under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on January 12, 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show
every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 14’s “…an alternating-current-to-direct-current (AC/DC) conversion chip, the energy-storage module being configured to receive a first electrical signal from the first bimorph transducer at the AC/DC conversion chip and store energy based on the first electrical signal;…”
Claim 21’s “The apparatus of claim 14 wherein the AC/DC conversion chip has a maximum input voltage and the first bimorph transducer has a maximum deformation from its quiescent shape, and wherein each of the first transducer element and second transducer elements is configured to generate an open-circuit voltage equal to the maximum input voltage when the first bimorph transducer undergoes its maximum deformation.”
Claim 22’s “The apparatus of claim 14 wherein the AC/DC conversion chip has a maximum input voltage and the first bimorph transducer has a maximum deformation from its quiescent shape, and wherein, when the first bimorph transducer undergoes its maximum deformation, the first transducer element generates a first open-circuit voltage and the second transducer element generates a second open-circuit voltage, the first and second open-circuit voltages being equal to twice the maximum input voltage, and further wherein the energy-storage module further includes: a first voltage divider that receives the first open-circuit voltage provides a first pair of voltages to the AC/DC conversion chip; and a second voltage divider that receives the second open-circuit voltage provides a second pair of voltages to the AC/DC conversion chip; wherein each of the first pair of voltages and the second pair of voltages is substantially equal to the maximum input voltage.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title is objected to for failure to be sufficiently descriptive.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the
presence of all possible minor errors. The applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which the applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-19, 21-22, and 24 are objected to because of the following
informalities:
Claim 1
in line 5, “substate” should be --substrate--
in line 7, “the group” should be --a group--
in line 10, “the transducer” should be --the bending-strain-based transducer--
Claim 3
in line 2, “each piezoelectric layer of the first plurality thereof” should be --each piezoelectric layer of the first plurality of piezoelectric layers--
Claims 4 & 6
in lines 1-2, “the piezoelectric layers of the first plurality thereof” should be --piezoelectric layers of the first plurality of piezoelectric layers--
Claim 5
in lines 2-3, “each piezoelectric layer of the second plurality thereof” should be --each piezoelectric layer of the second plurality of piezoelectric layers--
Claim 6
in lines 1-2, “the first plurality thereof” should be --the first plurality of piezoelectric layers--
in lines 2-3, “the piezoelectric layers of the second plurality thereof” should be --piezoelectric layers of the second plurality of piezoelectric layers--
Claim 8
in line 1, “the wearable” should be --the apparatus--
Claim 11
in line 1, “the group” should be --a group--
Claim 12
in line 3, “the group” should be --a group--
Claim 13
in line 2, “the flange” should be --the at least one flange--
Claim 14
in line 7, “the group” should be --a group--
Claim 15
in lines 2-3, “second electrical signal” should be --the second electrical signal--
Claim 16
in line 2, “the group” should be --a group--
Claim 17
in line 2, “each piezoelectric layer of the first plurality thereof” should be --each piezoelectric layer of the first plurality of piezoelectric layers--
in line 4, “the piezoelectric layers of the first plurality thereof” should be --piezoelectric layers of the first plurality of piezoelectric layers--
Claim 18
in lines 2-3, “each piezoelectric layer of the second plurality thereof” should be --each piezoelectric layer of the second plurality of piezoelectric layers--
in lines 4-5, “the piezoelectric layers of the second plurality thereof” should be --piezoelectric layers of the second plurality of piezoelectric layers--
Claim 19
in line 2, “second transducer element” should be --the second transducer element--
in line 3, “the group” should be --a group--
Claim 21
in lines 2-3, “its quiescent shape” should be --the quiescent shape--
in lines 3-4, “second transducer elements” should be --the second transducer element--
in line 5, “its maximum deformation” should be --the maximum deformation--
Claim 22
in lines 2-3, “its quiescent shape” should be --the quiescent shape--
Claim 24
in line 1, “the group” should be --a group--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite
for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 22, it is unclear whether “substantially” refers to a fourth, a third, half, more than half, almost all, or some other quantity. The specification does not provide some standard for measuring “substantially.” One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the prior art and the status of the art, would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of “substantially” from the drawings alone. Therefore, the term is rendered indefinite and the examiner has understood the term to indicate equality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 13-18, and 20-24 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Gray et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220152455; hereinafter “Gray”).
Regarding claim 1, Gray discloses an apparatus comprising: a bending-strain-based transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, bending-strain-based transducers on opposing sides of substrate; Fig. 95, 420-1…420-x; [0495]) that includes: (i) a first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) disposed on (Fig. 30) a first surface (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) being a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95); and (ii) a second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) disposed on (Fig. 30) a second surface (Figs. 30/95, second surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first and second surfaces (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first and second surfaces of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) being on (Fig. 30) opposite sides (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, opposing sides of substrate) of the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) is selected (Figs. 30/95) from the group (Figs. 30/95) consisting (Figs. 30/95) of a resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95; [0501]), a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95), a force sensor (Figs. 30/95; [Abstract]), a load sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0206]), a pressure sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0145]), and a haptic device (Figs. 30/95; [0410]-[0411]); wherein the transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, bending-strain-based transducers on opposing sides of substrate; Fig. 95, 420-1…420-x; [0495]) has a quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]) that is non-planar (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]); and an energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) for receiving (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) a first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420) from the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and storing (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) energy (Fig. 95, first output of 420) based on (Fig. 95) the first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420).
Regarding claim 2, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 further comprising: a detection circuit (Fig. 95, 504/430/434 in combination) configured to receive (Fig. 95) the first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420) and provide a first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of 420) that is based on (Fig. 95) the first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420); and a processor (Fig. 95, 425) for estimating (Fig. 95, 425; [0403]) a first parameter (Fig. 95, first parameter estimated by 425; [0403]) based on (Fig. 95) the first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of 420).
Regarding claim 3, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) includes a first plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95, each layer or the piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) of the first plurality (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof being disposed between (Fig. 30) and electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of first transducer element) of a first plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of first transducer element).
Regarding claim 4, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) of the first plurality (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 5, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a second plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95, each layer or the piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) of the second plurality (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof being electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of second transducer element) of a first plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of second transducer element).
Regarding claim 6, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 5 wherein the piezoelectric layers of the first plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]) and the piezoelectric layers of the second plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 7, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) is configured to generate (Fig. 95, 425; [0406]) a stimulus (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”) to a user (Fig. 95, user of 425; [0406]) in response (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) to receipt (Fig. 95, 425 drive signal output; [0406]) of a drive signal (Fig. 95, 425 input; [0406]) from (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) the processor (Fig. 95, 425; [0406]).
Regarding claim 8, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the wearable (Fig. 96, 474) is a sole member (Fig. 96, 474).
Regarding claim 9, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises a material (Fig. 30; [0205]) selected (Fig. 30; [0205]) from the group (Fig. 30; [0205]) consisting (Fig. 30; [0205]) of a metal (Fig. 30; [0205]), a polyimide (Fig. 30; [0205]) and a glass (Fig. 30; [0205]).
Regarding claim 13, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) includes at least one flange (Fig. 30, flanges at medial and lateral ends), and wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) has a first thickness (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate thickness) and the flange has a second thickness (Fig. 30, thickness of flanges at medial and lateral ends) that is greater (Fig. 30; [0206] – thickness at ends is greater during compression/flexion) than the first thickness (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate thickness).
Regarding claim 14, Gray discloses an apparatus comprising: a first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) having a quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]) that is non-planar (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]), the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) being configured to bend (Figs. 30/95; [0206]) in response to a first force (Figs. 30/95, first force; [0206]), wherein the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) includes: (i) a first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) disposed on a first surface (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) being a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95); and (ii) a second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) disposed on (Fig. 30) a second surface (Figs. 30/95, second surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first and second surfaces (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first and second surfaces of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) being on (Fig. 30) opposite sides (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, opposing sides of substrate) of the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) is selected (Figs. 30/95) from the group (Figs. 30/95) consisting (Figs. 30/95) of a resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95; [0501]), a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95), a force sensor (Figs. 30/95; [Abstract]), a load sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0206]), a pressure sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0145]), and a haptic device (Figs. 30/95; [0410]-[0411]); an energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) that includes (Figs. 30/64/95) an alternating-current-to-direct-current (AC/DC) conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]), the energy-storage module (Fig. 95, 432/426 in combination) being configured to receive (Figs. 30/64/95) a first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) from the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) at the AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]) and store (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) energy (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) based on (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) the first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420); and a processor (Fig. 95, 425) for estimating (Fig. 95, 425; [0403]) a first parameter (Fig. 95, first parameter estimated by 425; [0403]) based on (Fig. 95) a second electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 430 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) from the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer).
Regarding claim 15, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 in combination based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) and second electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 430 based on second output of first bimorph transducer of 420) are based on (Fig. 95) a first output (Fig. 95, first output of first transducer element) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element), and wherein the apparatus (Fig. 96, 474) further includes a detection circuit (Fig. 95, 504/430/434 in combination) for converting (Fig. 95, 434) the second electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 430 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) into (Fig. 95) a third electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 434 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) and providing (Fig. 95) the third electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 434 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) to the processor (Fig. 95, 425).
Regarding claim 16, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises a material (Fig. 30; [0205]) selected (Fig. 30; [0205]) from the group (Fig. 30; [0205]) consisting (Fig. 30; [0205]) of a metal (Fig. 30; [0205]), a polyimide (Fig. 30; [0205]) and a glass (Fig. 30; [0205]).
Regarding claim 17, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) includes (Figs. 30/95) a first plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer of the first plurality (Figs. 30/95, each layer of the piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof being disposed between (Fig. 30) and electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of first transducer element) of a first plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of first transducer element), and wherein the piezoelectric layers of the first plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 18, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 17 wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a second plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer of the second plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, each layer of the piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) being disposed between (Fig. 30) and electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of second transducer element) of a second plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of second transducer element), and wherein the piezoelectric layers of the second plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 20, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the apparatus (Fig. 96, 474) is a shoe insole (Fig. 96, 474) that includes: a plurality of bimorph transducers (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, plurality of bimorph transducers) that includes (Figs. 30/95) the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer); a wireless communications module (Fig. 95, 434); a power-handling circuit (Fig. 95, 490/492/494/496/426 in combination); and the energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination); wherein the plurality of bimorph transducers (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) is operatively coupled (Fig. 95) with each of the power-handling circuit (Fig. 95, 490/492/494/496/426 in combination) and the energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination).
Regarding claim 21, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]) has a maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]) and the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) has a maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer) from its quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]), and wherein each of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and second transducer elements (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) is configured to generate (Fig. 95) an open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, measurement of voltage across each transducer absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) equal (Figs. 30/95, measurement of voltage indicating the maximum potential difference available would equal the maximum input voltage) to the maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]) when (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) undergoes (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) its maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer).
Regarding claim 22, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]) has a maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]) and the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) has a maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer) from its quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]), and wherein, when (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) undergoes (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) its maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer), the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) generates (Figs. 30/95) a first open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across first transducer element absent a load) and the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) generates (Figs. 30/95) a second open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across second transducer element absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available), the first and second open-circuit voltages (Figs. 30/95, voltages across first and second transducer elements absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) being equal to twice (Figs. 30/95, two measurements of voltage indicating the maximum potential difference available would equal twice the maximum input voltage) the maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]), and further wherein the energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) further includes: a first voltage divider (Figs. 64/95, first voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) that receives (Fig. 95) the first open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across first transducer element absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) provides (Fig. 95) a first pair of voltages (Figs. 64/95, pair of voltages output by first voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) to the AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]); and a second voltage divider (Figs. 64/95, second voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) that receives (Fig. 95) the second open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across second transducer element absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) provides (Fig. 95) a second pair of voltages (Figs. 64/95, pair of voltages output by second voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) to the AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]); wherein each of the first pair of voltages (Figs. 64/95, pair of voltages output by first voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) and the second pair of voltages (Figs. 64/95, pair of voltages output by second voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) is substantially equal (Fig. 95) to the maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]).
Regarding claim 23, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) is configured to generate a stimulus (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”) to a user (Fig. 95, user of 425; [0406]) in response (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) to receipt (Fig. 95, 425 drive signal output; [0406]) of a drive signal (Fig. 95, 425 input; [0406]) from (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) the processor (Fig. 95, 425; [0406]).
Regarding claim 24, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 23 wherein the stimulus (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”) is selected (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) from the group (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) consisting of a vibration (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”), an audible tone (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”), and a mechanical impulse (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Gray in view of Akkaraju et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180153512; hereinafter “Akkaraju”).
Regarding claim 10, Gray teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein at least one (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, at least one of the first and second transducer elements) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first and second transducer elements; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]). Gray does not teach comprising a low-K piezoelectric material.
Akkaraju, however, does teach comprising a low-K piezoelectric material ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Gray as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Gray does not teach wherein the low-K piezoelectric material is selected from the group consisting of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, scandium- doped aluminum nitride, undoped zinc oxide, doped zinc oxide, and polyvinylidene fluoride.
Akkaraju, however, does teach wherein the low-K piezoelectric material ([0055]) is selected from ([0055]) the group ([0055]) consisting ([0055]) of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, scandium- doped aluminum nitride ([0055]), undoped zinc oxide ([0055]), doped zinc oxide, and polyvinylidene fluoride ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Gray teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises steel (Fig. 30; [0205]) and at least one (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, at least one of the first and second transducer elements) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, piezoelectric layer in at least one of the first and second transducer elements; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]). Gray does not teach comprising a material selected from the group of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride.
Akkaraju, however, does teach comprising a material ([0055]) selected from ([0055]) the group ([0055]) of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Gray teaches the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises steel (Fig. 30; [0205]) and at least one (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, at least one of the first and second transducer elements) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, piezoelectric layer in at least one of the first and second transducer elements; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]). Gray does not teach comprising a material selected from the group of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride.
Akkaraju, however, does teach comprising a material ([0055]) selected from ([0055]) the group ([0055]) of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
10 February 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837