DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 3 – 4, 8, 10 – 12, 17, 30 – 31 are canceled; claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 9, 13 – 16, 18 – 29 and 32 – 38 are pending and have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn due to the amendment canceling relative phrases, trade names, claims 3, 4,12, 17, and undefined terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 9, 13 – 16, 18 – 29 and 32 – 38 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pickett et al. (US 2020/0383894).
Regarding claims 1 and 15 – 16, Pickett teaches a method of treating glabellar lines (GL) and/or lateral canthal lines (LCL) in a human subject, comprising administering 30, 45, 50, 60 or 75 units (claim 23) of QM1114-DP (ready to used liquid formulation of RelabotulinumtoxinA) (0006, claim 24, figures, examples) via one or more injections (claim 26) in order to reduce the appearance of moderate to severe GL and/or LCL. Picket shows that 96.1% (45 units) and 95.1% (60 units) did not experience eyelid ptosis (Table 1).
Although Pickett does not teach the QM1114-DP has the relative potency normalized or determined as claimed, Pickett administers the exact same product as applicant, QM1114-DP. Thus, the compositions must intrinsically exhibit the same relative potency, regardless of the method by which it is determined. Further, the method by which the relative potency is determined is interpreted as a product by process type limitation of the administered product. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), then the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113)
Regarding claim 2, no severe adverse events were experienced in some subjects (example 1, 0102, figure 8).
Regarding claims 5 – 6, although the reference does not teach the RelabotulinumtoxinA has the claimed activity, the RelabotulinumtoxinA used by Pickett is the same used by applicant. Therefore, the RelabotulinumtoxinA of Pickett must also inherently exhibit the claimed activity. Regarding measuring the activity, it is initially noted the limitation is optional and not required by the claim. Notwithstanding, Pickett teaches measuring the specific activity of the RelabotulinumtoxinA via a mouse LD50 assay (the standard assay for assessment of BoNT-A potency) (example 2, 0139).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 14, Pickett does not teach the RelabotulinumtoxinA has the claimed activity or wherein no human or animal excipients or proteins are included. However, since the reference uses the same RelabotulinumtoxinA (QM1114-DP) as applicant, the RelabotulinumtoxinA must also inherently exhibit the claimed characteristics, results post administration and components.
Regarding claim 13, Pickett teaches treating moderate to severe GL and/or LCL (claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, the liquid composition further comprises 1 – 5 buffering agents selected from sodium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium phosphate, potassium phosphate, di-sodium hydrogen phosphate dehydrate, and sodium dihydrogen phosphate dehydrate (claim 8).
Regarding claims 19 – 23, the first buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 100 to about 300 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-10 mg/mL; the second buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL; the third buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL; the fourth buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL and the fifth buffering agent, and in some embodiments, the fifth buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL (0010 – 0014).
Regarding claims 24 – 27, the composition comprises at least one stabilizer that is an amino acid selected from the group consisting of alanine, valine, leucine, isoleucine, methionine, phenylalanine, tyrosine, and tryptophan; in the D isoform or the L isoform; and is present at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 3.0 mg/mL (0016).
Regarding claims 28 – 29, the composition comprises at least one surfactant is a non-ionic surfactant at a concentration of about 0.01% (v/v) to about 5.0% (v/v), or at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 3.0 mg/mL (0017).
Regarding claim 33, the RelabotulinumtoxinA has a molecular weight of about 150 kDa (0018).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, the pH is between 6.6 and 6.9 and the osmolality of the liquid composition is between 270 mosm/kg and 310 mosm/kg (0019).
Regarding claims 35 – 38, between 1 and 100 units or between 10 and 75 units of botulinum toxin is administered to the subject (0021) via injection, for example, by subdermal, transdermal, intradermal or intramuscular injection (0022) at intervals from about 1 month to about 6 months to inhibit recurrence (0024).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 9, 13 – 16, 18 – 29 and 32 – 38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 2, 11, 14, 17 – 19, 23, 25 – 26, 36 – 38, 41 – 43 of copending Application No. 16/894 684 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to administering the same liquid RelabotulinumtoxinA composition, QN1114-DP, to the same treating population and for treating the same conditions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Pickett does not inherently teach the claimed method because some patients experience some amount of eyelid ptosis as shown by applicant’s disclosure and the cited reference; and that since the claimed method requires that the “subject does not experience eyelid ptosis”, this limitation does not “necessarily flow” from Pickett.
However, Pickett administers the same RealbotulinumtoxinA in the same amount to the same location wherein 96.1 and 95.1% of patients do not exhibit eyelid ptosis, indicating that subjects do not experience eyelid ptosis as claimed. In this regard, even though some patients might experience eyelid ptosis, the reference clearly teaches 95.1% or more do not. As such, the limitation does, in fact, “necessarily flow” from the teachings of Pickett.
Applicant argues that it is surprising that the claimed higher potency botulinum toxin exhibits no eyelid ptosis compared to a lower potency botulinum toxin such as BOTOX COSMETIC™, XEOMIN™ and JEUVEAU™.
However, this argument fails to persuade. Initially, evidence of secondary considerations, such as unexpected results or commercial success, is irrelevant to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections and thus cannot overcome a rejection so based (MPEP 2131.04). Notwithstanding, applicant argues a surprising or unexpected result yet fails to provide objective evidence of the argued result. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record (MPEP 716.01(c)(II)). Objective evidence which must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value includes evidence of unexpected results (MPEP 716.01(c)(I).
Applicant argues that Pickett does not teach the method administering the claimed dose and potency.
However, Pickett teaches administering 30, 45, 50, 60 or 75 units of the claimed RelabotulinumtoxinA (claims 20 - 23) which fall expressly in the claimed dose of 40 – 70. It is maintained that Pickett teaches the claimed potency since the same composition is administered. It is iterated that Pickett teaches administering QM1114-DP, a ready to be administered liquid composition (e.g., ready to use) (0006, claim 24), which is the same composition and dose administered by applicant (examples).
Applicant argues the nonstatutory double patenting rejection in that the reference application does not claim ready to use liquid composition, the claimed dose or the RelabotulinumtoxinA having the claimed potency evaluated by the claimed assay.
However, the reference application administers the claimed QM1114-DP formulation (ready to administer liquid) (figures, 0006, claim 1) in the claimed amount (claim 23). In this regard, the compositions must also exhibit the same potency, regardless of how the potency is measured. The method by which the relative potency is determined is interpreted as a product by process type limitation of the administered product. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), then the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113)
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699