DETAILED ACTION
Herein, “the previous Office action” refers to the Non-Final Rejection filed on 5/19/2026.
Amendments Received
Amendments to the claims were received on 8/18/2026.
Priority
As detailed on the Filing Receipt filed 2/7/2023, the instant application claims priority to as early as 1/18/2022. At this point in prosecution, all claims are accorded the earliest claimed priority date.
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending, and under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to claims 1, 7 and 13 are hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment of the claims to clarify functional language.
The rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 USC § 112(b) as being indefinite, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 7 and 13 to remove the language at issue (“determining the specific model… describing the plurality of past subjects”).
The rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 USC § 103, as being unpatentable over combinations of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Sinaga and/or Kahn, have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) and persuasive argument that the applied art does not describe or make obvious subgrouped modeling and routing as claimed (pg. 8, para. 1 – pg. 9, para. 6). See ‘Response to Arguments – Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 103’ section.
The rejections of claims 1, 7 and 13 on grounds of nonstatutory double patenting, as being patentably indistinct from claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 11382514, 11540717, 11581082, 12308119 and 12548671, have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026). See ‘Response to Arguments – Double Patenting’ section.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 7 and 13 recite the limitation of “taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition” (claim 1, lines 16-17; claim 7, lines 18-19, claim 13, lines 19-20).
The specification reads, in relevant part, “the method can include taking an action based on the identified potential present subject brain condition. For example, taking an action can include providing a value for certainty of the model. For example, the specific model can provide a value as a percentage of certainty (e.g., 85% certainty) that the connectivity matrix data has or does not have the potential brain condition” (pg. 17, para. 4, reference numbers omitted).
The specification here indicates that Applicant understands the described embodiment to fall within the scope of the recited limitation. The recited limitation is thus interpreted as encompassing providing a value for certainty of the model based on an identified potential present subject brain condition.
Please note that the scope of the claim is not being interpreted as limited to the described embodiment, but rather as affirmatively encompassing said embodiment. See discussion in In re American Academy of Science Tech. Center, 367 F.3d 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004) regarding propriety of claim construction in view of the specification (and distinction from improper limitation).
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 101
In the reply filed 8/18/2026, Applicant traverses the rejection under 35 USC § 101 and presents supporting arguments.
Applicant alleges that the claims recite features that are not insignificant or generic, and are not directed towards a judicial exception. In particular, Applicant asserts that the implemented features of training a plurality of distinct models on segmented subgroups of past subjects, and dynamically routing a present subject to the specific model trained on the matching subgroup, provides improved model accuracy over training without subgrouping and reflect a specific technical improvement (pg. 7, paras. 1-4).
Subgrouping data, and selecting a model based on matching query information, are mental processes while model training is a mathematical operation. The referenced claim features thus embody abstract ideas, i.e., judicial exceptions. An inventive concept cannot be furnished by an abstract idea itself (Genetic Techs. V. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Thus, the argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that the present subject data used to perform the matching is not mere insignificant extra-solution activity, as it actively determines which of the plurality of distinct models is applied to the present subject data (pg. 7, para. 2).
The previous Office action asserts that the recited steps of “obtaining” present subject data (e.g., in claim 1) amount to necessary data gathering, which is considered insignificant extra-solution activity (previous Office action at pg. 9, para. 2). Basis on attributes of particular data (i.e., present subject data) merely confines the step of determining a model to a given field of use. Determining a model is an abstract idea, and confinement to a field of use is insufficient to practically integrate, or provide an inventive concept to, a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h), as well as Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Thus, the argument is found unpersuasive.
For the above reasons, the arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 USC § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more (i.e., non-statutory subject matter). This rejection is maintained from the previous Office action, and has been revised to fully address the amended claims (filed 8/18/2026).
"Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas, natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 § I).
Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts (including formulas, equations and calculations), and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Natural phenomena and laws of nature and include principles, relations, and products that are naturally occurring or do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature (MPEP 2106.04(b)).
The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea and a natural phenomenon.
Step 1: The Four Categories of Statutory Subject Matter (MPEP 2106.03)
The claims are directed to a method (claims 1-6), computer program product (claims 7-12) and system (claims 13-18), which fall under categories of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A, Prong One: Whether the Claims Set Forth or Describe a Judicial Exception (MPEP 2106.04 § II.A.1)
‘Mathematical concepts’ are relationships between variables and numbers, numerical formulas or equations, or acts of calculation, which need not be expressed in mathematical symbols (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) § I). The claims recite elements which encompass mathematical concepts, at least under their broadest reasonable interpretation, including:
providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects (claims 1, 7 and 13), e.g., optimizing a plurality of distinct equations based on a respective dataset, each respective dataset being one of a plurality of datasets;
determin[ing] a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups (claims 1, 7 and 13), i.e., constructing an equation based at least in part on input data, wherein:
determin[ing] a specific model [comprises using] an unsupervised machine learning algorithm (claims 2, 8 and 14),
the unsupervised machine learning algorithm is a k-means clustering algorithm (claims 3, 9 and 15),
determining a specific model comprises using a clustering method to group connectivity matrices (claims 4, 10 and 16);
apply[ing] the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data (claims 1, 7 and 13), i.e., evaluating an equation for, at least in part, a recited type of input data to produce an output; and
tak[ing] an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition (claims 1, 7 and 13), e.g., calculating a value for certainty of the model based on output (see ‘Claim Interpretation’ section).
The recited mathematical algorithms and acts of calculation constitute mathematical concepts.
Mathematical concepts constitute an enumerated grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) § I). Hence, the claims explicitly recite numerous elements that, individually and in combination, constitute an abstract idea.
The claims also recite the following claim elements, which require that analyzed input and output data embodies particular natural phenomena and/or laws of nature:
connectivity matrix data for a present subject (claims 1, 7 and 13);
present subject data describing the present subject (claims 1, 7 and 13);
fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects and past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects (claims 1, 7 and 13);
a potential present subject brain condition (claims 1, 7 and 13);
the present subject data includes at least one of: age, gender, or ethnicity (claims 5, 11 and 17).
The above elements specify that analyzed data matrices represent naturally occurring subject brain connectivity patterns, i.e., natural phenomena, having naturally occurring relationships with subject brain condition, i.e., laws of nature, that the claimed invention allows a user of the claimed method and/or system to observe.
Hence, the claims also recite elements that, individually and in combination, constitute a natural phenomenon (MPEP 2106.04(b)).
The claims must therefore be examined further to determine whether they integrate these judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Whether the Claims Contain Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception(s) into a Practical Application (MPEP 2106.04 § II.A.2)
The claims recite additional elements that gather data necessary for performance of claimed method steps, including:
obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject (claims 1, 7 and 13); and
obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data (claims 1, 7 and 13), wherein:
the present subject data is obtained from a DICOM header of the present subject connectivity matrix (claims 6, 12 and 18).
Necessary data gathering is considered to be insignificant pre-solution activity, and as such insufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The claims further recite additional elements that encompass computer hardware and software that implement functions of the claimed method, including:
A computer program product, tangibly embodied in a machine readable storage device, the computer program product being operable to cause a data processing apparatus to [perform functions of the claimed method] (claim 7); and
A system comprising: one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising [functions of the claimed method] (claim 13).
The claims do not describe any specific computational steps by which a computer performs or carries out functions drawn to the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of a computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than that a generic computer performs functions drawn to the judicial exceptions.
Additionally, the instant specification indicates that the claimed invention may be practiced using conventionally-arranged computer components and commercially-available, general purpose computer systems (pg. 8, para. 2). There is nothing in the specification to indicate that claimed tangible hardware components are more than off-the-shelf computer technology having conventional functionality.
Therefore, the above elements amount to mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer. As such, the claims do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I and 2106.05(f)).
No further additional elements are recited.
When the claims are considered as a whole: they do not improve the functioning of a computer, other technology, or technical field (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)); they do not apply the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)); they do not implement the judicial exceptions with, or in conjunction with, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)); they do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)); and they do not apply or use the judicial exceptions in some other meaningful way beyond linking the use of the judicial exceptions to a particular technological environment and/or field of use (e.g., fMRI imaging and clinical neurology; MPEP 2106.05(e) and 2106.05(h)).
Hence, the recited judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) § I.
Because the claims recite an abstract idea and a natural phenomenon, and do not integrate those judicial exceptions into a practical application, the claims are directed to those judicial exceptions. Claims that are directed to judicial exceptions must be examined further to determine whether the additional elements besides the judicial exceptions render the claims significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Additional elements besides the judicial exceptions may constitute inventive concepts that are sufficient to render the claims significantly more (MPEP 2106.05).
Step 2B: Whether the Claims Contain Additional Elements that Amount to an Inventive Concept (MPEP 2106.05)
As noted above, several recited additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the recited judicial exceptions, particularly when the activities are well-understood or conventional (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The conventionality of recited additional elements that amount to insignificant extra-solution activity must be further considered.
Recited additional elements amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity include functions of obtaining recited forms of data, including present subject connectivity matrix data and present subject data describing the present subject.
The specification states that connectivity matrix data can be obtained by capturing diffusor tension and magnetic resonance images (pg. 16, para. 3; Fig. 4), while the claims themselves further specify that present subject data describing the present subject is obtained from a DICOM header of the present subject connectivity matrix (claims 6, 12 and 18). The cited Kahn reference (see rejections under § 103, or attached form PTO-892, for full citation) indicates that a DICOM header is a data element found within images (e.g., magnetic resonance images) adhering to the DICOM standard, which is a conventional standard within the medical imaging field (see Kahn at pg. 652, l. column; pg. 653, m. column). In this way, the specification and reviewed prior art indicate that the claimed data gathering functions can be accomplished by obtaining the referenced forms of images.
The specification further states that the referenced forms of images can be obtained from a remote server, such as a cloud server, via a network (pg. 16, para. 3). The courts have held that receiving data over a network is a well-understood, routine and conventional computer function. See, e.g., buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, the instant disclosure and reviewed prior art indicate that the claimed data gathering functions encompass performance of activity recognized by the courts to be well-understood, routine and conventional.
Hence, the encompassed extra-solution activity is considered well-understood, routine and conventional. Well-understood, routine and conventional activity is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than judicial exceptions (MPEP 2106.05(d)).
In the interest of compact prosecution, please note that the courts have also held analyzing data and displaying the result to be well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions (TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 612-13 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Mere instructions to implement judicial exceptions using a computer are, when considered individually, similarly insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than said judicial exceptions (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the judicial exceptions to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a
particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to
perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not
provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exceptions to a particular technological environment and/or field of use (e.g., fMRI imaging and clinical neurology; see MPEP 2106.05(e) and 2106.05(h)).
Hence, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05.
Conclusion: Claims are Directed to Non-statutory Subject Matter
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to judicial exceptions and lack an inventive concept. Hence, the claimed invention does not constitute significantly more than the judicial exceptions, so the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 103
In the reply filed 8/18/2026, Applicant traverses the rejections under 35 USC § 103 and presents supporting arguments pertaining to particular cited prior art references. Although the previous rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn, the presented arguments pertain to references of record (e.g., Mohammadi) which are applied herein in new rejections under § 103 in combination with additional prior art.
Applicant alleges that the applied references, whether considered alone or in combination, do not describe or render obvious “providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects”, or “determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups”, as recited by amended independent claims 1, 7 and 13 (pg. 8, para. 2 – pg. 9, para. 5).
This argument is found persuasive with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 103 that were made of record in the previous Office action. Consequently, these previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations necessitated search of additional prior art. New rejections under § 103 have been issued in this Office action, applying previously cited references (e.g., Mohammadi) in combinations with an additional reference (Wang) that is considered to remedy the deficiencies of the previously cited references with respect to the amended claims. As further detailed in the current rejections, the combined teachings of Mohammadi, Zhao, Wang, Sinaga and Kahn are considered to make obvious all limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammadi (Convolutional Autoencoder for Studying Dynamic Functional Brain Connectivity in Resting-State Functional MRI [Master’s thesis], Concordia University, Montreal; April 2019), in view of Zhao (Applications of Unsupervised Clustering in Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging [Doctoral thesis], Auburn University, Auburn; May 2017) and Wang (IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics 49(8): 3141-3154; published 6/19/2018). The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Claim 1 is directed to a method comprising: obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject; obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data; providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data, based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups; applying the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition.
With respect to claim 1, Mohammadi describes an analytical pipeline including steps of: obtaining connectivity matrices by applying group independent component analysis (ICA) and a sliding window technique to subject fMRI data (pg. 21, paras. 1-2; pg. 25, para. 1 and Fig. 2.9 – pg. 27, Fig. 2.10; pg. 41, para. 2; pg. 45, para. 1).
Mohammadi further discloses training a convolutional autoencoder, to encode and group latent representations of input subject correlation matrices (pg. 42, para. 1). The trained encoder outputs latent representations of the connectivity matrices and applies them to a clustering algorithm (pg. III, para. 1 – pg. IV, para. 1; pg. 42, paras. 1-3). The trained encoder is a model trained with fMRI data for brains of a plurality of subjects.
The parameters of the implemented clustering algorithm are optimized based on clustering dynamics (Euclidean distance ratios) of the latent representations output by the encoder (pg. 42, para. 3). In this way the optimized clustering algorithm can be viewed as a specific model determined using a model trained with fMRI data for brains of a plurality of subjects.
Mohammadi also depicts a table indicating grouping of subjects based on demographic variables that describe the subjects, and states that utilized data includes both fMRI data and said variables (e.g., age) for every subject (pp. 46-47, Table 4.1). In this way, Mohammadi discloses obtaining descriptive subject data that is different from the connectivity matrix data.
Mohammadi discloses application of their methodology to distinguishing grouped functional connectivity (FC) patterns of healthy subjects from those of subjects with schizophrenia (pg. 43, para. 2; pg. 57, paras. 1-2 and Fig. 4.7). Mohammadi exemplifies analysis of data from healthy subjects and patients with schizophrenia, all in the age range of 18-65 years (pg. 46, para. 2 and Table 4.1). Mohammadi also discusses calculation of pairwise t-values and corresponding p-values to assess group differences (pg. 29, paras. 1-2), and indicates that the output of a convolutional neural network is a set of class probabilities (pg. 36, Fig. 3.6).
In this way Mohammadi at least suggests applying a model to identify a potential subject brain condition based at least in part on subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential subject brain condition as claimed (see ‘Claim Interpretation’ section).
However, Mohammadi does not expressly disclose application of their methodology to analysis of present subject data with models trained on past subject data (e.g., training the autoencoder with fMRI data and descriptive data of past subjects; and determining a specific model, for application to connectivity matrix data of a present subject, based on descriptive data of the present subject and using the trained encoder). Nor does Mohammadi disclose providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Zhao presents an analytical pipeline for identification of brain-based disorders based on unsupervised clustering of fMRI connectivity measures, and discusses application to improve diagnostic precision (pg. ii, para. 2 – pg. iii, para. 1; pg. 31, para. 1 – pg. 32, para. 1). Zhao also discloses reassignment of subject diagnostic labels based on learned connectivity clusters, and presents findings that neurobiologically-informed groupings provided better mapping from subjects to behavioral phenotypes (i.e., disorders) than clinical diagnostic groupings (pg. 93, para. 1). In this way, Zhao suggests diagnostic analysis of present subject data based on clustering of fMRI data with models learned from past subject data.
Zhao exemplifies analysis of fMRI data from subjects having posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), subjects having post-concussive syndrome (PCS) and PTSD, and control subjects, all matched in descriptive variables including sex (male) and age (pg. 42, para. 2). However, Zhao does not teach providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Wang discusses a classification method for image-based diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (pg. 3141, Abstract), comprising: extraction of functional connectivity (FC) features from fMRI images, grouping training data according to subject age and sex, sparse multiview task-centralized (Sparse-MVTC) learning, and ensemble classification (pg. 3143, l. column and Fig. 1). Wang further describes their task-centralized learning strategy, wherein sets of specific classifiers are trained for each group by iteratively treating each group as the ‘central task’ of the model objective (pg. 3142, r. column – pg. 3143, r. column). Wang teaches that testing is performed by associating a test subject with a specific group according to age/sex information, and applying the corresponding classifiers within an ensemble framework (pg. 3142, r. column; pg. 3145, l. column).
Wang teaches that subject partitioning is performed to account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex, and the task-centralized learning mechanism provides greatly improved computational efficiency to their classification method by decoupling the complex relationships between tasks/groups (pg. 3142, l-r. columns). Wang also presents findings of improved model accuracy over single-classifier (J) versions of popular classification techniques (pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V).
With respect to claim 4, Mohammadi discloses clustering of connectivity matrices via the convolutional autoencoder (pg. 41, para. 2; pg. 43, paras. 1-3; pg. 58, Fig. 4.8).
Zhao also teaches clustering of connectivity matrices, with respect to clinical diagnoses and behavioral phenotypes, via unsupervised feature selection (pg. 37, para. 1; see discussion of data deconvolution at pg. 48, para. 1).
With respect to claim 5, Mohammadi depicts a table indicating grouping of subjects based on age and gender, and states that utilized data includes both fMRI data and phenotypic features, including age and gender, for every subject (pp. 46-47, Table 4.1).
Claim 7 is directed to a computer program product, tangibly embodied in a machine readable storage device, the computer program product being operable to cause a data processing apparatus to perform functional limitations of substantive similarity to the process limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 7, Mohammadi discloses implementation of discussed analytical techniques using particular computer programs operable to cause a data processing apparatus to perform said techniques, including pre-processing of fMRI data using statistical parametric mapping software, called SPM12, implemented in MATLAB (pg. 47, para. 2) and performing group ICA using the GIFT toolbox (pg. 48, para. 2; pg. 51, Fig. 4.2 caption).
Although Mohammadi does not expressly disclose tangible embodiment of said programs in a machine readable storage device, machine readable storage devices include general-purpose computer hardware (e.g., flash drives) whose use to tangibly embody (i.e., store) computer programs was well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of bioinformatics before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Before the filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have consequently found it obvious to tangibly embody the disclosed computer programs in this manner.
The teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, are considered to apply to the functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the process limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claim 4.
With respect to claim 11, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claim 5.
Claim 13 is directed to a system comprising a processor and communicatively connected data store, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform a method including functional limitations of substantive similarity to the process limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 13, Mohammadi discloses performance of several analytical techniques using particular computer hardware, including training the convolutional autoencoder on a given model of graphics processing unit (pg. 54).
Although Mohammadi does not expressly disclose implementation of said techniques via a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform said techniques, storage devices and computers include general-purpose computer hardware whose use to, respectively, store and execute instructions that are operable to cause computers to perform analytical techniques (i.e., data processing) was well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of bioinformatics before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Indeed, the specification describes implementation of the claimed invention with computer components “[that] typically communicate… in a manner that results in a conventional mode of operation of the computer system known to those in the relevant art” (pg. 8, para. 2). Before the filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have consequently found it obvious to implement the disclosed techniques in the claimed manner.
The teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, are considered to apply to the functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the process limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 16, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claim 4.
With respect to claim 17, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claim 5.
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have applied the analytical pipeline of Mohammadi to analyze present subject data with models learned from past subject data, because Zhao presents findings that fMRI-based clustering provides subject groupings with better mapping from subjects to behavioral phenotypes (i.e., disorders) than clinical diagnostic groupings (pg. 93, para. 1). In this way, Zhao provides evidence that this is an enabled and clinically-useful application of the analytical pipeline of Mohammadi.
Additionally, said practitioner would have trained the disclosed autoencoder using descriptive data in addition to fMRI data, because Mohammadi already discloses acquisition of subject descriptive data, including values for age and gender variables, and Zhao teaches selection of fMRI data for cluster analysis (i.e., clustering algorithm optimization) based on subject descriptive variables that also include age and gender (pg. 42, para. 2). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mohammadi and Zhao both concern algorithmic methods of clustering subject fMRI data to distinguish associated subject brain conditions.
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented subject grouping and group-specific model training, as taught by Wang, in combination with the method of Mohammadi, because Wang teaches that subject grouping and task-centralized (i.e., group-specific) model training account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex (i.e., confounding effects between the predicted brain condition and subject demographics), provide greatly improved computational efficiency, and contribute to improved accuracy over single-classifier techniques (pg. 3142, l-r. columns; pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mohammadi and Wang both concern algorithmic methods of predicting subject brain conditions based on functional connectivity features extracted from fMRI data.
In this way the disclosure of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, makes obvious the limitations of claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13 and 16-17. Thus, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, as applied to claims 1, 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Sinaga (IEEE Access 8: 80716-80727; published 5/13/2020). The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
With respect to claims 2-3, Mohammadi discloses implementation of a k-means algorithm to cluster the latent representations of the connectivity matrices at the middle layer of the autoencoder (pg. 42, para. 2-3), and discusses training the autoencoder through unsupervised minimization of a cost function via backpropagation and gradient descent (pg. 40, para. 1).
However, Mohammadi further describes estimation of the optimal number of centroid states (K) by evaluating a search window, from K = 2 - 9, based on the elbow criterion (the ratio of within-cluster distances to between-cluster distances) (pg. 42, para. 3). The disclosed implementation of the k-means algorithm, in requiring the prior definition of a search window for K, does not appear to be truly unsupervised.
Zhao discusses the k-means algorithm as well, teaching that it is one of the best-known centroid clustering algorithms, works well for many practical problems, and exhibits relatively low time complexity (pg. 20, para. 4 – pg. 21, para. 1). However, Zhao additionally discusses functional drawbacks of k-means including requirement for the user to determine an optimal value for the predefined parameter k, i.e., number of clusters (pg. ii, para. 1; pg. 20, para. 4 – pg. 21, para. 1).
Wang describes algorithmic selection of the “K = 3 best classifiers” for each group (pg. 3147, l. column), but does not discuss unsupervised k-means clustering.
Sinaga presents an unsupervised extension of the k-means clustering algorithm, abbreviated as ‘U-k means’, that is free of initial parameterizations and remedies the supervision-related drawbacks discussed by Zhao (pg. 80716, Abstract). Sinaga also describes the X-means algorithm, a variant of k-means that evaluates a user-specified range of cluster numbers based on a selection criterion (pg. 80717, r. column). This is equivalent to the k-means implementation described by Mohammadi. Sinaga presents findings that the U-k-means algorithm outperforms the native k-means and X-means algorithms (pg. 80722, Tables 4 and 7-8).
With respect to claims 8-9, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Wang and Sinaga, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claims in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claims 2-3.
With respect to claims 14-15, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Wang and Sinaga, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claims in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claims 2-3.
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented the unsupervised k-means clustering algorithm of Sinaga as the k-means clustering algorithm utilized by the method of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, because Sinaga teaches that the unsupervised k-means algorithm is free of initializations and thus remedies functional drawbacks discussed by Zhao while retaining functional advantages discussed by Zhao, and providing additional functional advantages over the k-means implementation disclosed by Mohammadi (pg. 80716, Abstract; pg. 80717, r. column; pg. 80722, Tables 4 and 7-8). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mohammadi, Zhao and Sinaga all concern data clustering algorithms.
In this way the disclosure of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Wang and Sinaga, makes obvious the limitations of claims 2-3, 8-9 and 14-15. Thus, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious.
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, as applied to claims 1, 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Kahn (J. Am. Coll. Radiol. 4(9): 652-657; published September 2007). The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
With respect to claim 6, Mohammadi discloses preprocessing of subject fMRI images and calculation of connectivity matrix data therefrom (pg. 12, para. 2; pg. 20, Fig. 2.7; pg. 27, Fig. 2.10). Mohammadi does not teach obtaining subject data from a DICOM header.
Zhao teaches extraction of fMRI data from subject images via parcellation (pg. 27, para. 3 – pg. 28, para. 1). Zhao does not teach obtaining subject data from a DICOM header.
Wang teaches extraction of functional connectivity features from fMRI images (pg. 3143, Fig. 1). Wang does not teach obtaining subject data from a DICOM header.
Kahn discusses the Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) standard, and describes definition by the DICOM standard of a number of core image objects associated with particular medical imaging modalities (pg. 652, l. column). Kahn particularly describes definition of an ‘enhanced’ magnetic resonance object, and teaches that the defined ‘enhanced’ objects bring considerable value to the operations of a radiology department by defining mandatory data elements and delineated terms to provide consistent information regardless of manufacturer (pg. 653, r. column).
Kahn teaches that DICOM is the most widely implemented and supported communications standard for medical imaging, and most commercially available acquisition modalities provide a standard DICOM interface for the storage of images (pg. 652, l. column). Kahn also discusses several particular factors that have led to the success of DICOM as a standard, including the specification of strict requirements for the contents of an image ‘header’ (pg. 653, m. column).
With respect to claim 12, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Wang and Kahn, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claim 6.
With respect to claim 18, the teachings of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Wang and Kahn, are considered to apply to the unique functional limitations of the claim in the same manner as outlined above with respect to the unique process limitations of claim 6.
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have applied the analytical pipeline of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao and Wang, to subject data obtained from a DICOM header, because Kahn teaches that production and analysis of magnetic resonance images conforming to the DICOM standard is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of medical imaging and such images contain a DICOM header that supplies standardized information content (pg. 652, l. column; pg. 653, r. column). Kahn thus indicates that headers of magnetic resonance images conforming to the DICOM standard are a readily available source of content for analysis by the method of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mohammadi, Zhao, Wang and Kahn all concern analysis of fMRI data.
In this way the disclosure of Mohammadi, in view of Zhao, Wang and Kahn, makes obvious the limitations of claims 6, 12 and 18. Thus, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments - Double Patenting
In the remarks filed 8/18/2026, Applicant requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the double patenting rejections in view of the amendments to claims 1, 7 and 13 (pg. 6, paras. 4-5). Applicant does not allege particular points of distinction.
Upon further consideration, the amended claims are considered patentably distinct from claims of the cited prior patents. Consequently, the previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations necessitated search of additional prior art. New rejections on grounds of nonstatutory double patenting have been issued in this Office action, applying the previously cited prior patents (e.g., U.S. Patent No. 11,382,514) in combination with a secondary reference (Wang) that is considered to make obvious the gaps between the amended limitations and those claimed in each prior patent. See rejections for further details.
Double Patenting
Instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11-12 and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,382,514 (hereafter “‘514”), in view of Wang. ‘514 shares joint inventors (Sughrue, Michael Edward; Doyen, Stephane Philippe; Nicholas, Peter James) and a common assignee (Omniscient Neurotechnology Pty Limited) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method comprising: obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject; obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data; providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data, based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups; applying the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘514 claims a method comprising: obtaining data identifying a plurality of brain parcels that are predicted to be relevant to a medical condition and receiving fMRI data for a brain of a subject (claim 1), wherein the plurality of brain parcels that are predicted to be relevant to the medical condition have been identified using a machine learning model trained to process an input derived from fMRI data for a brain of an input subject to predict whether the input subject has the medical condition (claim 7), and further wherein: the model is trained on a plurality of training examples each including (i) a training input derived from fMRI data for a brain of a training subject and (ii) a label defining whether the training subject has the medical condition (claim 11), and the model is configured to process an input that comprises a functional connectivity matrix derived from fMRI data for the brain of the input subject (claim 12); determining, for each of the plurality of brain parcels that are predicted to be relevant to the medical condition, a relative activation score for the brain parcel, wherein the relative activation scores are provided as explainability data that explains the medical condition in the subject (claim 1); and taking an action based on the relative activation scores (claim 1).
‘514 does not claim providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Wang discusses a classification method for image-based diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (pg. 3141, Abstract), comprising: extraction of functional connectivity (FC) features from fMRI images, grouping training data according to subject age and sex, sparse multiview task-centralized (Sparse-MVTC) learning, and ensemble classification (pg. 3143, l. column and Fig. 1). Wang further describes their task-centralized learning strategy, wherein sets of specific classifiers are trained for each group by iteratively treating each group as the ‘central task’ of the model objective (pg. 3142, r. column – pg. 3143, r. column). Wang teaches that testing is performed by associating a test subject with a specific group according to age/sex information, and applying the corresponding classifiers within an ensemble framework (pg. 3142, r. column; pg. 3145, l. column).
Wang teaches that subject partitioning is performed to account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex, and the task-centralized learning mechanism provides greatly improved computational efficiency to their classification method by decoupling the complex relationships between tasks/groups (pg. 3142, l-r. columns). Wang also presents findings of improved model accuracy over single-classifier (J) versions of popular classification techniques (pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V).
With respect to instant claim 7, ‘514 claims a system embodiment of the disclosed method (claim 19).
With respect to instant claim 13, ‘514 claims computer-readable storage media embodiments of the disclosed method (claim 20).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented subject grouping and group-specific model training, as taught by Wang, in combination with the method of ‘514, because Wang teaches that subject grouping and task-centralized (i.e., group-specific) model training account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex (i.e., confounding effects between the predicted brain condition and subject demographics), provide greatly improved computational efficiency, and contribute to improved accuracy over single-classifier techniques (pg. 3142, l-r. columns; pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘514 and Wang both concern algorithmic methods of predicting subject brain conditions based on functional connectivity features extracted from fMRI data.
In this way, instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are patentably indistinct from claims of ‘514, in view of Wang.
Instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11-12 and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,540,717 (hereafter “‘717”), in view of Wang. ‘717 shares joint inventors (Sughrue, Michael Edward; Doyen, Stephane Philippe; Nicholas, Peter James) and a common assignee (Omniscient Neurotechnology Pty Limited) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method comprising: obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject; obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data; providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data, based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups; applying the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘717 claims a method comprising: obtaining data identifying a plurality of brain parcels that are predicted to be relevant to a medical condition and receiving imaging data for a brain of a subject (claim 1), wherein the plurality of brain parcels that are predicted to be relevant to the medical condition have been identified using a machine learning model trained to process an input derived from fMRI data for a brain of an input subject to predict whether the input subject has the medical condition (claim 7), and further wherein: the model is trained on a plurality of training examples each including (i) a training input derived from fMRI data for a brain of a training subject and (ii) a label defining whether the training subject has the medical condition (claim 11), and the model is configured to process an input that comprises a functional connectivity matrix derived from fMRI data for the brain of the input subject (claim 12); determining, for each of the plurality of brain parcels that are predicted to be relevant to the medical condition, a relative activation score for the brain parcel, wherein the relative activation scores are provided as explainability data that explains the medical condition in the subject (claim 1); and taking an action based on the relative activation scores (claim 1).
‘717 does not claim providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Wang discusses a classification method for image-based diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (pg. 3141, Abstract), comprising: extraction of functional connectivity (FC) features from fMRI images, grouping training data according to subject age and sex, sparse multiview task-centralized (Sparse-MVTC) learning, and ensemble classification (pg. 3143, l. column and Fig. 1). Wang further describes their task-centralized learning strategy, wherein sets of specific classifiers are trained for each group by iteratively treating each group as the ‘central task’ of the model objective (pg. 3142, r. column – pg. 3143, r. column). Wang teaches that testing is performed by associating a test subject with a specific group according to age/sex information, and applying the corresponding classifiers within an ensemble framework (pg. 3142, r. column; pg. 3145, l. column).
Wang teaches that subject partitioning is performed to account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex, and the task-centralized learning mechanism provides greatly improved computational efficiency to their classification method by decoupling the complex relationships between tasks/groups (pg. 3142, l-r. columns). Wang also presents findings of improved model accuracy over single-classifier (J) versions of popular classification techniques (pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V).
With respect to instant claim 7, ‘717 claims a system embodiment of the disclosed method (claim 19).
With respect to instant claim 13, ‘717 claims computer-readable storage media embodiments of the disclosed method (claim 20).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented subject grouping and group-specific model training, as taught by Wang, in combination with the method of ‘717, because Wang teaches that subject grouping and task-centralized (i.e., group-specific) model training account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex (i.e., confounding effects between the predicted brain condition and subject demographics), provide greatly improved computational efficiency, and contribute to improved accuracy over single-classifier techniques (pg. 3142, l-r. columns; pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘717 and Wang both concern algorithmic methods of predicting subject brain conditions based on functional connectivity features extracted from fMRI data.
In this way, instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are patentably indistinct from claims of ‘717, in view of Wang.
Instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 12-13, 15-17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,581,082 (hereafter “‘082”), in view of Wang. ‘082 shares joint inventors (Sughrue, Michael Edward; Doyen, Stephane Philippe) and a common assignee (Omniscient Neurotechnology Pty Limited) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method comprising: obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject; obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data; providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data, based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups; applying the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘082 claims a method comprising: obtaining, by a system of one or more computers, brain data characterizing a brain of a single individual under
examination (claim 1), wherein the brain data comprises connectomics data (claim 2) and the connectomics data comprises data representing a connectivity matrix (claim 3); automatically selecting a proper subset of the brain data, wherein the proper subset is based at least in part on provided user inputs indicating a health status of the individual for a condition (claim 1); selecting, in response to the user inputs, one or more machine learning models, wherein each machine learning model has been configured through training to process first brain data characterizing a brain of a first single patient and generate a model output representing a prediction about the brain of the first single individual and processing the obtained proper subset of data using the selected machine learning model to generate a model output (claim 1), and further wherein the model output represents a prediction about the brain of a patient (claim 6).
‘082 does not claim providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Wang discusses a classification method for image-based diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (pg. 3141, Abstract), comprising: extraction of functional connectivity (FC) features from fMRI images, grouping training data according to subject age and sex, sparse multiview task-centralized (Sparse-MVTC) learning, and ensemble classification (pg. 3143, l. column and Fig. 1). Wang further describes their task-centralized learning strategy, wherein sets of specific classifiers are trained for each group by iteratively treating each group as the ‘central task’ of the model objective (pg. 3142, r. column – pg. 3143, r. column). Wang teaches that testing is performed by associating a test subject with a specific group according to age/sex information, and applying the corresponding classifiers within an ensemble framework (pg. 3142, r. column; pg. 3145, l. column).
Wang teaches that subject partitioning is performed to account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex, and the task-centralized learning mechanism provides greatly improved computational efficiency to their classification method by decoupling the complex relationships between tasks/groups (pg. 3142, l-r. columns). Wang also presents findings of improved model accuracy over single-classifier (J) versions of popular classification techniques (pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V).
With respect to instant claim 7, ‘082 claims a system embodiment of the disclosed method (claims 12-13 and 15).
With respect to instant claim 13, ‘082 claims computer-readable storage media embodiments of the disclosed method (claims 16-17 and 19).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented subject grouping and group-specific model training, as taught by Wang, in combination with the method of ‘082, because Wang teaches that subject grouping and task-centralized (i.e., group-specific) model training account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex (i.e., confounding effects between the predicted brain condition and subject demographics), provide greatly improved computational efficiency, and contribute to improved accuracy over single-classifier techniques (pg. 3142, l-r. columns; pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘082 and Wang both concern algorithmic methods of predicting subject brain conditions based on functional connectivity features extracted from fMRI data.
In this way, instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are patentably indistinct from claims of ‘082, in view of Wang.
Instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 12-14, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,308,119 (hereafter “‘119”), in view of Wang. ‘119 shares joint inventors (Sughrue, Michael Edward; Doyen, Stephane Philippe) and a common assignee (Omniscient Neurotechnology Pty Limited) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method comprising: obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject; obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data; providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data, based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups; applying the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘119 claims: obtaining a set of brain data captured by one or more sensors, the set of brain data characterizing brain activity patterns of a patient (claim 1) and processing the brain data to produce connectivity matrix data (claim 12); determining, using a trained model and based at least in part on the processed brain data, the importance of an activation correlation between a pair of parcels of the brain to predicting a behavioral measurement, wherein: the trained model is trained using a set of training brain data characterized with a behavior expression metric scored on a standardized scale, the determining comprises applying the processed brain data to a linearized tree model to determine magnitude and direction of a contribution of the parcel to the behavior (claim 1), and further wherein brain data is resting state fMRI data (claim 4), weights applied to each combination of brain activity pattern and degree of behavior are indicative of an importance of that brain activity pattern for predicting the degree of behavior or presence of a symptom (claim 5), and the behavior is a symptom of a disease (claim 10); and taking an action based on the determination of the magnitude and direction of the contribution of the parcel to the behavior (claim 1).
‘119 further discloses that the contribution of the parcel depends on a feature vector which determines a decision path that traverses the linearized tree model (claim 1). The determined decision path of a tree model is viewed as functionally equivalent to a determined specific model. In this way, the cited claim limitations of ‘119 are viewed as patentably indistinct from the instant claim limitations of determining a specific model to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data based at least in part on the present subject data, determining the specific model using a model trained with fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects and past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects.
‘119 further discloses an embodiment wherein the behavior is a trait (claim 13). Performance of the claimed step of determining the importance of an activation correlation between a pair of parcels of the brain to predicting a behavioral measurement, using a model trained on a set of brain data characterized with a behavior expression metric wherein the behavior is a trait requires obtaining subject data describing subject trait expression. Additionally, ‘119 claims a system embodiment wherein the obtained set of brain data is associated with a set of one or more behaviors (claim 14).
‘119 does not specifically claim embodiments wherein the symptom is a potential present subject brain condition. However, the disclosed method analyzes brain data to predict the presence of a symptom. One of ordinary skill in the art would find as obvious embodiments of the claimed method wherein the symptom is a brain condition.
‘119 does not claim providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Wang discusses a classification method for image-based diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (pg. 3141, Abstract), comprising: extraction of functional connectivity (FC) features from fMRI images, grouping training data according to subject age and sex, sparse multiview task-centralized (Sparse-MVTC) learning, and ensemble classification (pg. 3143, l. column and Fig. 1). Wang further describes their task-centralized learning strategy, wherein sets of specific classifiers are trained for each group by iteratively treating each group as the ‘central task’ of the model objective (pg. 3142, r. column – pg. 3143, r. column). Wang teaches that testing is performed by associating a test subject with a specific group according to age/sex information, and applying the corresponding classifiers within an ensemble framework (pg. 3142, r. column; pg. 3145, l. column).
Wang teaches that subject partitioning is performed to account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex, and the task-centralized learning mechanism provides greatly improved computational efficiency to their classification method by decoupling the complex relationships between tasks/groups (pg. 3142, l-r. columns). Wang also presents findings of improved model accuracy over single-classifier (J) versions of popular classification techniques (pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V).
With respect to instant claim 7, ‘119 claims a system embodiment of the disclosed method (claim 14).
With respect to instant claim 13, ‘119 claims computer-readable storage media embodiments of the disclosed method (claim 18).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented subject grouping and group-specific model training, as taught by Wang, in combination with the method of ‘119, because Wang teaches that subject grouping and task-centralized (i.e., group-specific) model training account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex (i.e., confounding effects between the predicted brain condition and subject demographics), provide greatly improved computational efficiency, and contribute to improved accuracy over single-classifier techniques (pg. 3142, l-r. columns; pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘119 and Wang both concern algorithmic methods of predicting subject brain conditions based on functional connectivity features extracted from fMRI data.
In this way, instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are patentably indistinct from claims of ‘119, in view of Wang.
Instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4 and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,548,671 (hereafter “‘671”), in view of Wang. ‘671 shares joint inventors (Doyen, Stephane Philippe; Sughrue, Michael Edward) and a common assignee (Omniscient Neurotechnology Pty Limited) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 8/18/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method comprising: obtaining present subject connectivity matrix data for a present subject; obtaining present subject data describing the present subject where the present subject data is different from the present subject connectivity matrix data; providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group to predict a potential brain condition, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models to apply to the present subject connectivity matrix data, based at least in part on the present subject data matching the past subject data of a corresponding group of the plurality of groups; applying the specific model to identify a potential present subject brain condition based at least in part on the present subject connectivity matrix data; and taking an action based at least in part on identification of a potential present subject brain condition.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘671 claims a method comprising: receiving a brain image dataset of a subject and an indication of a patient outcome of interest (claim 1), wherein the received indication comprises an indication of a medical condition (claim 2); selecting, based on the indication of a patient outcome of interest, a model from a plurality of models to produce a selected model (claim 1); determining brain data of interest (claim 1), wherein the brain data of interest is connectivity data (claim 4); selecting, based on the indication of a patient outcome of interest, a model from a plurality of models to produce a selected model (claim 1); determining, using the selected model, subject specific brain data of interest based on the brain image dataset of the subject and on the brain data of interest, wherein the selected model is trained with the brain data of interest and clinical information associated with the brain data of interest; and taking an action based on the subject specific brain data of interest (claim 1).
‘671 does not claim providing a plurality of distinct models each trained on a respective group, each respective group being one of a plurality of groups formed by segmenting fMRI data for brains of a plurality of past subjects into the plurality of groups based on past subject data describing the plurality of past subjects; or determining a specific model from the plurality of distinct models as claimed.
Wang discusses a classification method for image-based diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (pg. 3141, Abstract), comprising: extraction of functional connectivity (FC) features from fMRI images, grouping training data according to subject age and sex, sparse multiview task-centralized (Sparse-MVTC) learning, and ensemble classification (pg. 3143, l. column and Fig. 1). Wang further describes their task-centralized learning strategy, wherein sets of specific classifiers are trained for each group by iteratively treating each group as the ‘central task’ of the model objective (pg. 3142, r. column – pg. 3143, r. column). Wang teaches that testing is performed by associating a test subject with a specific group according to age/sex information, and applying the corresponding classifiers within an ensemble framework (pg. 3142, r. column; pg. 3145, l. column).
Wang teaches that subject partitioning is performed to account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex, and the task-centralized learning mechanism provides greatly improved computational efficiency to their classification method by decoupling the complex relationships between tasks/groups (pg. 3142, l-r. columns). Wang also presents findings of improved model accuracy over single-classifier (J) versions of popular classification techniques (pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V).
With respect to instant claim 7, ‘671 claims a system embodiment of the disclosed method (claim 17).
With respect to instant claim 13, ‘671 claims computer-readable storage media embodiments of the disclosed method (claim 18).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented subject grouping and group-specific model training, as taught by Wang, in combination with the method of ‘671, because Wang teaches that subject grouping and task-centralized (i.e., group-specific) model training account for the relationship of ASD with age and sex (i.e., confounding effects between the predicted brain condition and subject demographics), provide greatly improved computational efficiency, and contribute to improved accuracy over single-classifier techniques (pg. 3142, l-r. columns; pg. 3147, r. column – pg. 3148, r. column and Tables IV-V). Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘671 and Wang both concern algorithmic methods of predicting subject brain conditions based on functional connectivity features extracted from fMRI data.
In this way, instant claims 1, 7 and 13 are patentably indistinct from claims of ‘671, in view of Wang.
Conclusion
At this point in prosecution, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687