DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed relating to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 9 and 17-20, the applicant states that “The Chakraborty reference does not disclose all the limitations of independent claim 1. For example, Chakraborty does not disclose the limitations associated with capturing an image and then "augmenting the image by background substitution," as set forth in independent claim 1 and the related limitations of independent claims 9 and 17-20.”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner understands the main argument to revolve around the definition of substitution as the applicant claims “However, projecting backgrounds between 2D and 3D space as disclosed in Chakraborty is merely "adjusting" or "translating" a background. "Substitution" involves completely replacing one thing with another… Substitution does not involve merely changing or adjusting a thing. Therefore, Chakraborty's disclosed adjusting or translating a background between 2D and 3D space merely involves amending an existing background. There is no replacement of the existing background in Chakraborty. In other words, the projecting of backgrounds between 2D and 3D space as described in Chakraborty does not involve any substitution of an initial background with a different background.”.
The examiner interprets “background substitution” as the replacement of the background of an image with something else other than its previous image. The replacement of the original background with an altered version of that background would be a form of background substitution under the broadest reasonable interpretation. In the applicant’s invention, background substitution is described as an augmentation of the original image in paragraphs 6-8 and 13-16 of the application revolving around continuous alpha blending, introduction of random noise, and the image cropped, translated, and resampled at multiple scales. A reprojection of the original background to a new projection could be interpreted of that as a new background applied to the image. The claim language of “augment the image by background substitution” with a broadest responsible interpretation can include any change applied to the background compared to the original image, not that the background must originate from a completely different source. Based on these interpretations of the claim language and what is described in the applicant’s specification, Chakraborty discloses the embodiments of the independent claims.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chakraborty (US 10818028 B2).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty (US 10818028 B2) in view of Pettigrew (US 8743139 B2).
Claims 3-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty (US 10818028 B2) in view of Garcia-Peraza-Herrera (NPL: Image Compositing for Segmentation of Surgical Tools Without Manual Annotations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 6-9 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chakraborty (US 10818028 B2).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chakraborty teaches: A system for creating data sets for robust object and action detectors from a small number of images gathered in one environment, the system comprising (Col 1. Lines 25-36, “Examples are disclosed that relate to classifying objects using geometric context. In one example, a computing system is configured to train an object classifier. Monocular image data and ground-truth data are received for a scene. Geometric context is determined including a three-dimensional camera position relative to a fixed plane. Regions of interest (RoI) and a set of potential occluders are identified within the image data. For each potential occluder, an occlusion zone is projected onto the fixed plane in three-dimensions. A set of occluded RoIs on the fixed plane are generated for each occlusion zone. Each occluded RoI is projected back to the image data in two-dimensions.”):
at least one processor (Col 15. Lines 8-11, “The logic machine may include one or more processors configured to execute software instructions. Additionally or alternatively, the logic machine may include one or more hardware or firmware logic machines configured to execute hardware or firmware instructions.”); and
at least one memory having stored therein instructions, the memory and instructions being configured such that execution of the instructions by the processor causes the system to (Col 15. Lines 22-25, “Storage machine 1220 includes one or more physical devices configured to hold instructions executable by the logic machine to implement the methods and processes described herein.”):
capture an image having at least one object therein, wherein the image has a background with at least one identifiable property (Col 10. Lines 17-22, “As an example, foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest may be sampled to generate a set of each type of RoI. Minimizing the loss function may then include modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background and occluded regions of interest.”);
augment the image by background substitution (Col 10. Lines 25-30, “At 755, training the classifier includes minimizing location errors of each region of interest and each occluded region of interest of the set of the fixed plane based on the ground-truth data. Minimizing location errors may include reprojecting each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest and ground-truth back onto the 3D space.”);
apply a bounding box around the object (Col 10. Lines 62-64, “For example, each region of interest may be designated by drawing a bounding box on the monocular image data for each region of interest.”); and,
introduce random foreground occlusions to the object (Col 6. Lines 29-33, “Plot 310 represents anchor placement for occluding objects. To determine where to place the anchors, in some examples, once an occluder is identified, an occlusion zone may be generated, and then multiple RoIs may be proposed based on the occlusion zone.”),
whereby augmented image data is obtained (Col 5. Lines 47-55, “A sampling step may occur prior to performing the loss function. In some examples, this may include randomized stratified sampling. Subsets of foreground, background, & occluded regions are sampled for the loss function. After the loss function is minimized, the data may be fed back to RPN 235, which may include a class agnostic stage where it is determined whether or not the RoI includes an object, followed by a stage that includes class-specific bounding box regression.”).
Regarding Claim 6:
Chakraborty teaches: The system of claim 1 where the foreground occlusions comprise rectangles of various sizes sampled within a ground truth bounding box of the object in ground truth labels (Col. 7 Lines 27-29).
Regarding Claim 7:
Chakraborty teaches: The system of claim 1 wherein the foreground occlusions comprise a grid of objects including at least one of circles, squares or lines (Col 6. Lines 19-28 and Figures 3 and 6 show grids of objects).
Regarding Claim 8:
Chakraborty teaches: The system as set forth in claim 1 wherein the memory and instructions are further configured such that execution of the instructions by the processor causes the system to train a detecting or tracking system based on the augmented image data (Col 12. Lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 9:
Chakraborty teaches: A method for creating robust object and action detectors from a small number of images gathered in one environment, the method comprising (Col 1. Lines 25-36, “Examples are disclosed that relate to classifying objects using geometric context. In one example, a computing system is configured to train an object classifier. Monocular image data and ground-truth data are received for a scene. Geometric context is determined including a three-dimensional camera position relative to a fixed plane. Regions of interest (RoI) and a set of potential occluders are identified within the image data. For each potential occluder, an occlusion zone is projected onto the fixed plane in three-dimensions. A set of occluded RoIs on the fixed plane are generated for each occlusion zone. Each occluded RoI is projected back to the image data in two-dimensions.”):
capturing an image having at least one object therein, wherein the image has a background with at least one identifiable property (Col 10. Lines 17-22, “As an example, foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest may be sampled to generate a set of each type of RoI. Minimizing the loss function may then include modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background and occluded regions of interest.”);
augmenting the image by background substitution (Col 10. Lines 25-30, “At 755, training the classifier includes minimizing location errors of each region of interest and each occluded region of interest of the set of the fixed plane based on the ground-truth data. Minimizing location errors may include reprojecting each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest and ground-truth back onto the 3D space.”);
applying a bounding box around the object (Col 10. Lines 62-64, “For example, each region of interest may be designated by drawing a bounding box on the monocular image data for each region of interest.”); and,
introducing random foreground occlusions to the object (Col 6. Lines 29-33, “Plot 310 represents anchor placement for occluding objects. To determine where to place the anchors, in some examples, once an occluder is identified, an occlusion zone may be generated, and then multiple RoIs may be proposed based on the occlusion zone.”),
whereby augmented image data is obtained (Col 5. Lines 47-55, “A sampling step may occur prior to performing the loss function. In some examples, this may include randomized stratified sampling. Subsets of foreground, background, & occluded regions are sampled for the loss function. After the loss function is minimized, the data may be fed back to RPN 235, which may include a class agnostic stage where it is determined whether or not the RoI includes an object, followed by a stage that includes class-specific bounding box regression.”).
Regarding Claim 14:
Chakraborty teaches: The method of claim 9 wherein the foreground occlusions comprise rectangles of various sizes sampled within ground truth bounding boxes of objects (Col. 7 Lines 27-29).
Regarding Claim 15:
Chakraborty teaches: The method of claim 9 wherein the foreground occlusions comprise a grid of objects including at least one of circles, squares or lines (Col 6. Lines 19-28 and Figures 3 and 6 show grids of objects).
Regarding Claim 16:
Chakraborty teaches: The method as set forth in claim 9 further comprising training a detecting or tracking system based on the augmented image data (Col 12. Lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 17:
Chakraborty teaches: A system for robust object and action detectors from a small number of images gathered in one environment, the system comprising (Col 1. Lines 25-36, “Examples are disclosed that relate to classifying objects using geometric context. In one example, a computing system is configured to train an object classifier. Monocular image data and ground-truth data are received for a scene. Geometric context is determined including a three-dimensional camera position relative to a fixed plane. Regions of interest (RoI) and a set of potential occluders are identified within the image data. For each potential occluder, an occlusion zone is projected onto the fixed plane in three-dimensions. A set of occluded RoIs on the fixed plane are generated for each occlusion zone. Each occluded RoI is projected back to the image data in two-dimensions.”):
at least one processor (Col 15. Lines 8-11, “The logic machine may include one or more processors configured to execute software instructions. Additionally or alternatively, the logic machine may include one or more hardware or firmware logic machines configured to execute hardware or firmware instructions.”); and
at least one memory having stored therein instructions, the memory and instructions being configured such that execution of the instructions by the processor causes the system to (Col 15. Lines 22-25, “Storage machine 1220 includes one or more physical devices configured to hold instructions executable by the logic machine to implement the methods and processes described herein.”):
capture the environment (Col 10. Lines 17-22, “As an example, foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest may be sampled to generate a set of each type of RoI. Minimizing the loss function may then include modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background and occluded regions of interest.”); and,
detect objects in the environment based using a model trained on data augmented by background substitution and foreground occlusions (Col 17. Lines 24-36, “In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, the instructions may additionally or alternatively be executable to minimize the loss function by modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest. In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, minimizing location errors may additionally or alternatively include reprojecting each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest and ground-truth back onto the 3D space. In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, the classifier may additionally or alternatively comprise one or more proposal-based deep neural networks.”).
Regarding Claim 18:
Chakraborty teaches: A method for robust object and action detectors from a small number of images gathered in one environment, the method comprising:
capturing the environment (Col 10. Lines 17-22, “As an example, foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest may be sampled to generate a set of each type of RoI. Minimizing the loss function may then include modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background and occluded regions of interest.”); and,
detecting objects in the environment based using a model trained on data augmented by background substitution and foreground occlusions (Col 17. Lines 24-36, “In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, the instructions may additionally or alternatively be executable to minimize the loss function by modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest. In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, minimizing location errors may additionally or alternatively include reprojecting each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest and ground-truth back onto the 3D space. In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, the classifier may additionally or alternatively comprise one or more proposal-based deep neural networks.”).
Regarding Claim 19:
Chakraborty teaches: A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause an apparatus to perform:
loading an image having at least one object therein, wherein the image has a background with at least one identifiable property (Col 10. Lines 17-22, “As an example, foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest may be sampled to generate a set of each type of RoI. Minimizing the loss function may then include modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background and occluded regions of interest.”);
augmenting the image by background substitution (Col 10. Lines 25-30, “At 755, training the classifier includes minimizing location errors of each region of interest and each occluded region of interest of the set of the fixed plane based on the ground-truth data. Minimizing location errors may include reprojecting each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest and ground-truth back onto the 3D space.”);
applying a bounding box around the object (Col 10. Lines 62-64, “For example, each region of interest may be designated by drawing a bounding box on the monocular image data for each region of interest.”); and,
introducing random foreground occlusions to the object (Col 6. Lines 29-33, “Plot 310 represents anchor placement for occluding objects. To determine where to place the anchors, in some examples, once an occluder is identified, an occlusion zone may be generated, and then multiple RoIs may be proposed based on the occlusion zone.”),
whereby augmented image training data is obtained, up to multiple times to augment the same image multiple times (Col 5. Lines 47-55, “A sampling step may occur prior to performing the loss function. In some examples, this may include randomized stratified sampling. Subsets of foreground, background, & occluded regions are sampled for the loss function. After the loss function is minimized, the data may be fed back to RPN 235, which may include a class agnostic stage where it is determined whether or not the RoI includes an object, followed by a stage that includes class-specific bounding box regression.”).
Regarding Claim 20:
Chakraborty teaches: A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause an apparatus to perform:
capturing an environment (Col 10. Lines 17-22, “As an example, foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest may be sampled to generate a set of each type of RoI. Minimizing the loss function may then include modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background and occluded regions of interest.”); and,
detecting objects in the environment based on a model trained on data augmented by background substitution and foreground occlusions (Col 17. Lines 24-36, “In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, the instructions may additionally or alternatively be executable to minimize the loss function by modeling object position and scale consistency during per region loss computations for each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest. In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, minimizing location errors may additionally or alternatively include reprojecting each of foreground, background, and occluded regions of interest and ground-truth back onto the 3D space. In any of the preceding examples, or any other example, the classifier may additionally or alternatively comprise one or more proposal-based deep neural networks.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty (US 10818028 B2) in view of Pettigrew (US 8743139 B2).
Regarding Claim 2:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Pettigrew teaches: wherein the background substitution comprises continuous alpha blending between the image and the substitution based on an angular distance in hue space between pixels in the background of a target image and a reference chroma value (Figures 38-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pettigrew’s system of alpha blending between an image and the substituted background for image correction using a hue space and chorma value with Chakraborty’s system for identifying objects using image background substitution.
Regarding Claim 10:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 9 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Pettigrew teaches: wherein the background substitution comprises continuous alpha blending between the image and the substitution based on an angular distance in hue space between pixels in the background of a target image and a reference chroma value (Figures 38-41).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty (US 10818028 B2) in view of Garcia-Peraza-Herrera (NPL: Image Compositing for Segmentation of Surgical Tools Without Manual Annotations).
Regarding Claim 3:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Garcia-Peraza-Herrera teaches: wherein the background substitution comprises random noise at multiple scales (Garcia-Peraza-Herrera, Page 8, Section A. Data Augmentation, Paragraph 2, Uses noise such as multiplicative, Gaussian, and ISO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Garcia-Peraza-Herrera image segmentation and labeling system that utilizes random noise generation for training with Chakraborty’s system for identifying objects using background substitution.
Regarding Claim 4:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Garcia-Peraza-Herrera teaches: wherein the background substitution comprises natural images cropped, translated and resampled at multiple scales (Garcia-Peraza-Herrera, Page 8, Section A. Data Augmentation, Paragraph 2, Tools are used for augmentation where foreground/background, and blended images are randomly zoomed, rotated, flipped, and shifted).
Regarding Claim 5:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Garcia-Peraza-Herrera teaches: The system of claim 1 wherein the foreground occlusions comprise curtain occlusions that partially obscure left, right, top or bottom of objects to random degrees (Garcia-Peraza-Herrera, Page 8, Section A. Data Augmentation, Paragraph 2, Padding and image augmentations are random rotations of 90 degrees).
Regarding Claim 11:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 9 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Garcia-Peraza-Herrera teaches: The method of claim 9 wherein the background substitution comprises random noise at multiple scales (Garcia-Peraza-Herrera, Page 8, Section A. Data Augmentation, Paragraph 2, Uses noise such as multiplicative, Gaussian, and ISO).
Regarding Claim 12:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 9 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Garcia-Peraza-Herrera teaches: The method of claim 9 wherein the background substitution comprises natural images cropped, translated, and resampled at multiple scales (Garcia-Peraza-Herrera, Page 8, Section A. Data Augmentation, Paragraph 2, Tools are used for augmentation where foreground/background, and blended images are randomly zoomed, rotated, flipped, and shifted).
Regarding Claim 13:
Chakraborty teaches the limitations of claim 9 as applied above.
Chakraborty does not explicitly teach the following; however, in related art, Garcia-Peraza-Herrera teaches: The method of claim 9 wherein the foreground occlusions comprise curtain occlusions that partially obscure left, right, top or bottom of objects (Garcia-Peraza-Herrera, Page 8, Section A. Data Augmentation, Paragraph 2, Padding and image augmentations are random rotations of 90 degrees).
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
YANG (GB 2611167 A)
Hinterstoisser (US 11741666 B2)
Chen (US 12190588 B2)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665