DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 should end with a period.
Claim 3 line 2 should read “one of the second and/or one of the third apertures” for the purpose of consistency and grammatical clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical facing of the mounting system must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered. Examiner notes that the only “Mounting system” in the figures is described as reference 12 which does not have a vertical facing or the fastener and aperture arrangement described in claim 1. There is no other reference number or structure in the drawings referred to as a mounting system. Figures 3A and 3B show a vertical facing of the leg assembly described in Paragraph 0026 of the specification. Additionally, engagement plate 151 has a vertical facing. However, it is not clear what structure is considered the vertical facing of the mounting system as the only structure described as a mounting system is reference 12 in Figures 1A and 1B referencing prior art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the patent contains each element recited in claim 1 of the instant application. The only difference is the language used for the structure containing the vertical facing. The instant application recites the vertical facing of the mounting system and the issued patent recites the vertical facing of an engagement plate. Examiner notes that functionally engagement and mounting could be considered the same thing. Furthermore, there is nothing else in the claim of either the instant application or the issued to patent to suggest that an engagement plate cannot be or is not a mounting system or part of one, or that a vertical facing on a mounting system cannot be or is not considered an engagement plate.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the patent recites all of the elements of claim 2 of the instant application.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of the patent recites all of the elements of claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 4 of the patent recites all of the elements of claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 7 of the patent recites all of the elements of claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 of the patent recites all of the elements of claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11554820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the patent recites all of the elements of claim 9 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 5: The claim recites “the third aperture” which renders the claim indefinite because a pair of third apertures have previously been recited in claim 1 from which claim 5 depends and it is unclear which of the pair of third apertures is being referred to. Additionally, claim 5 recites “the first and second flanged apertures” which renders the claim indefinite because claim 1 has previously recited a first flanged aperture and a second pair of apertures, but not a second flanged aperture. It is unclear which aperture is being referred to as the “second flanged aperture”. Claim 6 is rejected due to its dependency from claim 5.
In regards to claim 15: Claim 14, from which claim 15 depends, recites a plurality of interlocking flanges. Claim 15 further recites “wherein there are three interlocking flanges” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the three interlocking flanges are newly recited in addition to the previously recited plurality of interlocking flanges or if they are part of the plurality of interlocking flanges. For the purpose of examination, examiner interprets it to mean: “wherein the plurality of interlocking flanges comprises three interlocking flanges”. Additionally, claim 15 recites “one of the interlocking flanges” and “two horizontally aligned interlocking flanges” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the one is part of the plurality, the three interlocking flanges, or both. It is unclear if “two horizontally aligned interlocking flanges” is referring to the plurality, the three interlocking flanges, both, or newly reciting two additional flanges. For the purpose of examination, examiner interprets it to mean: “where one of the three interlocking flanges is positioned vertically offset at a midpoint between the other two of the three interlocking flanges, and wherein the other two of the three interlocking flanges are horizontally aligned with each other.”
In regards to claim 17: Line 2 recites “each flanged aperture” which renders the claim indefinite because claim 10 only recites a flanged aperture so it is unclear how many flanged apertures are required by “each flanged aperture” or if “each flanged aperture” refers only to the one recited in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janeway (US Pat 3241860).
In regards to claim 10: Janeway teaches a system (generally shown in Figure 1) for connecting vehicle components along a single shear surface (surface where 24 and 26 are connected to 22), the system comprising: a leg assembly (24 and 26) attachable to a component facing (22) by way of an interlocking flange (30) having a port (28) receiving a flanged aperture (36) and wherein the flanged aperture receives a fastener (42).
In regards to claim 11: The system according to claim 10 is taught by Janeway. Janeway further teaches wherein the interlocking flange includes a friction member (32 and 34) fitted around the flanged aperture (See Figure 4).
In regards to claim 12: The system according to claim 10 is taught by Janeway. Janeway further teaches wherein a distal end of the fastener has threads which engage corresponding threads positioned with the flanged aperture (Seen in Figure 4 at end of 42, not labeled).
In regards to claim 13: The system according to claim 10 is taught by Janeway. Janeway further teaches wherein the port is a through-aperture or a recess (See 28 in Figure 1).
In regards to claim 14: The system according to claim 10 is taught by Janeway. Janeway further teaches a plurality of interlocking flanges (30, 30, and 20).
In regards to claim 15: The system according to claim 14 is taught by Janeway. Janeway further teaches wherein there are three interlocking flanges (30, 30, and 20) and where one of the interlocking flanges (20) is positioned vertically offset at a midpoint between two horizontally aligned interlocking flanges (30s, See Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janeway in view of Colibert (US 2011/0169247 A1). Claims 10 and 14 are taught by Janeway respectively. Janeway fails to teach a series of ports or paired ports provided at different elevations along the single shear surface so that each flanged aperture may be received by any one of the series of ports or paired ports in order to adjust an elevation of the connected vehicle component. However, Colibert teaches a series of ports (58) on a shear surface for connecting a fifth wheel hitch to a vehicle component in a way that allows for the height to be adjusted to allow the fifth wheel hitch “to adapt to a variety of truck/fifth-wheel trailer configurations” (Paragraph 0036). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a series of paired ports as in Colibert of the ports 28 of Janeway to allow for additional height adjustment of the fifth-wheel hitch to adapt to a variety of truck/fifth-wheel trailer configurations as stated by Colibert thereby creating a more versatile and user friendly fifth-wheel hitch connection system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 include allowable subject matter. The prior art fails to teach the limitations regarding three fasteners with pairs of apertures, specifically at least one flanged aperture, on the vertical facings of the mounting system and component facing of the hitch and wherein two of the fasteners are on a horizontal line and the third fastener is positioned above the line, all three fastener and aperture pairings being located on the same two vertical facings.
Conclusion
/A.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611