DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/097602, “Solid-State Traction Battery Having Battery Cells With Electrical Insulator Coated Electrode Edge”, was filed with the USPTO on 1/17/23.
This Office Action on the merits is in response to communication filed on 12/11/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 requires that “no portion of the first electrode other than the edge of the first electrode that is adjacent to the second electrode tab is coated with electrical insulating material”.
However, no solid-state battery cell embodiment of the instant invention appears to show the first electrode coated with an electrical insulating material on a first edge, and no portion of the first electrode other than the edge of the first electrode that is adjacent to the second electrode tab is coated with electrical insulating material. For example, the solid electrolyte material (e.g. applicant’s Figure 7B item 72) is “electrical insulating material” since it does not allow electrons to pass therethrough; therefore, the edge of the first electrode is coated with an electrical insulating material 74, and another surface of the first electrode is coated with an electrical insulating material 72. Without the electrical insulating material 72, which functions as a separator, short circuit between the electrodes may occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2022/0302517).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches a solid-state battery cell (Fig. 2B, 2C; paragraph [0027] indicating that the electrolyte may be a solid electrolyte) comprising:
a first electrode having a surface and side edges, the surface of the first electrode extending in a x-y plane, the side edges of the first electrode arranged around a periphery of the surface of the first electrode and extending in a z-direction (see item 22);
a second electrode having a surface and side edges, the surface of the second electrode extending in the x-y plane, the side edges of the second electrode arranged around a periphery of the surface of the second electrode and extending in the z-direction (see item 23);
the surface of the first electrode and the surface of the second electrode being of a same size (see Figs. 2B,2C);
a solid electrolyte having a surface and side edges, the surface of the solid electrolyte extending in the x-y plane, the side edges of the solid electrolyte arranged around a periphery of the surface of the solid electrolyte and extending in the z-direction (item 21; considered solid if its impregnated with a gel or solid electrolyte of paragraph [0027]);
the solid electrolyte laminated to the first electrode such that the surface of the solid electrolyte is no larger than the surface of the first electrode (see Figs. 2B,2C);
the first electrode, the second electrode, and the solid electrolyte arranged along the z-direction in a stack with the solid electrolyte sandwiched between the first electrode and the second electrode (see Figs. 2B,2C);
a first electrical insulating ink (items 261 and 263; solid electrical insulating materials readable on the claimed ink) disposed on at least one of the side edges of the first electrode and along at least one corresponding side edge of the solid electrolyte laminated to the first electrode (see Fig. 2B); and
a second electrical insulating ink (item 262) disposed on at least one of the side edges of the second electrode (see Fig. 2B), and
wherein the surfaces of the first electrode, the second electrode, and the solid electrolyte extending in the x-y plane lack electrical insulating ink printed thereon (see Fig. 2B).
Claim 10 further requires that the electrical insulating inks are printed on the electrodes, the first and second electrical insulating inks being respectively printed on the first electrode and the solid electrolyte laminated thereto and on the second electrode individually in an unstacked state prior to the first electrode with the solid electrolyte laminated thereto and the second electrode being stacked in the stack such that in the stack the first electrical insulating ink remains as part of a first sheet including the first electrode with the solid electrolyte laminated thereto, the second electrical insulating ink remains as part of a second sheet including the second electrode, and the first and second sheets remain as separable sheets with the first and second electrical insulating inks extending along a common side edge of the stack.
However, these recitations describe manner of making the device (assembly in a particular order; deposition using printing [it is noted that Yang paragraph [0028] teaches printable materials such as thermosetting resins and ultraviolet curing adhesives as possibilities for the materials forming the electrical insulating components]the material) or using the device (separating the components in a particular manner as a disassembly operation), without clearly requiring structure not present in the cited art. Such limitations do not patentably distinguish product claims (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 12, the cited art remains as applied to claim 10. Yang further teaches wherein the surface of the solid electrolyte is as large as the surface of the first electrode (Figs. 2B,2C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sugizaki (US 2023/0077637) and Morioka (US 2023/0009792).
Regarding claim 1, Sugizaki teaches a solid state battery cell (paragraph [0198] indicates that the electrolyte may have a solid form) comprising first and second electrodes separated by a separator and arranged in a stack, with the first electrode having insulating material on its edge and the second electrode having no insulating material on its edge, and the solid electrolyte having a same size surface as the first electrode, and having an edge coated with electrical insulating material (e.g. Figs. 6, 13, 17; paragraph [0137]).
Claim 1 further requires that the electrical insulating material is coated on the first electrode edge in an unstacked state prior to lamination, and that the insulating material would remain part of the electrode with the second electrode being separable.
However, these recitations describe manner of making the device (assembly in a particular order) or using the device (separating the components the components in a particular manner as a disassembly operation), without clearly requiring structure not present in the cited art. Such limitations do not patentably distinguish product claims (MPEP 2114).
Sugizaki does not appear to teach the first electrode and second electrode having a same surface area.
In the battery art, Morioka teaches that it is conventional to form a battery stack with one electrode smaller than the other (Figs. 3, 4), and that the non-overlapping electrode region caused by one electrode being smaller may increase ease of manufacture , but on the other hand decrease volume energy density, making the degree of non-overlap a result-effective variable which may be minimized to increase energy density (paragraphs [0107, 0110]). Morioka further teaches various embodiments, including two alternative embodiments where one has equal area electrodes (Fig. 7A) and the alternative has differently sized electrodes (Fig. 7C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the battery of Sugizaki by configuring the first and second electrodes to have a same size surface area for the benefit of increasing the volume energy density as taught by Morioka. This modification merely requires the simple substitution of alternative known configurations; therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness under a simple-substitution type rationale (MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 3, the cited art remains as applied to claim 1. The surface of the solid electrolyte is as large as the surface of the first electrode and an edge of the solid electrolyte is coated with insulating material (Fig. 6, 13, 17).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 21, the cited art remains as applied to claim 1. As to claim 4-5, the electrodes having current collectors with main portions and current collector tabs extending therefrom, electrode portions sandwiched between the current collectors and the solid electrolyte, the coated edge of the first electrode being adjacent to the second electrode tab, the first electrode tab being adjacent to a non-coated edge of the first electrode, and no portion of the first electrode other than the edge of the first electrode that is adjacent to the second electrode tab is coated with electrical insulating material (Fig. 6, 13, 17).
Regarding claim 6, the cited art remains as applied to claim 1. Claim 6 further requires that the electrical insulating material coated on the edge of the first electrode is screen, ink jet, or roller printed on the edge of the first electrode.
However, the requirement is drawn to a process of making the product. Since the recited method does not necessarily require or imply structure not taught by the prior art, this product-by-process limitation does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 7-8, the cited art remains as applied to claim 1. Sugizaki further teaches that either of the electrodes 3 may serve as either the negative electrode [anode] or the positive electrode (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding independent claim 16 and dependent claims 18-20, Sugizaki and Morioka teach the claimed structure of each individual cell as described in previous claims. Sugizaki further teaches that the first and second electrodes may be arranged in a stacked battery (item 100) configuration which is comprised of a plurality of cells formed of the first and second electrodes previously described (Fig. 18; paragraph [0207]). Sugizaki further teaches that individual batteries (items 100) may further be stacked into a module (item 200) as shown in Fig. 19 or 20. Sugizaki further teaches that the battery stack may serve as a power source for an electrified vehicle (paragraph [0217-0218, 0240-0244]). A battery employed as a power source for a vehicle is understood to be a traction battery [OFFICIAL NOTICE; since this assertion of official notice previously presented in the 10/30/25 Non-Final Rejection was not traversed or not adequately traversed in the 12/11/25 remarks, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an electrified vehicle, and employ the battery cell of the cited art as a battery cell group stack of a traction battery of the vehicle, for the benefit of making practical use of the battery cell.
Claims 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yang (US 2022/0302517) and Sugizaki (US 2023/0077637).
Regarding claim 13-15, the cited art remains as applied to claim 10. Yang further teaches a current collector having a main portion and a current collector portions extending therefrom, the second electrode being sandwiched between the main portion of the current collector and the solid electrolyte in the stack; the second electrode having a second electrode tab, the second electrode tab extending along a portion of the current collector tab of the current collector; and the at least one of the side edges of the first electrode includes a side edge of the first electrode adjacent to the second electrode tab (Fig. 2B illustrates current collectors 24 and 25 having portions extending beyond the electrodes 22 and 23, the extending portion readable on the claimed tabs having the required positioning relative to the edges of the electrodes).
Yang does not expressly teach the current collector portions being tabs.
In the battery art, Sugizaki teaches that a battery current collector may be configured to include tabs (Fig. 1, 6, 13, 17 items 3c, 5c) for the benefit of facilitating electrical connection from the body of the current collectors (this is well-known to be the conventional purpose of current collector tabs [OFFICIAL NOTICE; since this assertion of official notice previously presented in the 10/30/25 Non-Final Rejection was not traversed or not adequately traversed in the 12/11/25 remarks, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arat at the time of invention to include current collector tabs on the current collector extending portions for the benefit of facilitating electrical connection as taught by Sugizaki.
Regarding claims 14-15, Yang remains as applied to claim 10. Yang as silent as to which of electrodes 22 and 23 is the cathode and which is the anode.
In the battery art, Sugizaki teaches that a battery may include positive and negative electrodes [cathodes and anodes] in order to form a functional battery (paragraph [0003]).
However, since the battery is symmetrical, it would have been obvious to select either of the Yang electrodes 22 and 23 as the cathode or anode [positive and negative electrode, respectively], and the other as the opposite polarity electrode, in order to form a functioning battery as taught by Sugizaki.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/11/25 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Relevant or Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, though not necessarily pertinent to applicant’s invention as claimed.
Hikata (US 2014/0004419) battery comprising active material extending onto current collector tab;
Kamiyama (US 2020/0185700) battery current collector comprising electrode tab extending onto collector tab; may be on both electrodes;
Kim (US 2023/0163415) all solid battery comprising protecting members adjacent to electrode and solid electrolyte.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH R SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723