DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10/21/25 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of patent 11911708 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted. The terminal disclaimer does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because: The terminal disclaimer was not signed by the applicant, patentee or an attorney or agent of record since a POA is missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN111298456A). Yang discloses a body mounting assembly comprising a tongue assembly with a tongue member (52b), a tongue retainer assembly having a tongue retainer aperture (22b), a latch assembly comprising a latch member (53b) with a latch engagement surface (Fig. 8) and a latch retainer assembly (32b) with a latch retainer engagement surface (Fig. 6). The latch assembly is releasably coupled to the latch retainer assembly when the latch engagement surface and latch retainer engagement surface interlock together and each has a negative angle to define negative engagement angles (Figs. 12-14). A first body mount surface configured to be coupled to a model vehicle body includes the latch assembly (Fig. 8) and a first chassis mount surface configured to be coupled to a model vehicle chassis includes the latch retainer assembly (Fig. 3). The tongue assembly is releasably coupled to the tongue retainer assembly when the tongue member is inserted into the tongue retainer aperture (Figs. 12-14). A second body mount surface is configured to couple to the model vehicle body and includes the tongue member (Fig. 8) and a second chassis mount surface is configured to couple to the model vehicle chassis and includes the tongue retainer assembly (Fig. 3). The latch member further includes a latch release member (70) wherein operation of the latch release member due to a horizontal force directed against the latch release member in a horizontal direction (Fig. 11) causes the latch assembly to release from the latch retainer assembly (Figs. 12-14). The latch retainer assembly further includes a latch retainer aperture configured to accommodate a portion of the latch member with the latch retainer engagement surface provided on a first side of the latch retainer aperture (Figs. 3 & 4). The mounting assembly further includes a second latch assembly comprising a second latch member (53b) with a second latch engagement surface (Fig. 8) and a second latch retainer assembly (32b) with a second latch retainer engagement surface (Fig. 6). The second latch assembly is releasably coupled to the second latch retainer assembly when the second latch engagement surface and second latch retainer engagement surface interlock together and each has a negative angle to define negative engagement angles (Figs. 12-14). The first body mount surface includes the second latch assembly (Fig. 8) and the first chassis mount surface includes the second latch retainer assembly (Fig. 3). The latch assembly is rigidly coupled to the second latch assembly via a central latch assembly connecting member of the first body mount (Fig. 8). The first body mount with the latch assembly and second latch assembly and the first chassis mount with the latch retainer assembly and the second latch retainer assembly are configured such that the latch assembly and latch retainer assembly are provided proximate to corresponding first body and first chassis rear side wheel wells and the second latch assembly and second latch retainer assembly are provided proximate to corresponding second body and second chassis rear side wheel wells (Figs. 2 & 12). A bias of the first latch member (40) is directed in a second horizontal direction opposite the first for causing engagement of the latch engagement surface and latch retainer engagement surface (Figs. 11 & 12). The latch assembly includes a latch support (rear 52b) that abuts a second side of the latch retainer aperture (rear 22b) opposite the first side (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang. Yang discloses the basic inventive concept with the exception of the wheel wells being positioned relative to a front side of the model vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the latch assemblies and latch retainer assemblies positioned proximate wheel wells positioned at a front side of the model vehicle since such a modification would have involved a mere rearrangement of parts which has been held to be obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11911708 in view of Yang. The patent discloses the basic inventive concept of the body mounting assembly having first and second latch assemblies, first and second latch retainer assemblies, wherein the latch assemblies and latch retainer assemblies include respective engagement surfaces that interlock together using negative engagement angles and are positioned for corresponding a respective body and chassis mounts, a latch release member, a latch retainer aperture and wherein the latch and latch retainer assemblies are positioned relative to respective body and chassis front wheel wells but does not disclose the tongue assembly and tongue retainer assembly. Yang discloses a body mounting assembly comprising a tongue assembly with a tongue member (52b), a tongue retainer assembly having a tongue retainer aperture (22b), a latch assembly comprising a latch member (53b) with a latch engagement surface (Fig. 8) and a latch retainer assembly (32b) with a latch retainer engagement surface (Fig. 6). The tongue assembly is releasably coupled to the tongue retainer assembly when the tongue member is inserted into the tongue retainer aperture (Figs. 12-14). A second body mount surface is configured to couple to the model vehicle body and includes the tongue member (Fig. 8) and a second chassis mount surface is configured to couple to the model vehicle chassis and includes the tongue retainer assembly (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art from the teaching of Yang to include a tongue assembly and tongue retainer assembly for the predictable result of creating a more secure connection between components.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the surfaces relative to which the negative angles are assessed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See 10737192 and 8726603.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711