3 show a cosine coil waveform and a sine coil waveform), the sampling circuit to generate a cosine coil sampled data stream and a sine coil sampled data stream (par.51 “the system 500 can generate quadrature sine and cosine output signals” teach a cosine coil sampled data stream and a sine coil sampled data stream; par.49 teaches system 500 can be implemented in system 10); and
an adjustment circuit to delay (par.42 “The delay circuit 40 is coupled to receive the phase detector output signal 36 and is configured to introduce a delay to the sampling and conversion circuit 30”), based upon a characterization of the sensor circuit associated with an error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error”), and to at least partially correct the error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error (i.e., a difference between the phase of the oscillation signal 20 and the phase of the secondary signal 24) are reduced and/or eliminated.”), the cosine coil sampled data stream or the sine coil sampled data stream to match a sample n of the sine coil sampled data stream with a sample m (par.39 “Phase alignment detection can be accomplished by comparing consecutive samples of the demodulated position signal 48”) of the cosine coil sampled data stream (par.43 “the delay circuit 40 operates to align the demodulation phase by setting up the sample windows to account for any phase shift between the secondary signal 24 and the oscillation signal 20.”),
Drouin doesn’t explicitly teach wherein n is greater than m (par.39 implies n being greater than m through the amplitude difference “An amplitude difference between consecutive samples of the demodulated position signal 48 indicates whether the applied delay is greater than or less than the actual delay between the primary signal and the secondary signal.”).
Haraguchi does teach wherein n is greater than m (figs. 1b, 3, 8, 10a-10b shows cosine samples and sine samples, which are phase shifted from one another, thus showing wherein n is greater than m).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Drouin to include the teachings of Haraguchi; which would provide a position sensor with simpler circuitry and faster detection of the position of the target as disclosed by Haraguchi (col.1 16-49).
Drouin Figure 1
Haraguchi Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, Drouin further teaches wherein the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream, the delay to match a sample (n+1) of the sine coil sampled data stream with a sample n of the cosine coil sampled data stream (par.31 “during each two consecutive sample periods, the signal 208 is equal in magnitude and opposite in polarity with respect to the signal during the next two consecutive sample periods.” and fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, Drouin further teaches wherein n = m + 1 (par.31 “during each two consecutive sample periods, the signal 208 is equal in magnitude and opposite in polarity with respect to the signal during the next two consecutive sample periods.” and fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, Drouin further teaches wherein the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream, the delay to match a sample n of the cosine coil sampled data stream with a sample m of the sine coil sampled data stream(par.42-43).
Regarding claim 6, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, Drouin further teaches wherein the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream or the sine coil sampled data stream based upon the characterization of the sensor circuit so as to correct for a length error, a phase error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error”), a starting location error in the sine coil, or a starting location error in the cosine coil.
Regarding claim 7, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, Drouin further teaches wherein: the cosine coil waveform and the sine coil waveform are normalized (par.30 “Plots 204, 214 have a horizontal axis with a scale in arbitrary units of time and a vertical axis with a scale in normalized units of voltage”) to a degree mapping; and
the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream or delay the sine coil sampled data to match a sample of the sine coil sampled data at 0 degrees with a sample of the cosine coil sampled data at 90 degrees (par.50 “having a nominal ninety-degree phase shift with respect to each other”; this is in reference to the sine and cosine coils).
Regarding claim 8, Drouin teaches
A method, comprising:
sampling input (fig.1 sampling and conversion circuit 30) from a sensor circuit (position sensor interface circuit 28), the input including a cosine coil waveform and a sine coil waveform (figs.2-3 show a cosine coil waveform and a sine coil waveform), thereby generating a cosine coil sampled data stream and a sine coil sampled data stream, respectively (par.51 “the system 500 can generate quadrature sine and cosine output signals” teach a cosine coil sampled data stream and a sine coil sampled data stream; par.49 teaches system 500 can be implemented in system 10); and
delaying (par.42 “The delay circuit 40 is coupled to receive the phase detector output signal 36 and is configured to introduce a delay to the sampling and conversion circuit 30”), based upon a characterization of the sensor circuit associated with an error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error”), and to at least partially correct the error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error (i.e., a difference between the phase of the oscillation signal 20 and the phase of the secondary signal 24) are reduced and/or eliminated.”), the cosine coil sampled data stream or the sine coil sampled data to match a sample n of the cosine coil sampled data stream with a sample m of the sine coil sampled data stream (par.39 “Phase alignment detection can be accomplished by comparing consecutive samples of the demodulated position signal 48”),
Drouin doesn’t explicitly teach wherein n is greater than m (par.39 implies n being greater than m through the amplitude difference “An amplitude difference between consecutive samples of the demodulated position signal 48 indicates whether the applied delay is greater than or less than the actual delay between the primary signal and the secondary signal.”).
Haraguchi does teach wherein n is greater than m (figs. 1b, 3, 8, 10a-10b shows cosine samples and sine samples, which are phase shifted from one another, thus showing wherein n is greater than m).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Drouin to include the teachings of Haraguchi; which would provide a position sensor with simpler circuitry and faster detection of the position of the target as disclosed by Haraguchi (col.1 16-49).
Regarding claim 9, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the method of Claim 8, Drouin further teaches comprising delaying the cosine coil sampled data stream, the delay to match a sample n of the sine coil sampled data stream with a sample (n+1) of the cosine coil sampled data stream (par.31 “during each two consecutive sample periods, the signal 208 is equal in magnitude and opposite in polarity with respect to the signal during the next two consecutive sample periods.”).
Regarding claim 10, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the method of Claim 8, Drouin further teaches wherein n = m + 1 (par.31 “during each two consecutive sample periods, the signal 208 is equal in magnitude and opposite in polarity with respect to the signal during the next two consecutive sample periods.”).
Regarding claim 12, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the method of Claim 8, Drouin further teaches comprising delaying the cosine coil sampled data stream the delay to match a sample n of the cosine coil sampled data stream with a sample m of the sine coil sampled data stream (par.42-43).
Regarding claim 13, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the method of Claim 8, Drouin further teaches comprising delaying the cosine coil sampled data stream or the sine coil sampled data stream based upon the characterization of the sensor circuit so as to correct for a length error, a phase error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error”), a starting location error in the sine coil, or a starting location error in the cosine coil.
Regarding claim 14, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the method of Claim 8, Drouin further teaches comprising:
normalizing the sampling of the cosine coil waveform and the sampling of the sine coil waveform (par.30 “Plots 204, 214 have a horizontal axis with a scale in arbitrary units of time and a vertical axis with a scale in normalized units of voltage”) to a degree mapping (par.10 “The secondary coil can include a first secondary coil and a second secondary coil, wherein the first secondary coil is configured to generate a first secondary signal containing first amplitude modulated information and the second secondary coil is configured to generate a second secondary signal containing second amplitude modulated information that is ninety-degrees out of phase with respect to the first amplitude modulated information.”); and
delaying the cosine coil sampled data stream or delaying the sine coil sampled data so as to match a sample of the sine coil waveform sampled data at 0 degrees with a sample of the cosine coil waveform sampled data at 90 degrees (par.50 “having a nominal ninety-degree phase shift with respect to each other”; this is in reference to the sine and cosine coils).
Regarding claim 15, Drouin teaches
A system (abstract), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (inductive position sensor system 10; sensor systems use PCBs), the PCB including a sensor circuit (position sensor interface circuit 28), the sensor circuit to include an excitation coil, a sine coil and a cosine coil (par.12 “a primary coil responsive to the oscillation signal, and a secondary coil electromagnetically coupled to the primary coil and configured to generate a secondary signal having the carrier frequency and a secondary phase.”), the cosine coil and the sine coil to provide a response of the sensor circuit (par.27 “delay circuit 40 is responsive to the phase detector output signal 36”) to an external body (target 14);
an excitation circuit (oscillator 18) to provide an excitation signal (oscillation signal 20) to the sensor circuit to cause the response of the sensor circuit to the external body (par.26 “an oscillator 18 to generate an oscillation signal 20 having a carrier frequency and a primary phase”);
a sampling circuit (fig.1 sampling and conversion circuit 30) to sample a cosine coil waveform and a sine coil waveform(figs.2-3 show a cosine coil waveform and a sine coil waveform) from the PCB to generate a cosine coil sampled data stream and to sample the sine coil waveform to generate a sine coil sampled data stream (par.51 “the system 500 can generate quadrature sine and cosine output signals” teach a cosine coil sampled data stream and a sine coil sampled data stream; par.49 teaches system 500 can be implemented in system 10);
an adjustment circuit to delay (par.42 “The delay circuit 40 is coupled to receive the phase detector output signal 36 and is configured to introduce a delay to the sampling and conversion circuit 30”), based upon a characterization of the sensor circuit associated with an error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error”), and to yield an adjusted data stream to at least partially correct the error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error (i.e., a difference between the phase of the oscillation signal 20 and the phase of the secondary signal 24) are reduced and/or eliminated.”), the cosine coil sampled data stream or the sine coil sampled data stream to match a sample n of the sine coil sampled data stream with a sample m of the cosine coil sampled data stream (par.39 “Phase alignment detection can be accomplished by comparing consecutive samples of the demodulated position signal 48”); and
a processing circuit (par.22 teaches processing circuit) to evaluate external phenomena based upon the adjusted data stream (par.56 “A processor 570 is coupled to receive the conditioned channel signals and is configured to calculate an angle and/or speed of motion (e.g., rotation) of the target 520.”; par.49 teaches an inductive position sensor system 500 can be an implementation of the system 10 of FIG. 1.).
Drouin doesn’t explicitly teach wherein n is greater than m (par.39 implies n being greater than m through the amplitude difference “An amplitude difference between consecutive samples of the demodulated position signal 48 indicates whether the applied delay is greater than or less than the actual delay between the primary signal and the secondary signal.”).
Haraguchi does teach wherein n is greater than m (figs. 1b, 3, 8, 10a-10b shows cosine samples and sine samples, which are phase shifted from one another, thus showing wherein n is greater than m).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Drouin to include the teachings of Haraguchi; which would provide a position sensor with simpler circuitry and faster detection of the position of the target as disclosed by Haraguchi (col.1 16-49).
Regarding claim 16, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the system of claim 15, Drouin further teaches wherein the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream, the delay to match a sample n of the sine coil sampled data stream with a sample (n+1) of the cosine coil sampled data stream (par.31 “during each two consecutive sample periods, the signal 208 is equal in magnitude and opposite in polarity with respect to the signal during the next two consecutive sample periods.”).
Regarding claim 17, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the system of claim 15, Drouin further teaches wherein n = m + 1 (par.31 “during each two consecutive sample periods, the signal 208 is equal in magnitude and opposite in polarity with respect to the signal during the next two consecutive sample periods.”).
Regarding claim 19, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the system of claim 15, Drouin further teaches wherein the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream, the delay to match a sample n of the cosine coil sampled data stream with a sample m of the sine coil sampled data stream (par.42-43).
Regarding claim 20, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the system of claim 15, Drouin further teaches wherein the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream or the sine coil sampled data stream based upon the characterization of the sensor circuit so as to correct for a length error, a phase error (par.28 “inaccuracies in position sensing due to phase error”), a starting location error in the sine coil, or a starting location error in the cosine coil.
Regarding claim 21, Drouin in view of Haraguchi teaches the system of claim 15, Drouin further teaches wherein:
the sampling of the cosine coil waveform and the sampling of the sine coil waveform are normalized (par.30 “Plots 204, 214 have a horizontal axis with a scale in arbitrary units of time and a vertical axis with a scale in normalized units of voltage”) to a degree mapping (par.10 “The secondary coil can include a first secondary coil and a second secondary coil, wherein the first secondary coil is configured to generate a first secondary signal containing first amplitude modulated information and the second secondary coil is configured to generate a second secondary signal containing second amplitude modulated information that is ninety-degrees out of phase with respect to the first amplitude modulated information.”); and
the adjustment circuit is to delay the cosine coil sampled data stream or delay the sine coil sampled data to match a sample of the sine coil sampled data at 0 degrees with a sample of the cosine coil sampled data at 90 degrees (par.50 “having a nominal ninety-degree phase shift with respect to each other”; this is in reference to the sine and cosine coils).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20220034684 A1; Le Goff; Stephane et al. is a system and method for monitoring analog front-end (AFE) circuitry of an inductive position sensor.
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858