DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species 2 in the reply filed on 12/11/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1 Claims 1-5, 10-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake et al. (US 20190326826) in view of Cooper et al. (US 20120050999) and Arai (US 7,825,762).
Regarding claim 1, Otake et al. (figures 1-10 and para 0064-0111) discloses a primary winding proximate to a primary magnetic core assembly (110) (see para 0088-0093); a secondary winding proximate to a secondary magnetic core assembly (120) (see para 0088-0093); a divider (130) placed between the primary and secondary magnetic core assemblies(see para 0088-0095), the divider comprising an electrically insulating material (see para 0091); and an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider.
Otake et al. does not expressly discloses the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability and an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider.
Cooper et al. (para 0031) discloses a teaching wherein core assemblies are comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability.
Arai (Col 5, lines 1-65 and figures 1-5) discloses a teaching wherein an electrically insulating potting material (14) surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider (33c)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design core assemblies are comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability as taught by Cooper et al. to the inductive device of Otake et al. so as to significantly reduce eddy current losses, allow for efficient energy transfer and help reduce noise filtering.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider as taught by Arai to the inductive device of Otake et al. so as to protect the inductive device from outside element enhanced, dissipate heat and significantly increased resistance to vibration and mechanical shock.
Regarding claim 2, Otake et al. (figures 1-10 and para 0064-0111) discloses wherein the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly each comprise a field-spreading plate (122) positioned adjacent to the divider (130), each field-spreading plate comprising an area adjacent to the divider that is greater than an area of a cross section of the magnetic core assembly adjacent to the field-spreading plate (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Otake et al. (figures 6-10) discloses wherein the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly each comprise at least one core section, each core section comprising at least two extension sections positioned in parallel and connected by at least one connection section, wherein each extension section comprises a first end distal to the connection section, wherein the first end of each core section is adjacent to a field-spreading plate in contact with the divider.
Regarding claim 4, Otake et al. (figures 1-10 and para 0064-0111) discloses wherein the at least one core section and field-spreading plates of the primary magnetic core assembly are in electrical connection with each other and the at least one core sections and field-spreading plates of the secondary magnetic core assembly are in electrical connection with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Otake et al. (figures 6-10) discloses wherein the primary winding is wound around the extension sections of the primary magnetic core assembly together in a center section and wherein the secondary winding is wound around the extension sections of the secondary magnetic core assembly together in a center section.
Regarding claim 10, Arai (Col 5, lines 1-65 and figures 1-5) discloses wherein the electrically insulating potting material is substantially free of voids.
Regarding claim 11, (para 0031) discloses wherein the materials with the high magnetic permeability of the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly comprise a ferrite.
Regarding claim 12, Otake et al. (para 0091) discloses wherein a thickness of the divider in a direction between the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly is sized to a breakdown voltage rating.
Regarding claim 13, Otake et al. (figure 3 and para 0077-0090) discloses wherein a connection of a primary circuit is electrically connected to the primary magnetic core assembly, the primary circuit connected to the primary winding wound around the primary magnetic core assembly and wherein a connection of a secondary circuit is electrically connected to the secondary magnetic core assembly, the secondary circuit connected to the secondary winding wound around the secondary magnetic core assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Otake et al. (figures 1-10 and para 0064-0111) discloses a primary circuit comprising a primary winding (see figures 3-5), the primary circuit comprising input terminals (see figures 3-5 and para 0077-0089); a secondary circuit comprising a secondary winding (see figures 3-5 and para 0077-0089); the secondary circuit comprising output terminals (see figures 3-5 and para 0077-0089); and a transformer comprising a primary magnetic core assembly proximate a primary winding (110) (see para 0088-0093); a secondary magnetic core assembly proximate a secondary winding (120) (see para 0088-0093); a divider (130) placed between the primary and secondary magnetic core assemblies(see para 0088-0095), the divider comprising an electrically insulating material (see para 0091); and an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider.
Otake et al. does not expressly discloses the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability and an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider.
Cooper et al. (para 0031) discloses a teaching wherein core assemblies are comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability.
Arai (Col 5, lines 1-65 and figures 1-5) discloses a teaching wherein an electrically insulating potting material (14) surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider (33c)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design core assemblies are comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability as taught by Cooper et al. to the inductive device of Otake et al. so as to significantly reduce eddy current losses, allow for efficient energy transfer and help reduce noise filtering.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider as taught by Arai to the inductive device of Otake et al. so as to protect the inductive device from outside element enhanced, dissipate heat and significantly increased resistance to vibration and mechanical shock.
Regarding claim 15, Otake et al. (figures 1-10 and para 0064-0111) discloses wherein the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly each comprise a field-spreading plate (122) positioned adjacent to the divider (130), each field-spreading plate comprising an area adjacent to the divider that is greater than an area of a cross section of the magnetic core assembly adjacent to the field-spreading plate (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 16, Otake et al. (figures 6-10) discloses wherein the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly each comprise at least one core section, each core section comprising at least two extension sections positioned in parallel and connected by at least one connection section, wherein each extension section comprises a first end distal to the connection section, wherein the first end of each core section is adjacent to a field-spreading plate in contact with the divider.
Regarding claim 19, Otake et al. (figures 1-10 and para 0064-0111) discloses aprimary winding proximate to a primary magnetic core assembly (110) (see para 0088-0093); a secondary winding proximate to a secondary magnetic core assembly (120) (see para 0088-0093); a divider (130) placed between the primary and secondary magnetic core assemblies(see para 0088-0095), the divider comprising an electrically insulating material (see para 0091); and an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider; wherein the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly each comprise a field-spreading plate (122) positioned adjacent to the divider (130), each field-spreading plate comprising an area adjacent to the divider that is greater than an area of a cross section of the magnetic core assembly adjacent to the field-spreading plate (see figure 6); wherein the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly each comprise at least one core section (see figure 6);each core section comprising at least two extension sections positioned in parallel and connected by at least one connection section(see figure 6), wherein each extension section comprises a first end distal to the connection section(see figure 6), wherein the first end of each core section is adjacent to a field-spreading plate in contact with the divider(see figure 6), and wherein the at least one core section and field-spreading plates of the primary magnetic core assembly are in electrical connection with each other and the at least one core sections and field-spreading plates of the secondary magnetic core assembly are in electrical contact with each other(see figure 6).
Otake et al. does not expressly discloses the primary magnetic core assembly and the secondary magnetic core assembly comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability and an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider.
Cooper et al. (para 0031) discloses a teaching wherein core assemblies are comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability.
Arai (Col 5, lines 1-65 and figures 1-5) discloses a teaching wherein an electrically insulating potting material (14) surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider (33c)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design core assemblies are comprised of materials with a high magnetic permeability as taught by Cooper et al. to the inductive device of Otake et al. so as to significantly reduce eddy current losses, allow for efficient energy transfer and help reduce noise filtering.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design an electrically insulating potting material surrounding each of the magnetic core assemblies in a vicinity of the divider as taught by Arai to the inductive device of Otake et al. so as to protect the inductive device from outside element enhanced, dissipate heat and significantly increased resistance to vibration and mechanical shock.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 17-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837