DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that primary reference GAUL does not disclose charging above a threshold, paragraph 0027 of GAUL discloses a required amount of energy for charging, which implies the vehicle is charged above a threshold. It is therefore maintained that GAUL discloses charging a vehicle above a threshold.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended recitation of charging an energy storage device associated with the location above a threshold have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly found reference HILL (US Pub. No. 2013/0221918) is relied upon to teach the recitation as amended in independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant is requested to point out support in the original disclosure for each of the new or amended claims, in accordance with MPEP §714.02, MPEP § 2163.04, and § 2163.06.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: it is not clear if the recitation “above a threshold” applies only to charging the “energy storage device” or if it also applies to charging “a vehicle”. The claim should be amended to improve clarity. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as charging both the vehicle and the energy storage device above a threshold.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the application as filed does not disclose the amended recitation “before the future increase, controlling a charging station to charge…”. Paragraph 0052 discloses “vehicles and energy storage systems within the location may be directed to make use of charging stations prior to the time of a greater need”, and paragraph 0060 discloses “By encouraging local electric vehicles 122 and energy storage devices 127 to be sufficiently charged prior to the anticipated surge”. It appears the specification discloses directing and encouraging the vehicles to be charge before the future increase, not controlling a charging station before the future increase as recited. Therefore, the amended recitation constitutes new matter.
Regarding claim 2, the application as filed does not disclose the amended recitation “controlling the charging station to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device at a time based on a current amount of charge of the vehicle and the energy storage device”.
Regarding claim 4, the application as filed does not disclose the amended recitation “predicting the charging requirement for one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device from historical usage data; and determining one or more of the threshold or a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device based on the charging requirement”.
Regarding claim 5, the application as filed does not disclose the amended recitation “controlling a visitor vehicle to charge”. Paragraphs 0066 and 0083 appear to disclose directing the visitor vehicles to charge, not controlling as recited.
Regarding claim 8, the application as filed does not disclose the amended recitation “before the future increase, control a charging station to charge…”.
Regarding claim 15, the application as filed does not disclose the amended recitation “before the future increase, controlling a charging station to charge…”.
The remaining claims are dependent from claims 1, 8, or 15, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAUL (US PG Pub 2012/0146583; cited on IDS; cited in previous office action) in view of HILL (US Pub. No. 2013/0221918).
Regarding claim 1, GAUL discloses a method, comprising:
determining a future increase in a charging requirement (¶ 0012: at least one load prediction (prognosis) is created for the group from at least the actual charging parameters. A load prediction may, for example, contain information about how the electrical load within the group, i.e. the energy taken by the charging stations, will change in the future. For example, with the aid of the actual charging parameters, it is possible to predict the energy which must be made available in half an hour, one hour or in two hours, as well as the capacity which is still available in the group. The actual charging parameters may, for example, also contain information about the power presently made available in combination with the energy still required by a vehicle. From this information, for example, it is possible to ascertain how much longer a charging process will last. With this information, in a load prediction, it is possible to establish that a particular charging station will not take any more electrical energy at a particular time since the charging process presently taking place will then be completed; ¶ 0022: the generation of the load prediction is additionally dependent at least on a daily load curve of at least one charging station in the group and/or a weekly load curve of at least one charging station in the group. As a function of past data, it is possible to estimate the energy demand in the region of a transformer station) at a location (e.g., at low-voltage transformation station 6a shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: a plurality of charging stations may be allocated to a common transformer station. A multiplicity of charging stations allocated to a transformer station may in this case form a group; ¶ 0044: In the region of a low-voltage transformation station 6, 100 or more charging stations 10 may be connected in the future in order to provide a sufficient supply of electrical vehicles with charging points); and
before the future increase, controlling a charging station (e.g., 10a, Fig. 1) to charge a vehicle identified as associated with the location (e.g., at least one vehicle connected to a charging station; ¶ 0010: exchanging at least actual charging parameters of the charging stations within the group. Actual charging parameters may, for example, be information about the electrical power presently made available at a charging station. For example, a vehicle may currently be drawing a power of 10 kVA. This information may constitute an actual charging parameter; ¶ 0044: see above) above a threshold (¶ 0027: when a high load is expected in two hours but there is currently a low load, and the vehicle merely requires a small quantity of energy, a charging duration of one hour may be established and charging may be carried out with an maximum amperage in this hour; the “small quantity of energy” implies a threshold).
GAUL fails to disclose before the future increase, controlling the charging station to charge an energy storage device identified as associated with the location above a threshold.
HILL discloses before the future increase, controlling the charging station (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0022: FIG. 1 shows a vehicle charging system in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A vehicle charging system may include a charging station 120) to charge an energy storage device identified as associated with the location (110, Fig. 1; ¶ 0023: fast charge station may include…a stationary energy storage module 110) above a threshold (¶ 0082: Peak avoidance may be another example of a charging configuration A higher slow charge rate may occur during off peak times sufficient to completely stop charging during peak hours; ¶ 0090: In some embodiments, a threshold charge value may be provided for the stationary energy storage system. The threshold charge value may be a state charge for which is it may be desired for the stationary energy storage system to remain over. For example, if the state of charge is above a threshold state of charge, the stationary energy storage system need not be charged. If the state of charge falls below the threshold state of charge, the stationary energy storage system may be charged; ¶ 0092: stationary energy storage system may then be charged to reach the minimal threshold value; Figure 9A shows the peak is determined based on an increase in a charging requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include charging an energy storage device before the future increase in order to provide fast charging to vehicles without providing excessive strain on an energy source, such as a utility grid (HILL, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 2, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches controlling of the charging station comprises: controlling the charging station to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device at a time based on a current amount of charge of the vehicle and the energy storage device (GAUL, ¶ 0023, 0027, 0058; HILL, ¶ 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 3, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches calculating the threshold based on a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device, and a historical usage of one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device (GAUL, ¶ 0012, 0014-0016, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0045, 0050, 0057-0058, 0060; HILL, ¶ 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 4, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches predicting the charging requirement for one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device from historical usage data; and determining one or more of the threshold or a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device based on the charging requirement (GAUL, ¶ 0012, 0014-0016, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0045, 0050, 0057-0058, 0060; HILL, ¶ 0082, 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 8, GAUL discloses a system, comprising:
a processor that executes instructions stored in a memory (¶ 0037: The aforementioned method may also be embodied as a computer program or as a computer program stored on a storage medium. In this case, a microprocessor in the vehicle, in the charging station and/or in the transformer station may be suitably programmed in order to carry out the respective method steps using a computer program) to configure the processor to:
determines a future increase in a charging requirement (¶ 0012: at least one load prediction (prognosis) is created for the group from at least the actual charging parameters. A load prediction may, for example, contain information about how the electrical load within the group, i.e. the energy taken by the charging stations, will change in the future. For example, with the aid of the actual charging parameters, it is possible to predict the energy which must be made available in half an hour, one hour or in two hours, as well as the capacity which is still available in the group. The actual charging parameters may, for example, also contain information about the power presently made available in combination with the energy still required by a vehicle. From this information, for example, it is possible to ascertain how much longer a charging process will last. With this information, in a load prediction, it is possible to establish that a particular charging station will not take any more electrical energy at a particular time since the charging process presently taking place will then be completed; ¶ 0022: the generation of the load prediction is additionally dependent at least on a daily load curve of at least one charging station in the group and/or a weekly load curve of at least one charging station in the group. As a function of past data, it is possible to estimate the energy demand in the region of a transformer station) at a location (e.g., at low-voltage transformation station 6a shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: a plurality of charging stations may be allocated to a common transformer station. A multiplicity of charging stations allocated to a transformer station may in this case form a group; ¶ 0044: In the region of a low-voltage transformation station 6, 100 or more charging stations 10 may be connected in the future in order to provide a sufficient supply of electrical vehicles with charging points); and
before the future increase, control a charging station (e.g., 10a, Fig. 1) to charge a vehicle identified as associated with the location (e.g., at least one vehicle connected to a charging station; ¶ 0010: exchanging at least actual charging parameters of the charging stations within the group. Actual charging parameters may, for example, be information about the electrical power presently made available at a charging station. For example, a vehicle may currently be drawing a power of 10 kVA. This information may constitute an actual charging parameter; ¶ 0044: see above) above a threshold (¶ 0027: when a high load is expected in two hours but there is currently a low load, and the vehicle merely requires a small quantity of energy, a charging duration of one hour may be established and charging may be carried out with an maximum amperage in this hour; the “small quantity of energy” implies a threshold).
GAUL fails to disclose before the future increase, control the charging station to charge an energy storage device identified as associated with the location above a threshold.
HILL discloses before the future increase, control the charging station (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0022: FIG. 1 shows a vehicle charging system in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A vehicle charging system may include a charging station 120) to charge an energy storage device identified as associated with the location (110, Fig. 1; ¶ 0023: fast charge station may include…a stationary energy storage module 110) above a threshold (¶ 0082: Peak avoidance may be another example of a charging configuration A higher slow charge rate may occur during off peak times sufficient to completely stop charging during peak hours; ¶ 0090: In some embodiments, a threshold charge value may be provided for the stationary energy storage system. The threshold charge value may be a state charge for which is it may be desired for the stationary energy storage system to remain over. For example, if the state of charge is above a threshold state of charge, the stationary energy storage system need not be charged. If the state of charge falls below the threshold state of charge, the stationary energy storage system may be charged; ¶ 0092: stationary energy storage system may then be charged to reach the minimal threshold value; Figure 9A shows the peak is determined based on an increase in a charging requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include charging an energy storage device before the future increase in order to provide fast charging to vehicles without providing excessive strain on an energy source, such as a utility grid (HILL, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 9, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches when the processor controls the charging station, the processor is configured to: control the charging station to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device at a time based on a current amount of charge of the vehicle and the energy storage device (GAUL, ¶ 0023, 0027, 0058; HILL, ¶ 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 10, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the processor is configured to: calculate the threshold based on a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device, and a historical usage of one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device (GAUL, ¶ 0012, 0014-0016, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0045, 0050, 0057-0058, 0060; HILL, ¶ 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 11, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the processor is configured to: predict the charging requirement for one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device from historical usage data; and determine one or more of the threshold or a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device based on the charging requirement (GAUL, ¶ 0012, 0014-0016, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0045, 0050, 0057-0058, 0060; HILL, ¶ 0082, 0085-0093)..
Regarding claim 15, GAUL discloses a computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor (¶ 0037: The aforementioned method may also be embodied as a computer program or as a computer program stored on a storage medium. In this case, a microprocessor in the vehicle, in the charging station and/or in the transformer station may be suitably programmed in order to carry out the respective method steps using a computer program), cause the processor to perform:
determining a future increase in a charging requirement (¶ 0012: at least one load prediction (prognosis) is created for the group from at least the actual charging parameters. A load prediction may, for example, contain information about how the electrical load within the group, i.e. the energy taken by the charging stations, will change in the future. For example, with the aid of the actual charging parameters, it is possible to predict the energy which must be made available in half an hour, one hour or in two hours, as well as the capacity which is still available in the group. The actual charging parameters may, for example, also contain information about the power presently made available in combination with the energy still required by a vehicle. From this information, for example, it is possible to ascertain how much longer a charging process will last. With this information, in a load prediction, it is possible to establish that a particular charging station will not take any more electrical energy at a particular time since the charging process presently taking place will then be completed; ¶ 0022: the generation of the load prediction is additionally dependent at least on a daily load curve of at least one charging station in the group and/or a weekly load curve of at least one charging station in the group. As a function of past data, it is possible to estimate the energy demand in the region of a transformer station) at a location (e.g., at low-voltage transformation station 6a shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: a plurality of charging stations may be allocated to a common transformer station. A multiplicity of charging stations allocated to a transformer station may in this case form a group; ¶ 0044: In the region of a low-voltage transformation station 6, 100 or more charging stations 10 may be connected in the future in order to provide a sufficient supply of electrical vehicles with charging points); and
before the future increase, controlling a charging station (e.g., 10a, Fig. 1) to charge a vehicle identified as associated with the location (e.g., at least one vehicle connected to a charging station; ¶ 0010: exchanging at least actual charging parameters of the charging stations within the group. Actual charging parameters may, for example, be information about the electrical power presently made available at a charging station. For example, a vehicle may currently be drawing a power of 10 kVA. This information may constitute an actual charging parameter; ¶ 0044: see above) above a threshold (¶ 0027: when a high load is expected in two hours but there is currently a low load, and the vehicle merely requires a small quantity of energy, a charging duration of one hour may be established and charging may be carried out with an maximum amperage in this hour; the “small quantity of energy” implies a threshold).
GAUL fails to disclose before the future increase, controlling the charging station to charge an energy storage device identified as associated with the location above a threshold.
HILL discloses before the future increase, controlling the charging station (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0022: FIG. 1 shows a vehicle charging system in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A vehicle charging system may include a charging station 120) to charge an energy storage device identified as associated with the location (110, Fig. 1; ¶ 0023: fast charge station may include…a stationary energy storage module 110) above a threshold (¶ 0082: Peak avoidance may be another example of a charging configuration A higher slow charge rate may occur during off peak times sufficient to completely stop charging during peak hours; ¶ 0090: In some embodiments, a threshold charge value may be provided for the stationary energy storage system. The threshold charge value may be a state charge for which is it may be desired for the stationary energy storage system to remain over. For example, if the state of charge is above a threshold state of charge, the stationary energy storage system need not be charged. If the state of charge falls below the threshold state of charge, the stationary energy storage system may be charged; ¶ 0092: stationary energy storage system may then be charged to reach the minimal threshold value; Figure 9A shows the peak is determined based on an increase in a charging requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include charging an energy storage device before the future increase in order to provide fast charging to vehicles without providing excessive strain on an energy source, such as a utility grid (HILL, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 16, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the controlling of the charging station comprises: controlling the charging station to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device at a time based on a current amount of charge of the vehicle and the energy storage device (GAUL, ¶ 0023, 0027, 0058; HILL, ¶ 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 17, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the instructions cause the processor to perform: calculating the threshold based on a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device, and a historical usage of one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device (GAUL, ¶ 0012, 0014-0016, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0045, 0050, 0057-0058, 0060; HILL, ¶ 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 18, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the instructions cause the processor to perform: predicting the charging requirement for one or more of the vehicle or the energy storage device from historical usage data; and determining one or more of the threshold or a time that the charging station is to charge the vehicle and the energy storage device based on the charging requirement (GAUL, ¶ 0012, 0014-0016, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0045, 0050, 0057-0058, 0060; HILL, ¶ 0082, 0085-0093).
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAUL in view of HILL as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 above, and further in view of NAKAZAWA (US PG Pub 2013/0035804; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 5, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose determining that the charging requirement is due to a predicted increase in visitor electric vehicles in the location; and controlling a visitor vehicle to charge above a second threshold before entering the location.
NAKAZAWA discloses determining that the charging requirement is due to a predicted increase in visitor electric vehicles in the location; and controlling a visitor vehicle to charge before entering the location (¶ 0026, 0034, 0039). Charging the visitor electric vehicle to be above a second threshold is implied, e.g., a minimum threshold for the visitor vehicle would be implied such that the visitor vehicle would not need to stop for charging in the location where the increased charging need is determined. Furthermore, charging a vehicle to a threshold is well known in the art, as evidenced by GAUL (¶ 0027), and it would be obvious to charge the visitor electric vehicles of NAKAZAWA such that they are above a threshold prior to entering the location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling a visitor vehicle to charge above a second threshold before entering the location in order to further suppress a charge amount shortage in the location (NAKAZAWA, ¶ 0005-0007).
Regarding claim 12, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but fails to discloses the processor is configured to: determine that the charging requirement is due to a predicted increase in visitor electric vehicles in the location; and control a visitor vehicle to charge above a second threshold before entering the location.
NAKAZAWA discloses the processor is configured to: determine that the charging requirement is due to a predicted increase in visitor electric vehicles in the location; and control a visitor vehicle to charge before entering the location (¶ 0026, 0034, 0039). Charging the visitor electric vehicle to be above a second threshold is implied, e.g., a minimum threshold for the visitor vehicle would be implied such that the visitor vehicle would not need to stop for charging in the location where the increased charging need is determined. Furthermore, charging a vehicle to a threshold is well known in the art, as evidenced by GAUL (¶ 0027), and it would be obvious to charge the visitor electric vehicles of NAKAZAWA such that they are above a threshold prior to entering the location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling a visitor vehicle to charge above a second threshold before entering the location in order to further suppress a charge amount shortage in the location (NAKAZAWA, ¶ 0005-0007).
Regarding claim 19, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, but fails to disclose the instructions cause the processor to perform: determining that the charging requirement is due to a predicted increase in visitor electric vehicles in the location; and controlling a visitor vehicle to charge above a second threshold before entering the location.
NAKAZAWA discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: determining that the charging requirement is due to a predicted increase in visitor electric vehicles in the location; and controlling a visitor vehicle to charge before entering the location (¶ 0026, 0034, 0039). Charging the visitor electric vehicle to be above a second threshold is implied, e.g., a minimum threshold for the visitor vehicle would be implied such that the visitor vehicle would not need to stop for charging in the location where the increased charging need is determined. Furthermore, charging a vehicle to a threshold is well known in the art, as evidenced by GAUL (¶ 0027), and it would be obvious to charge the visitor electric vehicles of NAKAZAWA such that they are above a threshold prior to entering the location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling a visitor vehicle to charge above a second threshold before entering the location in order to further suppress a charge amount shortage in the location (NAKAZAWA, ¶ 0005-0007).
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAUL in view of HILL as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 above, and further in view of HIRUTA (US PG Pub 2011/0224900; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 6, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose controlling a visitor electric vehicle to the location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station outside of the location to the location.
HIRUTA discloses controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station outside of the location to the location (¶ 0071-0072, 0085). It would be obvious to apply the teaching of HIRUTA of controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station as recited, for a visitor electric vehicle to the location of GAUL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station as recited in order to help plan for charging and reduce the fear associated with running out of power.
Regarding claim 13, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but fails to disclose the processor is configured to: control a visitor electric vehicle to the location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station outside of the location to the location.
HIRUTA discloses the processor is configured to: control a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station outside of the location to the location (¶ 0071-0072, 0085). It would be obvious to apply the teaching of HIRUTA of controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station as recited, for a visitor electric vehicle to the location of GAUL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station as recited in order to help plan for charging and reduce the fear associated with running out of power.
Regarding claim 20, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, but fails to disclose the instructions cause the processor to perform: controlling in a visitor electric vehicle to the location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station outside of the location to the location.
HIRUTA discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station outside of the location to the location (¶ 0071-0072, 0085). It would be obvious to apply the teaching of HIRUTA of controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station as recited, for a visitor electric vehicle to the location of GAUL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling a visitor electric vehicle to a location to display an amount of energy required for a trip from a charging station as recited in order to help plan for charging and reduce the fear associated with running out of power.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAUL in view of HILL as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 above, and further in view of PENILLA (US Pub. No. 2012/0271723).
Regarding claim 7, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but GAUL fails to disclose providing a financial incentive to charge the energy storage device before the future increase.
HILL further discloses providing a financial incentive to charge the energy storage device before the future increase (¶ 0055, 0077, 0081-0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a financial incentive to charge the energy storage device before the future increase in order to provide fast charging to vehicles without providing excessive strain on an energy source, such as a utility grid (HILL, ¶ 0003).
GAUL fails to disclose providing a financial incentive to charge the vehicle before the future increase.
PENILLA discloses providing a financial incentive to charge the vehicle before the future increase (¶ 0214, 0217, 0224).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a financial incentive to charge the vehicle before the future increase in order to help reduce grid strain and/or improve charging availability.
Regarding claim 14, GAUL as modified by HILL teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but GAUL fails to disclose the processor is configured to: provide a financial incentive to charge the energy storage device before the future increase.
HILL further discloses the processor is configured to: provide a financial incentive to charge the energy storage device before the future increase (¶ 0055, 0077, 0081-0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a financial incentive to charge the energy storage device before the future increase in order to provide fast charging to vehicles without providing excessive strain on an energy source, such as a utility grid (HILL, ¶ 0003).
GAUL fails to disclose the processor is configured to: provide a financial incentive to charge the vehicle before the future increase.
PENILLA discloses the processor is configured to: provide a financial incentive to charge the vehicle before the future increase (¶ 0214, 0217, 0224).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a financial incentive to charge the vehicle before the future increase in order to help reduce grid strain and/or improve charging availability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 5/6/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859