DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 33-47 in the reply filed on 02/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/10/2026. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 33 , 34, 39 – 4 3, 46, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziemba (US 20190131110 ) (‘110) in view of Ziemba (US 20250259822 ) (‘ 82 2). Regarding claim 33, Ziemba (’110) teaches a system for producing a waveform (figures 1 and 7 show a system for a waveform generator items 100 and 700) comprising: a bias supply (figure 7 item 711 defined in [0064] as a DC Bias power supply stage) a capacitor coupled between the first node and a second node (figure 7 item C1 coupled to a first node and a second node of the output load stage) . Ziemba (‘110) teaches applying an output waveform ([0081] discloses wherein a waveform is applied to an output) but does not explicitly teach wherein configured to apply an asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to a first node, the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform comprising a peak voltage, a voltage step following the peak voltage, and a ramped voltage . Ziemba (‘822) teaches a system configured to apply an asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to a first node, the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform comprising a peak voltage, a voltage step following the peak voltage, and a ramped voltage (defined in the Abstract, as causing an application of an asymmetric periodic voltage waveform. [0177] teaches wherein an asymmetrical periodic voltage waveform is output to an output node. Figure 14 and [0177] -[0178] teaches wherein the waveform includes a peak voltage and step voltage, interpreted as a sheath volage and a ramp voltage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Ziemba (‘110) Figure 7 shows a bias supply which outputs a waveform Ziemba (‘822) figure 14 shows an asymmetric periodic waveform produced by a supply Regarding claim 34, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 33, but does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor comprises a variable capacitor coupled between the first node and the second node. Ziemba (‘822) teaches wherein the capacitor comprises a variable capacitor coupled between the first node and the second node ([0174] teaches wherein a variable capacitor may be used within the system ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Regarding claim 39, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 33, wherein the capacitor is located outside of a housing of the bias supply (figure 7 shows wherein the capacitor is located outside, within a load portion 110 of the generator system 700) . Regarding claim 40, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 33, wherein the capacitor is located inside of a housing of the bias supply (paragraph [0052] teaches wherein the capacitance may be within the circuit or within the bias supply) . Regarding claim 41, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 33, but does not explicitly teach wherein the capacitor comprises: a first variable capacitor coupled between the first node and the second node ; a series combination of a second capacitor and a dissipation resistor coupled between the first node and the second node . Ziemba (‘822) teaches wherein the capacitor comprises: a first variable capacitor coupled between the first node and the second node (figure 7 capacitor C1 coupled between a first node and a second node) ; and a series combination of a second capacitor and a dissipation resistor coupled between the first node and the second node (figure 8 shows a second capacitor 735and a resistor 750 coupled in series between the first node and the second node). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Regarding claim 42, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 33, wherein the bias supply comprises: a switch (paragraph [0049 teaches wherein item 105 may comprise switches) ; a power supply coupled to the first node to apply (figure 7 item 711 defined in [0064] as a DC Bias power supply stage) , a capacitor coupled to the first node and a second node (figure 7 item C1 coupled to a first node and a second node of the output load stage) . Ziemba (‘110) teaches applying an output waveform ([0081] discloses wherein a waveform is applied to an output) but does not explicitly teach wherein configured to apply an asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to a first node, the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform comprising a peak voltage, a voltage step following the peak voltage, and a ramped voltage . Ziemba (‘822) teaches a system to apply after the voltage step, a ramped voltage of the waveform at the first node (defined in the Abstract, as causing an application of an asymmetric periodic voltage waveform. [0177] teaches wherein an asymmetrical periodic voltage waveform is output to an output node. Figure 14 and [0177]-[0178] teaches wherein the waveform includes a peak voltage and step voltage, interpreted as a sheath volage and a ramp voltage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Regarding claim 43, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 34, but does not explicitly teach comprising: a series combination of a second capacitor and a dissipation resistor coupled between the first node and the second node. Ziemba (‘822) teaches a series combination of a second capacitor and a dissipation resistor coupled between the first node and the second node (figure 8 shows a second capacitor 735and a resistor 750 coupled in series between the first node and the second node). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Regarding claim 45, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 42, comprising a housing enclosing the switch and the power supply, wherein the capacitor is located outside of the housing (figure 7 shows wherein the capacitor is located outside, within a load portion 110 of the generator system 700 . [0056] teaches wherein the system may be applied on a housins such as wafers within semiconductors ) . Regarding claim 46, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 42, comprising a second switch coupled to the first node via a diode, a combination of the second switch and the diode is configured to apply the voltage step (figure 1 shows wherein switches within item 105 are in combination with diode 125. [0042] teaches wherein the diode 125 is coupled with the pulser to apply a voltage). Regarding claim 47, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 42, wherein the switch comprises a plurality of switches configured to be synchronously driven to open and close simultaneously (paragraphs [0049], [0075]-[0076] and [0089] teaches a plurality of switches which may be turn on and turned off simultaneously or phased to operate together). 2. Claim s 35 – 38 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziemba (US 20190131110 ) (‘110) in view of Ziemba (US 20250259822 ) (‘822) as applied to claim 34 and in further view of Zhang (US 20240282553 ). Regarding claim 35, Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’822) teaches the system of claim 34 , but does not explicitly teach comprising: a controller coupled to the variable capacitor, the controller configured to: monitor one or more electrical parameters at the first node; and control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage. Zhang teaches a controller coupled to the variable capacitor (figure 5 item 53 a control unit coupled to a variable capacitor item 211) , the controller configured to: monitor one or more electrical parameters at the first node ([0051] teaches wherein the controller, a control unit 53 receives voltage input from a voltage detection element item 51,which is coupled to a first node ) ; and control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage ([0052] teaches wherein the control unit controls the voltage of the variable capacitor to be adjusted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) and Ziemba (‘822) reference with the power supply system of the Zhang reference so that the rate of deposition within the system is controlled . The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [000 4 ] wherein deposition rate is controlled. Zhang figure 5 shows a controller 53 coupled to a variable capacitor 211 Regarding claim 36, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 35, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to control the variable capacitor and control a frequency of the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to control the ramped voltage. Ziemba (’ 822 ) teaches control a frequency of the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to control the ramped voltage (paragraph [0177] – [0178] teaches wherein the frequency of the asymmetric voltage waveform is controlled as current and period changes) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’ 822 ) do not explicitly teach a controller configured to control the variable capacitor . Zhang teaches a controller configured to control the variable capacitor (figure 5 item 53 a control unit coupled to a variable capacitor item 211 . [ 0052] teaches wherein the control unit controls the voltage of the variable capacitor to be adjusted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) and Ziemba (‘822) reference with the power supply system of the Zhang reference so that the rate of deposition within the system is controlled. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0004] wherein deposition rate is controlled. Regarding claim 37, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 36, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: initially adjust a frequency of the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to control the ramped voltage; and adjust the variable capacitor if adjusting the frequency does not achieve a desired ramped voltage. Ziemba (’ 822 ) teaches wherein the controller is configured to: initially adjust a frequency of the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to control the ramped voltage (paragraph [0177] – [0178] teaches wherein the frequency of the asymmetric voltage waveform is controlled as current and period changes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’ 822 ) do not explicitly teach a controller configured to control the variable capacitor . Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’ 822 ) do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable capacitor if adjusting the frequency does not achieve a desired ramped voltage . Zhang teaches wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable capacitor if adjusting the frequency does not achieve a desired ramped voltage (defined in paragraph [0046] wherein the variable capacitor is adjusted to match a specific operating frequency). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) and Ziemba (‘822) reference with the power supply system of the Zhang reference so that the rate of deposition within the system is controlled. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0004] wherein deposition rate is controlled. Regarding claim 38, Ziemba (’110) teaches the system of claim 35, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: receive a synchronization signal and set a frequency of the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to a synchronization frequency indicated by the synchronization signal; and control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage. Ziemba (’ 822 ) teaches wherein the controller is configured to receive a synchronization signal and set a frequency of the asymmetric periodic voltage waveform to a synchronization frequency indicated by the synchronization signal (paragraph [0177] – [0178] teaches wherein the frequency of the asymmetric voltage waveform is controlled as current and period changes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) reference with the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘822) so that there is an efficient transfer of power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ziemba (‘822) reference in paragraph [0002] wherein an efficient transfer of power is taught. Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’ 822 ) do not explicitly teach a controller configured to control the variable capacitor . Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’ 822 ) do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage . Zhang teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage (figure 5 item 53 a control unit coupled to a variable capacitor item 211 . [ 0052] teaches wherein the control unit controls the voltage of the variable capacitor to be adjusted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) and Ziemba (‘822) reference with the power supply system of the Zhang reference so that the rate of deposition within the system is controlled. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0004] wherein deposition rate is controlled. Regarding claim 44, Ziemba (’110) and Ziemba (’822) teach the system of claim 34 but does not explicitly teach comprising: a controller coupled to the variable capacitor, the controller configured to: monitor one or more electrical parameters at the first node; and control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage. Zhang teaches a controller coupled to the variable capacitor (figure 5 item 53 a control unit coupled to a variable capacitor item 211) , the controller configured to: monitor one or more electrical parameters at the first node ([0051] teaches wherein the controller, a control unit 53 receives voltage input from a voltage detection element item 51,which is coupled to a first node) ; and control the variable capacitor to control the ramped voltage ([0052] teaches wherein the control unit controls the voltage of the variable capacitor to be adjusted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of the Ziemba (‘110) and Ziemba (‘822) reference with the power supply system of the Zhang reference so that the rate of deposition within the system is controlled . The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [000 4 ] wherein deposition rate is controlled. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's Disclosure. US 20190316249 A1 Physical Vapor Deposition Abraham; Bassam Hanna Et Al. US 11615941 B2 Controlling Ion Energy Distribution Brouk ; Victor Et Al. US 11437221 B2 Spatial Monitoring Carter; Daniel Et Al. US 11569066 B2 Pulsed Voltage Source Cubaynes ; Fabrice Et Al. US 9226380 B2 Adjustable Non-Dissipative Voltage Boosting Finley; Kenneth W. US 20230207264 A1 High-Frequency Power Supply System Hasegawa; Yuichi US 6041734 A Use Of An Asymmetric Waveform Raoux ; Sebastien Et Al. US 20220070984 A1 Generating A DC Voltage Van Dijk; Bernhard Christiaan Et Al. US 9667211 B1 Variable Gain Wyse; Russell D. Et Al. US 12034405 B2 Circuit Device And Oscillator Yamamoto; Takehiro US 20240055227 A1 Generating A Waveform Ziemba; Timothy M. Et Al. US 20250253133 A1 Nanosecond Pulser Ziemba; Timothy Et Al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXIS B PACHECO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5979 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9:00 - 5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian Huffman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-2147 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859 /ALEXIS B PACHECO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859