DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendment and reply filed June 30, 2026 have been received and entered into the case. Claim 38 is canceled; claims 1 - 2, 5 - 7, 9, 13 - 16, 18 - 29 and 32 - 37 are pending and have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 2, 5 - 7, 9, 13 - 16, 18 - 29 and 32 - 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites a method of treating lateral canthal lines wherein the treatment interval is “at least 6 months." This interval is not described in the specification as originally filed. The specification does not literally recite any treatment that is "at least" 6 months, but rather "up to a six month" duration (examples 2 and 6). No data, examples or disclosure is drawn to more than 6 months, which is encompassed by "at least 6 months." Instead, the specification repeatedly states intervals from about 3 months to "about 6 months" (0041, 0349) and "through 6 months" (0371, 0380). This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 fails to depend from a preceding claim. MPEP 608.01 (n)(III).
Claim 16 fails to further limit the claim on which it depends because the claim requires the subject to have LCL, which is already required by claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 9, 13 – 16, 18 – 29 and 32 – 37 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pickett et al. (US 2020/0383894).
Regarding claims 1 and 15 – 16, Pickett teaches a method of treating glabellar lines (GL) and/or lateral canthal lines (LCL) in a human subject, comprising administering 30, 45, 50, 60 or 75 units (claim 23) of QM1114-DP (ready to used liquid formulation of RelabotulinumtoxinA) (0006, claim 24, figures, examples) via one or more injections (claim 26) in order to reduce the appearance of moderate to severe GL and/or LCL. Picket shows that 96.1% (45 units) and 95.1% (60 units) did not experience eyelid ptosis (Table 1). Pickett teaches treatment intervals of about 6 months (0024, 0083, claims 36 - 37) which includes 6 months and is encompassed by “at least 6 months” as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, no severe adverse events were experienced in some subjects (example 1, 0102, figure 8).
Regarding claims 5 – 6, although the reference does not teach the RelabotulinumtoxinA has the claimed activity, the RelabotulinumtoxinA used by Pickett is the same used by applicant. Therefore, the RelabotulinumtoxinA of Pickett must also inherently exhibit the claimed activity. Regarding measuring the activity, it is initially noted the limitation is optional and not required by the claim. Notwithstanding, Pickett teaches measuring the specific activity of the RelabotulinumtoxinA via a mouse LD50 assay (the standard assay for assessment of BoNT-A potency) (example 2, 0139).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 14, Pickett does not teach the RelabotulinumtoxinA has the claimed activity or wherein no human or animal excipients or proteins are included. However, since the reference uses the same RelabotulinumtoxinA (QM1114-DP) as applicant, the RelabotulinumtoxinA must also inherently exhibit the claimed characteristics, results post administration and components.
Regarding claim 13, Pickett teaches treating moderate to severe GL and/or LCL (claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, the liquid composition further comprises 1 – 5 buffering agents selected from sodium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium phosphate, potassium phosphate, di-sodium hydrogen phosphate dehydrate, and sodium dihydrogen phosphate dehydrate (claim 8).
Regarding claims 19 – 23, the first buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 100 to about 300 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-10 mg/mL; the second buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL; the third buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL; the fourth buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL and the fifth buffering agent, and in some embodiments, the fifth buffering agent is present at a concentration of about 1 to about 25 mM, or at a concentration of about 0.1-1.0 mg/mL (0010 – 0014).
Regarding claims 24 – 27, the composition comprises at least one stabilizer that is an amino acid selected from the group consisting of alanine, valine, leucine, isoleucine, methionine, phenylalanine, tyrosine, and tryptophan; in the D isoform or the L isoform; and is present at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 3.0 mg/mL (0016).
Regarding claims 28 – 29, the composition comprises at least one surfactant is a non-ionic surfactant at a concentration of about 0.01% (v/v) to about 5.0% (v/v), or at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 3.0 mg/mL (0017).
Regarding claim 33, the RelabotulinumtoxinA has a molecular weight of about 150 kDa (0018).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, the pH is between 6.6 and 6.9 and the osmolality of the liquid composition is between 270 mosm/kg and 310 mosm/kg (0019).
Regarding claims 35 – 37, between 1 and 100 units or between 10 and 75 units of botulinum toxin is administered to the subject (0021) via injection, for example, by subdermal, transdermal, intradermal or intramuscular injection (0022).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 9, 13 – 16, 18 – 29 and 32 – 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 2, 11, 14, 17 – 19, 23, 25 – 26, 36 – 38, 41 – 43 of copending Application No. 16/894 684 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to administering the same liquid RelabotulinumtoxinA composition, QN1114-DP, to the same treating population and for treating the same conditions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a method for treating LCL wherein the treatment interval is at least 6 months with sufficient specificity; and that no examples are disclosed wherein a single treatment has a 6 month or longer duration. Applicant argues the instant claims are distinct from the cited copending application.
However, these arguments fail to persuade. Pickett specifically teaches treatment intervals of about 6 months (0024, 0083, claims 36 - 37) which includes 6 months and is encompassed by at least 6 months as claimed.
Regarding the argument that the prior art does not provide sufficient specificity for treating intervals of at least 6 months, the reference specifically states intervals from about 6 months which includes 6 months, or "at least 6 months" as claimed. Further, the reference states "In some embodiments of the disclosed method, said method is repeated at intervals from about 1 month to about 6 months to inhibit said recurrence" (0024) which is verbatim to applicant's own specification at paragraph 0041 of the published application. Moreover, the specificity of the prior art treating at "about 6 months" is identical to that of applicant.
Regarding the argument that the prior art does not provide examples wherein a single treatment has a 6 month or longer duration, the claims do not require treatment to have a 6 month or longer duration, but only treatment intervals of at least 6 months. In this regard, the argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Notwithstanding, examples are not required to demonstrate sufficient specificity. Rather, what constitutes a "sufficient specificity" is fact dependent (MPEP 2131.03 (II)). In this case, both Pickett and applicant disclose identical ranges of "up to 6 months," neither exemplify a single treatment having a 6 month or longer duration, but only up to 6 months, and both administer the same active composition to the same treating population, in the same number of units. As such, the cited prior art is deemed sufficiently specific with regard to both the claimed and disclosed invention.
Regarding the co-pending application, claims 36 and 37 recite administering at “about 6 months” which encompasses “at least 6 months.” As such, the claims remain rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699