DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-8, 19-27, 29 and 30 in the reply filed on 8 August 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-18 and 28 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen USPGPub 20230051969 and Manso “Angiotensin I Converting Enzyme–Inhibitory Activity of Bovine, Ovine, and Caprine κ-Casein Macropeptides and Their Tryptic Hydrolysates” J. of Food Protection, Volume 66, Issue 9, 1 September 2003, Pages 1686-1692.
Regarding claims 1-3, Nielsen teaches a denatured whey protein composition [0226] for use in food products [0001] comprising:
70-89 wt% protein on a dry weight basis [0094]
30-90 wt% beta-lactoglobulin relative to total protein [0095]
0-25 wt% GMP [0097]
Nielsen discloses that at least 99 wt% of the beta-lactoglobulin is denatured [0226] and therefore greater than 50 wt% of the total proteins must necessarily be denatured given the beta-lactoglobulin content disclosed.
Nielsen is silent regarding enzymatically hydrolyzed GMP.
Manso “Angiotensin I converting enzyme (ACE) is a key enzyme in the physiological regulation of blood pressure. This dipeptide- liberating carboxypeptidase catalyzes the conversion of angiotensin I to angiotensin II, a potent vasoconstrictor, together with the inactivation of the vasodilator bradykinin, and thus the inhibition of ACE results in a decrease in blood pressure (20). Peptide sequences capable of blocking ACE have been investigated with the aim of finding natural substances that act against hypertension.” (Pg. 1686) Manso teaches that peptides produced from the hydrolysis of GMP exhibit ACE inhibitory activity at a level which “justifies their use as food components”. (1691)
Nielsen and Manso are both directed to whey protein food compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have included hydrolyzed GMP as taught by Manso in the whey protein composition of Nielsen in order to produce a food product with the beneficial property of ACE inhibitory activity.
Nielsen teaches a GMP content of 0-25 wt%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have replaced this component with hydrolyzed GMP as taught by Manso because of the superiority of hydrolyzed GMP for ACE inhibition compared to native GMP. This substitution would have resulted in a composition of no native GMP and 0-25% hydrolyzed GMP. Therefore, the modification of Nielsen with Manso would have produced a composition wherein the proportions of protein, native GMP, hydrolyzed GMP and denatured whey protein that overlap or encompass the proportions of present claims 1 and 3. The level of hydrolyzed GMP present in such a substitution would provide a proteolysis index that overlaps or encompasses the range recited in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Therefore, the modification of Nielsen with Manso renders obvious the limitations of claims 1-3.
Regarding claims 4-6, Nielsen teaches particle sizes of 150-900 nm. [0459]
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Nielsen teaches a fat content of at most 8 wt% which overlaps with the present claims. [0209] In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 29, Nielsen teaches a food product as recited in claim 1 which also reads on claim 29.
Claims 19-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen USPGPub 20230051969.
Regarding claims 19 and 21-24, Nielsen teaches a denatured whey protein composition [0226] for use in food products [0001] comprising:
70-89 wt% protein on a dry weight basis [0094]
30-90 wt% beta-lactoglobulin relative to total protein [0095]
4-35 wt% alpha-lactalbumin
0-25 wt% GMP [0097]
Nielsen teaches a fat content of at most 8 wt% [0209]
Nielsen discloses that at least 99 wt% of the beta-lactoglobulin is denatured [0226] and therefore greater than 50 wt% of the total proteins must necessarily be denatured given the beta-lactoglobulin content disclosed.
The proportions of the components of Nielsen overlap or encompass the proportions and ratios of claims 19 and 21-24. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 20, the limitations of this claim are product-by-process limitations that do not impart any material characteristics to the claimed composition because claim 19 already recites that the final composition comprises greater than 50 wt% denatured whey protein so the content of denatured whey protein prior to denaturation that is less than in the final product does not affect the properties of the final product.
Regarding claims 25-27, Nielsen teaches particle sizes of 150-1000 nm and a polydispersity index of at most 0.05. [0429,0432] Therefore, the particles of Nielsen reads on claims 25-27.
Regarding claim 30, Nielsen teaches a food product as recited in claim 19 which also reads on claim 30.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-7, 19 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-7, 15 and 18-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11825860. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12349701. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent teach the limitations of the present claims.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793