DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in response to restriction/election requirement is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of single species for the components of formula (I) is also acknowledged. Since Applicant did not traverse the restriction/election requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse.
Therefore, claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03. Applicants preserve their right to file a divisional on the non-elected subject matter.
Status of the claims
Claims 1-9 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are objected to for not being in proper Markush format. A Markush claim is commonly formatted as: “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C”. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper (MEPP § 2173.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites MU and MU* are a band gap modifying unit that is evenly or randomly distributed along the polymer main chain. MU and MU* have not been clearly defined in the specification and the structure and connectivity of MU to Ar and MU to MU* have not been clearly defined in the claim and the drawn line from Ar to MU and MU to MU* does not provide any clear indication regarding the types of connection and bonding capable of functioning as band gap modifying unit.
Claim 5 discloses compounds with star symbol on either side. It is unclear what that star symbol indicates. It they are intended for attachment point, the claim should clearly recite so to particularly pointing out an distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew et al (US 20180163054).
Bartholomew discloses polymeric dyes which include a conjugated segment of aryl or heteroaryl co-monomers (abstract).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5 and 8-9, Bartholomew teaches (para [0148]) multichromophore comprising conjugated segments having the structure of formula (IIa) as shown below, and where the repeat units can be in a random arrangement (para [0061]).
where
Z1 can be fluorescein (para [0225]), L1 located within the polymer backbone can be an aryl or heteroaryl group and meets the claimed L1. Both M1 and M2 can be independently aryl or heteroaryl monomers, which correspond to applicant’s MU and AR respectively. G1 and G2 are independent terminal groups and correspond to applicant’s G1 and G2 (para [0148]). Bartholomew discloses that G1 and G2 end groups can be a halogen (para [0227] and para [0229]). Bartholomew adds that one of the G1 or G2 can be represented as (end of para [0228]):
-Ar-L3-Z
and at least one end group can terminate in an antibody (Z) (para [0233]), which is an antigen recognizing moiety (instant claim 9). L3 is the linking group and is depicted as the formula below (paras [0228], [0229], [0429] and [0431]), where q can be 1. Ar-L3 unit situated at the polymer end meets the L2 limitation, and reads on the first structure of instant claim 7.
Bartholomew adds that mole% of each repeat unit (x, y, w and z) can be 5 mol% or more, overlapping the claimed requirement, where y= required a, z=required b and w +x= required c, and further notes that the monomer repeat units total 100 mol% (para [0148]). Bartholomew discloses that the total number of repeat units can be 2 to 1,000 (para [0053]), meeting the claimed requirement of d.
Bartholomew teaches that both the monomers M1 and M2 can be selected to be the following (para [0190], page 34; claim 25, page 94):
M1 M2
Where M1 corresponds to the required MU which is a phenylene unit substituted with a C1 haloalkyl (instant claim 3), and M2 corresponds to the required binaphthyl group. Bartholemew differs from the claims in that does not specify connection of its M2 groups through the positions as claimed. However, connection through the aromatic group is disclosed (para [0190], page 34; claim 25, page 94) and it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities {see MPEP 2144.09 I.}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have attached the M2 groups of Bartholemew to the polymer of Bartholemew through any position in the aromatic group beyond the specifically identified 4,4’ arrangement for the purpose of achieving acceptably developed and useful dyes in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claims with the expectation of success and that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results.
Bartholomew recognizes the polyethylene glycol based polymers as water soluble groups (WSG) which provide for increased water-solubility (para [0103]) to the overall polymer. As discussed above, Bartholomew teaches 1,1-binaphthyl monomer which is substituted at the 2,2’ position with polyethylene glycol oligomer, with n=11 via a -CH2- linking group.
Bartholomew does not teach the conjugate comprising ethylene oxide moiety as claimed in claims 1 and claim 8 having the compound having formula (III).
However, Bartholomew teaches that in some cases the water soluble group can be (CH2)3(OCH2CH2)11OCH3 (para [0134]). Bartholomew provides additional structures of aryl based monomers where the water soluble group is connected to the aromatic ring via an ether -O- group, as depicted below (para [0190], page 34; claim 25, page 94).
Bartholomew further notes that those skilled in the art will be able to devise various arrangements, modifications and changes, which are within the scope of the invention (paras [0524] and [0525]). Thus, for one having ordinary skill in the art an obvious water soluble group derived from the teaching of the Bartholomew would have been where (CH2)3(OCH2CH2)11OCH3 are connected to the 1,1’-binaphthyl monomer at the 2,2’ positions via an ether -O- group (the 2,2’ positions as shown for the M2 structure above). Such a residue meets the structural requirement of formula (III).
Therefore, the invention as claimed is fully within the purview of the Bartholomew and choosing the polymer repeat units corresponding to the required structural configurations would have been obvious with reasonable expectation of achieving adequate results.
Regarding claim 6, Bartholomew teaches (reference claim 18, page 85) that L1, can be aryl or heteroaryl comonomer which can be substituted, and shows that one of the structures can be where a substituted pendant chain is attached to a dye, which meets the claimed requirement.
.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew et al (US 20180163054), as applied to claims 1 and 3-9 above and further in view of Wu et al. (Macromol. Chem. Phys. 2012, 213, 2238−2245).
Regarding claim 2, as discussed when addressing claim 1, Bartholomew teaches the recited binaphthyl monomer M2, corresponding to AR, but does not explicitly provide its chirality. Bartholomew notes that changes and modifications may be made by those of ordinary skill in the art (para [0524]), thus encouraging a skilled artisan to look to analogous art such as Wu for further optimization of the conjugated polymer system.
Wu teaches
π
conjugated chiroptical polymer which comprise S stereo isomer of the binaphthyl units (abstract). Advantageously Wu provides the motivation to create chiral polymers based on (S) 1,1’-Binaphthyl derivatives, since they provide excelled NIR (near infrared) fluorescence emission and show good anisotropic fluorescence property (Conclusion, page 2243).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted Bartholomew’s 1,1’-Binaphthyl monomer with the S-stereo isomer of 1,1’-Binaphthyl monomer as taught by Wu for the same application of creating a chiral conjugated polymer which has improved fluorescence property.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/097,243 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they refer to almost identical conjugated polymer system, where reference application’s MU, MU*, and L correspond to the required MU, L1 and L2 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/015351 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they refer to almost identical conjugated polymer system, where reference application’s MU, MU*, and L correspond to the required MU, L1 and L2 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678