Response After Non-Final
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/16/2026.
Claims 1-24 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-24 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8, 13-15, 19, and 21-22 are currently amended.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed July 16, 2026 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Title, drawing, 112 rejection, and claim objections have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to teach “a quiescent shape” in claim 1.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the title, drawing, 112 rejection, and claim objections raised in the most recent office action are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because as acknowledged by the applicant’s representative, the prior art of record discloses “compression” of the piezoelectric. Therefore, the prior art of record discloses the claimed quiescent shaped transducer (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]) that is non-planar (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]).
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 13-18, and 20-24 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Gray et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220152455; hereinafter “Gray”).
Regarding claim 1, Gray discloses an apparatus comprising: a bending-strain-based transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, bending-strain-based transducers on opposing sides of substrate; Fig. 95, 420-1…420-x; [0495]) that includes: (i) a first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) disposed on (Fig. 30) a first surface (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) being a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95); and (ii) a second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) disposed on (Fig. 30) a second surface (Figs. 30/95, second surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first and second surfaces (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first and second surfaces of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) being on (Fig. 30) opposite sides (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, opposing sides of substrate) of the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) is selected (Figs. 30/95) from the group (Figs. 30/95) consisting (Figs. 30/95) of a resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95; [0501]), a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95), a force sensor (Figs. 30/95; [Abstract]), a load sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0206]), a pressure sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0145]), and a haptic device (Figs. 30/95; [0410]-[0411]); wherein the bending-strain-based transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, bending-strain-based transducers on opposing sides of substrate; Fig. 95, 420-1…420-x; [0495]) has a quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]) that is non-planar (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]); and an energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) for receiving (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) a first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420) from the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and storing (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) energy (Fig. 95, first output of 420) based on (Fig. 95) the first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420).
Regarding claim 2, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 further comprising: a detection circuit (Fig. 95, 504/430/434 in combination) configured to receive (Fig. 95) the first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420) and provide a first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of 420) that is based on (Fig. 95) the first output (Fig. 95, first output of 420); and a processor (Fig. 95, 425) for estimating (Fig. 95, 425; [0403]) a first parameter (Fig. 95, first parameter estimated by 425; [0403]) based on (Fig. 95) the first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of 420).
Regarding claim 3, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) includes a first plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95, each layer or the piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) of the first plurality (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof being disposed between (Fig. 30) and electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of first transducer element) of a first plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of first transducer element).
Regarding claim 4, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) of the first plurality (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 5, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a second plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95, each layer or the piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) of the second plurality (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof being electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of second transducer element) of a first plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of second transducer element).
Regarding claim 6, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 5 wherein the piezoelectric layers of the first plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]) and the piezoelectric layers of the second plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 7, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) is configured to generate (Fig. 95, 425; [0406]) a stimulus (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”) to a user (Fig. 95, user of 425; [0406]) in response (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) to receipt (Fig. 95, 425 drive signal output; [0406]) of a drive signal (Fig. 95, 425 input; [0406]) from (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) the processor (Fig. 95, 425; [0406]).
Regarding claim 8, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the apparatus (Fig. 96, 474) is a sole member (Fig. 96, 474).
Regarding claim 9, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises a material (Fig. 30; [0205]) selected (Fig. 30; [0205]) from the group (Fig. 30; [0205]) consisting (Fig. 30; [0205]) of a metal (Fig. 30; [0205]), a polyimide (Fig. 30; [0205]) and a glass (Fig. 30; [0205]).
Regarding claim 13, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) includes at least one flange (Fig. 30, flanges at medial and lateral ends), and wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) has a first thickness (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate thickness) and the at least one flange has a second thickness (Fig. 30, thickness of flanges at medial and lateral ends) that is greater (Fig. 30; [0206] – thickness at ends is greater during compression/flexion) than the first thickness (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate thickness).
Regarding claim 14, Gray discloses an apparatus comprising: a first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) having a quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]) that is non-planar (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]), the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) being configured to bend (Figs. 30/95; [0206]) in response to a first force (Figs. 30/95, first force; [0206]), wherein the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) includes: (i) a first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) disposed on a first surface (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) being a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95); and (ii) a second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) disposed on (Fig. 30) a second surface (Figs. 30/95, second surface of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), the first and second surfaces (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first and second surfaces of substrate) of a substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) being on (Fig. 30) opposite sides (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, opposing sides of substrate) of the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate), wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) is selected (Figs. 30/95) from the group (Figs. 30/95) consisting (Figs. 30/95) of a resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95; [0501]), a non-resonant energy harvester (Figs. 30/95), a force sensor (Figs. 30/95; [Abstract]), a load sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0206]), a pressure sensor (Figs. 30/95; [0145]), and a haptic device (Figs. 30/95; [0410]-[0411]); an energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) that includes (Figs. 30/64/95) at least one alternating-current-to-direct-current (AC/DC) conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]), the energy-storage module (Fig. 95, 432/426 in combination) being configured to receive (Figs. 30/64/95) a first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) from the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) at the AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]) and store (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) energy (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) based on (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) the first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420); and a processor (Fig. 95, 425) for estimating (Fig. 95, 425; [0403]) a first parameter (Fig. 95, first parameter estimated by 425; [0403]) based on (Fig. 95) a second electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 430 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) from the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer).
Regarding claim 15, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the first electrical signal (Fig. 95, first electrical signal output by 504 in combination based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) and the second electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 430 based on second output of first bimorph transducer of 420) are based on (Fig. 95) a first output (Fig. 95, first output of first transducer element) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element), and wherein the apparatus (Fig. 96, 474) further includes a detection circuit (Fig. 95, 504/430/434 in combination) for converting (Fig. 95, 434) the second electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 430 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) into (Fig. 95) a third electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 434 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) and providing (Fig. 95) the third electrical signal (Fig. 95, second electrical signal output by 434 based on first output of first bimorph transducer of 420) to the processor (Fig. 95, 425).
Regarding claim 16, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises a material (Fig. 30; [0205]) selected (Fig. 30; [0205]) from the group (Fig. 30; [0205]) consisting (Fig. 30; [0205]) of a metal (Fig. 30; [0205]), a polyimide (Fig. 30; [0205]) and a glass (Fig. 30; [0205]).
Regarding claim 17, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) includes (Figs. 30/95) a first plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer of the first plurality (Figs. 30/95, each layer of the piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) thereof being disposed between (Fig. 30) and electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of first transducer element) of a first plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of first transducer element), and wherein the piezoelectric layers of the first plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 18, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 17 wherein the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a second plurality of piezoelectric layers (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]), each piezoelectric layer of the second plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, each layer of the piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) being disposed between (Fig. 30) and electrically connected to (Fig. 30) a pair of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, pair of electrodes of second transducer element) of a second plurality of electrodes (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, electrodes of second transducer element), and wherein the piezoelectric layers of the second plurality thereof (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in second transducer element; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]) are electrically connected (Fig. 30) in parallel (Fig. 30; [0275]).
Regarding claim 20, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the apparatus (Fig. 96, 474) is a shoe insole (Fig. 96, 474) that includes: a plurality of bimorph transducers (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, plurality of bimorph transducers) that includes (Figs. 30/95) the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer); a wireless communications module (Fig. 95, 434); a power-handling circuit (Fig. 95, 490/492/494/496/426 in combination); and the energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination); wherein the plurality of bimorph transducers (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) is operatively coupled (Fig. 95) with each of the power-handling circuit (Fig. 95, 490/492/494/496/426 in combination) and the energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination).
Regarding claim 21, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the at least one AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]) has a maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]) and the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) has a maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer) from the quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]), and wherein each of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) is configured to generate (Fig. 95) an open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, measurement of voltage across each transducer absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) equal (Figs. 30/95, measurement of voltage indicating the maximum potential difference available would equal the maximum input voltage) to the maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]) when (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) undergoes (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) the maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer).
Regarding claim 22, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the at least one AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]) has a maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]) and the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) has a maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer) from the quiescent shape (Figs. 30/95; [0204]; [0207]; [0218]), and wherein, when (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) the first bimorph transducer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first bimorph transducer) undergoes (Figs. 30/95; [0206]; [0406]) its maximum deformation (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, max deformation of first bimorph transducer), the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) generates (Figs. 30/95) a first open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across first transducer element absent a load) and the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) generates (Figs. 30/95) a second open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across second transducer element absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available), the first and second open-circuit voltages (Figs. 30/95, voltages across first and second transducer elements absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) being equal to twice (Figs. 30/95, two measurements of voltage indicating the maximum potential difference available would equal twice the maximum input voltage) the maximum input voltage (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, max input voltage of AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, max input voltage of 396; [0392]), and further wherein the energy-storage module (Figs. 64/95, 432/426 in combination) further includes: a first voltage divider (Figs. 64/95, first voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) that receives (Fig. 95) the first open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across first transducer element absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) provides (Fig. 95) a first pair of voltages (Figs. 64/95, pair of voltages output by first voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) to a first of the at least one AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]); and a second voltage divider (Figs. 64/95, second voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) that receives (Fig. 95) the second open-circuit voltage (Figs. 30/95, voltage across second transducer element absent a load indicating the maximum potential difference available) provides (Fig. 95) a second pair of voltages (Figs. 64/95, pair of voltages output by second voltage divider in 426 in 432/426 in combination) to a second of the at least one AC/DC conversion chip (Figs. 64/95; Fig. 95, AC/DC converter in 432/426 in combination; Fig. 64, 396; [0392]).
Regarding claim 23, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) is configured to generate a stimulus (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”) to a user (Fig. 95, user of 425; [0406]) in response (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) to receipt (Fig. 95, 425 drive signal output; [0406]) of a drive signal (Fig. 95, 425 input; [0406]) from (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) the processor (Fig. 95, 425; [0406]).
Regarding claim 24, Gray discloses the apparatus of claim 23 wherein the stimulus (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”) is selected (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) from the group (Fig. 95; [406]; [0410]-[0411]) consisting of a vibration (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”), an audible tone (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”), and a mechanical impulse (Fig. 95, 425; [0406] – “GUI” outputs; [0410] – “oscillating component”; [0411] – “transmit signal…via the body”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Gray in view of Akkaraju et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180153512; hereinafter “Akkaraju”).
Regarding claim 10, Gray teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein at least one (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, at least one of the first and second transducer elements) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95, piezoelectric layers in first and second transducer elements; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]). Gray does not teach comprising a low-K piezoelectric material.
Akkaraju, however, does teach comprising a low-K piezoelectric material ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Gray as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Gray does not teach wherein the low-K piezoelectric material is selected from the group consisting of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, scandium- doped aluminum nitride, undoped zinc oxide, doped zinc oxide, and polyvinylidene fluoride.
Akkaraju, however, does teach wherein the low-K piezoelectric material ([0055]) is selected from ([0055]) the group ([0055]) consisting ([0055]) of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, scandium- doped aluminum nitride ([0055]), undoped zinc oxide ([0055]), doped zinc oxide, and polyvinylidene fluoride ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Gray teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises steel (Fig. 30; [0205]) and at least one (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, at least one of the first and second transducer elements) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, piezoelectric layer in at least one of the first and second transducer elements; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]). Gray does not teach comprising a material selected from the group of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride.
Akkaraju, however, does teach comprising a material ([0055]) selected from ([0055]) the group ([0055]) of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Gray teaches the apparatus of claim 14 wherein the substrate (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, substrate) comprises steel (Fig. 30; [0205]) and at least one (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, at least one of the first and second transducer elements) of the first transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, first transducer element) and the second transducer element (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, second transducer element) includes a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 30/95; Fig. 30, piezoelectric layer in at least one of the first and second transducer elements; [0155]; [0212]; [0392]; [0413]; [0469]). Gray does not teach comprising a material selected from the group of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride.
Akkaraju, however, does teach comprising a material ([0055]) selected from ([0055]) the group ([0055]) of undoped aluminum nitride, doped aluminum nitride, and scandium-doped aluminum nitride ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gray to include the piezoelectric of Akkaraju because the power consumed by the piezoelectric element may be significantly lower than the power consumed by the conventional piezoelectric element thereby improving power consumption efficiency (Akkaraju [0056]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time
policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
9 September 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837