DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1-11 and 13-17 are rejected and claim 12 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In fig. 9, the sealing insert (20) lacks cross-hatching under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3).
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims under 37 CFR 1.83(a). Therefore, the “threading a pressing screw onto the corrugated pipe” and “inserting a screw fastening body into the connection geometry” of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 13, the limitation “the screw fastening body comprises an anti-rotation structure corresponding to the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert” is unclear to the examiner if applicant intended to add an additional anti-rotation structure or if the latching elements of the screw fastening body of claim 1 were intended to be further defined.
To proceed with prosecution, the limitation “the screw fastening body comprises an anti-rotation structure corresponding to the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert” will be interpreted as “the latching elements of the screw fastening body is an anti-rotation structure corresponding to the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert”.
It is noted that while the examiner is interpreting the claims to proceed with prosecution, the applicant is still required to amend the claims.
In regards to claim 15, the limitation “threading a pressing screw onto the corrugated pipe” is unclear to the examiner as to how the “pressing screw” (ex., cap nut) would be “threaded” onto the corrugated pipe as the replacement drawings depicting the corrugated pipe would not be “threaded” onto the pressing screw.
It appears applicant inadvertently stated “threading” instead of “moving” (ex., placing, etc.) a pressing screw onto the corrugated pipe based on the replacement drawings submitted on 12/16/2025.
To proceed with prosecution, the examiner will interpret “threading a pressing screw onto the corrugated pipe” as “moving a pressing screw onto the corrugated pipe” because there appears to be no instance where the corrugated pipe would be threaded onto the pressing screw while also being engage with ribs of the sealing insert.
It is noted that while the examiner is interpreting the claims to proceed with prosecution, the applicant is still required to amend the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe (KR-930005361) in view of Schulten (EP-2492566).
In regards to claim 1, Choe discloses:
A corrugated-pipe screw fastening system (see fig. 2 hereinafter) comprising:
a pressing screw (2);
a screw fastening body (1); and
a sealing insert (3) comprising:
an internal wall (34) delimiting a cutout (ex., the bore) for receiving a corrugated pipe including corrugation troughs;
first and second end faces (see annotated fig. 2 below);
a first external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2) having a first outer diameter; and
a second external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2) having a second outer diameter;
wherein:
the internal wall comprises at least one circumferential rib (34) that extends in a circumferential direction of a longitudinal axis of the sealing insert about at least a portion of a circumference of the internal wall,
the internal wall comprising a first internal wall portion and a second internal wall portion (ex., the internal wall can be broken into two portions as there is structurally nothing preventing an internal wall from becoming two portions);
the first external wall portion is adjacent to the first end face and extends along the longitudinal axis of the sealing insert up to the second external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2);
the second external wall portion is adjacent to the second end face and extends along the longitudinal axis up to the first external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2);
the first outer diameter is larger than the second outer diameter (see annotated fig. 2, where the second wall portion is smaller in diameter than the first);
the second external wall portions is configured to be cylindrical (see annotated fig. 2);
wherein the corrugated-pipe screw fastening system is configured such that when the pressing screw is screwed onto the screw fastening body, the pressing screw causes a material displacement of a material of the sealing insert to cause the material of the sealing insert to rest at least partially sealingly against the corrugated pipe,
wherein a step (33) arranged between the first and the second external wall portions defines an axial stop position of the sealing insert within the screw fastening body,
but does not disclose:
the second external wall portion is configured to be cylindrical;
an anti-rotation structure is arranged on an outer shell of the sealing insert;
the anti-rotation structure is associated with the second external wall portion,
wherein the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert comprises a plurality of latching elements configured to engage a plurality of latching elements of the screw fastening body; and
such that an engagement of the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert with the plurality of latching elements of the screw fastening body prevents relative rotation of the sealing insert during tightening of the pressing screw and thereby ensures that the material displacement caused by the pressing screw occurs radially into the corrugation troughs of the corrugated pipe;
such that the engagement of the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert with the plurality of latching elements of the screw fastening body is established prior to tightening of the pressing screw and the material displacement of the sealing insert in a radial direction of the sealing insert occurs from the axial stop position.
In regards to the anti-rotation device, Schulten discloses a similar device (see fig. 1) comprising an anti-rotation structure (11) which prevents a sealing body (3) to rotate when screwing a pressure screw (1; see lines 253-257 of the translated document previously provided herein),
wherein the anti-rotation device is placed on a cylindrical outer wall (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second external wall portion of Choe with the provision of the anti-rotation structure of Schulten such that the second external wall portion and an internal wall portion of the screw fastening body are cylindrical and complementary to each other because Schulten that providing the anti-rotation structure on a cylindrical body provides the benefit of preventing the sealing body to rotate when screwing the pressure screw (see lines 253-257) and it has been held that a change of shape (ex., a known sloped shape to a known cylindrical shape) has been held to be a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
In regards to the material displacement, it is inherent that a rubber material that is being pressed by a cap nut would cause a radial material displacement in the grooves of the corrugated pipe (ex., see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 4, Choe in view of Schulten further discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to Claim 1, wherein the at least one circumferential rib is trapezoidal, rectangular, triangular, arc segment-shaped or at least partially oval in cross-section (ex., see fig. 2 of Choe).
In regards to claim 11, Choe in view of Schulten further discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of latching elements of the anti-rotation structure are arranged parallel to the longitudinal axis of the sealing insert (ex., see fig. 1 of Schulten).
In regards to claim 13, as best understood, Choe in view of Schulten further discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1, wherein the latching elements of the screw fastening body is an anti-rotation structure corresponding to the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert.
In regards to claim 14, Choe in view of Schulten further discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to Claim 1, wherein the screw fastening body comprises a stop surface (see annotated fig. 2 above hereinafter) for the pressing screw.
In regards to claim 15, as best understood, Choe discloses:
A method for fitting a corrugated pipe having a plurality of corrugation troughs to a connection geometry, the method comprising the steps of:
“moving” a pressing screw onto the corrugated pipe (see annotated fig. 2);
inserting the corrugated pipe into the cutout of a sealing insert (3) comprising:
an internal wall (34) delimiting a cutout (ex., the bore) for receiving a corrugated pipe including corrugation troughs;
first and second end faces (see annotated fig. 2 below);
a first external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2) having a first outer diameter; and
a second external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2) having a second outer diameter;
wherein:
the internal wall comprises at least one circumferential rib (34) that extends in a circumferential direction of a longitudinal axis of the sealing insert about at least a portion of a circumference of the internal wall,
the internal wall comprising a first internal wall portion and a second internal wall portion (ex., the internal wall can be broken into two portions as there is structurally nothing preventing an internal wall from becoming two portions);
the first external wall portion is adjacent to the first end face and extends along the longitudinal axis of the sealing insert up to the second external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2);
the second external wall portion is adjacent to the second end face and extends along the longitudinal axis up to the first external wall portion (see annotated fig. 2);
the first outer diameter is larger than the second outer diameter (see annotated fig. 2, where the second wall portion is smaller in diameter than the first);
the second external wall portions is configured to be cylindrical (see annotated fig. 2);
wherein the corrugated-pipe screw fastening system is configured such that when the pressing screw is screwed onto the screw fastening body, the pressing screw causes a material displacement of a material of the sealing insert to cause the material of the sealing insert to rest at least partially sealingly against the corrugated pipe,
wherein a step (33) arranged between the first and the second external wall portions defines an axial stop position of the sealing insert within the screw fastening body,
wherein at least one circumferential rib is in engagement with a corresponding corrugation trough of the corrugated pipe (see fig. 2);
inserting a screw fastening body (see annotated fig. 2) into the connection geometry (see fig. 3, where the screw fastening body is screwed into the connection geometry);
inserting the sealing insert with the corrugated pipe into the screw fastening body (see fig. 3),
wherein the sealing insert protrudes with the first external wall portion from the screw fastening body (see fig. 3); and
screwing the pressing screw onto the screw fastening body in such a manner that a material displacement of a material of the sealing insert is created by the pressing screw (see fig. 3),
wherein the material rests at least partially sealingly against the corrugated pipe (see fig. 2 or 3),
but does not disclose:
the second external wall portion is configured to be cylindrical;
an anti-rotation structure is arranged on an outer shell of the sealing insert;
the anti-rotation structure is associated with the second external wall portion,
wherein the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert comprises a plurality of latching elements configured to engage a plurality of latching elements of the screw fastening body; and
such that an engagement of the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert with the plurality of latching elements of the screw fastening body prevents relative rotation of the sealing insert during tightening of the pressing screw and thereby ensures that the material displacement caused by the pressing screw occurs radially into the corrugation troughs of the corrugated pipe;
such that the engagement of the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert with the plurality of latching elements of the screw fastening body is established prior to tightening of the pressing screw and the material displacement of the sealing insert in a radial direction of the sealing insert occurs from the axial stop position,
wherein the anti-rotation structure of the sealing insert is brought into engagement with an anti-rotation structure of the screw fastening body.
In regards to the anti-rotation device, Schulten discloses a similar device (see fig. 1) comprising an anti-rotation structure (11) which prevents a sealing body (3) to rotate when screwing a pressure screw (1; see lines 253-257 of the translated document previously provided herein),
wherein the anti-rotation device is placed on a cylindrical outer wall (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second external wall portion of Choe with the provision of the anti-rotation structure of Schulten such that the second external wall portion and an internal wall portion of the screw fastening body are cylindrical and complementary to each other because Schulten that providing the anti-rotation structure on a cylindrical body provides the benefit of preventing the sealing body to rotate when screwing the pressure screw (see lines 253-257) and it has been held that a change of shape (ex., a known sloped shape to a known cylindrical shape) has been held to be a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
In regards to the material displacement, it is inherent that a rubber material that is being pressed by a cap nut would cause a radial material displacement in the grooves of the corrugated pipe (ex., see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 16, Choe further discloses:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the pressing screw is screwed on up to a stop surface (see annotated fig. 2) of the screw fastening body.
In regards to claim 17, Choe further discloses:
The method according to claim 15, wherein the corrugated pipe is inserted into the sealing insert in such a manner that it protrudes beyond the corrugated-pipe screw fastening system on a side of the pressing screw and on a side of the screw fastening body in a fitted state (see fig. 3, where on the right side it protrudes sides of both the screw body and pressing screw; see also fig. 3, where there is nothing structurally of preventing the corrugated tube from protruding beyond the internal bore of screw body as it appears the inner diameter is greater that outer diameter of pipe).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe in view of Schulten as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Castelli (EP- 0545410).
In regards to claim 2, Choe in view of Schulten discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one circumferential rib is a spiral rib (ex., helical rib that acts as a single thread),
but does not disclose:
wherein the at least one circumferential rib comprises at least two circumferential ribs (ex., parallel ribs).
In regards to the plurality of ribs, Castelli discloses a similar device comprising multiple embodiments,
wherein each of the embodiments comprises an insert that can be used with either parallel or helical corrugations (ex., see paragraph 0014 of the translated document provided herein, which explicitly states either configuration),
wherein a first embodiment (see fig. 1) discloses an insert (15) comprising two corrugations (17) and a flange (15a) such that the end of the insert does not comprise a corrugation;
wherein a second embodiment (see fig. 2) discloses an insert (15) comprising three corrugations (17) and a flange (see near 15) such that the end of the insert does comprise a corrugation,
wherein a third embodiment (see fig. 6) discloses an insert comprised in two parts, where a first part comprises a flange (250) and an inner surface (see near 16) and a second part (252) comprises rubber body comprising three corrugations (270), wherein the first part presses against the second part to form a seal (see fig. 6),
where in each embodiment, the insert is split in half so the ring can be fitted onto the corrugated pipe (see paragraphs 0009 and 0018; ex., see also fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the helical/spiral protrusion of Choe in view of Schulten with uniformly spaced parallel protrusions of Castelli such that the insert of Choe in view of Schulten comprises split to allow the insert to be placed on a corrugated pipe comprised of parallel protrusions because Choe in view of Schulten discloses a pipe comprising known helical protrusions which act as a screw thread, Choe in view of Schulten discloses a device which differs from the claimed device by a replacement of the three parallel protrusions of Castelli, Castelli discloses a similar device that can be configured for either parallel or helical corrugations of pipes such that both configurations are known, and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the known helical protrusion for known parallel protrusions because replacing one similar protrusion for another protrusion, especially when both configurations are explicitly known and can be modified based on the pipes configuration, would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 3, Choe in view of Schulten and Castelli further discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 2, wherein the at least two circumferential ribs are uniformly spaced apart from one another (ex., see fig 2 of Choe and fig. 2 or 6-7 of Castelli, where the ribs are uniformly distributed/spaced).
In regards to claim 7, Choe in view of Schulten discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one circumferential rib is a spiral rib (ex., helical rib that acts as a single thread),
but does not disclose:
wherein the at least one circumferential rib is flush with the second end face (ex., the rib is not parallel).
In regards to the plurality of ribs, Castelli discloses a similar device comprising multiple embodiments,
wherein each of the embodiments comprises an insert that can be used with either parallel or helical corrugations (ex., see paragraph 0014 of the translated document provided herein, which explicitly states either or configuration),
wherein a first embodiment (see fig. 1) discloses an insert (15) comprising two corrugations (17) and a flange (15a) such that the end of the insert does not comprise a corrugation;
wherein a second embodiment (see fig. 2) discloses an insert (15) comprising three corrugations (17) and a flange (see near 15) such that the end of the insert does comprise a corrugation,
wherein a third embodiment (see fig. 6) discloses an insert comprised in two parts, where a first part comprises a flange (250) and an inner surface (see near 16) and a second part (252) comprises rubber body comprising three corrugations (270), wherein the first part presses against the second part to form a seal (see fig. 6),
where in each embodiment, the insert is split in half so the ring can be fitted onto the corrugated pipe (see paragraphs 0009 and 0018; ex., see also fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the helical/spiral protrusion of Choe in view of Schulten with at least two parallel protrusions of Castelli such that the protrusion is flush with the second end face and the insert of Choe in view of Schulten is split to allow the insert to be placed on a corrugated pipe comprised of parallel protrusions because Choe in view of Schulten discloses a pipe comprising known helical protrusions which act as a screw thread, Choe in view of Schulten discloses a device which differs from the claimed device by a replacement of the three parallel protrusions of Castelli, Castelli discloses a similar device that can be configured for either parallel or helical corrugations of pipes such that both configurations are known, and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the known helical protrusion for known parallel protrusions because replacing one similar protrusion for another protrusion, especially when both configurations are explicitly known and can be modified based on the pipes configuration, would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the positioning of the at least two protrusions, it has been held claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position were held unpatentable because shifting the position of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this case, Castelli discloses multiple embodiments where the protrusion can be flush with an end face (see fig. 2, 6, and 8) or can be spaced from an end face (see fig. 1, 4, and 7), therefore, having the protrusion of Choe in view of Schulten to be flush with the end face to meet the limitation of the claim would not have modified the operation of the device (ex., compare fig. 6 and fig. 7 of Castelli, where the protrusion is either flush or not flush).
In regards to claim 8, Choe in view of Schulten discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one circumferential rib is a spiral rib (ex., helical rib that acts as a single thread),
but does not disclose:
wherein at least one slit passes through from the first end face to the second end face.
In regards to the plurality of ribs, Castelli discloses a similar device comprising multiple embodiments,
wherein each of the embodiments comprises an insert that can be used with either parallel or helical corrugations (ex., see paragraph 0014 of the translated document provided herein, which explicitly states either or configuration),
wherein a first embodiment (see fig. 1) discloses an insert (15) comprising two corrugations (17) and a flange (15a) such that the end of the insert does not comprise a corrugation;
wherein a second embodiment (see fig. 2) discloses an insert (15) comprising three corrugations (17) and a flange (see near 15) such that the end of the insert does comprise a corrugation,
wherein a third embodiment (see fig. 6) discloses an insert comprised in two parts, where a first part comprises a flange (250) and an inner surface (see near 16) and a second part (252) comprises rubber body comprising three corrugations (270), wherein the first part presses against the second part to form a seal (see fig. 6),
where in each embodiment, the insert is split in half so the ring can be fitted onto the corrugated pipe (see paragraphs 0009 and 0018; ex., see also fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the sealing insert of Choe in view of Schulten with the provision of a split to provide the benefit of placing the seal onto a corrugated pipe, as taught by Castelli (see paragraphs 0009 and 0018; ex., see also fig. 10).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe in view of Schulten as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Kaneda (JP-2000074279).
In regards to claim 5, Choe in view of Schulten discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1,
wherein the first internal wall portion comprises the at least one circumferential rib,
but does not disclose:
the second internal wall portion does not comprise a rib.
In regards to the portion without a rib, Kaneda discloses a similar device (4, fig. 2) comprising a conical section (4a, fig. 2) to provide the benefit of correcting the insertion position of the bellows tube (see lines 115-118 of the translated document previously provided herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second internal wall portion of Choe in view of Schulten to be formed conically such that the second internal wall portion does not comprise a rib to provide the benefit of correcting the insertion position of the bellows tube, as taught by Kaneda (see lines 115-118).
In regards to claim 6, Choe further discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to Claim 5, wherein the first internal wall portion is associated with the second end face.
In regards to claim 9, Choe in view of Schulten discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to claim 1,
but does not disclose:
wherein a material thickness of the sealing insert decreases towards the first end face.
In regards to the conical portion, Kaneda discloses a similar device (4, fig. 2) comprising a conical section (4a, fig. 2) to provide the benefit of correcting the insertion position of the bellows tube (see lines 115-118 of the translated document previously provided herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second internal wall portion of Choe in view of Schulten to be formed conically such that the second internal wall portion does not comprise a rib to provide the benefit of correcting the insertion position of the bellows tube, as taught by Kaneda (see lines 115-118).
In regards to claim 10, Choe in view of Schulten discloses:
The corrugated-pipe screw fastening system according to Claim 1, wherein:
the first internal wall portion comprises the at least one circumferential rib,
but does not disclose:
the second internal wall portion does not comprise a rib, and
a material thickness of the sealing insert decreases only in the second internal wall portion towards the first end face.
In regards to the conical portion, Kaneda discloses a similar device (4, fig. 2) comprising a conical section (4a, fig. 2) to provide the benefit of correcting the insertion position of the bellows tube (see lines 115-118 of the translated document previously provided herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second internal wall portion of Choe in view of Schulten to be formed conically such that the second internal wall portion does not comprise a rib to provide the benefit of correcting the insertion position of the bellows tube, as taught by Kaneda (see lines 115-118).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsubara (U.S. PGPub No. 2015/0316187) discloses a sealing gasket (5) that presses against a corrugated tube (1) via a nut (2) and fitting (4).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679