Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims filed 2/5/26 have been considered as follows.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN 113156619, as evidenced by the translation).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches (Fig. 1, Table 1) An imaging lens system, comprising:
a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, and an eighth lens (L1-L8) disposed in order from an object side,
wherein the fourth lens and the sixth lens each have a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region, and the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expressions as below:
f-number<1.70 (1.59)
0.90<f/f1<1.10 (6.126/6.344)
1.0<|f/f8|<1.40 (6.126/4.9)
where f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f8 is a focal length of the eighth lens.
Regarding claim 12, Kao further teaches (Table 1) The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the third lens has positive refractive power.
Claim(s) 9,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (CN 112987258, as evidenced by the translation).
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches (Fig. 5, Table 5) An imaging lens system, comprising:
a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, and an eighth lens (L1-L8) disposed in order from an object side,
wherein the fourth lens and the sixth lens each have a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region, and the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expressions as below:
f-number<1.70 (1.59)
0.90<f/f1<1.10 (6.1/6.31)
1.0<|f/f8|<1.40 (6.1/4.66)
where f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f8 is a focal length of the eighth lens.
Regarding claim 14, Xu further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expression as below:
0.005<|f/f6|<0.10 (6.1/100)
where f6 is a focal length of the sixth lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11,13,15,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (CN 113900226, as evidenced by the translation).
Regarding claim 9, Zou teaches (Figs. 1-2, Table 1) An imaging lens system, comprising:
a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, and an eighth lens (L1-L8) disposed in order from an object side,
wherein the fourth lens and the sixth lens each have a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region, and the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expressions as below:
f-number=1.70 (1.700)
0.90<f/f1 (6.82/6.19=1.102)
1.0<|f/f8|<1.40 (6.82/5.167)
where f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f8 is a focal length of the eighth lens.
Zou does not explicitly teach f-number<1.70 and f/f1<1.10.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having f-number<1.70 and f/f1<1.10 would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zou by having f-number<1.70 and f1/f<1.10 for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 10, Zou further teaches (Table 1) The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region.
Regarding claim 11, Zou further teaches (Table 1) The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region.
Regarding claim 13, Zou further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expression as below:
0.08<|f/f5|<0.30 (6.82/56.776)
where f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens.
Regarding claim 15, Zou further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expression as below:
0.40<|f/f7|<1.20 (6.82/6.659)
where f7 is a focal length of the seventh lens.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Zou teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 1, and further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 9, wherein the imaging lens system satisfies a conditional expression as below:
0.580<TTL/2ImgHT (8.247/12.4=0.665)
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, and 2ImgHT is a diagonal length of the imaging plane.
Zou does not explicitly teach TTL/2ImgHT<0.660.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having TTL/2ImgHT<0.660 would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teaching of Zou by having TTL/2ImgHT<0.660 for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234