DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/4/2025. Applicant amended claims 1.8,11,13,17, and 19, cancelled claims 7,9,15, and 18, and added claims 21-24. Claims 1-6,8,10-14,16-17,19-24 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 17 Applicant asserts:
Therefore, Trimboli also fails to disclose or suggest a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters, as recited by amended claim 1.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and does not use Trimboli alone but the combined teachings of Trimboli, Ha and Huang to teach claim language:
“a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters (Fig. 2G converters 110d of Trimboli. Ha teaches the first and second DC-DC power converters are isolated (Fig. 1-2 elements 31,32)”.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings Amendments
Examiner acknowledges and approves the drawing amendments filed 12/4/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 and 21 recites “the side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter“ and should be “the second side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter”.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6,8,10-14,16-17,19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, which recites “a plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters configured to operate at a first switching frequency, each of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries; a DC bus coupled to the second sides of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters; and a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters”.
Claim 11 recites “a plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters configured to operate at a first switching frequency, each of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries; a DC bus coupled to the second sides of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters; and a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters”.
It is unclear of the structure of claims 1 and 11. Specifically, based on the Applicants remarks which recites the following:
Based on Applicants remarks above, Applicant suggests that claims 1,11 and 17 refers to the embodiment shown in figures 3, and 6-8 of the disclosure. However claims 1,11 and 17 also recite “a plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters …, each of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries”. Figures 3, and/or 6-8. do not show a plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters …, each of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries.
Claims 10,13 and 20-21 similarly recites “wherein each of the second sides of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters are coupled in parallel” and “the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters are first isolated DC-DC power converters” which is unclear. The embodiment shown in figures 3, and 6-8 of the disclosure does not show each of the second sides of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters are coupled in parallel” and “the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters are first isolated DC-DC power converters
Claims 2-6,8,10,12-14,16, and 19-24 is/are included in this rejection due to their dependence on claim 1,11, and 17.
Claims 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trimboli (US 20160336765) in view of Ha (US 20220368215) in view of Huang (US 20200412148) evident by Teggatz (US 20120293021) evident by van Halteren (US 20120155683).
As to claim 17, Trimboli discloses an energy storage system for an automotive vehicle ([0102] The battery unit 102 may be used in an electric vehicle), the system comprising:
a plurality of batteries coupled in series (Fig. 2G. 105a-105n (collectively “105”);
a plurality of DC-DC power converters each having first and second sides (Fig. 2G converters 110a-c), each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries (Fig. 2G); a DC bus coupled to the second sides of the plurality of DC-DC power converters (Fig. 2G); and at least one controller coupled to the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters (central controller 160, Fig. 2G), the at least one controller configured to control at least one DC- DC power converter of the plurality of DC-DC power converters ([0119] the central controller 160 is in communication with the bypass converters 110).
Trimboli does not disclose/teach the first and second DC-DC power converters are isolated.
Ha teaches the first and second DC-DC power converters are isolated (Fig. 1-2 elements 31,32)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second DC-DC power converters of Trimboli to be isolated in order to reduce noise by eliminating ground loops.
Trimboli does not disclose/teach the at least one controller configured to control at least one DC- DC power converter of the plurality of DC-DC power converters at a switching frequency of 10 MHz or more to mitigate a transient load condition on the DC bus.
Huang teaches controlling at a switching frequency of 100 kHz or more of the DC-DC power converter in order to mitigate the transient load condition on the DC bus ([0005] The higher switching frequency of 150 kHz not only provides the benefit of fast response transient regulation, it also enables the use of smaller transformer for the same output power and smaller capacitors)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one controller of Trimboli in view of Ha to be configured to control at least one DC- DC power converter of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters at a switching frequency of 100 kHz or more to mitigate a transient load condition on the DC bus in order to enable the use of smaller transformer for the same output power and smaller capacitors ([0005]).
Huang does not teach that the switching frequency is 10 MHz or more.
However, it is a well-known common engineering design practice to implement higher switching frequencies in switching circuits in order to build the circuits with smaller components as evident by van Halteren ([0028) Preferably, small capacitors are applied due to the high switching frequency (typically in the range 250 kHz to 10 MHz) and evident by Teggatz ([0026] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the switching frequency of Trimboli in view of Ha in view of Huang to be 10 MHz or higher in order to build the circuits with smaller components using less circuit board space.
As to claim 19, Trimboli in view of Ha in view of Huang teaches the energy storage system of claim 17, wherein the system does not include a battery module coupled to the second sides of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters (Fig. 2G of Trimboli).
As to claim 20, Trimboli in view of Ha in view of Huang teaches the energy storage system of claim 17, wherein each of the second sides of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters are coupled in parallel (Fig. 2G of Trimboli).
As to claim 21, Trimboli in view of Ha in view of Huang teaches the energy storage system of claim 17, wherein: the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters are first isolated DC-DC power converters (Fig. 2G converters 110a-c of Trimboli. Ha teaches the first and second DC-DC power converters are isolated (Fig. 1-2 elements 31,32); and the system further comprises a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters (Fig. 2G converters 110d of Trimboli. Ha teaches the first and second DC-DC power converters are isolated (Fig. 1-2 elements 31,32), the first side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter coupled to the plurality of batteries and the side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter coupled to the DC bus (Fig. 2G of Trimboli).
As to claim 23, Trimboli in view of Ha in view of Huang teaches the energy storage system of claim 21, wherein the second isolated DC-DC power converter is a bi-directional DC-DC power converter ([0142] of Trimboli each bypass converter 110 is bidirectional and each bypass converter 110 provides charge to the battery cell 105 and provides power from the battery cell 105a to the shared bus 180). .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the 112 second rejection above.
Claims 1-6,8, 10-14, and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112 second rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, although the prior art discloses An energy storage system for an automotive vehicle, the system comprising: a plurality of batteries coupled in series; a plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters configured to operate at a first switching frequency, each of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries; a DC bus coupled to the second sides of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters; and a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters, the first side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter coupled to the plurality of batteries coupled in series and the side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter coupled to the DC bus, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“at least one controller coupled to the second isolated DC-DC power converter, the
at least one controller configured to: detect a transient load condition: in response to detecting the transient load condition, transmit an enable signal to the second isolated DC-DC power converter to cause the second isolated DCDC power converter to begin operating; and control the second isolated DC-DC power converter at a second switching frequency greater than the first switching frequency of the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters.”
Regarding independent claim(s) 11, although the prior art discloses An energy storage system for an automotive vehicle, the system comprising: a plurality of batteries coupled in series; a plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters each having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries; a DC bus coupled to the second sides of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters; wherein the at least one ultra-capacitor is configured to mitigate a-the transient load condition on the DC bus; and the system does not include a battery module coupled to the second sides of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“at least one switching device coupled to the DC bus; at least one ultra-capacitor coupled to the DC bus and the second sides of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters via the at least one switching device; and at least one controller coupled to the switching device, the at least one controller configured to detect a transient load condition and in response to detecting the transient load condition, transmit an enable signal to the switching device to cause the switching device to begin operating,.”
Dependent claims 2-6,8, 10 12-14, and 16 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim(s) 22, although the prior art discloses an energy storage system for an automotive vehicle, the system comprising: a plurality of batteries coupled in series; a plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters each having first and second sides, each of the first sides coupled to at least one of the batteries; a DC bus coupled to the second sides of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters; and
at least one controller coupled to the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters,
the at least one controller configured to control at least one isolated DC-DC power
converter of the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters at a switching frequency of 10 MHz, or more to mitigate a transient load condition on the DC bus, the plurality of isolated DC-DC power converters are first isolated DC-DC power converters; and the system further comprises a second isolated DC-DC power converter including first and second sides coupled in parallel with the plurality of first isolated DC-DC power converters, the first side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter coupled to the
plurality of batteries and the side of the second isolated DC-DC power converter coupled to the DC bus the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“at least one controller coupled to the second isolated DC-DC power converter, the at least one controller configured to: detect a transient load condition; and
in response to detecting the transient load condition, transmit an enable signal to
the second isolated DC-DC power converter to cause the second isolated DC-DC power converter to begin operating.”
As to claim 24, is also objected to as they include the allowable subject matter in claim 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859