DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (5,938,262) in view of Selle (6,164,882), further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2015/0061319).
Mills discloses a sliding deck (22,24,26) on a truck carbo box (12) such that a deck assembly (26) is movable into and at least a portion out of the truck cargo box, as shown in Figures 1-6.
In reference to claim 7, the sliding deck comprises a bedslide assembly frame (22,24) attached to the truck cargo box such that the deck assembly (26) moves relative to the bedslide assembly frame (22,24), as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 6. The bed assembly frame (22,24) is formed of rail (44) and rail supports (46), as shown in Figures 5 and 6.
However, Mills does not disclose the specifics of the deck assembly and the spring.
Selle teaches forming a deck assembly from at least one longitudinally extending plank (16) and at least one longitudinally extending accessory track (28), as shown in Figures 1-5. The at least one accessory track (28) includes a longitudinally extending opening (48), a track channel located adjacent the opening, a first rail (50) located adjacent one side of the opening, a second rail (52) located adjacent an opposed side of the opening (48), and at least one plank channel that receives a portion of the at least one plank (16), as shown in Figure 5. A slider (74) has a first rail channel (90) and a second rail channel (92), as shown in Figures 4 and 5. The first rail channel (90) receives and is positionable along the first rail and the second channel (92) receives and is positionable along the second rail, as shown in Figure 5. The slider (74) includes an attachment point (76), as shown in Figure 4.
In reference to claim 2, the deck assembly comprises a plurality of longitudinally extending planks (16), as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 3, the deck assembly comprises a plurality of longitudinally extending accessory tracks (28), as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 4, each accessory track (28) includes a second plank channel that receives a portion of another longitudinally extending plank (16), as shown in Figures 1 and 5.
In reference to claim 5, the slider is one of a plurality of sliders since the system is disclosed for securing multiple snowmobiles, as disclosed on lines 6-8 of column 1.
In reference to claim 6, each slider is positionable along one of the tracks, as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 8, a partition (60) is attachable to the slider (74), as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claims 9 and 14, the attachment point (72) on the slider is a bolt, as shown in Figure 2.
Johnson et al. teaches providing a spring (166) to bias a slider (164) towards the rail of a track (30), as shown in Figure 16. The rail channel receives and is positionable along the rail, as shown in Figure 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
form the deck assembly of Mills with the plank, accessory track, and slider construction, as taught by Selle, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a tie-down mechanism for a snowmobile; and,
provide a spring to bias the slider toward the rail of the accessory track, as taught by Johnson et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to more securely and quickly lock the slider in position along the track.
Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (5,938,262) in view of Selle (6,164,882).
Mills discloses a sliding deck (22,24,26) on a truck carbo box (12) such that a deck assembly (26) is movable into and at least a portion out of the truck cargo box, as shown in Figures 1-6.
However, Mills does not disclose the specifics of the deck assembly.
Selle teaches forming a deck assembly from at least one plank (16) and at least one accessory track (28), as shown in Figures 1-5. The at least one accessory track (28) includes an opening (48), a track channel located adjacent the opening, and at least one rail (50) located adjacent one side of the opening, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 11, the at least one accessory track (28) includes a second rail (52) located adjacent an opposed side of the opening, as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 12, the at least one accessory track (28) includes at least one plank channel that receives a portion of the at least one plank (16), as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claims 15 and 20, the at least one accessory track (28) is configured to receive at least one securement structure selected from a slider (74) and a stud (76) that is movable within the at least one accessory track (28), as shown in Figure 5.
In reference to claim 17, the accessory track deck includes a plurality of accessory tracks (28), as shown in Figure 1. Each accessory track (28) includes a longitudinally extending opening (48), a track channel, a first rail (50) located adjacent one side of the longitudinally extending opening, and a second rail (52) located adjacent an opposed side of the longitudinally extending opening, as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 18, the deck assembly includes at least one plank (16) adjacent to an accessory track (28), as shown in Figures 1-5. The accessory track (28) has a plank channel that receives a portion of the plank (16), as shown in Figure 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the deck assembly of Mills with the plank, accessory track, and slider construction, as taught by Selle, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a tie-down mechanism for a snowmobile
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mills (5,938,262) and Selle (6,164,882), as applied to claim 10, in view of Johnson et al. (US 2015/0061319).
Mills, as modified, does not disclose the cap.
Johnson et al. teaches providing an accessory track cap (C) that includes downwardly depending legs positionable within a track channel to cover the opening of the track (30), as shown in Figure 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to provide an accessory track cap to cover the opening the accessory track of Mills, as modified, as taught by Johnson et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent fouling of the track.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 March 13, 2026