DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preposition is missing in line 4 between the phrases “directly” and “the griddle plate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd et al. US 20180245798 A1 in view of Rossi et al. US 8887710 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Todd discloses a cooktop appliance (Para. 2) defining a mutually orthogonal vertical direction, lateral direction, and transverse direction, (Para. 19) the cooktop appliance comprising: a top panel (Fig. 1, Ref. 102); a heating element (Fig. 1, Refs. 104, 106, 108, and 110) attached to the top panel (Para. 22); a griddle plate (Fig. 1, Ref. 200) selectively disposable in a griddle-cook position above the top panel along the vertical direction (Para. 26), the griddle plate having a top cooking surface (Fig. 2, Ref. 212) and a bottom heating surface (Fig. 2, Ref. 214), the top cooking surface extending perpendicular to the vertical direction in the griddle-cook position to receive a cooking item thereon (Para. 26), the bottom heating surface disposed beneath the top cooking surface and facing the top panel in the griddle-cook position to receive a thermal output from the heating element (Para. 27).
Todd does not specifically disclose a temperature probe attached to the top panel and horizontally spaced apart from the heating element; and a support post extending downward from the griddle plate in conductive thermal communication with the temperature probe in the griddle-cook position.
However in the same field of endeavor, Rossi teaches a temperature probe attached to the top panel and horizontally spaced apart from the heating element (Fig. 7 shows the igniter Ref. 80 and the thermocouple (temperature probe) Ref. 81 spaced apart horizontally from each other); and a support post extending downward from the griddle plate in conductive thermal communication with the temperature probe in the griddle-cook position (Fig. 8, Ref. 79) to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the thermocouple and support posts of Rossi to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Rossi Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 2, Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the support post defines a probe notch, and wherein the temperature probe is received within the probe notch in the griddle-cook position.
However in the same field of endeavor, Rossi teaches wherein the support post defines a probe notch, and wherein the temperature probe is received within the probe notch in the griddle-cook position (Fig. 14, Ref. 45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the thermocouple and support posts of Rossi to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Rossi Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the support post is disposed at a horizontal perimeter of the griddle plate.
However in the same field of endeavor, Rossi teaches wherein the support post is disposed at a horizontal perimeter of the griddle plate (Fig. 8 shows Ref. 79 along the perimeter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the thermocouple and support posts of Rossi to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Rossi Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Todd discloses wherein the heating element is a first heating element (Fig. 3, Ref. 220), and wherein the cooktop appliance further comprises a second heating element (Fig. 3, Ref. 222) horizontally spaced apart from the first heating element and disposed directly the griddle plate in the griddle-cook position.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd et al. US 20180245798 A1 in view of Rossi et al. US 8887710 B2 and Kim et al. KR 101802776 B1.
Regarding claim 3, Todd does not disclose wherein the support post forms a C- shaped profile defining the probe notch.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the support post forms a C- shaped profile defining the probe notch (Fig. 4, Ref. 303b-3) to easily attach and detach the temperature sensor for maintenance (Para. 57).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post probe notch of Kim to easily attach and detach the temperature sensor for maintenance (Kim Para. 57).
Claims 5-8, 10, 11, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd et al. US 20180245798 A1 in view of Rossi et al. US 8887710 B2 and Cadima US 20220007889 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Todd discloses wherein the griddle plate extends transversely between a front griddle end and a rear griddle end (Fig. 1, Ref. 200).
Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the support post is disposed at the rear griddle end.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches wherein the support post is disposed at the rear griddle end (Fig. 3, Ref. 150; Para. 37) to removably position the griddle plate (Para. 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the griddle plate defines a lateral width having a lateral midpoint, and wherein the support post is aligned with the lateral midpoint relative to the lateral direction.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches wherein the griddle plate defines a lateral width having a lateral midpoint, and wherein the support post is aligned with the lateral midpoint relative to the lateral direction (Para. 54).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the temperature probe is spring-loaded away from the top cooking surface of the top panel.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches wherein the temperature probe is spring-loaded away from the top cooking surface of the top panel (Para. 40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Todd does not specifically disclose a circuit switch coupled to the temperature probe, the circuit switch being selectively closed according to conductive thermal communication between the temperature probe and the support post.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches a circuit switch coupled to the temperature probe, the circuit switch being selectively closed according to conductive thermal communication between the temperature probe and the support post (Para. 57 wherein the temperature sensors are selectively operated).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Todd discloses a cooktop grate selectively disposable in a grate-cook position above the top panel along the vertical direction (Para. 8).
Todd does not specifically disclose the cooktop grate having a lower surface defining a vertical gap with the temperature probe in the grate-cook position to prohibit conductive thermal communication between the cooktop grate and the temperature probe.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches the cooktop grate (Fig. 2, Ref. 302) having a lower surface defining a vertical gap with the temperature probe (Para. 37 wherein the pogo pins are connected the temperature sensors) in the grate-cook position to prohibit conductive thermal communication between the cooktop grate and the temperature probe (Para. 40 wherein the pogo pins are isolated from direct contact with the cooktop by an enclosure resulting in a gap between the temperature probe pin and the cooktop).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Todd discloses a cooktop appliance (Para. 2) defining a mutually orthogonal vertical direction, lateral direction, and transverse direction, (Para. 19) the cooktop appliance comprising: a top panel (Fig. 1, Ref. 102); a heating element (Fig. 1, Refs. 104, 106, 108, and 110) attached to the top panel (Para. 22); a griddle plate (Fig. 1, Ref. 200) selectively disposable in a griddle-cook position above the top panel along the vertical direction (Para. 26), the griddle plate having a top cooking surface (Fig. 2, Ref. 212) and a bottom heating surface (Fig. 2, Ref. 214) the top cooking surface extending perpendicular to the vertical direction in the griddle-cook position to receive a cooking item thereon (Para. 26), the bottom heating surface disposed beneath the top cooking surface and facing the top panel in the griddle-cook position to receive a thermal output from the heating element (Para. 27).
Todd does not specifically disclose a temperature probe attached to the top panel and horizontally spaced apart from the heating element; the temperature probe being spring-loaded away from a top surface of the top panel; and a support post extending downward from the griddle plate in conductive thermal communication with the temperature probe in the griddle-cook position, the support post defining a probe notch within which the temperature probe is received in the griddle-cook position.
However in the same field of endeavor, Rossi teaches a temperature probe attached to the top panel and horizontally spaced apart from the heating element; and a support post extending downward from the griddle plate in conductive thermal communication with the temperature probe in the griddle-cook position to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the thermocouple and support posts of Rossi to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Rossi Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches wherein the temperature probe is spring-loaded away from the top cooking surface of the top panel (Para. 40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post of Cadima to removable position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the support post is disposed at a horizontal perimeter of the griddle plate.
However in the same field of endeavor, Rossi teaches wherein the support post is disposed at a horizontal perimeter of the griddle plate (Fig. 8 shows Ref. 79 along the perimeter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the thermocouple and support posts of Rossi to contact the cooking surface during thermal expansion (Rossi Col. 2, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Todd discloses wherein the griddle plate extends transversely between a front griddle end and a rear griddle end (Fig. 1, Ref. 200).
Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the support post is disposed at the rear griddle end.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches wherein the support post is disposed at the rear griddle end (Fig. 3, Ref. 150; Para. 37) to removably position the griddle plate (Para. 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claim 15, Todd does not specifically disclose wherein the griddle plate defines a lateral width having a lateral midpoint, and wherein the support post is aligned with the lateral midpoint relative to the lateral direction.
However in the same field of endeavor, Cadima teaches wherein the griddle plate defines a lateral width having a lateral midpoint, and wherein the support post is aligned with the lateral midpoint relative to the lateral direction (Para. 54).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post location of Cadima to removably position the griddle plate (Cadima Para. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Todd discloses wherein the heating element is a first heating element (Fig. 3, Ref. 220), and wherein the cooktop appliance further comprises a second heating element (Fig. 3, Ref. 222) horizontally spaced apart from the first heating element and disposed directly the griddle plate in the griddle-cook position.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd et al. US 20180245798 A1 in view of Rossi et al. US 8887710 B2, Cadima US 20220007889 A1, and Kim et al. KR 101802776 B1.
Regarding claim 12, Todd does not disclose wherein the support post forms a C- shaped profile defining the probe notch.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the support post forms a C- shaped profile defining the probe notch (Fig. 4, Ref. 303b-3) to easily attach and detach the temperature sensor for maintenance (Para. 57).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance of Todd with the support post probe notch of Kim to easily attach and detach the temperature sensor for maintenance (Kim Para. 57).
Conclusion
/K.B.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761