DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elect Embodiment I, claims 1-7 and 9-12, corresponding to Figs. 1-4 with traverse.
However, claims 8 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected claimed embodiment, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 16, 2026.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the claimed species necessitate searching for different embodiments. The Applicant, however, further argues that Embodiments I (Fig. 1-4) and Embodiment IV (Fig. 8) only has a minor structural variation, and that is the quantity of the printed circuit board. The Examiner agrees. Therefore, the distinct species are as follows, Embodiment I include Figures 1-4 and 8, Embodiment II includes Figure 5 and Embodiment III includes Figures 6 and 7.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. [KR 20170022670 A].
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a planar transformer (e.g., 100, page 2 of translation, Fig. 1), comprising:
a magnetic core (e.g., 110, page 2, Fig. 1) assembly comprising a first magnetic core (e.g., 111) and a second magnetic core (e.g., 112);
at least one printed circuit board (e.g., 121, Fig. 2-4) disposed between the first magnetic core 111 and the second magnetic core 112, wherein the printed circuit board comprises a first winding (e.g., 122, page 2, Fig. 4); and
at least one winding module (e.g., 140, page 2-3, Fig. 1-4) disposed between the first magnetic core 111 and the second magnetic core 112, wherein the winding module 140 comprises a second winding (e.g., 141, 142, page 3, Fig. 5) and a plastic molding layer (e.g., 143, page 3, Fig. 5), and at least a portion of the second winding is covered by the plastic molding layer 143,
wherein the at least one printed circuit board 121 and the at least one winding module 140 are individual components.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein the first winding (e.g., 122) is a primary winding of the planar transformer, and the second winding (e.g., 141, 142) is a secondary winding of the planar transformer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. [KR 20170022670A].
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein a thickness of the second winding is in a range between 0.01mm and 1.5mm, and a thickness of the plastic molding layer is in a range between 0.4mm and 0.8mm.
However, Park discloses miniaturization of the planar transformer (Abstract), particularly reducing the height of the printed circuit board layer (e.g., 120, page 3) and molding layer (e.g., 143, page 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have thickness of the second winding be in a range between 0.01mm and 1.5mm, and thickness of the plastic molding layer be in a range between 0.4mm and 0.8mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, Specification, Paragraph 0026, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness of the second winding be in the range between 0.01mm and 1.5mm, and thickness of the plastic molding layer be in the range between 0.4mm and 0.8mm for the objective of having a low profile structure to miniaturize the component to be adaptable in compact devices.
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the plastic molding layer comprises a receiving recess corresponding to the printed circuit board, wherein the receiving recess is concavely formed in a surface of the plastic molding layer, and the printed circuit board is disposed and limited in the receiving recess of the plastic molding layer.
However, Park discloses a receiving recess (e.g., 121a of the printed circuit board, page 5, Fig. 7) corresponding to the plastic molding layer (e.g., protrusion 143a of the molding layer 143), wherein the receiving recess is concavely formed in a surface of the printed circuit board 121, and the plastic molding layer (e.g., protrusion 143a of the molding layer 143) is disposed and limited in the receiving recess of the printed circuit board 121.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the plastic molding layer comprises a receiving recess corresponding to the printed circuit board, wherein the receiving recess is concavely formed in a surface of the plastic molding layer, and the printed circuit board is disposed and limited in the receiving recess of the plastic molding layer instead, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Please note that in the instant application, Specification, Paragraph 0030, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plastic molding layer comprises a receiving recess corresponding to the printed circuit board, wherein the receiving recess is concavely formed in a surface of the plastic molding layer, and the printed circuit board is disposed and limited in the receiving recess of the plastic molding layer instead since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device serves the same purpose, that is to align and hold the components together.
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein the plastic molding layer 143 comprises a pin base (e.g., see protruding edge of board 141 of module 140, Fig. 4), and the pin base is located at a first side of the plastic molding layer 143, wherein the pin base has a first top surface and a first bottom surface, and the first top surface and the first bottom surface are in parallel with the printed circuit board (e.g., printed circuit board 121),
wherein the planar transformer 100 further comprises at least one pin (e.g., 102, page 4, Fig. 4), wherein the at least one pin 102 is installed on the pin base, a portion of each pin is covered by the plastic molding layer 143, another portion of each pin is exposed outside the first top surface and the first bottom surface of the pin base and perpendicularly protruded from the pin base.
Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the at least one pin on the pin base is a first pin and electrically connected with the first winding.
Park discloses the pin 102 is connected to secondary winding (page 4). However, Park further discloses pin 101 connected to the first winding 122 (see page 3, Fig. 4). Although there is no pin base for pin 101 on the other side of molding layer 143.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have another pin base be disposed on the other end of the molding layer 143, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have another pin base be disposed on the other end of the molding layer to provide support for electrical pin connector on the other end of the molding layer such the pin base, would be the first pin base, and pin 101, as the first pin, and that connects to first winding 122 to provide a reliable mechanical support for the pins.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses wherein the printed circuit board 121 comprises at least one accommodation notch (e.g., holes on substrate 121, see Fig. 4), wherein the at least one accommodation notch is concavely formed (holes have concave portions) in an edge of the printed circuit board 121, and a portion of each first pin (e.g., 101, as resolved in claim 5) is accommodated within the corresponding accommodation notch.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses wherein the plastic molding layer 143 comprises a second pin base (e.g., pin base discussed in claim 5 where pin 102 is disposed), and the second pin base is located at a second side (e.g., side where secondary windings 141, 142 are connected) of the plastic molding layer 143, wherein the first side (e.g., where first pin 101 is disposed on the proposed first pin base) and the second side of the plastic molding layer 143 are opposed to each other, the second pin base has a second top surface and a second bottom surface, and the second top surface and the second bottom surface of the second pin base are in parallel with the printed circuit board 121, wherein the winding module 143 further comprises at least one second pin (e.g., end portions 1421a, 1421b, 1422a, 1422b, page 4, Fig. 5-6), wherein the at least one second pin is installed on the second pin base, a portion of each second pin is covered by the plastic molding layer 143, another portion of each second pin is exposed outside the second top surface or the second bottom surface of the second pin base and perpendicularly protruded from the second pin base, and the at least one second pin is electrically connected with the second winding (e.g., 1421, 1422, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses wherein the second winding (e.g., 142 comprising plate-shaped coil 1421 and 1422, page 4, Fig. 5) is formed from a conductive sheet.
Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the second winding is formed by performing a stamping process.
With respect to limitation “the second winding is formed by performing a stamping process”, it has been considered but not given any patentable weight. ''Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.'' In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have winding be formed by performing a stamping process to conductive sheets as it is more convenient process and cost less in production.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. [KR 20170022670A] in view of Kawashima [JP 2010238666 A] (provided in IDS, translation provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses wherein the second winding (e.g., 142 comprising plate-shaped coil 1421, 1422, Fig. 5) comprises a flat surface.
Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein concave part is concavely formed in the flat surface of the second winding.
Kawashima discloses winding flat wire (e.g., 19, page 5 of translation, Fig. 13, 14b) has concave part (e.g., rectangular groove) concavely formed in flat surface of the winding.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the winding comprises concave part concavely formed in the flat surface as taught by Kawashima to provide the transformer with eddy current reducing wire to help reduce heat development on the coil.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. [KR 20170022670A] in view of Hu et al. [CN 107808756 A].
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the planar transformer further comprises a conductive glue, wherein the conductive glue is disposed between the magnetic core assembly and a ground terminal of the printed circuit board.
Hu discloses planar transformer (e.g., 1, page 2, Fig. 1) further comprises a conductive glue (e.g., conductive adhesive, pages 3, 6), wherein the conductive glue is disposed between magnetic core assembly (e.g., second magnetic core 130) and a ground terminal of printed circuit board (e.g., PCB windings 110, pages 3, 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have conductive glue disposed between the magnetic core assembly and a ground terminal of the printed circuit board as taught by Hu to the planar transformer of Park to provide the magnetic core with a secured grounding system with the PCB and work efficiently in assembly of the device in terms of manufacturing.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. [KR 20170022670A] in view of Wang [CN 111403158 A] and Tang et al. [CN 213815769 U].
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses wherein the printed circuit board 121 comprises at least one layers (e.g., coil pattern 122 comprises at least one layer, see page 3), wherein the at least one layer of the printed circuit board comprises the first winding 122.
Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the printed circuit board comprises at least one auxiliary winding, wherein the at least one auxiliary winding and the first winding are collaboratively formed as a primary winding or a secondary winding of the planar transformer, the auxiliary winding is a control signal line.
Wang discloses printed circuit board (e.g., noted as PCB, see pages, 2 and 3, Fig. 1-3) comprises at least one auxiliary winding, wherein the at least one auxiliary winding and the first winding are collaboratively formed as a primary winding of a planar transformer, the auxiliary winding is a control signal line (see page 4 of translation), and each layer of the printed circuit board comprises at least one of first winding as well (e.g., primary winding similar to Park) and the auxiliary winding.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have printed circuit board comprises at least one auxiliary winding, wherein the at least one auxiliary winding and the first winding are collaboratively formed as a primary winding as taught by Wang to the printed circuit board of Park to provide the planar transformer with a lower profile printed circuit board for a structure that is beneficial in miniaturization.
Park discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the printed circuit board comprises at least one shielding structure and the shielding structure is a metal conductor structure.
Tang discloses a planar transformer (Fig. 1) with printed circuit board (e.g., 100, page 4, Fig. 2) comprises at least one shielding structure (see pages 4, 6 and 7) and the shielding structure is a metal conductor structure (conductively connected with conductive adhesive to bonding pads and magnetic core, page 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have printed circuit board of planar transformer comprises at least one shielding structure as taught by Tang to the PCB of Park to provide the planar transformer with an effective way to reduce electromagnetic interference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892.
/J.S.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837