DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, while the examiner does agree with the applicant’s assessment that prior art of record Yuan et al. (US 2023/0035862), hereinafter Yuan, does not teach the claimed subject matter of the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report, the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s assessment that prior art of record Hakola et al. (US 2023/01437237), hereinafter Hakola, does not teach this claimed subject matter. Hakola teaches: “It is noted that a RAN4 described solution to signal P-MPR reflecting MPE issue at the UE to the gNB is assumed to be provided together with/alongside existing Power Head Room (PHR) reporting. In FR2, which is the targeted frequency range for MPE indication, the UE may be configured more than one active beam pair link, e.g. to different TRPs, in order to provide robustness against sudden blockages and beam pair misalignment between gNB and UE due to mobility and rotation of the UE” (Hakola ¶ 0041). This demonstrates the P-MPR report being carried in the Power Head Room (PHR) report.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are amended. Claims 12, 22, and 24 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15, 17-18-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 2020/0314764), hereinafter Noh in further view of Yuan et al. (US 2023/0035862), hereinafter Yuan, in further view of Hakola et al. (US 2023/01437237), hereinafter Hakola.
Regarding Claim 1, Noh teaches: A method for sending a Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) report, comprising: sending, by a terminal, a P-MPR report to a network side device when a preset P-MPR report reporting condition is met: “The first embodiment describes a method for satisfying the MPE regulations through UE-assisted or UE-triggered uplink transmission subset restriction (UL-TxSR) . . . If a specific condition (Condition 1) is satisfied, the terminal may notify the base station that UL-TxSR is required to be used. In other words, if Condition 1 is satisfied, the terminal may make a request to the base station for applying UL-TxSR” (Noh ¶ 0222; 0225), wherein the P-PMR report comprises a P-MPR value of at least one beam: “In addition, the terminal may report, to the base station, information on whether or not different P-MPRs are applied to the respective beams or beam groups, or information about different P-MPR values between the respective beams or beam groups” (Noh ¶ 0254).
Noh does not teach: the P-MPR report comprises identification information or index information or indication information of a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) resource, wherein the DL RS resource comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), and wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report.
Regarding Claim 1, Yuan teaches: the P-MPR report comprises identification information or index information or indication information of a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) resource:, and wherein the DL RS resource comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS): “In some aspects, the UE 702 may report the P-MPR or an UL RSRP for each beam which the UE 702 is utilizing to communicate with the base station 704 in the MPE report. The MPE report may also include an indicator identifying the first beam experiencing the MPE event. The indicator identifying the first beam may be an uplink beam identifier such as a scheduling request indicator, a PUCCH spatial relation identifier, or a SRS spatial relation reference signal; may be a spatial reference signal identifier such as a CSI-RS resource identifier or a synchronization signal block identifier” (Yuan ¶ 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh with Yuan to achieve the predictable result of providing a method of preventing an impact of the PME on a transmission. According to Yuan: “when there is a MPE event, the UCI may be mapped to a new set of symbols of the second PUSCH only with the layer index 2 and 3, rather than the layer index 1 and 2. In this way, when reducing or dropping the transmit power of the first PUSCH, the part of UCI schedule to be transmitted on the first PUSCH are remapped to the second PUSCH, which may be less impacted or not impacted by the MPE” (Yuan ¶ 0083).
Yuan does not teach: wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report.
Regarding Claim 1, Hakola teaches: and wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report: “It is noted that a RAN4 described solution to signal P-MPR reflecting MPE issue at the UE to the gNB is assumed to be provided together with/alongside existing Power Head Room (PHR) reporting. In FR2, which is the targeted frequency range for MPE indication, the UE may be configured more than one active beam pair link, e.g. to different TRPs, in order to provide robustness against sudden blockages and beam pair misalignment between gNB and UE due to mobility and rotation of the UE” (Hakola ¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Noh and Yuan with Hakola to achieve the predictable result of providing a robust mechanism for informing the gNB about MPEs. According to Hakola: “Providing robust mechanism to signal MPE indication to the gNB in FR2 and above 52.6 GHz scenarios where UE may operate having multiple uplink beam pair links available; and sending the indication (beyond informing that the MPE event started) is informing that MPE event has ended on a certain beam pair link, thus enabling fast recovery to the ‘original’ link, triggered by UE” (Hakola ¶ 0115-0116).
Regarding Claim 2, Noh teaches: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1, wherein the preset P-MPR report reporting condition comprises at least one of the following: determining, by the terminal, occurrence of a maximum permissible exposure event: “The first embodiment describes a method for satisfying the MPE regulations through UE-assisted or UE-triggered uplink transmission subset restriction (UL-TxSR)” (Noh ¶ 0222).
Regarding Claim 3, Noh teaches: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh does not teach: the P-MPR report further comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the at least one beam; maximum output power value of the at least one beam; a power headroom value of the at least one beam; or identification information of an antenna panel corresponding to the at least one beam.
Regarding Claim 3, Yuan teaches: the P-MPR report further comprises at least one of the following: a power headroom value of the at least one beam: “The MPE report may include an indicator identifying the amount of the reduction of the transmit power of the first PUSCH. For example, the indicator may be a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) of the first PUSCH, may be the power delta of the first or second PUSCH, may be a power headroom report for the second PUSCH, or may be a combination thereof. In some aspects, the UE 702 may report the P-MPR or an UL RSRP for each beam which the UE 702 is utilizing to communicate with the base station 704 in the MPE report” (Yuan ¶ 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh with Yuan to achieve the predictable result of providing a method of preventing an impact of the PME on a transmission. According to Yuan: “when there is a MPE event, the UCI may be mapped to a new set of symbols of the second PUSCH only with the layer index 2 and 3, rather than the layer index 1 and 2. In this way, when reducing or dropping the transmit power of the first PUSCH, the part of UCI schedule to be transmitted on the first PUSCH are remapped to the second PUSCH, which may be less impacted or not impacted by the MPE” (Yuan ¶ 0083).
Regarding Claim 15, Noh and Yuan teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh and Yuan do not teach: the power headroom report carrying a P-MPR report and a power headroom report without carrying a P-MPR report are sent by using different uplink resources; or a beam report carrying a P-MPR report and a beam report without carrying a P-MPR report are sent by using different uplink resources.
Regarding Claim 15, Hakola teaches: a power headroom report carrying a P-MPR report and the power headroom report without carrying a P-MPR report are sent by using different uplink resources: “one of the R bits could be used to implement an “extension field” which is used by the UE to indicate that more PH reports follow for the given cell. For instance, the “PH (type 1, PCell)” field would be encoded based on the real PH of the beam pair link of the PCell used to transmit the PHR while the “extension field” would indicate that there will be another PH reported for the given cell (which can be identified, e.g., by the “Spatial relation RS or uplink beam pair link ID” above). In that case there would be another PH field in the above figure which would indicate a “virtual PH” for the beam link pair not used to transmit the PHR but for which the certain conditions are fulfilled to report the PH” (Hakola ¶ 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Noh and Yuan with Hakola to achieve the predictable result of providing a robust mechanism for informing the gNB about MPEs. According to Hakola: “Providing robust mechanism to signal MPE indication to the gNB in FR2 and above 52.6 GHz scenarios where UE may operate having multiple uplink beam pair links available; and sending the indication (beyond informing that the MPE event started) is informing that MPE event has ended on a certain beam pair link, thus enabling fast recovery to the ‘original’ link, triggered by UE” (Hakola ¶ 0115-0116).
Regarding Claim 17, Noh and Yuan teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh and Yuan do not teach: the power headroom report carrying the P-MPR report and the power headroom report without carrying the P-MPR report are scrambled by using different scrambling codes.
Regarding Claim 17, Hakola teaches: the power headroom report carrying the P-MPR report and the power headroom report without carrying the P-MPR report are scrambled by using different scrambling codes: “one of the R bits could be used to implement an “extension field” which is used by the UE to indicate that more PH reports follow for the given cell. For instance, the “PH (type 1, PCell)” field would be encoded based on the real PH of the beam pair link of the PCell used to transmit the PHR while the “extension field” would indicate that there will be another PH reported for the given cell (which can be identified, e.g., by the “Spatial relation RS or uplink beam pair link ID” above). In that case there would be another PH field in the above figure which would indicate a “virtual PH” for the beam link pair not used to transmit the PHR but for which the certain conditions are fulfilled to report the PH” (Hakola ¶ 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Noh and Yuan with Hakola to achieve the predictable result of providing a robust mechanism for informing the gNB about MPEs. According to Hakola: “Providing robust mechanism to signal MPE indication to the gNB in FR2 and above 52.6 GHz scenarios where UE may operate having multiple uplink beam pair links available; and sending the indication (beyond informing that the MPE event started) is informing that MPE event has ended on a certain beam pair link, thus enabling fast recovery to the ‘original’ link, triggered by UE” (Hakola ¶ 0115-0116).
Regarding Claim 18, Noh teaches: An electronic device comprising a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and a processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor: “These computer program instructions can be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions specified in the flowchart block or blocks” (Noh ¶ 0040), causes the processor to perform a method for sending a P-MPR report, comprising: sending, by a terminal, a Power management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) report to a network side device when a preset P-MPR report reporting condition is met, wherein the P-MPR report comprises a P-MPR value of at least one beam: “In addition, the terminal may report, to the base station, information on whether or not different P-MPRs are applied to the respective beams or beam groups, or information about different P-MPR values between the respective beams or beam groups” (Noh ¶ 0254).
Noh does not teach: the P-MPR report comprises identification information or index information or indication information of a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) resource, and wherein the DL RS resource comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); and wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report..
Regarding Claim 18, Yuan teaches: the P-MPR report comprises identification information or index information or indication information of a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) resource, and wherein the DL RS resource comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS): “In some aspects, the UE 702 may report the P-MPR or an UL RSRP for each beam which the UE 702 is utilizing to communicate with the base station 704 in the MPE report. The MPE report may also include an indicator identifying the first beam experiencing the MPE event. The indicator identifying the first beam may be an uplink beam identifier such as a scheduling request indicator, a PUCCH spatial relation identifier, or a SRS spatial relation reference signal; may be a spatial reference signal identifier such as a CSI-RS resource identifier or a synchronization signal block identifier” (Yuan ¶ 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh with Yuan to achieve the predictable result of providing a method of preventing an impact of the PME on a transmission. According to Yuan: “when there is a MPE event, the UCI may be mapped to a new set of symbols of the second PUSCH only with the layer index 2 and 3, rather than the layer index 1 and 2. In this way, when reducing or dropping the transmit power of the first PUSCH, the part of UCI schedule to be transmitted on the first PUSCH are remapped to the second PUSCH, which may be less impacted or not impacted by the MPE” (Yuan ¶ 0083).
Yuan does not teach: wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report.
Regarding Claim 18, Hakola teaches: and wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report: “It is noted that a RAN4 described solution to signal P-MPR reflecting MPE issue at the UE to the gNB is assumed to be provided together with/alongside existing Power Head Room (PHR) reporting. In FR2, which is the targeted frequency range for MPE indication, the UE may be configured more than one active beam pair link, e.g. to different TRPs, in order to provide robustness against sudden blockages and beam pair misalignment between gNB and UE due to mobility and rotation of the UE” (Hakola ¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Noh and Yuan with Hakola to achieve the predictable result of providing a robust mechanism for informing the gNB about MPEs. According to Hakola: “Providing robust mechanism to signal MPE indication to the gNB in FR2 and above 52.6 GHz scenarios where UE may operate having multiple uplink beam pair links available; and sending the indication (beyond informing that the MPE event started) is informing that MPE event has ended on a certain beam pair link, thus enabling fast recovery to the ‘original’ link, triggered by UE” (Hakola ¶ 0115-0116).
Regarding Claim 19, Noh teaches: The electronic device according to claim 18.
Noh does not teach: the P-MPR report further comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the at least one beam; maximum output power value of the at least one beam; a power headroom value of the at least one beam; or identification information of an antenna panel corresponding to the at least one beam.
Regarding Claim 19, Yuan teaches: the P-MPR report further comprises at least one of the following: a power headroom value of the at least one beam: “The MPE report may include an indicator identifying the amount of the reduction of the transmit power of the first PUSCH. For example, the indicator may be a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) of the first PUSCH, may be the power delta of the first or second PUSCH, may be a power headroom report for the second PUSCH, or may be a combination thereof. In some aspects, the UE 702 may report the P-MPR or an UL RSRP for each beam which the UE 702 is utilizing to communicate with the base station 704 in the MPE report” (Yuan ¶ 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh with Yuan to achieve the predictable result of providing a method of preventing an impact of the PME on a transmission. According to Yuan: “when there is a MPE event, the UCI may be mapped to a new set of symbols of the second PUSCH only with the layer index 2 and 3, rather than the layer index 1 and 2. In this way, when reducing or dropping the transmit power of the first PUSCH, the part of UCI schedule to be transmitted on the first PUSCH are remapped to the second PUSCH, which may be less impacted or not impacted by the MPE” (Yuan ¶ 0083).
Regarding Claim 20, Noh teaches: An electronic device, comprising a processor; and a memory having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform: “These computer program instructions can be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions specified in the flowchart block or blocks” (Noh ¶ 0040) a method for receiving a Power management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) report, comprising: receiving, by a network side device, a P-MPR report sent by a terminal, wherein the P-MPR report comprises a P-MPR value of at least one beam: “In addition, the terminal may report, to the base station, information on whether or not different P-MPRs are applied to the respective beams or beam groups, or information about different P-MPR values between the respective beams or beam groups” (Noh ¶ 0254).
Noh does not teach: the P-MPR report comprises identification information or index information or indication information of a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) resource; and wherein the DL RS resource comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); and wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report.
Regarding Claim 20, Yuan teaches: the P-MPR report comprises identification information or index information or indication information of a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) resource:, and wherein the DL RS resource comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS): “In some aspects, the UE 702 may report the P-MPR or an UL RSRP for each beam which the UE 702 is utilizing to communicate with the base station 704 in the MPE report. The MPE report may also include an indicator identifying the first beam experiencing the MPE event. The indicator identifying the first beam may be an uplink beam identifier such as a scheduling request indicator, a PUCCH spatial relation identifier, or a SRS spatial relation reference signal; may be a spatial reference signal identifier such as a CSI-RS resource identifier or a synchronization signal block identifier” (Yuan ¶ 0085).
Yuan does not teach: wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report.
Regarding Claim 20, Hakola teaches: and wherein the P-MPR report is carried in a power headroom report: “It is noted that a RAN4 described solution to signal P-MPR reflecting MPE issue at the UE to the gNB is assumed to be provided together with/alongside existing Power Head Room (PHR) reporting. In FR2, which is the targeted frequency range for MPE indication, the UE may be configured more than one active beam pair link, e.g. to different TRPs, in order to provide robustness against sudden blockages and beam pair misalignment between gNB and UE due to mobility and rotation of the UE” (Hakola ¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Noh and Yuan with Hakola to achieve the predictable result of providing a robust mechanism for informing the gNB about MPEs. According to Hakola: “Providing robust mechanism to signal MPE indication to the gNB in FR2 and above 52.6 GHz scenarios where UE may operate having multiple uplink beam pair links available; and sending the indication (beyond informing that the MPE event started) is informing that MPE event has ended on a certain beam pair link, thus enabling fast recovery to the ‘original’ link, triggered by UE” (Hakola ¶ 0115-0116).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, Yuan, and Hakola as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2022/0132431), hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding Claim 7, Noh, Yuan, and Hakola teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh, Yuan, and Hakola do not teach: the identification information or the index information or the indication information of the first resource comprises at least one of the following: identification information or index information or indication information of the first resource associated with a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource; or identification information or index information or indication information of the first resource in a first resource set associated with the SRS resource.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhao teaches: the identification information or the index information or the indication information of the first resource comprises at least one of the following: identification information or index information or indication information of the first resource associated with Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource: “the signaling of the power reduction demand message 230 may include both the P-MPR1 as well as spatial relation information. In various embodiments, the spatial information may include one or more of a beam ID, a reference signal, a pair of SRS, and SSB/CSI-RS information” (Zhao ¶ 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh, Yuan, and Hakola with Zhao to achieve the predictable result of providing a more flexible solution for configuring transmit power of a UE in a radio communication network. According to Zhao: “There consequently exists a need for a more flexible solution for configuring transmit power of a UE in a radio communication network” (Zhao ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 8, Noh, Yuan, and Hakola teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh, Yuan, and Hakola do not teach: in a case that a reference signal resource used for beam training or a candidate beam reference signal resource is not configured, the identification information of the at least one beam comprises identification information or index information or indication information of an SSB resource, or comprises identification information or index information or indication information of an SSB resource set.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhao teaches: in a case that a reference signal resource used for beam training or a candidate beam reference signal resource is not configured, the identification information of the at least one beam comprises identification information or index information or indication information of an SSB resource, or comprises identification information or index information or indication information of an SSB resource set: “Signaling of the demand power reduction P-MPR1 can thus be carried out for multiple beams of the terminal 130, in order to assist the radio network node 120 in selecting an optimized beam pair for the communication. Therefore, the signaling of the power reduction demand message 230 may include both the P-MPR1 as well as spatial relation information. In various embodiments, the spatial information may include one or more of a beam ID, a reference signal, a pair of SRS, and SSB/CSI-RS information” (Zhao ¶ 0078), where Zhao’s configuration of SRS and or CSI-RS information with the P-MPR1 is due to the SRS or CSI-RS not being configured as Zhao is silent with regards to the use of an SRS or CSI-RS before the signaling of the P-MPR1 by the terminal to the network device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh, Yuan, and Hakola with Zhao to achieve the predictable result of providing a more flexible solution for configuring transmit power of a UE in a radio communication network. According to Zhao: “There consequently exists a need for a more flexible solution for configuring transmit power of a UE in a radio communication network” (Zhao ¶ 0006).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, Yuan, and Hakola as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yuan et al. (US 2023/0018795), hereinafter Yuan’795.
Regarding Claim 11, Noh, Yuan, and Hakola teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh, Yuan, and Hakola do not teach: wherein the terminal sends the P-MPR report by using any one of the following beams: a beam on a currently activated antenna panel; a currently used beam; a beam on an antenna panel on which the currently used beam is located; a beam on an a currently inactivated antenna panel; a beam on a currently unused antenna panel; or a currently unused beam.
Regarding Claim 11, Yuan’795 teaches: wherein the terminal sends the P-MPR report by using any one of the following beams: a beam on a currently activated antenna panel; a currently used beam: “In some aspects, the report includes a value for the beam P-MPR metric, a value of a maximum power available for a transmission via the uplink resource associated with the current beam, and one or more of a value for the beam virtual power headroom metric, or a value for the uplink RSRP metric” (Yuan’795 ¶ 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh, Yuan, and Hakola with the disclosure of Yuan’795 for the purpose of improving telecommunications as the need for mobile broadband access increases. According to Yuan’795: “as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in LTE and NR technologies. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multiple access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies” (Yuan ¶ 0004).
Claims 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, Yuan and Hakola claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959), hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding Claim 13, Noh, Yuan, and Hakola teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 1.
Noh, Yuan, and Hakola do not teach: the method for sending a P-MPR report comprises one of the following: carrying the P-MPR report in the beam report in a case that first configuration information from the network side device is received; carrying a first value in the beam report in a case that second configuration information from the network side device is received, wherein the first value is calculated by using a Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) value and the P-MPR value; carrying the P-MPR report in the power headroom report in a case that third configuration information from the network side device is received or a preset power headroom report trigger condition is met; or carrying a second value in the power headroom report in a case that fourth configuration information from the network side device is received or the power headroom report trigger condition is met, wherein the second value is calculated by using a power headroom and the P-MPR value or calculated by using maximum transmit power and the P-MPR value.
Regarding Claim 13, Zhou teaches: carrying the P-MPR report in the beam report in a case that first configuration information from the network side device is received: “A wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of uplink beam report for a plurality of panels on a cell. The wireless device may activate the cell. The wireless device, based on the activating the cell, may send (e.g., transmit), via a PUCCH resource, the uplink beam report comprising at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel of the plurality of panels, a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) associated with the first panel, and/or a power headroom report (PHR) associated with the first panel” (Zhou ¶ 0440).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh, Yuan, and Hakola with Zhou to achieve the predictable result of reducing unnecessary reporting. According to Zhou: “A message may be sent indicating exposure, for example, based on a quantity of exposure events during the time window satisfying a threshold, such that unnecessary reporting and/or other operations may be reduced and safety measure(s) may be satisfied” (Zhou ¶ 0004).
Regarding Claim 14, Noh, Yuan, and Hakola teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 13.
Noh, Luo, and Hakola do not teach: the first configuration information indicates carrying of the P-MPR report in the power headroom report; and the second configuration information indicates carrying of the second value in the power headroom report.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhou teaches: the first configuration information indicates carrying of the P-MPR report in the power headroom report: “A wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of uplink beam report for a plurality of panels on a cell. The wireless device may activate the cell. The wireless device, based on the activating the cell, may send (e.g., transmit), via a PUCCH resource, the uplink beam report comprising at least one of: . . . and/or a power headroom report (PHR) associated with the first panel” (Zhou ¶ 0440); and the second configuration information indicates carrying of the second value in the power headroom report: “The MPR may be associated with at least one of a modulation order or a bandwidth. The wireless device may determine a power headroom report (PHR), associated with the first panel, based on at least one of: an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) indicated by a base station; and/or a power management MPR (P-MPR) associated with a proximity detection for the first panel” (Zhou ¶ 0564).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Noh, Yuan, and Hakola with Zhou to achieve the predictable result of reducing unnecessary reporting. According to Zhou: “A message may be sent indicating exposure, for example, based on a quantity of exposure events during the time window satisfying a threshold, such that unnecessary reporting and/or other operations may be reduced and safety measure(s) may be satisfied” (Zhou ¶ 0004).
Regarding Claim 16, Noh, Yuan, and Hakola teach: The method for sending a P-MPR report according to claim 15.
Noh, Yuan, and Hakola do not teach: the different uplink resources includes a first uplink resource and a second uplink resource, the first uplink resource used for sending the power headroom report carrying the P-MPR report is configured by the network side device; or the second uplink resource used for sending the power headroom report without carrying the p-MPR report is configured by the network side device.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhou teaches: the different uplink resources includes a first uplink resource and a second uplink resource, the first uplink resource used for sending the power headroom report carrying the P-MPR report is configured by the network side device; or the second uplink resource used for sending the power headroom report without carrying the p-MPR report is configured by the network side device: “The P-MPR and/or PHR reporting may comprise aperiodic sending (e.g., transmission) of uplink beam reports comprising one or more indications of proximity detection. A base station 3410 may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device 3415, one or more messages 3420 (e.g., RRC message(s)) comprising first configuration parameters of an uplink beam report and/or second configuration parameters of a channel state information (CSI) report” (Zhou ¶ 0342).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Noh, Yuan, and Hakola with Zhou to achieve the predictable result of reducing unnecessary reporting. According to Zhou: “A message may be sent indicating exposure, for example, based on a quantity of exposure events during the time window satisfying a threshold, such that unnecessary reporting and/or other operations may be reduced and safety measure(s) may be satisfied” (Zhou ¶ 0004).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473 /B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473