DETAILED ACTION
The present Office action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 11 JUNE 2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 19 have been amended. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1-20 are pending and herein examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11 MARCH 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously presented prior-art and U.S. Publication No. 2021/0132693 A1 (hereinafter “Pulli”). The disclosure of Pulli describes the rendering of images is based on the eye tracking information to accurately reflect the depth. See Pulli, ¶ [0127]. Therefore, the new limitation of “[…] obtaining depth information according to the two-dimensional image with reference to human eye tracking information” is met by Pulli’s disclosure in combination with the other prior-arts of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: (1) image receiving and detecting unit, (2) depth information analysis unit, (3) image processing unit, (4) synthesis unit, and (5) data transmission unit in claims 1 and 15, and (6) resolution adjustment unit in claims 2 and 16.
(2) depth information analysis unit, (3) image processing unit, (4) synthesis unit, and (6) resolution adjustment unit – [0023], “The depth information analysis unit 220, the image processing unit 230, the resolution adjustment unit 240 and the synthesis unit 250 can be realized by such as a circuit, a circuit board, a chip, a computer code or a recording medium for storing computer code.”
(1) image receiving and detecting unit and (5) data transmission unit – [0023] describes the corresponding structure as an interface and the equivalent thereof is any means by which to receive or transmit data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2012/0281906 A1 (hereinafter “Appia”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2010/0103168 A1 (hereinafter “Jung”), in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0132693 A1 (hereinafter “Pulli”).
Regarding claim 1, Appia discloses a stereoscopic image generation box (FIG. 1, conversion device 110. [0024], “the conversion device 110 operations for converting a 2D image into its corresponding 3D image”), comprising:
an image receiving and detecting unit, used for receiving a two-dimensional image from an image source through an image transmission line plugged into the stereoscopic image generation box (FIG. 1, conversion device 110 connected to encoding device 106 receiving images from camera 104. [0022], “the conversion device 110 receives and processes such bit stream directly from the encoding device 106 in real-time.” [0022], “the encoding device 106 outputs such bit stream directly to the conversion device 110 view a communication channel (e.g., Ethernet, Internet, or wireless communication channel”);
a depth information analysis unit, used for obtaining a depth information according to the two-dimensional image (FIG. 2, generate depth map 204. [0024], “FIG. 2, at a step 202, […] the conversion device 110: (a) detects and classifies various low level features […] and high level features […] within the 2D image; and (b) performs a mean shift clustering operation to segment the 2D image into regions. At a next step 204, in response to such features, and in response to such information from the training database, the conversion device 110 generates a depth map that assigns suitable depth values to such regions within the 2D image”)
an image processing unit, used for converting the two-dimensional image into a left-eye image and a right-eye image according to the depth information (FIG. 2, synthesize left view 210 and synthesize right view 212. [0004], “In response to the depth map, left and right views of the three-dimensional visual image are synthesized.” [0034-0036] describes manipulation of the pixels in the 2D image with the depth map for generating left and right views);
a data transmission unit, used for outputting the stereoscopic image to a display (FIG. 1, conversion device 110 connected to display device 112. [0021], “A conversion device 110 […] (e) outputs the converted video sequence to a display device […]. The display device 112: (a) receives the converted video sequence from the conversion device 110; and (b) in response thereto, displays such 3D images (e.g., 3D images of the object 102 and its surrounding foreground and background), which are viewable by a human user 114”)
wherein the image source(FIG. 1 encoding device 106 and display device 112 are disclosed as separate devices, see [0022]), the two-dimensional image is transmitted through the image transmission line ([0022], “the encoding device 106 outputs such bit stream directly to the conversion device 110 view a communication channel (e.g., Ethernet, Internet, or wireless communication channel.” Note, the bit stream includes the 2D encoded image captured by camera 104)
Appia fails to expressly disclose obtaining a depth information according to the two-dimensional image with reference to human eye tracking information;
a synthesis unit, used for synthesizing the left-eye image and the right-eye image to generate a stereoscopic image;
a data transmission line plugged into the display; and
the stereoscopic image generation box and the electronic device including the display are separate devices, and the stereoscopic image is transmitted through the data transmission line.
However, Jung teaches a synthesis unit, used for synthesizing the left-eye image and the right-eye image to generate a stereoscopic image (FIG. 4 depicts image processing device 200 with 3D image converting unit 240 of FIG. 5 that includes stereo rendering unit 650 of FIG. 6. [0103], “The stereo rendering unit 650 generated a left-eye image and a right-eye image by using video images received from the video data decoding unit 210 and a depth map 640 received from the depth map buffer unit 640, and generates a 3D format image including both of the left-eye image and the right-eye image”);
a data transmission line plugged into the display (FIG. 4, the arrows between image processing device 200 and image displaying device 300. [0077], “the image processing device 200 and the image displaying device 300 may transmit and receive data via HDMI”); and
the stereoscopic image generation box and the electronic device including the display are separate devices (FIG. 4, image processing device 200 is a separate device from image displaying device 300), and the stereoscopic image is transmitted through the data transmission line ([0059], “The image processing device 200 is a device for decoding video data, generating 2D video images, and […] converting the 2D video images to 3D images by using metadata for disk management and transmitting the 3D images to the image displaying device 300.” [0077], “the image processing device 200 and the image displaying device 300 may transmit and receive data via HDMI”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have generated a composite image for appropriately rendering two images, as taught by Jung ([0103]), in Appia’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Appia’s disclosure, by incorporating Jung’s disclosure, because it is an obvious combination of prior art elements to create a synthesized composite image that is supported by the display and any type of auxiliary devices (e.g., head-mounted display, see Jung, FIG. 8A) to predictably yield the result of correctly displaying stereoscopic video.
Appia and Jung fail to expressly disclose obtaining a depth information according to the two-dimensional image with reference to human eye tracking information.
However, Pulli teaches obtaining a depth information according to the two-dimensional image with reference to human eye tracking information ([0127], “The rendering process can generate an image and depth map from the viewpoint of a detected eye (or a nearby viewpoint) and additional viewpoints. As discussed below, the additional viewpoints enable interpolation and warping to produce a final view that is displayed within a viewing zone occupied by the tracked eye”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used eye tracking information for generating depth information, as taught by Pulli ([0127]), in Appia and Jung’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Appia and Jung’s invention, by incorporating Pulli’s disclosure, to improve parallax accuracy by use of eye tracking data (Pulli: [0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Appia, Jung, and Pulli disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Pulli discloses wherein the display is a naked eye stereoscopic display ([0002], “multiview autostereoscopic 3D displays that incorporate eye trackers”); the display detects the human eye tracking information ([0002], “multiview autostereoscopic 3D displays that incorporate eye trackers.” [0008], “The display further includes at least one eye tracker configured for detecting the presence of eyes of the viewer within specific viewing zones and producing eye tracking information related to locations of the eyes so detected within the specific viewing zones”); the synthesis unit renders the left-eye image and the right-eye image according to the human eye tracking information to generate the stereoscopic image ([0102], “light field displays can use gaze tracking information to identify foveated regions of the views to be rendered for display in the viewing zones occupied by a viewer's eyes.” [0093] describes “Multiview autostereoscopic displays” having left and right images). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Appia, Jung, and Pulli disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Appia discloses wherein the image receiving and detecting unit and the image source are linked through an image transmission line ([0022], “the encoding device 106 outputs such bit stream directly to the conversion device 110 view a communication channel (e.g., Ethernet, Internet, or wireless communication channel”).
Regarding claim 7, Appia, Jung, and Pulli disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Jung discloses wherein the data transmission unit and the display are linked through a data transmission line ([0077], “the image processing device 200 and the image displaying device 300 may transmit and receive data via HDMI”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations are the same as those in claim 1; however, written in process form instead of machine form. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 1 applies to claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, the limitations are the same as those in claim 5. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 5 applies equally as well to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the limitations are the same as those in claim 6. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 6 applies equally as well to claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations are the same as those in claim 7. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 7 applies equally as well to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations are the same as those in claim 1. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations are the same as those in claim 5. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 5 applies equally as well to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, the limitations are the same as those in claim 7. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 7 applies equally as well to claim 20.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2012/0281906 A1 (hereinafter “Appia”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2010/0103168 A1 (hereinafter “Jung”), further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0132693 A1 (hereinafter “Pulli”), and even further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0333739 A1 (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 2, Appia, Jung, and Pulli disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Appia, Jung, and Pulli fail to expressly disclose further comprising: a resolution adjustment unit, used for automatically converting resolutions of the left-eye image and the right-eye image according to a frame resolution of the display.
However, Yang teaches further comprising: a resolution adjustment unit, used for automatically converting resolutions of the left-eye image and the right-eye image according to a frame resolution of the display ([0069], “ the left image processing unit (102) and the right image processing image (103) may convert the resolution of the left image and the resolution of the right image, which may be inputted in diverse values, in accordance with the resolution of the corresponding display device.” Note, [0065] describes the 3D image display device can correspond to a set-top box, which is consistent with Appia’s conversion device 110 in FIG. 1 and Jung’s image processing device 200 in FIG. 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted a resolution to a supported resolution, as taught by Yang ([0069]), in Appia, Jung, and Pulli’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Appia, Jung, and Pulli’s invention, by incorporating Yang’s disclosure, because it is an obvious use of a known technique of scaling video resolution to meet a target resolution for display devices ensuring a desired quality output.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations are the same as those in claim 2. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 2 applies equally as well to claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations are the same as those in claim 2. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 2 applies equally as well to claim 16.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2012/0281906 A1 (hereinafter “Appia”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2010/0103168 A1 (hereinafter “Jung”), further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0132693 A1 (hereinafter “Pulli”), even further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,108,633 B2 (hereinafter “Munshi”), and even more further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0286156 A1 (hereinafter “Golas”).
Regarding claim 3, Appia, Jung, and Pulli disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Appia discloses the image processing unit (FIG. 2, synthesize left view 210 and synthesize right view 212. [0004], “In response to the depth map, left and right views of the three-dimensional visual image are synthesized.” [0034-0036] describes manipulation of the pixels in the 2D image with the depth map for generating left and right views).
Appia, Jung, and Pulli fail to expressly disclose wherein the image receiving and detecting unit is further used for detecting an image resolution of the image source; the image processing unit selects processing chips from a plurality of processing chips according to the image resolution.
However, Golas teaches wherein the image receiving and detecting unit is further used for detecting an image resolution of the image source ([0050], “when decoding a video stream the processor begins with a decode information set including a fully-specified frame. In these invention embodiments, the decode information set contains a fully specified image and parameter sets specifying, for example, one or more of video resolution, size […].” Note, each of Appia and Jung decode an incoming video stream for which, according to Golas’ teachings, resolution and size of the video will be included and known).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have decoded frame information including resolution and size, as taught by Golas ([0050]), in Appia, Jung, and Pulli’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Appia, Jung, and Pulli’s invention, by incorporating Golas’ disclosure, to accurately decode the input bit steam as the metadata represents decoding characteristics for reproducing the original frames (Golas: [0004-0005]).
Appia, Jung, Pulli, and Golas fail to expressly disclose the image processing unit selects processing chips from a plurality of processing chips according to the image resolution.
However, Munshi teaches the image processing unit selects processing chips from a plurality of processing chips according to the image resolution (col. 1, l. 55 to col. 2, l. 16 describes allocating resources to processing units for a task. Also see claim 1, “selecting one of the plurality of processing units according to a comparison among matching scores of the processing units, wherein the processing capabilities indicate whether the selected processing unit supports the dedicated local storage and whether the selected processing unit is capable of the hardware support for the graphics operation.” Col. 8, ll. 3-10, “process 400 may select a set of physical compute devices from attached physical compute devices at block 405. The selection may be determined based on a matching between the compute capability requirement against the compute capabilities stored in the capability data structure.” Note, Munshi discloses generalized teachings for assigning tasks to processors based on leveraging processing resources and a resolution and size of an image contribute to the complexity of a processing task requiring consideration for the leveraging of processing resources).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have leveraged processing resources for a task, as taught by Munshi (col. 1, l. 55 to col. 2, l. 16), in Appia, Jung, Pulli, and Golas’ invention. One would have been motivated to modify Appia, Jung, Pulli, and Golas’ invention, by incorporating Munshi’s disclosure, to improve leveraging of processing resources based on task requirements (Munshi: col. 1, ll. 43-51).
Regarding claim 4, Appia, Jung, Pulli, Golas, and Munshi disclose every limitation of claim 3, as outlined above. Additionally, Appia discloses wherein the image receiving and detecting unit is further used for detecting an image size of the image source; the image processing unit further selects processing chips from the processing chips according to the image size to convert the two-dimensional image into the left-eye image and the right-eye image (FIG. 2, synthesize left view 210 and synthesize right view 212. [0004], “In response to the depth map, left and right views of the three-dimensional visual image are synthesized.” [0034-0036] describes manipulation of the pixels in the 2D image with the depth map for generating left and right views. Note, the rejection of claim 3 establishes Golas detects frame resolution and size and then the combination with Munshi is to leverage processor resources dependent on the task and image manipulation is dependent on its complexity which factors in resolution and size. That is to say, the larger the resolution and size, the more resources need to be leveraged by a processor(s)). The same motivation of claim 3 applies to claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations are the same as those in claim 3. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 3 applies equally as well to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations are the same as those in claim 4. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 4 applies equally as well to claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations are the same as those in claim 3. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 3 applies equally as well to claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations are the same as those in claim 4. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 4 applies equally as well to claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Publication No. 2016/0007016 A1 (hereinafter “Holliman”) – Discloses binocular fixation based on eye tracking for measuring scene depth. See Holliman, ¶ [0008].
/STUART D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2481