DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 10/10/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 4-16 and 19 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 4, 7, 13 and 16 have been amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 2010, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application KR 10-2022-0074819, filed 06/20/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation where “a protruding wall that protrudes from the pair of side walls of the housing toward the inner space”. However, this limitation is confusing, because it is unclear how it can be treated, given the amendments in claim 1, reciting housing defining an inner space, and “including a first protruding wall and a second protruding wall each protruding from an inner wall of the housing toward the inner space”. Hence, it is unclear if the above, protruding wall is a new and different protruding wall or if it corresponds to a first protruding wall and/or to a second protruding wall, as recited in base claim 1? It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issue.
Claim 7 depends on claim 6 and therefore inherits the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (hereafter Kwon, of record, see IDS dated 01/17/2025) US 20200348479 A1 in view of Wang et al. (hereafter Wang, of record) US 20200249415 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) a camera module (camera module, 1000, see title, abstract, paragraphs [08-35, 78-94,103-108,144-160,198-219,224-226]), comprising:
a housing defining an inner space (1010 having frame 1050 and with inner space, e.g. paragraphs [87-100], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), and including a first protruding wall and a second protruding wall each protruding from an inner wall of the housing toward the inner space (as 1010 has lateral sidewalls with vertical insertion grooves and protruding sidewalls 1019b, 1009, and with side protruding extension portion 1052, also rear wall of housing 1010 side protrusions at the rear of 1210 (hereafter e.g. rear end side protrusions incl 1012a,b,1011a,b), all protruding from inner wall of 1010 e.g. paragraphs [99, 104-106, 146, 197,204.212-213], as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14);
a movable holder disposed in the inner space and supported on an inner wall of the housing (i.e. as lens module 1200 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, and reflection module 1100 with rotating holder 1120, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13);
a folded module including a reflective member mounted on the movable holder (i.e. reflection module 1100 including reflective member 1110 on 1120, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), the reflective member being configured to change a path by reflecting light incident from the outside (1100 with 1110 changes light path of incident light along y-axis to z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13);
a lens module including a plurality of lenses arranged in an optical axis direction and configured to pass the light reflected from the reflective member (i.e. as lens module 1200, 1210,1220,1230 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, passing light reflected from 1110 along optical axis z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), wherein the first protruding wall is disposed between the lens module and the folded module (i.e. as lateral sidewalls with vertical insertion grooves 1019b, protruding extension portions 1052 are between lens module 1200 and folded module 1100, e.g. paragraphs [90-100, 104-106, 146, 197,204], as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-14), and the second protruding wall is disposed at a rear of the lens module (i.e. as protruding sidewalls 1009 and rear end side protrusions of 1010 are at a rear of lens module 1230,1220,1210, of 1200, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-14, paragraphs [90-103, 104-107, 146, 197-219, 224-233]);
a lens barrel disposed at a rear side of the folded module in the inner space and configured to move in the optical axis direction (i.e. as movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230 in optical axis z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13); and
a stopper (frame damper 1051,1050 with damping members 1053 in housing 1010, and corresponding protrusions on 1230, and stoppers 1060 incl. 1061 on 1210 and 1062 on 1220 corresponding, coupling with protruding portions of 1220, 1210, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12) including
a first stationary stopper member fixed to the first protruding wall (i.e. as 1053 fixed to lateral side wall 1019b protruding extension portions 1052 in 1010; e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3-7,11-12) and a second stationary stopper member fixed to the second protruding wall (i.e. as front of 1061/1061c fixed on protruding walls 1009, and front part of 1009 on (other side of) protruding walls 1009; also rear part of 1009 on protruding walls 1009; and 1060,1062/1062c fixed on rear end side protrusions of 1010, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], as depicted in Figs. 3,11-12), and
a first moving stopper member fixed to the lens module to face the first stationary stopper member in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding front portions of 1230, 1210, 1220 repulsively interacting with stoppers 1050/1053, rear part 1061/1061c, and protruding wall 1009, part of 1061, respectively on impact in z/optical-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3,11-12), and
a second moving stopper member fixed to the lens module to face the second stationary stopper member in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding rear portions of 1230, 1210, 1220 repulsively interacting with stoppers front 1061/1061c and front part of protruding walls 1009 at the rear of 1230, with rear wall of housing 1010 at the rear of 1210, and 1060,1062/1062c at the rear of lens 1220, respectively, on impact in z/optical-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3,11-12).
But Kwon is silent that the stoppers are magnet stoppers including the first and second stationary magnet stopper member disposed in the housing, and the first and second moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in a first/second side of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper members in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other.
However, Wang teaches in the same field of invention of optical element driving mechanism (see Figs. 87-98, 7-100,7-200 title, abstract, paragraphs [05-11, 303-325), and further teaches that the stopper is magnet stopper (i.e. as magnetic stopping assembly 7-40 and magnetic elements 7-32, paragraphs [303-310], Figs. 88-90,98) including a stationary magnet stopper members disposed in the housing (i.e. stationary magnetic elements stoppers 7-41 disposed with holder stoppers 42 on sidewall(s) 7-211 of frame 21 of fixed part 20 e.g. see Figs. 89-90, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and a moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in a first/second side of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper member in the optical axis direction (i.e. moving magnet stopper magnets 7-32 on each side of 7-11, in groove between sliding parts 7-114 and coil in 7-111 part of holder body 7-11 of holder 11 on connecting part 7-112, of movable part 10 that includes optical element 110, with optical axis, where each of magnets 7-32 faces respective stopper 7-41 magnets, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. due to magnetic interaction of stationary magnetic element stoppers 7-41 and movable magnets 7-32, as magnetic stoppers 7-41 limit the range of motion of the magnetic elements 7-32 and the holder 7-11 relative to the fixed part 7-20, and preventing impact and collision of magnet 7-32 and holder 7-11, see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stoppers including first and second i.e. front and rear stationary dampers and stoppers of each lens barrel, and corresponding first and second i.e. front and rear moving protruding portions of movable lens holder(s)/barrel(s) of Kwon with magnetic stopping assembly including stationary magnetic stoppers and movable magnets in connecting groove parts on movable holder according to teachings of Wang in order to limit the range of motion of the movable magnetic elements and movable holder relative to the fixed part, and preventing impact and collision of movable magnet(s) and holder (see Wang Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Regarding claim 4, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the first groove and the second groove are disposed in a mold structure that forms an exterior of the lens barrel, and the first moving magnet stopper member and the second moving magnet stopper member are each fixed by being respectively inserted into the groove (i.e. due to adaptation of holder/barrel 1200, 1210,1220,1230 in space of 1010 with moving magnet stoppers, paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12, with moving first and second magnet stoppers of Wang each being disposed by inserting in magnet accommodation groove between 7-114, 7-111 on 7-12, see Wang on each side of 7-10, paragraphs [306-313], Figs. 88-90,98).
Regarding claim 5, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the housing includes a pair of side walls that are parallel to the light incident direction and the optical axis and face each other (as 1010 has lateral sidewalls with vertical insertion grooves, protruding sidewalls 1019b, 1009 with extension portion 1052, e.g. paragraphs [99, 104-106, 146, 197,204, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14), and the first stationary magnet stopper member includes at least one first pair of stationary magnet stopper members disposed to be respectively adjacent to the pair of side walls and symmetrical based on the optical axis (i.e. as pair modified 1053 stoppers of Kwon with magnet stoppers of Wang, adjacent to lateral sidewalls on protruding walls 1019b, 1009, 1052 symmetrical with z-axis, see e.g. paragraphs [99, 104-106, 146, 197,204, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14, and in combination with Wang).
Regarding claim 6, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that further comprising a protruding wall that protrudes from the pair of side walls of the housing toward the inner space (as best understood due to 112(b) issues noted above, e.g. lateral sidewalls with vertical insertion grooves, protruding sidewalls 1019b, 1009, e.g. paragraphs [99, 104-106, 146, 197,204, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14), wherein the first stationary magnet stopper member is fixed to the protruding wall (i.e. as at least protruding sidewalls 1019b, 1009, 1052 portions symmetrical with z-axis, see e.g. paragraphs [99, 104-106, 146, 197,204, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14, and in combination with Wang).
Regarding claim 7, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the protruding wall includes a first groove, and the first stationary magnet stopper member is fixed by being inserted into the first groove (i.e. as modified 1053 inserted at least protruding sidewalls 1052 portions with magnets in grooves, through-holes see e.g. paragraphs [107, 146, 197,204, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14, and in combination with Wang having grooves at 7-23 between 7-21 side and 7-24 for magnet stoppers 7-41, Figs. 89-90, paragraphs [307-309).
Regarding claim 8, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the at least one first pair of the stationary magnet stopper members are spaced apart from the lens module in front of the lens module in the optical axis direction (e.g. as modified 1053 are spaced from 1230, and/or modified 1061, 1062 with damping members facing and spaced from front of 1220, 1210 in optical z-axis direction e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12, and in combination with Wang), and the second stationary magnet stopper member includes at least one second pair of the stationary magnet stopper members spaced apart from the lens module ( as modified 1061, 1062 with damping members facing and spaced from rear of 1220, 1210 in optical z-axis direction e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12, and in combination with Wang) .
Regarding claim 9, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the first moving magnet stopper member includes a first pair of moving magnet stopper members disposed at a front end along the optical axis direction of the lens module, and the second moving magnet stopper includes a second pair of moving magnet stopper members disposed at a rear end along the optical axis direction of the lens module (as best understood, due to combination with Wang with moving magnets 7-32 including modification to protruding portions on front and rear of lens module holder/barrels 1200, 1210,1220,1230, e.g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12).
Regarding claim 10, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that each of the first and second pairs of moving magnet stopper members includes moving magnet stopper members fixed to the lens module and disposed at both sides of the lens module to be symmetrical based on the optical axis (as best understood due to 112(b) issues noted above, due to combination with Wang with moving magnets 7-32 that are on both side of moving holder and symmetrical based on the optical axis, Wang see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322], applied to modification of protruding portions on front of lens module holder/barrels 1200, 1210,1220,1230, e.g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12).
Regarding claim 11, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the housing includes a pair of side walls that are parallel to the light incident direction and the optical axis and face each other (i.e. as sidewalls of 1010, .g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12), the lens module (1200,1210,1220,1230) includes a focus adjusting magnet mounted to face the side wall (magnets for zooming/focusing movement of 1200,1210,1220,1230, paragraphs [153-156]), and one of the first moving magnet stopper member and the second moving magnet stopper member is the focus adjusting magnet (i.e. as due to combination with Wang given that magnets 7-32 are also magnets for moving the holder with optical element for focusing, Wang see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322], and applied as front/rear stoppers of lens barrel/holders of Kwon, e.g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12).
Regarding claim 12, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the first stationary magnet stopper member is spaced apart from the lens module in front of the lens module in the optical axis direction and the second stationary magnet stopper member spaced apart from the lens module in a rear of the lens module in the optical axis direction (i.e. as modified damper/stoppers 1053 1061,1062 are spaced in front and rear from lens module holder/barrel 1200, 1210,1220,1230, paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12, with magnetic stoppers 7-41 in combination with Wang, paragraphs [303-310], Figs. 88-90,98), and the first and second stationary magnet stopper members face the focus adjusting magnet in the optical axis direction (i.e. as due to combination modified damper stopers face magnets on 1200, i.e. 1210,1220, or 1230 which are also used for focusing (zooming), as due to combination with Wang given that magnets 7-32 are also magnets for moving the holder with optical element for focusing, Wang see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
In regard to independent claim 13, Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) a camera module (camera module, 1000, see title, abstract, paragraphs [08-35, 78-94,103-108,144-160,198-219,224-226]), comprising:
a housing defining an inner space (1010 with inner space, e.g. paragraphs [87-100], Figs. 3-7, 10-13, having lens module 1200 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, and reflection module 1100 with rotating holder 1120, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13);
a folded module including a reflective member (i.e. reflection module 1100 including reflective member 1110 on movable/rotatable 1120 holder, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13) that changes a path by reflecting light incident from the outside (1100 with 1110 changes light path of incident light along y-axis to z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), and a movable holder on which the reflective member is mounted and that is disposed in the inner space and supported on an inner wall of the housing to be movable (i.e. as movable/rotatable 1120 holder on which 1110 is mounted, and is disposed in inner space of 1010, supported on inner wall of 1010 via 1121,1133,1130,1131,1153,1151, to be rotatable, paragraphs [100-108, 113-124])
a lens module including a plurality of lenses arranged in an optical axis direction to pass the light reflected from the reflective member (i.e. as lens module 1200 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, passing light reflected from 1110 along optical axis z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), and
at least a first movable lens barrel and a second movable lens barrel are disposed at a rear side of the folded module in the inner space and configured to be movable in the optical axis direction and in which the plurality of lenses are divided and provided (i.e. as movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230 in optical axis z-axis direction, for focusing and zooming, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13); and
a first stopper member disposed in the first movable lens barrel and a second stopper member disposed in the second movable lens barrel (i.e. protrusions on 1230,1220,1210, where damping members 1053 corresponding with protrusions on 1230, also stoppers 1060 incl. 1061 corresponding with protrusions on 1210, and also stoppers 1062 corresponding with protrusions on 1220, i.e. stoppers 1060, 1061, 1062 coupling with protruding portions of 1220, and of 1210, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12; as module has stationary stopper member disposed in the housing e.g. 1053 and 1060, 1061,1062 in 1010, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12),
wherein the first movable lens barrel and a second movable lens barrel are sequentially disposed to face each other in the optical axis direction and in which the first stopper member and the second stopper member are mounted, respectively (i.e. as sequentially holder/barrels 1230 facing 1220, and/or 1220 facing 1230 in z-axis direction e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13, and with corresponding protruding portions), to face each other in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as protruding portions on 1230 face portions on 1220, and portions on 1220 face portions on 1210 and can repulsively interact on impact in z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12).
But Kwon is silent that the first and second stoppers are magnet stoppers disposed in a first/second grooves of the first/second movable lens barrels and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other.
However, Wang teaches in the same field of invention of optical element driving mechanism (see Figs. 87-98, 7-100,7-200 title, abstract, paragraphs [05-11, 303-325), and further teaches that the stopper is magnet stopper (i.e. as magnetic stopping assembly 7-40 and magnetic elements 7-32, paragraphs [303-310], Figs. 88-90,98) and also including a stationary magnet stopper member disposed in the housing (i.e. stationary magnetic elements stoppers 7-41 disposed with holder stoppers 42 on sidewall(s) 7-211 of frame 21 of fixed part 20, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in sides of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper member in the optical axis direction (i.e. moving magnet stopper magnets 7-32 on each side of 7-11, in groove between sliding parts 7-114 and coil in 7-111 part of holder body 7-11 of holder 11 on connecting part 7-112, of movable part 10 that includes optical element 110, with optical axis, where each of magnets 7-32 faces respective stopper 7-41 magnets, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]) and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. due to magnetic interaction of stationary magnetic element stoppers 7-41 and movable magnets 7-32, as magnetic stoppers 7-41 limit the range of motion of the magnetic elements 7-32 and the holder 7-11 relative to the fixed part 7-20, and preventing impact and collision of magnet 7-32 and holder 7-11, see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stopper including dampers and stoppers, and corresponding moving protruding portions of movable at least first and second lens holders/barrels of Kwon with magnetic stopping assembly including magnetic stoppers and movable magnets on relatively movable holder according to teachings of Wang in order to limit the range of motion of the movable magnetic elements and movable holder relative to the fixed part, and preventing impact and collision of movable magnet(s) and holder (see Wang Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Regarding claim 14, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the first magnet stopper member is disposed and mounted close to a surface of the first lens barrel facing the second lens barrel, and the second magnet stopper member is disposed and mounted close to a surface of the second lens barrel facing the first lens barrel (i.e. as modified protrusions of lens holder barrels are at corresponding surfaces modified with stopping magnets, e.g. see e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13, and with corresponding protruding portion surfaces modified with stopping magnets per combination with Wang see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Regarding claim 15, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the first magnet stopper member and the second magnet stopper member are each disposed as a pair on opposite sides of the optical axis (i.e. as due to combination with Wang with moving magnets 7-32 including modification to protruding portions of lens module holder/barrels 1200, e.g. 1210,1220, or 1230, e.g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12).
In regard to independent claim 16, Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) a camera module (camera module, 1000, see title, abstract, paragraphs [08-35, 78-94,103-108,144-160,198-219,224-226]), comprising:
a housing defining an inner space (1010 with inner space, e.g. paragraphs [87-100], Figs. 3-7, 10-13, having lens module 1200 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, and reflection module 1100 with rotating holder 1120, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13);
a folded module including a reflective member (i.e. reflection module 1100 including reflective member 1110 on movable/rotatable 1120 holder, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13) that changes a path by reflecting light incident from the outside (1100 with 1110 changes light path of incident light along y-axis to z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), and a movable holder on which the reflective member is mounted and that is disposed in the inner space and supported on an inner wall of the housing to be movable (i.e. as movable/rotatable 1120 holder on which 1110 is mounted, and is disposed in inner space of 1010, supported on inner wall of 1010 via 1121,1133,1130,1131, 1153,1151, to be rotatable, paragraphs [100-108, 113-124]);
a lens module including a plurality of lenses arranged in an optical axis direction to pass the light reflected from the reflective member (i.e. as lens module 1200 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, passing light reflected from 1110 along optical axis z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), and
a lens barrel disposed at a rear side of the folded module in the inner space and configured to move in the optical axis direction (i.e. as movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230 in optical axis z-axis direction, for focusing and zooming, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13); and
a stopper (damping members 1053 with interacting protrusions on 1120, stoppers 1060 incl. 1061 on 1210 and 1062 on 1220 coupling with protruding portions of 1220, 1210, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12) including a pair of unmovable stopper members disposed in the housing (i.e. as 1053 and 1060, 1061,1062 in 1010, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12), and a pair of moving stopper members disposed in the side of the movable holder to respectively face the pair of unmovable stopper members in the light incident direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding portions of 1120, 1230, or 1210 repulsively interacting with stoppers/dampers of 1050, 1053 when undergoing impact in z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12),
wherein the pair of the movable magnet stopper members are disposed at both sides of the reflective member based on the optical axis (as protruding portions on both side of holder with reflective member 1120, 1110 based on optical axis z, e.g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12),
wherein a pair of the unmovable stopper members are disposed in the housing to respectively face the movable magnet stopper members (as both sides with a pair of 1053, e.g. paragraphs [103-107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12).
But Kwon is silent that the stopper is magnet stopper including pair of unmovable magnet stopper members disposed in the housing, and corresponding to pair of moving magnet stopper members disposed in a groove formed on a side of the movable holder to face the stationary magnet stopper member in the light incident direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other, and the pair disposed in respective grooves.
However, Wang teaches in the same field of invention of optical element driving mechanism (see Figs. 87-98, 7-100,7-200 title, abstract, paragraphs [05-11, 303-325), and further teaches that the stopper is magnet stopper (i.e. as magnetic stopping assembly 7-40 and magnetic elements 7-32, paragraphs [303-310], Figs. 88-90,98) including pair of unmovable magnet stopper member disposed in the housing, and pair moving magnet stopper member disposed in respective grooves at both sides of the movable holder (i.e. moving magnet stopper magnets 7-32 on each side of 7-11, in groove between sliding parts 7-114 and coil in 7-111 part of holder body 7-11 of holder 11 on connecting part 7-112, of movable part 10 that includes optical element 110, with optical axis, where each of magnets 7-32 faces respective stopper 7-41 magnets, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]), to face respectively the pair of stationary magnet stopper member in the optical axis direction (i.e. stationary magnetic elements stoppers 7-41 disposed with holder stoppers 42 on sidewall(s) 7-211 of frame 21 of fixed part 20, and moving magnet stopper magnets 7-32 on moving holder body 7-11 of holder 11 of movable part 10 that includes optical element 110, with optical axis, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]) and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. due to magnetic interaction of stationary magnetic element stoppers 7-41 and movable magnets 7-32, as magnetic stoppers 7-41 limit the range of motion of the magnetic elements 7-32 and the holder 7-11 relative to the fixed part 7-20, and preventing impact and collision of magnet 7-32 and holder 7-11, see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stopper including pair of unmovable dampers, and stoppers including the pair, and corresponding moving protruding portions and a pir of such portions of movable/rotatable holder of Kwon with magnetic stopping assembly including pair of stationary magnetic stoppers and pair movable magnets in respective grooves on both sides on movable holder according to teachings of Wang in order to limit the range of motion of the movable magnetic elements and movable holder relative to the fixed part, and preventing impact and collision of movable magnet(s) and holder (see Wang Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Regarding claim 19, the Kwon-Wang combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) that the housing includes a first protruding wall protruding from the inner wall of the housing toward the inner space and disposed between the lens module and the folded module (protruding walls 1009 protruding from both sides into inner space of 1010, between 1100 and 1220,1210, paragraphs [99, 146, 197-223], Figs. 10-12), wherein the housing includes a second protruding wall protruding from the inner wall of the housing toward the inner space and disposed between the lens module and an image sensor module (i.e. as triangular base protruding wall near the rear wall of 1010, between 1220, 1210 and image sensor 1300, with rear stopper 1062/1062c, depicted Figs. 2-4, 10-12, paragraphs [87, 198-216,224-230]), and wherein the first stationary magnet stopper member is fixed to the first protruding wall (i.e. as rear 1060/1061c facing 1220,1210 as modified by Wang, is fixed on 1009, Figs. 10-12) and the second stationary magnet stopper member is fixed to the second protruding wall (i.e. as triangular base protruding wall near the rear wall of 1010, between 1220, 1210 and image sensor 1300, with rear stopper 1062/1062c as modified with Wang as rear magnetic stopper, depicted Figs. 2-4, 10-12, paragraphs [87, 198-216,224-230]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant argues on pages 10-12 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Kwon does not disclose all features of claim 1, as well as claims 13 and 16, with regard to magnet stopper, because Know doesn’t teach such magnet stopper “a first moving magnet stopper member, disposed in a first groove formed in a first side of the lens module," and "a second moving magnet stopper member, disposed in a second groove formed in a second side of the lens module”, alleging that claimed "first moving magnet stopper member" corresponds to a protruding portion of the third lens barrel 1230, and the claimed "second moving magnet stopper member" corresponds to a protruding portion of the second lens barrel 1220 in the previous office action; and that Wang does not cure such deficiencies of Kwon either in claim 1 or in claim 9 which recites moving magnet front and rear pirs of magnet stoppers. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue, as noted in the rejection above, Kwon teaches most of the limitations of claims 1, and 13, 16, as Kwon teaches (see Figs. 1-22) a camera module (camera module, 1000, see title, abstract, paragraphs [08-35, 78-94,103-108,144-160,198-219,224-226]), comprising:
a housing defining an inner space (1010 having frame 1050 and with inner space, e.g. paragraphs [87-100], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), and including a first protruding wall and a second protruding wall each protruding from an inner wall of the housing toward the inner space (as 1010 has lateral sidewalls with vertical insertion grooves and protruding sidewalls 1019b, 1009, and with side protruding extension portion 1052, also rear wall of housing 1010 side protrusions at the rear of 1210 (hereafter e.g. rear end side protrusions incl 1012a,b,1011a,b), all protruding from inner wall of 1010 e.g. paragraphs [99, 104-106, 146, 197,204.212-213], as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-12,14);
a movable holder disposed in the inner space and supported on an inner wall of the housing (i.e. as lens module 1200 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, and reflection module 1100 with rotating holder 1120, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13);
a folded module including a reflective member mounted on the movable holder (i.e. reflection module 1100 including reflective member 1110 on 1120, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), the reflective member being configured to change a path by reflecting light incident from the outside (1100 with 1110 changes light path of incident light along y-axis to z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [88-100,112-119], Figs. 3-7, 10-13);
a lens module including a plurality of lenses arranged in an optical axis direction and configured to pass the light reflected from the reflective member (i.e. as lens module 1200, 1210,1220,1230 with movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230, passing light reflected from 1110 along optical axis z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13), wherein the first protruding wall is disposed between the lens module and the folded module (i.e. as lateral sidewalls with vertical insertion grooves 1019b, protruding extension portions 1052 are between lens module 1200 and folded module 1100, e.g. paragraphs [90-100, 104-106, 146, 197,204], as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-14), and the second protruding wall is disposed at a rear of the lens module (i.e. as protruding sidewalls 1009 and rear end side protrusions of 1010 are at a rear of lens module 1230,1220,1210, of 1200, as depicted in Figs. 3-7, 10-14, paragraphs [90-103, 104-107, 146, 197-219, 224-233]);
a lens barrel disposed at a rear side of the folded module in the inner space and configured to move in the optical axis direction (i.e. as movable lens holders/barrels 1210,1220,1230 in optical axis z-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [87-104], Figs. 3-7, 10-13); and
a stopper (frame damper 1051,1050 with damping members 1053 in housing 1010, and corresponding protrusions on 1230, and stoppers 1060 incl. 1061 on 1210 and 1062 on 1220 corresponding, coupling with protruding portions of 1220, 1210, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12) including
a first stationary stopper member fixed to the first protruding wall (i.e. as 1053 fixed to lateral side wall 1019b protruding extension portions 1052 in 1010; e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3-7,11-12) and a second stationary stopper member fixed to the second protruding wall (i.e. as front of 1061/1061c fixed on protruding walls 1009, and front part of 1009 on (other side of) protruding walls 1009; also rear part of 1009 on protruding walls 1009; and 1060,1062/1062c fixed on rear end side protrusions of 1010, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], as depicted in Figs. 3,11-12), and
a first moving stopper member fixed to the lens module to face the first stationary stopper member in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding front portions of 1230, 1210, 1220 repulsively interacting with stoppers 1050/1053, rear part 1061/1061c, and protruding wall 1009, part of 1061, respectively on impact in z/optical-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3,11-12), and
a second moving stopper member fixed to the lens module to face the second stationary stopper member in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding rear portions of 1230, 1210, 1220 repulsively interacting with stoppers front 1061/1061c and front part of protruding walls 1009 at the rear of 1230, with rear wall of housing 1010 at the rear of 1210, and 1060,1062/1062c at the rear of lens 1220, respectively, on impact in z/optical-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3,11-12).
As noted Kwon is silent that the stoppers are magnet stoppers including the first and second stationary magnet stopper member disposed in the housing, and the first and second moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in a first/second side of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper members in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other.
Hence, Wang was relied upon, as Wang teaches in the same field of invention of optical element driving mechanism (see Figs. 87-98, 7-100,7-200 title, abstract, paragraphs [05-11, 303-325), and further teaches that the stopper is magnet stopper (i.e. as magnetic stopping assembly 7-40 and magnetic elements 7-32, paragraphs [303-310], Figs. 88-90,98) including a stationary magnet stopper members disposed in the housing (i.e. stationary magnetic elements stoppers 7-41 disposed with holder stoppers 42 on sidewall(s) 7-211 of frame 21 of fixed part 20 e.g. see Figs. 89-90, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and a moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in a first/second side of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper member in the optical axis direction (i.e. moving magnet stopper magnets 7-32 on each side of 7-11, in groove between sliding parts 7-114 and coil in 7-111 part of holder body 7-11 of holder 11 on connecting part 7-112, of movable part 10 that includes optical element 110, with optical axis, where each of magnets 7-32 faces respective stopper 7-41 magnets, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. due to magnetic interaction of stationary magnetic element stoppers 7-41 and movable magnets 7-32, as magnetic stoppers 7-41 limit the range of motion of the magnetic elements 7-32 and the holder 7-11 relative to the fixed part 7-20, and preventing impact and collision of magnet 7-32 and holder 7-11, see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).Thus, it was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stoppers including first and second i.e. front and rear stationary dampers and stoppers of each lens barrel, and corresponding first and second i.e. front and rear moving protruding portions of movable lens holder(s)/barrel(s) of Kwon with magnetic stopping assembly including stationary magnetic stoppers and movable magnets in connecting groove parts on movable holder according to teachings of Wang in order to limit the range of motion of the movable magnetic elements and movable holder relative to the fixed part, and preventing impact and collision of movable magnet(s) and holder (see Wang Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
Specifically Kwon teaches the stopper and the stopper assembly on moving and housing/stationary parts of the camera module, i.e. (frame damper 1051,1050 with damping members 1053 in housing 1010, and corresponding protrusions on 1230, and stoppers 1060 incl. 1061 on 1210 and 1062 on 1220 corresponding, coupling with protruding portions of 1220, 1210, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-226], Figs. 3,11-12) including
a first stationary stopper member fixed to the first protruding wall (i.e. as 1053 fixed to lateral side wall 1019b protruding extension portions 1052 in 1010; e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3-7,11-12) and a second stationary stopper member fixed to the second protruding wall (i.e. as front of 1061/1061c fixed on protruding walls 1009, and front part of 1009 on (other side of) protruding walls 1009; also rear part of 1009 on protruding walls 1009; and 1060,1062/1062c fixed on rear end side protrusions of 1010, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], as depicted in Figs. 3,11-12), and
a first moving stopper member fixed to the lens module to face the first stationary stopper member in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding front portions of 1230, 1210, 1220 repulsively interacting with stoppers 1050/1053, rear part 1061/1061c, and protruding wall 1009, part of 1061, respectively on impact in z/optical-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3,11-12), and
a second moving stopper member fixed to the lens module to face the second stationary stopper member in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. as corresponding protruding rear portions of 1230, 1210, 1220 repulsively interacting with stoppers front 1061/1061c and front part of protruding walls 1009 at the rear of 1230, with rear wall of housing 1010 at the rear of 1210, and 1060,1062/1062c at the rear of lens 1220, respectively, on impact in z/optical-axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [103,107, 198-219,224-233], Figs. 3,11-12).
As noted Kwon is silent that the stoppers are magnet stoppers including the first and second stationary magnet stopper member disposed in the housing, and the first and second moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in a first/second side of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper members in the optical axis direction and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other.
Hence, Wang was relied upon, as Wang teaches in the same field of invention of optical element driving mechanism (see Figs. 87-98, 7-100,7-200 title, abstract, paragraphs [05-11, 303-325), and further teaches that the stopper is magnet stopper (i.e. as magnetic stopping assembly 7-40 and magnetic elements 7-32, paragraphs [303-310], Figs. 88-90,98) including a stationary magnet stopper members disposed in the housing (i.e. stationary magnetic elements stoppers 7-41 disposed with holder stoppers 42 on sidewall(s) 7-211 of frame 21 of fixed part 20 e.g. see Figs. 89-90, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and a moving magnet stopper members disposed in a first/second groove formed in a first/second side of the lens module, respectively, to face the stationary magnet stopper member in the optical axis direction (i.e. moving magnet stopper magnets 7-32 on each side of 7-11, in groove between sliding parts 7-114 and coil in 7-111 part of holder body 7-11 of holder 11 on connecting part 7-112, of movable part 10 that includes optical element 110, with optical axis, where each of magnets 7-32 faces respective stopper 7-41 magnets, e.g. Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]), and configured to generate a repulsive force to each other (i.e. due to magnetic interaction of stationary magnetic element stoppers 7-41 and movable magnets 7-32, as magnetic stoppers 7-41 limit the range of motion of the magnetic elements 7-32 and the holder 7-11 relative to the fixed part 7-20, and preventing impact and collision of magnet 7-32 and holder 7-11, see Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).Thus, it was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stoppers including first and second i.e. front and rear stationary dampers and stoppers of each lens barrel, and corresponding first and second i.e. front and rear moving protruding portions of movable lens holder(s)/barrel(s) of Kwon with magnetic stopping assembly including stationary magnetic stoppers and movable magnets in connecting groove parts on movable holder according to teachings of Wang in order to limit the range of motion of the movable magnetic elements and movable holder relative to the fixed part, and preventing impact and collision of movable magnet(s) and holder (see Wang Figs. 89-90, 98, paragraphs [307-309,322]).
In addition, the stoppers 1053 are in the housing 1010, as clearly depicted in e.g. drawings of Figs. 3, 11-12, and they are not outside the housing, and as correctly noted by the Applicant stopper 1053 are inserted into the housing, therefore they are in the housing 1010. Kwon does disclose rear stoppers that limit the movement range of each lens barrel 1230, 1210, 1220, are front parts of 1009, front part of 1060,1061c, and also as back/rear housing wall behind 1210, and/or as 1060,1062c behind 1220, as presented above. Furthermore, the repulsive force is generated on impact between stationary stoppers/dampers and moving parts/protrusions on movable lens barrels, and in combination with Wang, as the impact stoppers are modified with magnetic stoppers, by repulsive magnetic interaction as presented above. Additionally, protruding portions on 1220 and 1210 interacting with stationary stopers if Kwon, were not ascribed to correspond to first/second moving magnetic stopper members, as alleged by the Applicant. This argument appears not to be commensurate with the rejection of record. Wang was applied to Kwon given that mechanical stoppers on moving and stationary parts of an optical system can be replaced with repulsive magnetic parts. Therefore, Wang in combination with and applied to Kwon teaches and renders obvious the above noted limitations of claims 1, 13 and 16 regarding magnetic stoppers. Further, regarding claim 9, the Kwon-Wang combinati