DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argue that the combination of Kovacs and Suzuki does not teach “the at least two windings comprises two wires wrapped around each other and disposed around the annular main body” as claimed. Applicant asserts that the wires of the two windings 12 of Suzuki are parallel to each other, and wrapped around the toroidal core 11. They are not wrapped around each other.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. One of the definitions of “around” is “in or near one's present place or situation” (AROUND Definition & Meaning-Merriam-Webster). As shown in FIG. 2 of Suzuki, the wires of the windings 12 are near each other. Each of the two wires is wound on the magnetic core 11, providing a bifilar winding. Accordingly, the examiner maintains Suzuki teaches “the at least two windings comprises two wires wrapped around [near one’s present place] each other and disposed around the annular main body” as currently claimed in claim 1.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection with respect to claim 1 is withdrawn. However, the rejection of claim 2 has not been addressed. Accordingly, claim 2 rejection is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/22/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the two adjacent winding layers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the winding layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs et al. (EP 2704167 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2008/0143470 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kovacs et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kovacs,” teaches a magnetic device (FIG 16), comprising:
a magnetic core 2 comprising an annular main body (see FIG 6 for annular main body) and a hollow portion (central opening); and
a winding assembly comprising at least one winding (winding around sectors 12, 13 and or 15), each of the at least one winding comprising a coil (coil formed withing each sectors) with a plurality of turns, each turn of the coil penetrating through the hollow portion and disposed around the annular main body, wherein coil (coil formed withing the sectors 12, 13 and or 15) of the at least two windings are disposed around the annular main body to form at least three winding regions 10, 11 and 14, each of the at least three winding regions except the winding region which is last formed has at least three winding layers stacked up one by one, and the number of the winding layers of each of the at least three winding regions except the winding region which is last formed is odd and greater than or equal to three (para. [0021]).
Kovacs does not expressly teach a winding assembly comprising at least two windings,
wherein the at least two windings comprise two wires wrapped around each other and disposed around the annular main body.
Suzuki et al., hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki,” teaches a magnetic device 10 (FIG. 2), comprising:
a winding assembly (assembly of two coils 12) at least two windings 12,
wherein the at least two windings comprise two wires (bifilar wires of two windings 12) wrapped around each other and disposed around the annular main body (paras. [0024] and [0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least two windings as taught by Suzuki to the magnetic device of Kovacs to provide consistent design characteristic with less variation in characteristic among a plurality of coil units or for a different intended use, such as to use as a choke (para. [0004]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least two windings as taught by Suzuki to the magnetic device of Kovacs to provide consistent design characteristic with less variation in characteristic among the coil winding regions or for a different intended use, such as to use as a choke (para. [0004]).
With respect to claim 2, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 1, wherein winding directions of the two adjacent winding layers in any of the winding regions (regions 12 and 13) except the winding region 15 which is last formed along the annular main body are opposite to each other, and a first winding direction (right direction) of the winding layer (first layer from magnetic core 2) closest to the annular main body in any of the winding regions except the winding region which is last formed is the same with a second winding direction (right direction) of the winding layer (third layer from magnetic core 2) most away from the annular main body in the same winding region (Kovacs, para. [0022]).
With respect to claim 3, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 2, wherein the winding region 15 which is last formed has at least one winding layer (three layers), the number of the winding layer in the winding region which is last formed is odd (three is odd number), and a third winding direction (right direction) of the winding layer (third layer from magnetic core 2) most away from the annular main body in the winding region which is last formed is the same with the second winding direction of the winding layer most away from the annular main body in any of the winding regions 12 and or 13 except the winding region which is last formed (Kovacs, para. [0022]).
With respect to claim 4, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 2. Kovacs in view of Suzuki wherein the winding region which is last formed has at least two winding layers, the number of the winding layers in the winding region which is last formed is even, and a fourth winding direction of the winding layer most away from the annular main body in the winding region which is last formed is opposite to the second winding direction of the winding layer most away from the annular main body in any of the winding regions except the winding region which is last formed. However, Kovacs expressly discloses any number of layers could be made until a “desired number turns is reached” (para. [0003]). Therefore, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be able to make even number of turns to the last winding region to get a desired electrical characteristics. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an even number of layers for the last winding region to provide the desired inductance to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 5, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 1, wherein the winding layers in any of the at least three winding regions comprises a first winding layer (first layer from magnetic core 2), a second winding layer (second layer from magnetic core 2) and a third winding layer (third layer from magnetic core 2), wherein the first winding layer is closest to the annular main body, the third winding layer is most away from the annular main body, and the second winding layer is stacked between the first winding layer and the third winding layer, wherein a winding direction of the first winding layer along the annular main body is the same with a winding direction of the third winding layer along the annular main body, and a winding direction of the second winding layer along the annular main body is opposite to the winding direction of the first winding layer along the annular main body (Kovacs, para. [0022]).
With respect to claim 6, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 1, wherein the winding regions comprises a first winding region 12, a second winding region 13 and a third winding region 15, wherein the first winding region, the second winding region and the third region are disposed around the annular main body of the magnetic core in sequence, wherein the winding layer (third layer from magnetic core 2) most away from the annular main body in the first winding region is connected with the winding layer (first layer from magnetic core 2) closest to the annular main body in the second winding region, and the winding layer most away from the annular main body in the second winding region is connected with the winding layer closest to the annular main body in the third winding region (Kovacs, para. [0022]).
With respect to claim 7, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 1, wherein the withstand voltage of the at least two windings are greater than 1.5 kV (Kovacs, para. [0003]), Suzuki, para. [0024]). Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic core as claimed. Therefore, the two windings of the magnetic device of Kovacs in view of Suzuki would be able to stand 1.5kV.
With respect to claim 10, Kovacs in view of Suzuki teaches the magnetic device according to claim 1, wherein the at least two windings are fully insulated wires (Suzuki, paras. [0024] and or [0026]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837