DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 14 August 2025 has been entered.
The amendment of claims 1 and 11, cancellation of claims 2, 3, 12, and 13, and addition of claim 21 have been acknowledged.
In view of the amendment, the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 14 August 2025, with respect to the pending claims, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Representative submits that the prior art of record does not teach “determining validity of the training image based on the detected similarity” because Oshima fails to disclose determining whether a training image is valid and Xu does not cure the deficiency of Oshima because Xu determines the similarity between certain regions of images.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites “determine a similarity between a structure of the object in the simulation image and a structure of an object in the training image” (emphasis added). The claim language does not require the entire images to be compared. Oshima teaches comparing to a similarity threshold to determine whether the feature extraction should be re-trained, i.e., the previous set of training images are deemed invalid due to not meeting the similarity requirement (Oshima ¶¶0053, ¶¶0056) and Xu teaches that a training image is invalid when the similarity does not exceed a threshold value (Xu ¶¶0013, ¶¶0122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al. (US 2022/0391698 A1), in view of Xu et al. (US 2019/0333219 A1), hereinafter referred to as Oshima and Xu, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Oshima teaches an apparatus for selecting a training image of a deep learning model (Oshima Abstract: “a training recognition device that implements training of a DNN for article recognition”), the apparatus comprising:
an input device configured to receive a simulation image and information about an object in the simulation image from a simulation tool, and receive a training image corresponding to the simulation image from an image conversion device (Oshima ¶¶0009: “an image conversion unit that inputs a simulation image and an actual site image into a generative adversarial network and converts the simulation image into an artificial site image”); and
a controller configured to
detect a similarity between a structure of the object in the simulation image and a structure of an object in the training image, determine validity of the training image based on the detected similarity (Oshima ¶¶0009: “re-trains a difference between the simulation image and the artificial site image, and outputs a feature point of the artificial site image”; Oshima ¶¶0035: “The re-training of the re-training feature extraction unit 12 is performed using a group of the feature point (ideal features). That is, a difference between a feature point output from the re-training feature extraction unit 12 and a feature point (ideal feature) output from the pre-trained feature extraction unit 15 is calculated by the error calculation unit for feature extraction unit 16 … a feature point similar to the feature point of the simulation image is obtained as the output of the re-training feature extraction unit 12”),
determine that the recognition result is invalid when the detected similarity does not exceed a threshold value (Oshima ¶¶0053: “When the calculated current recognition accuracy is equal to or higher than a target value, the re-training of the DNN for article recognition (that is, the re-training feature extraction unit and the re-training identification unit) is completed. On the other hand, when the current recognition accuracy is less than the target value, the process shifts to the re-training of the second layer of the re-training feature extraction unit”; Oshima ¶¶0056: “when the current recognition accuracy is less than the target value, the feature point output by the re-training feature extraction unit is determined to be still deviated from the ideal feature (ideal feature (final layer)) only by the re-training of the first layer and second layer”), and
store the training image in a storage (Oshima Fig. 1: 12, 15, 17; Oshima ¶¶0028: “Various data stored in the present device or system or used for processing can be implemented by being read and used by the CPU 1601 from the memory 1602 or the external storage device 1603”; Oshima ¶¶0034: “the DNN is trained in advance using the image generated by the simulation and the correct answer information, and a portion of the feature extraction unit in a preceding stage of a pre-trained DNN model is applied to the pre-trained feature extraction unit 15. The re-training feature extraction unit 12 also includes the same network structure as that of the pre-trained feature extraction unit 15”).
However, Oshima does not appear to explicitly teach determining that the training image is invalid and storing the training image in a storage when the detected similarity exceeds a threshold value.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches determining that the training image is invalid when the detected similarity does not exceeds a threshold value storing the training image in a storage when the detected similarity exceeds a threshold value (Xu ¶¶0013: “the CycleGAN is trained to apply a threshold to the metric such that when the similarity level exceeds the threshold, the metric is applied to the first and second pixel based loss terms and otherwise a zero value is applied to the first and second pixel based loss terms”; Xu ¶¶0122: “when the weight values of SSIM(x,y) are less than a threshold α (a hyper-parameter), all those weights may be set to be zero (e.g., the weight may be ignored, thereby decreasing the likelihood that the loss term is reduced or minimized)”; Xu Fig. 1: 150).
Oshima and Xu are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to image processing using DNN. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training recognition device and method (as taught by Oshima) to determine that the training image is invalid when the similarity value does not exceed a threshold value (as taught by Xu) because the combination decreases the likelihood that the loss term is reduced or minimized (Xu ¶¶0122).
Regarding claim 4, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine that the training image is invalid when similarities are detected in a plurality of objects, and at least one of the similarities of the pluralities of objects does not exceed a threshold value (Xu ¶¶0013: “the CycleGAN is trained to apply a threshold to the metric such that when the similarity level exceeds the threshold, the metric is applied to the first and second pixel based loss terms and otherwise a zero value is applied to the first and second pixel based loss terms”; Xu ¶¶0122: “when the weight values of SSIM(x,y) are less than a threshold α (a hyper-parameter), all those weights may be set to be zero (e.g., the weight may be ignored, thereby decreasing the likelihood that the loss term is reduced or minimized)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training recognition device and method (as taught by Oshima) to determine that the training image is invalid when the similarity value does not exceed a threshold value (as taught by Xu) because the combination decreases the likelihood that the loss term is reduced or minimized (Xu ¶¶0122).
Regarding claim 5, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to
determine that the training image is valid (Oshima ¶¶0009 & ¶¶0035 discussed above), and
store the training image in a storage when similarities are detected in a plurality of objects (Oshima ¶¶0028 & ¶¶0034 discussed above), and
all the similarities of the plurality of objects exceed a threshold value (Xu ¶¶0013 & ¶¶0122 discussed above teach that the values not exceeding the threshold value are set to zero, resulting in all of the similarity values exceeding the threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training recognition device and method (as taught by Oshima) to determine that the training image is invalid when the similarity value does not exceed a threshold value (as taught by Xu) because the combination decreases the likelihood that the loss term is reduced or minimized (Xu ¶¶0122).
Regarding claim 6, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine a region of a first object in the simulation image and a region of a second object in the training image based on information on the object in the simulation image, and detect a structural similarity between the first object and the second object (Xu ¶¶0053: “computing system 110 may instruct a CBCT device to obtain an image of a target region of a subject (e.g., a brain region)”), and
detecting a structural similarity between the first object and the second object (Xu ¶¶0105: “The training input is provided to the GAN model training 430 to produce a trained generator model 460 used in the GAN model usage 450. Mappings of anatomical areas 424 and 425 provide the metric used to compare similarities between two images (e.g., using SSIM weights)”; Xu ¶¶0119: “the metric used to measure relationship between the two images is an SSIM weight … SSIM weighted sCT-CT L1 term: Ex˜p(CBCT),y˜p(CT) SSIM(x,y)⋅||G′1(x)−y||1, and SSIM weighted sCBCT-CBCT L1 term: Ex˜p(CBCT),y˜p(CT) SSIM(x,y) ⋅||2(y)−x||1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training recognition device and method (as taught by Oshima) to calculate SSIM (as taught by Xu) because the SSIM metric can compare similarities between two images (Xu ¶¶0105) and compensate for imperfect matching of paired (Xu ¶¶0119).
Regarding claim 7, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to detect a similarity between the structure of the object in the simulation image and the structure of the object in the training image based on a structural similarity index measure (SSIM) (Xu ¶¶0105 & ¶¶0119 discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training recognition device and method (as taught by Oshima) to calculate SSIM (as taught by Xu) because the SSIM metric can compare similarities between two images (Xu ¶¶0105) and compensate for imperfect matching of paired (Xu ¶¶0119).
Regarding claim 8, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to assign a weight to a structural comparison term of the SSIM (Xu ¶¶0105 & ¶¶0119 discussed above).
Regarding claim 9, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the simulation tool is configured to
generate the simulation image based on various scenarios (Oshima ¶¶0021: “The invention can be implemented in various other forms”), and
generate information about objects in the simulation image (Oshima ¶¶0032: “An image for re-training (simulation image) generated by simulation and correct answer information (annotation data) accompanying the image are supplied at the time of re-training”).
Regarding claim 10, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the image conversion device is configured to convert the simulation image into the training image based on a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Oshima Abstract: “The training recognition device includes: an image conversion unit that inputs a simulation image and an actual site image into a generative adversarial network and converts the simulation image into an artificial site image”).
Regarding claim 11, Oshima, in view of Xu, teaches that the apparatus performs a method (Oshima Abstract: “re-trains a method for identifying an article”). Therefore, claim 11 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 1 discussed above.
Claim 14 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 4 discussed above.
Claim 15 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 5 discussed above.
Claim 16 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 6 discussed above.
Claim 17 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 7 discussed above.
Claim 18 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 8 discussed above
Claim 19 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 9 discussed above.
Claim 20 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 10 discussed above.
Claim 21 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 1 and 11 discussed above (also refer to Oshima Fig. 1: 12, 15, 17 & Oshima ¶¶0060: “instead of comprehensively performing re-training from the preceding layer including the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer of the feature extraction unit, the re-training may be performed only for effective layers from the preceding layer, such as the first layer, the third layer, and a sixth layer. The effective layer may be selected, for example, based on an experience value of a user, or may be selected according to a past training result”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Soo Shin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667