Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 5 – 10) in the reply filed on August 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 2002/0079508) and Micovic et al. (US 2003/0218183).
(Claim 5) Yoshida et al. teach a method for fabricating a high electron mobility transistor comprising:
sequentially forming a lattice matching layer (2, buffer, paragraph 26), a channel layer (3), and an AlGaN layer (4, paragraph 27) on a growth substrate (1),
wherein the AlGaN layer (4) comprises a first area (region left of 6), a second area (region occupied by 6), and a third area (region right of 6), and the second area is located between the first area and the third area;
forming an insulation block (6, paragraph 35) on the second area of the AlGaN layer (4);
respectively forming two GaN blocks (5, paragraph 37) on the first area and the third area of the AlGaN layer (4);
removing the insulation block (paragraph 39); and
forming a gate (G) to directly interface the second area of the AlGaN layer (4).
Yoshida et al. lack respectively forming two InAlGaN blocks on the two GaN blocks; and
respectively forming a source and a drain on the two InAlGaN blocks.
However, Micovic teaches respectively forming two InAlGaN blocks on the two GaN blocks as art recognized equivalents and
respectively forming a source and a drain on the two InAlGaN blocks (paragraph 26) as art recognized equivalents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references as art recognized equivalents,
(Claim 6) Yoshida et al. teach wherein the step of forming the insulation block on the second area of the AlGaN layer comprises:
sequentially forming an insulation layer and a photoresist layer on the AlGaN layer;
removing the photoresist layer directly above the first area and the third area of the AlGaN layer and leaving the photoresist layer directly above the second area of the AlGaN layer;
removing the insulation layer directly above the first area and the third area of the AlGaN layer and leaving the insulation layer directly above the second area of the AlGaN layer; and
removing the photoresist layer directly above the second area of the AlGaN layer to form the insulation block on the second area of the AlGaN layer (paragraphs 37, 40, 45).
(Claim 7) Yoshida et al. teach wherein the two GaN blocks are formed using metal-organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD), or plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD).
Yoshida et al. lack wherein the two InAlGaN blocks are formed using metal-organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD), or plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) (paragraphs 7, 8).
However, Micovic teaches the two InAlGaN blocks are formed using metal-organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD), or plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) as art recognized equivalents (paragraph 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references as art recognized equivalents.
(Claim 8) Yoshida et al. teach wherein the growth substrate comprises Si, GaN, SiC, or sapphire (paragraph 8).
(Claim 9) Yoshida et al. teach wherein the lattice matching layer (2, buffer) comprises GaN (paragraph 8).
(Claim 10) Yoshida et al. teach wherein the channel layer (3) comprises GaN (3, paragraph 8).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
April 4, 2026