DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending on the application, of which claims 1, 11, & 18 are amended.
In view of the amendments to the claims the previous ground of rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection present below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in light of the new references utilized to meet the new limitations.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are directed towards apparatuses, however multiple claims recite limitations as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fluid delivery system” in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “proximate” in claims 1, 3-4, 11, 14, & 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to how near or far from a base an element must be disposed in order to be considered proximate or not proximate. Clarification and correction are required.
Claims 1, 11, & 18 recite “a hemispheric ultrasonic transducer” and then recites that said transducer has a plurality of “transducer units”. The limitation is unclear because the phrasing appears to suggest that a hemispheric ultrasonic transducer has multiple transducer therein (e.g., nested or stacked transducers). It is unclear if applicant is truly attempting to claim a transducer having a plurality of transducers on/in the transducer. Based on the disclosure, it appears that applicant is attempting to indicate that a hemispheric ultrasonic device has a plurality of transducers and not that a transducer has multiple transducers therein or thereon. For examination purposes, the limitation will be understood as such.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected for their dependence on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN110029470A) in view of Kim (KR20210079116A) and Christensen (US20190062985A1).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a laundry appliance (abstract) comprising: a drum (ref 4) rotationally operated [0008 & 0020] within a tub (ref 3), wherein the drum defines a processing space for treating articles [0033 & 0035]; a fluid delivery system (see Fig.2 refs 15 and 17, also [0038]) that selectively delivers wash fluid into the processing space; a hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see Figs.1 & 3-5 ref 52, also [0041]) that is positioned near a base of the drum (see Fig.1 showcasing ref 5 is provided at approximately below the center of the drum, also [0040]), the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer including a plurality of transducer units (see Fig.5 ref 52 appearing to showcases a plurality of transducing units within therein) that are incorporated within a cover of the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see [0039] indicating ref 51 has a friction layer covering the surface, thereby defining a cover, see also Fig.5 showcasing an outer layer covering the transducer), wherein the drum operates to direct the articles towards the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see [0035-0036 & 0040-0041], further such a limitation is intended use and since the drum is capable of directing articles towards the transducer it reads on the limitation); the plurality of transducer units are positioned in the cover of the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see Fig.5) and selectively direct waves ultrasonic frequency [0041] in a hemispheric radiating pattern through the processing space (a hemispherical shaped ultrasonic transducer as seen in Fig.5 would provide such a hemispheric radiating pattern), the plurality of transducer units positioned to direct the hemispheric radiating pattern in an upward, an outward direction, and a downward direction towards a wall of the drum, and below the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer toward the base of the drum (see Figs.1 & 7-9, the positioning of the hemispheric portion provides portions of the transducer which would radiate the ultrasonic waves upward, such as the top portion of the transducer, an outward direction such as the transducer portion facing the wall of the drum, and a downward direction such as the bottom portion of the hemispheric transducer); the waves generate air bubbles within the wash fluid and cause the air bubbles to implode and release micro air jets that are directed into the wash fluid [0041] and can sanitize the articles; and the micro air jets act on the articles to loosen and remove foreign material therefrom [0041]. However, assuming arguendo that it is not explicitly stated that there are a plurality of transducers, such a feature would be obvious in view of Kim and Christensen.
Kim disclose an art related washing machine (abstract) with ultrasonic washing capabilities (abstract), wherein it is shown that an ultrasonic generating device may have a plurality of transducers (refs 15, 25, 35, 45) located within a cover (refs 11, 21, 31, 41).
Christensen discloses an art related washing machine utilizing ultrasonic capabilities (abstract), wherein a plurality of ultrasonic transducer can be utilized within a single housing (Figs.4 & 7 ref 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Chen to provide a plurality of ultrasonic transducers within the cover, with a reasonable expectation of success, as such is a known configuration is the art (see Kim Figs.2-7 & Christensen Figs.4 & 7). A skilled artisan would also reasonably expect that increasing the number of ultrasonic transducers would result in an increased amount of ultrasonic waves and thereby increased bubbles for better washing performance (see Chen [0041]).
As to claim 2, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 1, wherein the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer is selectively detachable from a receiver (Chen [0042]), wherein the receiver selectively positions the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer relative to the processing space (Chen [0042]).
As to claims 5-7, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 2, wherein the operation of the transducer after a sanitization cycle is merely intended use, and since the appliance is capable of activating the transducer after a wash cycle and before a rinse cycle, during which the drum rotates and the transducer operates (Cheng [0020, 0035-0036, & 0041]), it reads on the claim. Similarly, the usage of heated wash fluid and the occurrence of the sanitization cycle between an agitating phase and before a rinse phase of the wash cycle are also intended use.
As to claim 9, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 2, wherein the hemispheric ultrasonic is attached to a door of a horizontal axis washing appliance and is positioned near a lower portion of the drum (see Chen Figs.1 & 7-9) via a linkage (Chen Fig.5 ref 511) extending between a transducer housing of the door (Chen Figs.4-6 refs 21 & 23) and the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer.
As to claim 10, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 2, even though Chen does not mention the power source for the ultrasonic transducer it is known that ultrasonic transducers can be powered by rechargeable or replaceable batteries (Christensen [0106]). Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize rechargeable or replaceable batteries as a power source for the ultrasonic transducer, as is known in the art (Christensen [0106]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known power source in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 3 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN110029470A) in view of Kim (KR20210079116A) and Christensen (US20190062985A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Song (US20150204001A1).
As to claims 3 & 8, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 2, wherein a linkage (Chen Fig.5 ref 511) extending between a transducer housing (Chen Figs.4-6 refs 21 & 23) and the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer allows for connection between the two. Modified Chen does not disclose the receiver defined in a top of an impeller that rotates proximate the base or in the lid. However, such a feature is known in the art for vertical axis washing machines, as seen by Song.
Song discloses an art related ultrasonic laundry appliance (abstract), which showcases that placement of an ultrasonic transducer at a top of an impellor/agitator and/or in a lid of a vertical axis washing machine (see Figs.1 & 5-9) is an alternative configuration to an ultrasonic transducer in the door of a horizontal axis washing machine (see Figs.2, 10, 12-13). The impeller that rotates [0049] proximate a base of the drum (see Figs.1, 5 & 8 ref 13). Song indicates that the impeller and the drum can act together or separately, thus it is understood that they are capable of cooperating to direct articles towards the transducer [Song 0049-0052 & 0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Chen to provide a vertical axis washing machine where the receiver for the hemispherical ultrasonic transducer is provided within an impellor or within the lid, as such is a known alternative configuration in the art. A skilled artisan recognizes that such a modification merely allows for the invention of Chen to operate even when provided as a vertical axis washing machine instead of a horizontal axis washing machine. The transducer is capable of operating when submerged (see Chen [0041]).
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN110029470A) in view of Song (US20150204001A1), Kim (KR20210079116A), and Christensen (US20190062985A1).
As to claim 11, Chen discloses a laundry appliance (abstract) comprising: a drum (ref 4) that is rotationally operated [0008 & 0020] within a tub (ref 3), the drum defines a perforated basket, wherein the drum defines a processing space for treating articles [0033 & 0035]; a fluid delivery system (see Fig.2 refs 15 and 17, also [0038]) that selectively delivers wash fluid into the processing space; a hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see Figs.1 & 3-5 ref 52, also [0041]) that is positioned near a base of the drum (see Fig.1 showcasing ref 5 is provided at approximately below the center of the drum, also [0040]), the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer is selectively removable from the processing space (Chen [0020, 0034, & 0042]), the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer including a plurality of transducer units (see Fig.5 ref 52 appearing to showcases a plurality of transducing units within therein) that are incorporated within a cover of the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see [0039] indicating ref 51 has a friction layer covering the surface, thereby defining a cover, see also Fig.5 showcasing an outer layer covering the transducer), wherein the drum operates to direct the articles towards the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see [0035-0036 & 0040-0041], further such a limitation is intended use and since the drum is capable of directing articles towards the transducer it reads on the limitation); the plurality of transducer units are positioned in the cover of the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see Fig.5) and selectively direct waves ultrasonic frequency [0041] in a hemispheric radiating pattern through the processing space (a hemispherical shaped ultrasonic transducer as seen in Fig.5 would provide such a hemispheric radiating pattern), the plurality of transducer units positioned to direct the hemispheric radiating pattern in an upward, an outward direction, and a downward direction towards a wall of the drum, and below the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer toward the base of the drum (see Figs.1 & 7-9, the positioning of the hemispheric portion provides portions of the transducer which would radiate the ultrasonic waves upward, such as the top portion of the transducer, an outward direction such as the transducer portion facing the wall of the drum, and a downward direction such as the bottom portion of the hemispheric transducer); the waves generate air bubbles within the wash fluid and cause the air bubbles to implode and release micro air jets that are directed into the wash fluid [0041] and can sanitize the articles; and the micro air jets act on the articles to loosen and remove foreign material therefrom [0041]. Chen does not disclose an impeller disposed proximate a base of the perforated basket. The presence of an impeller in a washing machine basket is known in the art, as seen by Song. Assuming arguendo that it is not explicitly stated that there are a plurality of transducers, such a feature would be obvious in view of Kim and Christensen.
Song discloses an art related ultrasonic laundry appliance (abstract), and showcases both horizontal and vertical type washing machines (see figures), wherein vertical type washing machines have an impeller (ref 13) located proximate a perforated basket and rotates [0049]. Song also showcases that placement of an ultrasonic transducer at a top of an impellor/agitator of a vertical axis washing machine (see Figs.1 & 5-9) is an alternative configuration to an ultrasonic transducer in the door of a horizontal axis washing machine (see Figs.2, 10, 12-13). Song indicates that the impeller and the drum can act together or separately, thus it is understood that they are capable of cooperating to direct articles towards the transducer [Song 0049-0052 & 0056].
Kim disclose an art related washing machine (abstract) with ultrasonic washing capabilities (abstract), wherein it is shown that an ultrasonic generating device may have a plurality of transducers (refs 15, 25, 35, 45) located within a cover (refs 11, 21, 31, 41).
Christensen discloses an art related washing machine utilizing ultrasonic capabilities (abstract), wherein a plurality of ultrasonic transducer can be utilized within a single housing (Figs.4 & 7 ref 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Chen to provide a vertical axis washing machine where the receiver for the hemispherical ultrasonic transducer is provided within an impellor, as such is a known location for transducers in vertical axis washing machines. A skilled artisan recognizes that such a modification merely allows for the invention of Chen to operate even when provided as a vertical axis washing machine instead of a horizontal axis washing machine. The transducer is capable of operating when submerged (see Chen [0041]). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide a plurality of ultrasonic transducers within the cover, with a reasonable expectation of success, as such is a known configuration is the art (see Kim Figs.2-7 & Christensen Figs.4 & 7). A skilled artisan would also reasonably expect that increasing the number of ultrasonic transducers would result in an increased amount of ultrasonic waves and thereby increased bubbles for better washing performance (see Chen [0041]). The limitation of directing articles towards the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer is intended use and since the impeller and perforated basket are capable of doing so, it reads on the limitation.
As to claims 12-14, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 11, wherein the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer is selectively detachable from a receiver (Chen [0042]), that that is attached to and defined at the top of the impeller (see Song Figs.5-9 in conjunction with Chen Figs.4-6), wherein the receiver selectively positions the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer relative to the processing space (Chen [0042]). The transducer is capable of operating when submerged (see Chen [0041]). The limitations of claim 14 are optional when the receiver is provided on the impeller.
As to claims 15-17, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 12, wherein the operation of the transducer after a sanitization cycle is merely intended use, and since the appliance is capable of activating the transducer after a wash cycle and before a rinse cycle, during which the drum rotates and the transducer operates (Cheng [0020, 0035-0036, & 0041]), it reads on the claim. Similarly, the usage of heated wash fluid and the occurrence of the sanitization cycle between an agitating phase and before a rinse phase of the wash cycle are also intended use.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN110029470A) in view of Song (US20150204001A1), Kim (KR20210079116A), and Christensen (US20190062985A1).
As to claim 18, Chen discloses a cleaning appliance (abstract) comprising: a tub (ref 3) disposed within a structural cabinet (ref 1), wherein the tub defines a processing space (see Figs.1-9); a fluid delivery system (see Fig.2 refs 15 and 17, also [0038]) that selectively delivers wash fluid into the processing space; a drum assembly (ref 4) that rotationally operates [0008 & 0020] within the tub, the drum defines a perforated basket; a sanitizing mechanism (ref 5) that includes an ultrasonic transducer (ref 52), the ultrasonic transducer selectively direct waves of ultrasonic frequency [0041] in a hemispheric radiating pattern through the processing space (a hemispherical shaped ultrasonic transducer as seen in Fig.5 would provide such a hemispheric radiating pattern), the plurality of transducer units positioned to direct the hemispheric radiating pattern in an upward, an outward direction, and a downward direction towards a wall of the drum, and below the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer toward the base of the drum (see Figs.1 & 7-9, the positioning of the hemispheric portion provides portions of the transducer which would radiate the ultrasonic waves upward, such as the top portion of the transducer, an outward direction such as the transducer portion facing the wall of the drum, and a downward direction such as the bottom portion of the hemispheric transducer); the waves generate air bubbles within the wash fluid and causing cavitation of the air bubbles that directs a micro jet of air through the wash fluid and into articles being processed in the processing space [0041]; and the micro air jets act on the articles to loosen and remove foreign material therefrom [0041], the sanitizing mechanism is selectively detachable from a receiver (Chen [0020, 0034, & 0042]), the articles engage the ultrasonic transducer and the cavitation of the air bubbles occurs within the wash fluid that is intermingled with the articles (see Chen [0042], also this limitation is intended use and is met since ultrasonic transducer is capable of generating bubbles in intermingled articles that are in contact), the ultrasonic transducer is a hemispheric ultrasonic transducer including a plurality of transducer units (see Fig.5 ref 52 appearing to showcases a plurality of transducing units within therein) that are incorporated within a cover of the hemispheric ultrasonic transducer (see [0039] indicating ref 51 has a friction layer covering the surface, thereby defining a cover, see also Fig.5 showcasing an outer layer covering the transducer) and direct ultrasonic waves away from the cover.
Chen does not disclose an impeller disposed proximate a base of the perforated basket wherein the ultrasonic transducer is provided. However, the presence of an impeller in a washing machine basket and a transducer provided on said impeller is known in the art, as seen by Song. Assuming arguendo that it is not explicitly stated that there are a plurality of transducers, such a feature would be obvious in view of Kim and Christensen.
Song discloses an art related ultrasonic laundry appliance (abstract), and showcases both horizontal and vertical type washing machines (see figures), wherein vertical type washing machines have an impeller (ref 13) located proximate a perforated basket and rotates [0049]. Song also showcases that placement of an ultrasonic transducer at a top of an impellor/agitator of a vertical axis washing machine (see Figs.1 & 5-9) is an alternative configuration to an ultrasonic transducer in the door of a horizontal axis washing machine (see Figs.2, 10, 12-13). Song indicates that the impeller and the drum can act together or separately, thus it is understood that they are capable of cooperating to direct articles towards the transducer [Song 0049-0052 & 0056].
Kim disclose an art related washing machine (abstract) with ultrasonic washing capabilities (abstract), wherein it is shown that an ultrasonic generating device may have a plurality of transducers (refs 15, 25, 35, 45) located within a cover (refs 11, 21, 31, 41).
Christensen discloses an art related washing machine utilizing ultrasonic capabilities (abstract), wherein a plurality of ultrasonic transducer can be utilized within a single housing (Figs.4 & 7 ref 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Chen to provide a vertical axis washing machine where the receiver for the hemispherical ultrasonic transducer is provided within an impellor, as such is a known location for transducers in vertical axis washing machines. A skilled artisan recognizes that such a modification merely allows for the invention of Chen to operate even when provided as a vertical axis washing machine instead of a horizontal axis washing machine. Thus, such a modification would provide a vertical axis washing machine with the sanitizing mechanism of Chen on the impellor. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide a plurality of ultrasonic transducers within the cover, with a reasonable expectation of success, as such is a known configuration is the art (see Kim Figs.2-7 & Christensen Figs.4 & 7). A skilled artisan would also reasonably expect that increasing the number of ultrasonic transducers would result in an increased amount of ultrasonic waves and thereby increased bubbles for better washing performance (see Chen [0041]).
As to claim 19, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 18, wherein the receiver is defined within a top of the impeller (see Song Figs.5-9 in conjunction with Chen Figs.4-6), wherein the receiver is positioned to submerge the transducer within the washing fluid (Chen [0041]).
As to claim 20, Modified Chen teaches the appliance of claim 19, even though Chen does not mention the power source for the ultrasonic transducer it is known that ultrasonic transducers can be powered by rechargeable or replaceable batteries (Christensen [0106]). Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize rechargeable or replaceable batteries as a power source for the ultrasonic transducer, as is known in the art (Christensen [0106]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known power source in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711