DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 6, the phrase “according to any one of claim 3” is unclear. There is only one claim listed. As such, it is unclear how a choice of “any one of” can be made.
In regards to Claim 7, the phrase “according to any one of claim 4” is unclear. There is only one claim listed. As such, it is unclear how a choice of “any one of” can be made.
In regards to Claim 8, the phrase “according to any one of claim 5” is unclear. There is only one claim listed. As such, it is unclear how a choice of “any one of” can be made.
In regards to Claim 9, the phrase “the spherical joints of the three branch mechanisms” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In regards to Claim 13, the phrase “the support airbag” is unclear. Which of the “two support airbags” is being referenced?
In regards to Claim 14, the phrase “the support airbag” is unclear. Which of the “two support airbags” is being referenced?
Further in regards to Claim 14, the phrase “the bellow airbag” is unclear. Which of the “a plurality of bellow airbags” is being referenced?
The remaining claims inherit the rejection by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colja et al (20100244504).
In regards to Claim 1, Colja teaches a pose-adjustable rigid-flexible coupled waist rehabilitation robot (intended use, can be used for this purpose), comprising a fixed platform (Detail 36), a movable platform (Detail 24, which can be removed, making it movable) connected to the fixed platform, a lumbar vertebra support assembly (see annotated figure below) mounted on the movable platform (Figure 2), and two support airbags (see annotated figure below) symmetrically arranged at both sides of the lumbar vertebra support assembly; and the lumbar vertebra support assembly comprises a plurality of bellow air bags (Figure 5) arranged in parallel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colja et al in view of Renzi (4993171).
In regards to Claim 13, while Colja essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically teach a gasket is provided between each of four corners of each support airbag and the movable platform, and the support airbag is connected to the movable platform by bolts penetrating through four bolt holes and the gaskets. Renzi, however, teaches that this use of a gasket and bolts with an airbag is well known (Figure 3, Details 35, 52, 55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized such a gasket, so as to maintain proper air pressure in the airbag by ensuring air cannot escape at the point of connection.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colja et al.
In regards to Claim 14, while Colja essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, including a contact surface made of comfortable material (intended use is a chair for sitting), it fails to specifically teach the use of soft silica gel. It would have been obvious, however, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized any suitable material for user contact, including silica gel. The device of Colja is intended to contact a user, and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been more than capable of determining what material to form the surface out of. It should be noted, applicant provides no criticality or unexpected results arising from the use of silica gel aside from comfort, which would be an obvious consideration for the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See of Record.
Specifically, at least DeFranks et al (20190174930) Figure 1, Borgman et al (20150305959) Figure 3, and Ro (JP 2004216109) Figure 2 teach elements similar to those as currently claimed.
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732