Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s traversal of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 15, Examiner has not found persuasive. Claim 15 imparts a dimensional relationship between the abrasive surface of the claimed invention with an intended workpiece (i.e. the upper and lower work rolls), and thus has indefinite metes and bounds. The intended workpiece is not a positively recited or imparted element of the claimed invention. For example, if a person has the exact device as claimed, but a differently sized leveler, it is not clear if infringement of the claimed invention takes place.
Thus, Examiner has not found applicant’s arguments persuasive, and this action is made final herein, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12, please amend series of upper rolls to read series of upper work rolls.
Regarding claim 18, please amend a plurality of airbag to read a plurality of airbags.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, it is unclear what is intended by the limitation reciting uniform. Please amend the claim to reflect Applicant’s intent.
Claim 15 recites “said one or more polishers is shorter than the length of any of the upper and lower work rolls”. The claimed invention is directed towards solely the polishing apparatus. Defining the structure of the apparatus as it relates to the dimensions of an intended workpiece renders the metes and bounds of the claimed invention indefinite, as the workpiece is not considered a part of the invention.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites a relationship between the size of the one or more polishers and the size of the intended workpiece (i.e. roller). The claimed invention is directed towards solely the polishing apparatus, not the combination of the polishing apparatus and a metal sheet or plate leveler. Defining the structure of the apparatus as it relates to the dimensions of an intended workpiece renders the metes and bounds of the claimed invention indefinite, as the workpiece is not considered a positively recited part of the invention. Furthermore, claim 16 recites “a uniform length”, wherein claim 14 recites “a uniform abrasive length”. It is unclear how these structures are differentiated from one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruffner (US 2018/0117652) in view of Porco (US 2013/0192325).
Regarding claim 1, Ruffner discloses a spot polisher apparatus for polishing the work rolls of a metal sheet or plate leveler, the metal sheet or plate leveler having a series of upper work rolls and a series of lower work rolls ([0002] and [0037]), said apparatus comprising:
a spot polisher frame configured to be removably positioned between the series of upper work rolls and the series of lower work rolls (see [0037]: polishing unit 20 may be moved, inserted, and/or removed from a position between upper work rolls 45 and lower work rolls 44; see also [0039], [0020]);
one or more polishers each comprising an abrasive surface configured to polish at least one of the series of upper work rolls or the series of lower work rolls ([0037]: see polishers 22 having an abrasive material; wherein [0038] discloses the polishers 22 support an abrasive surface; see also Figures 1, 3, and 4); and
each respective one or more polisher elements being repositionable relative to the spot polisher frame between:
a first position in which the abrasive surface is operably positioned in contact with a surface of at least one work roll for polishing the surface upon rotation of the at least one work roll; and a second position in which the abrasive surface is retracted from contact with the at least one work roll (see [0041] disclosing a first position in which the polishers are in contact with the work rolls, and a second position in which the upper platform 24 and lower platform 26 are closer together, see also Figures 4 and 5; see also [0014-0015], [0018]; [0045]).
However, Ruffner does not explicitly teach that the mechanism for connection and displacement of the polishers includes polisher arms, wherein each polisher of the one or more polishers is attached to a corresponding first end of each polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms to operably expose said abrasive surface to at least one work roll of the series of upper work rolls or the series of lower work rolls, wherein:
a second end of each polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms is hingedly connected to the spot polisher frame, and each respective one or more polisher arms being repositionable relative to the spot polisher frame between the claimed first and second positions.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Porco teaches polisher arms, wherein each polisher of the one or more polishers is attached to a corresponding first end of each polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms to operably expose said abrasive surface (see Figures 2C, 3A, and 4A; wherein head 60 is attached to an arm element such that the surface of the head is exposed to or displaced towards a roll; see also [0047-0049], [0058-0059], [0055-0057], [0011-0013]; see also [0066-0067]), wherein:
a second end of each polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms is hingedly connected to the spot polisher frame, and each respective one or more polisher arms being repositionable relative to the spot polisher frame between first and second positions (see [0012]: the cleaning member is movable between a first position in which the cleaning member engages the first roll, and a second position in which the cleaning member is located clear of the first roll; see also [0009], [0066-0069]).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the arm elements as taught by Porco into the invention of Ruffner. Ruffner intimates and suggests incorporation of additional elements in the context of displacement, see at least [0041], and also contemplates alternative controls, switches, and translation elements; see [0020]. Ruffner describes that the upper and lower platforms are displaceable relative to one another for extension and retraction, see at least [0018-0019]. One would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Porco in order to enable control and displacement of each polisher device independently with the additional structure of stability provided by the hinged arm and plate of Porco, as the pneumatic bellows (36) of Porco in combination with the mechanical arm assembly permits individual adjustment; see [0048-0050], [0072], and [0083-0085]. These features are beneficial when differential controllable pressure is needed, such as when one bellows/airbag is more worn than another, i.e. the worn airbag may require additional inflation in comparison with newer airbag. This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. individual arms for polishing elements, to improve a similar device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches further comprising an actuator coupled to a particular polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms, the actuator configured to move the particular arm (Ruffner: [0041]: see expansion and retraction incorporating an expandable airbag, hydraulic or pneumatic pistons, or electric motor, or the like; see also [0040]; see also the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0009], [0049-0050]; see bellows 36; see [0012]: the cleaning member is movable between a first position in which the cleaning member engages the first roll, and a second position in which the cleaning member is located clear of the first roll; see [0067], [0083-0084]).
Regarding claim 3, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein the actuator comprises an airbag which is configured to inflate and deflate with air, said airbag being capable of being inflated with air to move the particular polisher arm into said first position, and capable of being deflated to move the particular polisher arm to said second position (Ruffner: see at least airbags 28, as well as [0040-0042], [0018], [0022], [0045]; see also the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0009], [0012], [0049-0050], [0066-0068], [0083-0084]).
Regarding claim 4, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein:
the actuator comprises a mechanical assembly operably coupled to an electric motor (Ruffner: see [0018], [0020], [0023] , [0040-0041]); and
the mechanical assembly is configured to transition the particular polisher arm from the first position to the second position (Ruffner: see above cited portions, as well as [0042], [0045]; see also the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0050], [0072], [0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein one of each of the one or more polisher arms is associated with a corresponding work roll of the series of upper work rolls and series of lower work rolls (Ruffner: see [0040-0041], [0012], [0021], [0037-0038; see also the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0047-0049]]).
Regarding claim 6, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein:
the airbag is a first airbag of a plurality of airbags (Ruffner: see airbags 28, as well as [0037], [0040], [0041]); and
each respective airbag of the plurality of airbags is configured to inflate or deflate to move a corresponding polisher of the one or more polishers (Ruffner: see [0040-0041], [0045]; please also refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0050], [0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches further comprising tubing connected to the airbag, the tubing fluidly connected to an inside of said airbag (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0050], [0083-0085] regarding the expansion hose, which is the pressure line for bellows).
Regarding claim 8, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches further comprising an air pump fluidly connected to the tubing, such that the airbag is inflatable or deflatable based on operation of the air pump (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Ruffner: [0020], [0038] and [0040]; see also Porco: [0063], [0083-0085], and [0049-0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein: while said airbag is inflated or deflated with air, the first end of the particular polisher arm moves along with a corresponding polisher of the one or more polishers via a hinge operably positioned between said second end of the particular polisher arm and the spot polisher frame (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Ruffner: [0020], [0038] and [0040]; see also Porco: [0063], [0083-0085], and [0049-0050] regarding pivoting via pivot pin hinge 34; see also [0009], [0012]).
Regarding claim 10, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein:
the apparatus is configured to be inserted into the metal sheet or plate leveler while all of the one or more polisher arms are oriented in the second position, to enable alignment of the one or more polisher arms with respect to at least one work roll of the series of upper work rolls or the series of lower work rolls (Ruffner: see [0038], [0040], [0042], wherein before polishing, the air bags 28 are in their contracted state); and
upon alignment with respect to the at least one work roll, actuating a selected polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms to the first position such that a corresponding polisher coupled to the selected polisher arm contacts the at least one work roll (Ruffner: see [0040-0042] regarding alignment and expansion; wherein during polishing, expandable elements 28 may be extended/inflated and adjusted such that the polishers are extended to engage and contact the rollers; see also [0045], [0016-0017], [0020-0021]; see Porco: [0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 11, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches the apparatus is further configured to deflate said airbag after a polishing operation (Ruffner: [0018-0020]), such that the corresponding polisher and the particular polisher arm move into the second position whereby the corresponding polisher is spaced apart from a surface of a corresponding work roll from the series of upper work rolls or the series of lower work rolls, to further enable removal of the apparatus from the metal sheet or plate leveler while said airbag is deflated (Ruffner: see [0022], Figures 4 and 5, as well as [0038-0042], [0045]; see also Porco: [0009], [0011-0013], [0049-0050], [0067], [0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 12, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein, in the first position, each polisher of the one or more polishers are each in contact with a corresponding surface of a respective work toll of the series of upper rolls or the series of lower work rolls (Ruffner: see [0015], [0018], [0021-0022], [0044-0045]; see also Figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein, in said second position, the one or more polishers are retracted from contact with any of the series of upper work rolls or the series of lower work rolls (Ruffner: see Figures 4 and 5, as well as [0015], [0018], [0021-0022], [0044-0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein each abrasive surface of each polisher of the one or more polishers has a uniform abrasive surface length (Ruffner: see Figures 2 and 6, as well as [0010], [0021-0022], [0024], [0037]).
Regarding claim 15, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches the uniform abrasive surface length of each of said one or more polishers is shorter than a length of any of the series of upper work rolls and the series of lower work rolls, such that while the one or more polishers and the one or more polisher arms are in their respective first positions, only a portion of the series of upper work rolls and the series of lower work rolls are polished as the series of upper work rolls and the series of lower work rolls are rotated (Ruffner: wherein [0022] discloses engaging a majority of the length of the corresponding work roll, i.e. a majority imparts a portion of the length; see also the 112b rejection provided above; wherein claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements; the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69).
Regarding claim 16, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches which said abrasive surface of each of the one or more polishers has a uniform length less than half of a work roll length, less than one-fourth the work roll length, less than one-eighth the work roll length, less than one-sixteenth the work roll length, or less than one-thirty second the work roll length (Ruffner: wherein as can be seen in Figure 3, the abrasive surfaces of each polisher has a circumferential arc length, and as can be seen in Figure 4, the circumferential arc length of the polishers is less than have of the circumference of the upper and lower rollers; see also the 112b rejection provided above; wherein claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements; the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69).
Regarding claim 17, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches further comprising an air pump configured to alternatively inflate and deflate the airbag (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Ruffner: [0020], [0038] and [0040]; see also Porco: [0063], [0083-0085], and [0049-0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein:
the airbag is a first airbag from a plurality of airbag, each airbag of the plurality of airbags configured to actuate a respective polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms (Ruffner: see airbags 28, as well as [0018]; [0037], [0040], [0041]); and
the air pump is operated to alternatively inflate and deflate said plurality of airbags simultaneously (Ruffner: see [0018], [0020], [0022], [0040-0041], [0045]; please also refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0050]: bellows 36 may increase in pressure of pressure may be dumped, and wherein there is an electronic control to do so; wherein [0083-0084] discloses that each expansion hose proportional valve has its own set point for maintaining differential pressure, i.e. individual control of the bellows, such that the pressures may be increased or decreased based on a feedback control loop; see [0063] and [0083-0085]).
Regarding claim 19, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches as the air pump is operated to alternatively inflate and deflate the plurality of airbags simultaneously, the one or more polisher arms also move about their respective hinges simultaneously (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, wherein the incorporated polisher arms of Porco and combined control of the movements of the inflatable elements permit polisher arms to move as a result of the bellows/airbag inflation).
Regarding claim 20, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches in which the entirety of the spot polisher apparatus is configured to couple to a forward end of an abrasive pan-type metal sheet or plate leveler polisher, to jointly reciprocate therewith, as both said pan-type polisher and spot polisher apparatus are simultaneously moved into their respective, successive polishing positions between the series of upper work rolls and the series of lower work rolls of a metal sheet or plate leveler (Ruffner: see [0010]; wherein the functional language and intended use of the device imparts that the polisher apparatus is couplable to a workpiece machine, and may be reciprocated, i.e. passive language, wherein the device may be reciprocated therewith; see also [0015], [0017], [0020-0022], [0038]).
Regarding claim 24, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein the one or more polishers comprise:
a series of upper work roll polishers each comprising a respective abrasive surface configured to polish a corresponding upper work roll from the series of upper work rolls (Ruffner: see polishers 22 on the top surface, as well as [0037], Figures 3, 4, and 7; see also [0011-0014]); and
a series of lower work roll polishers each comprising a respective abrasive surface configured to polish a respective lower work roll from the series of lower work rolls (Ruffner: see polishers 22 on the lower surface, as well as [0037], Figures 3, 4, and 7; see also [0011-0014]).
Regarding claim 25, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches each upper work roll of the series of upper work rolls defines a respective lowest point relative to a respective cross-section of each upper work roll (wherein Examiner acknowledges the intended use language of the device, wherein modified Ruffner shows upper work rolls having a lowest surface point in Figure 5); each respective abrasive surface corresponding to the series of upper work roll polishers are positioned below each respective lowest point of each corresponding upper work roll (see Figures 5 and 6);
each lower work roll of the series of lower work rolls defines a respective highest point relative to a respective cross-section of each lower work roll (wherein Examiner acknowledges the intended use language of the device, wherein modified Ruffner shows lower work rolls having a lowest surface point in Figure 5); and each respective abrasive surface corresponding to the series of lower work roll polishers are positioned above each respective highest point of each corresponding lower work roll (see Figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 26, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein the one or more polisher arms comprise:
a series of upper work roll polisher arms (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Figures 5-7 of Ruffner and Figures 2C, 3A, and 4A of Porco), each upper roll polisher arm having:
a respective first end coupled to a corresponding upper work roll polisher of the series of upper work roll polishers; and a respective second end hingedly coupled to the spot polisher frame (wherein in the combination of Ruffner in view of Porco, each polisher element 22 of Ruffner has a polisher arm which is attached at a first end coupled to the polishing abrasive surface, and a second end which is hingedly connected, see hinging pivot pin 34 of Porco); and
a series of lower work roll polisher arms (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Figures 5-7 of Ruffner and Figures 2C, 3A, and 4A of Porco), each lower roll polisher arm having:
a respective first end coupled to a respective lower work roll polisher of the series of lower work roll polishers; and a respective second end hingedly coupled to the spot polisher frame (wherein in the combination of Ruffner in view of Porco, each polisher element 22 of Ruffner has a polisher arm which is attached at a first end coupled to the polishing abrasive surface, and a second end which is hingedly connected, see hinging pivot pin 34 of Porco).
Regarding claim 27, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches, wherein each polisher arm of series of upper work roll polisher arms or the series of lower work roll polisher arms are independently actuatable with respect each other polisher arm of the series of upper work roll polisher arms or the series of lower work roll polisher arms (Ruffner: see airbags 28, as well as [0018]; [0037], [0040-0041], [0020], [0022], [0045]; please also refer to the combination statement as applied above, as well as Porco: [0050]: bellows 36 may increase in pressure of pressure may be dumped, and wherein there is an electronic control to do so; wherein [0083-0084] discloses that each expansion hose proportional valve has its own set point for maintaining differential pressure, i.e. individual control of the bellows, such that the pressures may be increased or decreased based on a feedback control loop; see [0063] and [0083-0085])).
Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruffner (US 2018/0117652) in view of Porco (US 2013/0192325), and in further view of Perneczky (US 4,841,675).
Regarding claim 28, Ruffner in view of Porco teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Ruffner does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more polishers comprise a grinding stone defining the abrasive surface and side surfaces, the abrasive surface is oblique with respect to the side surfaces of the grinding stone.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Perneczky teaches wherein the one or more polishers comprise a grinding stone defining the abrasive surface and side surfaces, the abrasive surface is oblique with respect to the side surfaces of the grinding stone (see Figures 15 and 16, as well as Col. 6, lines 32-57, see stone 66 formed with cutouts 122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the grindstone of Perneczky into the invention of modified Ruffner. One would be motivated to do so because the abrasive stone configuration of Pernezky provides significant advantages because material removed from rolls during cleaning and grinding is channeled away from the surface of the roll as a result of the cutouts, thus decreasing the likelihood of buildup on the surface of the abrasive stone (Col. 6, lines 39-57).
Regarding claim 29, Ruffner in view of Porco and Pernecsky teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein the grinding stone defines a plurality of grooves along the abrasive surface (please see the combination statement as applied above, as well as Figures 15 and 16 of Perneczky, cutouts 122).
Regarding claim 30, Ruffner in view of Porco and Pernecsky teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Ruffner further teaches wherein the grinding stone comprises a socket coupled to a particular polisher arm of the one or more polisher arms, the socket configured to adjust a contact angle between the abrasive surface and a particular work roll in the first position (please refer to the combination statement related to the polishing arm of claim 1, as well as Figures 2C, 3A, and 4a of Porco, as well as [0056] of Porco; see also Figures 11 and 13 of Perneczky, and Col. 6, line 58-Col. 7, line 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723