DETAILED ACTION
Surface Cleaning Attachment System
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05-29-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-22 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,7-10,12,14,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundheim (US4095309A) in view of Parise (US4075733A), Hopkins (US10413147B2).
Regarding claim 1, Sundheim teaches a spraying module (col 8 lines 1-11) comprising a sprayer housing (89, figure 18) and a sprayer assembly (13”, figure 18) disposed within the sprayer housing, the sprayer housing comprising a back plate (see annotated figure 18) couplable to the industrial surface agitator (figure 1, see col 8 lines 15-col 9 lines 60, col 11 lines 30-35) and a front plate (see annotated figure 18), wherein the front plate of the sprayer housing defines one or more elongated slots (see annotated figure 18), and wherein the; and
a vacuum module (col 11 lines 20-50) coupled to the front plate such that the.
Sundheim fails to teach one or more elongated slots are vertically elongated such that a longest dimension of the one or more elongated slots is in a vertical direction.
Parise teaches a cleaning head (10, figure 1-3) that has a vacuum module (22, figure 1), a spray module (20, figure 1) with a front plate (44, figures 1-3) defines one or more elongated slots (32, figure 3) wherein the one or more elongated slots are vertically elongated (figure 3) such that a longest dimension of the one or more elongated slots is in a vertical direction (figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sundheim so that the one or more elongated slots are vertically elongated such that a longest dimension of the one or more elongated slots is in a vertical direction based on the teachings of Parise. This modification would allow the distance and area the spray module impacts to be varied (see Parise abstract).
Sundheim in view of Parise fails to teach wherein the sprayer assembly is coupled to the front plate via one or more brackets; and adjustably vacuum module is vertically movable relative to the spraying module.
Hopkins teaches wherein the sprayer assembly (106+ 108, figure 1e and 5) is coupled to the front plate via one or more brackets (see annotated figure below; and adjustably vacuum module (104, figure 1e) is vertically movable relative to the spraying module. (“where sections of the cleaning machine can be movable in any angle relative to other sections of the cleaning machine (col 2 lines 36-55, col 6 lines 34-49))
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim to include wherein the sprayer assembly is coupled to the front plate via one or more brackets, and a mechanism that allows the vacuum module to be vertically movable relative to the spraying module based on teachings of Hopkins . This modification would ensure the spraying module is properly secured, and allow the machine’s vacuum module to be tailored for different uses (see Hopkins col 6 lines 35-40).
Sundheim in view of Parise and Hopklins fails to teach a back plate is removably couplable to the industrial agitator.
Per MPEP 2144.04 (V-C), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim to have a back plate is removably couplable to the industrial agitator, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the vacuum module includes a vacuum head. (see Sundheim 16”, figure 18; col 9 lines 53-60)
Regarding claim 7, modified Sundheim teaches herein the sprayer assembly includes an inlet line (see Sundheim 10, figure 18), a manifold (see Sundheim 12, figure 5; col 11 lines 30-35), and a plurality of nozzles (see Sundheim 13, figure 5) extending vertically from the manifold.
Regarding claim 8, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the sprayer housing (see Sundheim 89, figure 18) defines an interior (see figure 18), and wherein the sprayer housing further includes the one or more brackets (see Hopkins annotated figure above) extending within the interior, the one or more brackets (see Hopkins annotated figure above) coupled to the front plate, the one or more brackets including a hook portion that defines an opening.
Regarding claim 9, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the manifold of the sprayer assembly rests on the hook portion of the one or more brackets within the interior of the sprayer housing (see Hopkins annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 10, Sundheim teaches industrial surface agitator having an agitator housing; and
a surface cleaning attachment system to the industrial surface agitator, the surface cleaning attachment system (col 7 lines 45-65) comprising:
a spraying module (col 8 lines 1-11) comprising a sprayer housing (89, figure 18) and a sprayer assembly (13”, figure 18) disposed within the sprayer housing, the sprayer housing comprising a back plate (see annotated figure 18 above) to the industrial surface agitator (figure 1, see col 8 lines 15-col 9 lines 60, col 11 lines 30-35) and a front plate (see annotated figure 18 above), wherein the front plate of the sprayer housing defines one or more elongated slots (see annotated figure 18), and
a vacuum module (col 11 lines 20-50) coupled to the front plate such that the vacuum module is vertically movable relative to the spraying module.
Sundheim fails to teach one or more elongated slots are vertically elongated such that a longest dimension of the one or more elongated slots is in a vertical direction.
Parise teaches a cleaning head (10, figure 1-3) that has a vacuum module (22, figure 1), a spray module (20, figure 1) with a front plate (44, figures 1-3) defines one or more elongated slots (32, figure 3) wherein the one or more elongated slots are vertically elongated (figure 3) such that a longest dimension of the one or more elongated slots is in a vertical direction (figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sundheim so that the one or more elongated slots are vertically elongated such that a longest dimension of the one or more elongated slots is in a vertical direction based on the teachings of Parise. This modification would allow the distance and area the spray module impacts to be varied (see Parise abstract).
Sundheim in view of Parise fails to teach wherein the sprayer assembly is coupled to the front plate via one or more brackets; and adjustably vacuum module is vertically movable relative to the spraying module.
Hopkins teaches wherein the sprayer assembly (106+ 108, figure 1e and 5) is coupled to the front plate via one or more brackets (see annotated figure below; and adjustably vacuum module (104, figure 1e) is vertically movable relative to the spraying module. (“where sections of the cleaning machine can be movable in any angle relative to other sections of the cleaning machine (col 2 lines 36-55, col 6 lines 34-49))
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim to include wherein the sprayer assembly is coupled to the front plate via one or more brackets, and a mechanism that allows the vacuum module to be vertically movable relative to the spraying module based on teachings of Hopkins . This modification would ensure the spraying module is properly secured, and allow the machine’s vacuum module to be tailored for different uses (see Hopkins col 6 lines 35-40).
Sundheim in view of Parise and Hopklins fails to teach a surface cleaning attachment system and a back plate that are removably couplable to the industrial agitator.
Per MPEP 2144.04 (V-C), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim to have a surface cleaning attachment system and a back plate that are removably couplable to the industrial agitator, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the industrial surface agitator further comprises a back wall (see Sundheim figures 1 and figure 18) and a front wall (see Sundheim figures 1 and figure 18), wherein the surface cleaning attachment (see connections 91, and 24, figure 18) system is removably couplable (see above per MPEP 2144.04 V-C) to the front wall of the industrial surface agitator.
Regarding claim 14, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the vacuum module includes a vacuum head. (see Sundheim 16”, figure 18; col 9 lines 53-60)
Regarding claim 18, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the sprayer assembly includes an inlet line (see Sundheim 10, figure 18) , a manifold (see Sundheim 12, figure 5; col 11 lines 30-35), and a plurality of nozzles (see Sundheim 13, figure 5) extending from the manifold.
Regarding claim 19, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the sprayer housing (see Sundheim 89, figure 18) defines an interior (see figure 18), and wherein the sprayer housing further includes the one or more brackets (see Hopkins annotated figure above) extending within the interior, the one or more brackets (see Hopkins annotated figure above) coupled to the front plate, the one or more brackets including a hook portion that defines an opening.
Regarding claim 20, modified Sundheim teaches wherein the manifold of the sprayer assembly rests on the hook portion of the one or more brackets within the interior of the sprayer housing. (see Hopkins annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundheim (US4095309A) in view of Parise (US4075733A), Hopkins (US10413147B2) as applied to claims 1 and 14 further in view of Cyphert (US4019218).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, modified Sundheim teaches all the limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein a fastener (see col 8 lines 15-30, “mounted”, col 11 lines 25- 35) extends through the vacuum head (16”, figure 18), one of the one or more elongated slots (see annotated figure above), but fails nut to couple the vacuum module to the spraying module.
Cyphert teaches a carpet cleaning extractor (abstract) that uses bolt and nut as attachment device to secure components to the base of the cleaning extractor (col 4 lines 65-col 5 lines 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim for fastener to be a nut and bolt fastener for purpose of using any known alternative fastener capable of attaching and securing components together such as a bolt and nut. The substitution would have resulted in the predicable result of coupling components together.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sundheim (US4095309A) in view of Parise (US4075733A), Hopkins (US10413147B2) as applied to claims 1 and 10 further in view of Cox (WO 2021045998 A1).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 16 and 17, modified Sundheim teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the vacuum module further comprises a glide assembly coupled to the vacuum head and wherein the glide assembly includes a glide plate and one or more wheels rotatably coupled to the glide plate.
Cox teaches a cleaning machine that has a vacuum head (17, figure 1; para 0027) , wheel assembly (212, figure 5b) that includes a glide assembly (202 figure 5b and 5c) that has a glide plate (208, figure 5b and 5c)coupled to the wheel assembly (212, 5c and 5b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to include glide assembly coupled to wheel assembly based on the teachings of Cox. This modification would help improve cleaning efficiency of the cleaning machine (para 0075 of Cox).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundheim (US4095309A) in view of Parise (US4075733A), Hopkins (US10413147B2) as applied to claim 10 further in view of Wulff (US5611106A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sundheim teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the industrial surface agitator further comprises counter rotating brushes disposed within the housing.
Wulff teaches an industrial carpet cleaning machine (abstract) that comprises counter rotating brushes disposed within the housing (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim to include counter rotating brushes within an industrial surface agitator based on the teachings of Wulff. This modification would help maintain a carpeted floor surface on a steady basis and reduce the chances of excessive soil, wear and loss appeal. (see Wulff col 1 lines 34 – 60)
Claim(s) 21-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundheim (US4095309A) in view of Parise (US4075733A), Hopkins (US10413147B2) as applied to claim1 further in view of Grave (US4488330A) and Nguyen (US11771286B2)
Regarding claims 21-22, Sundheim as modified above teaches all limitations stated above and does disclose changing the design of front plate and back plate (see figures 1-25) , but fails to teach wherein the back plate is vertically longer than the front plate such that the back plate includes a guard portion, wherein the back plate includes tab portions extending vertically from the guard portion such that the tab portion and the guard portion collectively define an opening to an interior defined by the sprayer housing and wherein one or more flanges are coupled to the tab portions of the back plate for removably coupling the spraying module to an agitator housing of the industrial surface agitator.
Grave teaches a surface cleaning attachment system removably couplable to a surface agitator (col 2 lines 32-35); the surface cleaning attachment system comprising a spraying module (14, figure 4) figure comprising a sprayer housing (18, figure 4) and a sprayer assembly (31, figure 4) disposed within the sprayer housing, the sprayer housing comprising a back plate (25, figure 4) and a front plate (19, figure 4); and the front plate (19, figure 4) of the sprayer housing defines one or more elongated slots (opening where screw 62 sits, ; col 3 lines 64-lines 68, figure 4); a vacuum module (16, figure 4) coupled to the front plate (19, figure 4), the back plate (see Grave 25, figure 4) is vertically longer than the front plate such that the back plate includes a guard portion (see Grave 23, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim to wherein the back plate is vertically longer than the front plate such that the back plate includes a guard portion. The motivation for doing so would be This modification would help loosen soul within carpeted cleaning surfaces (see Grave col 5 lines 10-20).
Regarding claims 21-22, Sundheim as modified above and further in view of Grave teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the back plate includes tab portions extending vertically from the guard portion such that the tab portion and the guard portion collectively define an opening to an interior defined by the sprayer housing.
Nguyen teaches a carpet extractor teaches that has a base housing that holds vacuum cleaner module and sprayer module; wherein the base housing has a wide range attachments to connect the base housing to carpet extractor (see figures 5-15; col 6 lines 35-65) including bosses and ribs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Sundheim have aback plate includes tab portions extending vertically from the guard portion such that the tab portion and the guard portion collectively define an opening to an interior defined by the sprayer housing and wherein one or more flanges are coupled to the tab portions of the back plate for removably coupling the spraying module to an agitator housing of the industrial surface agitator based on the teachings of Nguyen in attempt to ensure there is proper connection between the surface cleaning attachment and industrial surface cleaning apparatus as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723