DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final office action on the merits in response to the filing of the applicant’s response to the notice of non-compliant amendment filed on 12/16/2025 and also to the applicant’s response to the election / restriction requirement filed on 06/09/2025. This application is a continuation application of application 16/540,964 (now US Patent 11,569,673). The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C, Fig 3 (claims 1-13,17 and 18) in the reply filed on 06/09/2025 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 14-16,19 and 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,7-13,17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoda et al US PG-Pub (2009/0021219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoda et al discloses a circuit (40,90) (see Figs 1-17) comprising:
a rectifier circuit (43) coupled to a first current path (see rectifier circuit 43 connected to a first current path in power reception section 42) (see Fig 3; par. [0196]);
a communication switch (46, QB3) coupled to the first current path (see connections in Fig 3,4B,7; par. [0177],[0193]-[0194],[0195],[0199]-[0201],[0245],[0274],[0289]); and
a charge control circuit (91,92) (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14) including:
a charge control input (TA5, VDD) coupled to the first current path (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14);
a charge control output (lower connection to battery 94 inside 90, element 4) (see Fig 3 and 12 in which these components are electrically connected to each other; par. [0122], [0161]-[0162], [0199]-[0200], [0307]-[0317]);
a transistor (M200) including a first terminal (1) coupled to the charge control input (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, particularly Fig 12, par. [0043],[0307],[0310]),
a second terminal (see lower second terminal coupled to the charge control output (4), and a control terminal (terminal connected to D200, see Fig 12, par. [0043],[0307],[0310]-[0313]); and
a first operational amplifier (CMP20) including a first input coupled to a second current path, a second input coupled to a voltage reference (VREFB), and an output coupled to the control terminal of the transistor (M200) (See Fig 12 disclosing the CMP20 connected to the control terminal of M200 via D200, par. [0314]-[0315]).
Furthermore, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
In addition, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 2, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein: the charge control circuit (91,92) includes a current sensor (R16) (see Fig 13 disclosing the charge control device (IC) 92 electrically connected to a current sensor R16 included in battery device 90); and
the first current path and the second current path are coupled to the current sensor (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, in particular Figs 12-13 disclosing the current detection resistor R16 electrically connected to the first and second current path, par. [0321]).
Regarding claim 3, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein:
a load (94) is coupled to the charge control output (4) (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, in particular Figs 12-13; par. [0159]-[0160],[0164]-[0165],[0168]-[0170],[0321]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein:
the charge control circuit (91,92) includes a second operation amplifier (CMP30) and a first resistor (R300); and the second operational amplifier (CMP30) includes a first input coupled to the second current path, a second input, and an output coupled to a first terminal of the first resistor (R300) (see Fig 12 disclosing the connections and par. [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 5, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 4, further including:
a capacitor (CB1) including a first terminal coupled to a second terminal of the first resistor (R300), and a second terminal of the capacitor coupled to a ground terminal (lower terminal) (see Fig 3, 12-13 and par. [0198] disclosing the capacitor CB1 electrically connected as part of the power reception device 40 to the charge control device 92 via battery device (load) (90)).
Regarding claim 7, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 5, wherein:
the second terminal of the first resistor (R300) and the first terminal of the capacitor (CB1) are coupled to the second input of the first operational amplifier (CMP20) (see Fig 3, 12-13 and par. [0198] disclosing the capacitor CB1 electrically connected as part of the power reception device 40 to the charge control device 92 including the amplifiers CMP20, CMP30, CMP10 via battery device (load) (90)).
Regarding claim 8, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 5, wherein:
the output of the second operational amplifier (CMP30) is coupled to a first terminal of a second resistor (R400) (see Fig 11A-12 and par. [0314] disclosing the CMP30 electrically connected to the R400);
the second input of the second operational amplifier (CMP30) is coupled to a second terminal of the second resistor (R400) (see Fig 11A-12 and par. [0314] disclosing the CMP30 electrically connected to the R400);
the second input of the second operational amplifier (CMP30) and the second terminal of the second resistor (R400) is coupled to a first terminal of a third resistor (R19) (see Fig 11A-12 and par. [0314] disclosing the CMP30 electrically connected to the R400); and
a second terminal of the third resistor (R19) is coupled to the ground terminal (see ground terminal connected to R19 in Fig 12) (see Fig 11A-12 and par. [0314] disclosing the CMP30 electrically connected to the R400).
Regarding claim 9, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 8, wherein:
the charge control circuit (91,92) includes a fourth resistor (R17) (see Figs 11A-12, par. [0294],[0297]-[0298],[0300]-[0303]); and
a first terminal of the fourth resistor (R17) is coupled to the second current path and a first input of the second operational amplifier (CMP30) (see Fig 11A-12 and par. par. [0294],[0297]-[0298],[0300]-[0303],[0314] disclosing the CMP30 electrically connected to the R400).
Regarding claim 10, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein: the charge control circuit (91,92) includes a current source (IS) coupled to the first terminal of the transistor and the control terminal of the transistor (M200) (see Fig 12 and par. [0311] disclosing the current source IS electrically connected to transistors M200 and M100).
Regarding claim 11, Yoda et al discloses a receiver (40) (see Figs 1-17) comprising:
a rectifier circuit (43) coupled to a first current path (see rectifier circuit 43 connected to a first current path in power reception section 42) (see Fig 3; par. [0196]);
a communication switch (46, QB3) coupled to the first current path (see connections in Fig 3,4B,7; par. [0177],[0193]-[0194],[0195],[0199]-[0201],[0245],[0274],[0289]); and
a charge control circuit (91,92) (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14) including:
a charge control input (TA5, VDD) coupled to the first current path (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14);
a charge control output (lower connection to battery 94 inside 90, element 4) (see Fig 3 and 12 in which these components are electrically connected to each other; par. [0122], [0161]-[0162], [0199]-[0200], [0307]-[0317]);
a transistor (M200) including a first terminal (1) coupled to the charge control input (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, particularly Fig 12, par. [0043],[0307],[0310]),
a second terminal coupled to the charge control output (4) (see lower second terminal coupled to the charge control output (4), and a control terminal (terminal connected to D200, see Fig 12, par. [0043],[0307],[0310]-[0313]); and
an operational amplifier (CMP20) including a first input coupled to a second current path, a second input coupled to a voltage reference (VREFB), and an output coupled to the control terminal of the transistor (M200) (See Fig 12 disclosing the CMP20 connected to the control terminal of M200 via D200, par. [0314]-[0315]).
Furthermore, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
In addition, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 12, Yoda et al discloses the receiver of claim 11, wherein:
a load (94) is coupled to the charge control output (4) (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, in particular Figs 12-13; par. [0159]-[0160],[0164]-[0165],[0168]-[0170],[0321]).
Regarding claim 13, Yoda et al discloses the receiver of claim 11, wherein: the charge control circuit (91,92) includes a current sensor (R16) (see Fig 13 disclosing the charge control device (IC) 92 electrically connected to a current sensor R16 included in battery device 90); and
the first current path and the second current path are coupled to the current sensor (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, in particular Figs 12-13 disclosing the current detection resistor R16 electrically connected to the first and second current path, par. [0321]).
Regarding claim 17, Yoda et al discloses a system (10,40,90, Fig 1-17, particularly Fig 3) comprising:
a transmitter (10) (see Fig 3; par. [0175]-[0178]); and
a receiver (40) (see Fig 3; par. [0175]-[0178]) comprising:
a rectifier circuit (43) coupled to a first current path (see rectifier circuit 43 connected to a first current path in power reception section 42) (see Fig 3; par. [0196]);
a communication switch (46, QB3) coupled to the first current path (see connections in Fig 3,4B,7; par. [0177],[0193]-[0194],[0195],[0199]-[0201],[0245],[0274],[0289]); and
a charge control circuit (91,92) (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14) including:
a charge control input (TA5, VDD) coupled to the first current path (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14);
a charge control output (lower connection to battery 94 inside 90, element 4) (see Fig 3 and 12 in which these components are electrically connected to each other; par. [0122], [0161]-[0162], [0199]-[0200], [0307]-[0317]);
a transistor (M200) including a first terminal (1) coupled to the charge control input (see Figs 2,3,7,9A-14, particularly Fig 12, par. [0043],[0307],[0310]),
a second terminal coupled to the charge control output (4) (see lower second terminal coupled to the charge control output (4), and a control terminal (terminal connected to D200, see Fig 12, par. [0043],[0307],[0310]-[0313]); and
a first operational amplifier (CMP20) including a first input coupled to a second current path, a second input coupled to a voltage reference (VREFB), and an output coupled to the control terminal of the transistor (M200) (See Fig 12 disclosing the CMP20 connected to the control terminal of M200 via D200, par. [0314]-[0315]).
Furthermore, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
In addition, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 18, Yoda et al discloses the system of claim 17, wherein:
the charge control circuit (91,92) includes a second operation amplifier (CMP30) and a first resistor (R300) (see Fig 3,12 disclosing the connections and par. [0310]-[0316]); and the second operational amplifier (CMP30) includes a first input coupled to the second current path, a second input, and an output coupled to a first terminal of the first resistor (R300) (see Fig 3,12 disclosing the connections and par. [0310]-[0316]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoda et al US PG-Pub (2009/0021219 A1) in view of Ocket et al US Patent (2007/0070951 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoda et al discloses the circuit of claim 5,
Yoda et al does not clearly discloses wherein: the first resistor and the capacitor are configured as a low-pass filter;
However, Ocket et al is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application in which discloses a circuit and method for contact-less transmission (see Figs 1-4) and further discloses wherein: the first resistor and the capacitor are configured as a low-pass filter (see Fig 1-4 and par. [0030],[0044]);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoda et al with the teaching of Ocket et al by including wherein: the first resistor and the capacitor are configured as a low-pass filter in order to provide a circuit and method allowing for an improved contact-less transmission of signals between two electrical modules (Ocket et al par. [0005]), in addition also will provide the benefit of allow low-frequency signals to pass while attenuating higher-frequency signals beyond a defined cutoff frequency.
Examiner Note
9. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura (US PG-Pub 2005/0068019 A1) discloses a power supply system capable of not only supplying power to different types of electronic equipment by using a single power transmission apparatus, but also saving space and performing payment for public service and charges. This power system includes wireless power transmission as well as signal transmission control circuit provided for transmitting an information signal among the power transmission apparatus, the power reception equipment, and an external apparatus connected to the power transmission apparatus.
Yamaguchi (US Patent 6,747,548 B1) discloses a non-contact IC card system including an R/W and a non-contact IC card, characterized in that the non-contact IC card comprises a regulator connected to both ends of a resonance circuit having an oscillation frequency identical with a frequency of a power transmission carrier for conducting reception of power and data from the R/W and transmission of data to the R/W, with the regulator stabilizing an operating voltage in the resonance circuit, and switching its characteristic in accordance with transmission data to produce a load variation for conducting data transmission by an AM modulation.
/ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836
2836