Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 14-18 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 10, 12-13, and 19-20 have been amended. The rejections are revised in view of the amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the covers in “multiple apertures in the top plate that have covers configured for selecting certain apertures for drawing vacuum” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 in various ways recite limitations as to the additively manufactured object. It is noted that recitations as to the additively manufactured object do not limit the present system claims. See MPEP 2115.
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 do not positively recite a base film. Accordingly, recitations regarding the base film are limitations to the material worked upon and do not limit the present system claims. See MPEP 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-11, 13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riha (US 2019/0322047) in view of El-Siblani (US 2012/0195994).
Regarding claim 1, Riha discloses a system (abstract) comprising: a build platform for an additive manufacturing machine (seal layer 240 and print substrate 140, [0082], Figs. 2, 10-11); the build platform including a top plate (print substrate 140, Fig. 11); at least one aperture in the build platform (vacuum holes 162, [0082], Figs. 10-11) that is positioned to use a difference in air pressure to force a base film (build sheet 200, [0082], Figs. 10-11) directly onto the build platform ([0046] [0082-83], Figs. 10-11), wherein the build platform is configured for the additive manufacturing machine to produce an additively manufactured object on the base film ([0085]), and wherein the additively manufactured object bond forms a partially penetrated bond with the base film (object 180 has to be subsequently detached from build sheet 200, hence a partially penetrated bond has formed, [0046] [0050]; as noted above, under MPEP 2115, details of the produced object and build sheet do not limit the system limitations).
Riha teaches a system substantially as claimed. Riha does not disclose a bottom plate, and a voided internal region between the top plate and the bottom plate; and a spacer material sheet in the voided internal region configured to prevent the top plate and the bottom plate from being pulled together by a difference in air pressure.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (abstract) and solving the same problem of providing negative suction through a series of holes ([0091-93], Fig. 25), El-Siblani teaches the build platform including a top plate (upper air permeable layer 342 has a finer mesh, [0091-93], Fig. 25), a bottom plate (bottom 344, [0093], Fig. 25), and a voided internal region between the top plate and the bottom plate (space for air permeable layer 340, [0091-93], Fig. 25); and a spacer material sheet in the voided internal region configured to prevent the top plate and the bottom plate from being pulled together by a difference in air pressure (perforated mesh layer 340, [0091-93]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Riha pulling air through vacuum holes 162 to be pulled from enclosure 334 of El-Siblani from a vacuum line port 346 with vacuum line 348 of El-Siblani because Riha is silent as to how vacuum is pulled from multiple vacuum holes 162 and [0092-93], Fig. 25 of El-Siblani teaches a predictable way to pull vacuum from a plurality of vacuum holes in an upper platen from a single vacuum line. As modified, vacuum holes 162 would take the place of upper air permeable layer 342 of El-Siblani, with the remaining structure of El-Siblani below down to the vacuum line 348.
Regarding claim 2, Riha as modified teaches wherein the additive manufacturing object is configured to integrate the base film into the additively manufactured object (object 180 has to be subsequently detached from build sheet 200, and thus the system was configured to integrate build sheet 200 into object 180, Riha [0046] [0050]; as noted above, under MPEP 2115, details of the produced object and build sheet do not limit the system limitations).
Regarding claim 3, Riha as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Riha does not disclose a vacuum port configured for pulling air from a voided internal region between the top plate and the bottom plate; and a sealing ring between the top plate and the bottom plate that seals the voided internal region, wherein the at least one aperture passes through the top plate to the voided internal region, wherein the top plate, the bottom plate, the spacer material sheet, and the sealing ring are distinct components of the build platform, and wherein pulling the air from the vacuum port creates the difference in the air pressure that forces the base film onto the build platform.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (abstract) and solving the same problem of providing negative suction through a series of holes ([0091-93], Fig. 25), El-Siblani a vacuum port configured for pulling air from a voided internal region between the top plate and the bottom plate (vacuum line port 346 for pulling air from interior of enclosure 334, [0093], Fig. 25); and a sealing ring between the top plate and the bottom plate that seals the voided internal region (side walls 336a-b, 338a-b, [0092-93]), wherein the at least one aperture passes through the top plate to the voided internal region (gaps in mesh upper air permeable layer 342, [0093], Fig. 25), wherein the top plate, the bottom plate, the spacer material sheet, and the sealing ring are distinct components of the platform (all components supporting object 28, [0093], Fig. 28), and wherein pulling the air from the vacuum port creates the difference in the air pressure that forces the base film onto the build platform ([0093]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Riha as noted above by pulling air through vacuum holes 162 to be pulled from enclosure 334 of El-Siblani from a vacuum line port 346 with vacuum line 348 of El-Siblani because Riha is silent as to how vacuum is pulled from multiple vacuum holes 162 and [0092-93], Fig. 25 of El-Siblani teaches a predictable way to pull vacuum from a plurality of vacuum holes in an upper platen from a single vacuum line. As modified, vacuum holes 162 would take the place of upper air permeable layer 342 of El-Siblani, with the remaining structure of El-Siblani below down to the vacuum line 348.
Regarding claim 4, Riha as modified teaches further including a vacuum port passing through the bottom plate (vacuum line port 346 for pulling air from interior of enclosure 334, El-Siblani [0093], Fig. 25), wherein pulling air from the vacuum port causes the difference in the air pressure that forces the base film onto the build platform (vacuum in interior of enclosure 334 pulls as claimed, El-Siblani [0093], Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 5, Riha as modified teaches further including a polymeric base film as the base film to thereby configure the additive manufacturing machine to produce a polymeric additively manufactured object on the polymeric (Riha [0041] [0067]). For the sake of compact prosecution, it is noted that Riha does not disclose further including a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) base film as the base film to thereby configure the additive manufacturing machine to produce a PVDF additively manufactured object on the PVDF base film.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (abstract) and solving the same problem of materials for build surfaces (film material 31, [0084], Fig. 25), El-Siblani teaches further including a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) base film as the base film ([0084]) to thereby configure the additive manufacturing machine to produce a PVDF additively manufactured object on the PVDF base film (recitations as to the additively manufactured object do not limit the present system claims. See MPEP 2115; accordingly, a specific teaching of PVDF is unnecessary to the anticipation rejection; as noted above, the object 180 of Riha bonds to build sheet 200, hence the need for detachment, Riha [0046] [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Riha such that the base film is a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) base film because [0084] of El-Siblani teaches that PVDF is a suitable film for this purpose.
Regarding claim 6, Riha as modified teaches wherein the additively manufacture object includes polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and the PVDF bonds to the base film (recitations as to the additively manufactured object do not limit the present system claims. See MPEP 2115; accordingly, a specific teaching of PVDF is unnecessary to the anticipation rejection; as noted above, the object 180 bonds to build sheet 200, hence the need for detachment, Riha [0046] [0050]; separately, this limitation is also taught by the modification discussed for claim 5, [0084] of El-Siblani).
Regarding claim 9, Riha as modified teaches the system as claimed. As noted above, parent claim 1 does not positively recite a base film, it is instead recited as something the system works upon, accordingly, Riha does not have to disclose the additional limitations regarding the base film, See MPEP 2115. Accordingly, Riha as modified teaches the base film is configured as a roll configured to advance new base film material across the build platform or is configured as a folded stack configured to advance the new base film material across the build platform.
Regarding claim 10, Riha as modified teaches wherein an exterior edge of the base film is sealed to a top plate of the build platform (combined build sheet 200 and seal layer 240 sealed by closing sheet 148, Riha [0088], Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Riha as modified teaches wherein the base film is formed of a single material and is textured to facilitate gas conductance into the at least one aperture of the build platform (build surface layer 220 is a sheet (therefore a single material) described as having textured object facing surface in Fig. 8B, with equivalent texture facing downward, this roughness means the surface is textured and would have the effect of facilitating gas conductance as recited (Riha [0070], Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 13, Riha as modified teaches wherein the difference in the air pressure forces the base film onto the build platform continuously during production of the additively manufactured object (Riha [0082-83]).
Regarding claim 19, Riha discloses a means for producing an additively manufactured object (interpreted as an additive manufacturing machine, see Applicant’s [0010]; system 100 with print head 120, [0041]); a means for using a difference in air pressure to selectively attach a base film directly to the means for producing the additively manufactured object (interpreted as a low pressure source with a vacuum port, see Applicant’s [0015]; vacuum through vacuum holes 162 pulls build sheet 200 to the platform, [0082], Figs. 10-11).
Riha teaches a system substantially as claimed. Riha does not disclose a means for preventing a top plate and a bottom plate of the means for producing the additively manufactured object from being pulled together by the difference in air pressure, the means for preventing being disposed in a voided internal region between the top plate and the bottom plate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (abstract) and solving the same problem of providing negative suction through a series of holes ([0091-93], Fig. 25), El-Siblani teaches a means (perforated mesh layer 340, [0091-93]) for preventing a top plate (upper air permeable layer 342 has a finer mesh, [0091-93], Fig. 25) and a bottom plate (bottom 344, [0093], Fig. 25) of the means for producing the additively manufactured object from being pulled together by the difference in air pressure (perforated mesh layer 340 holds that space, [0091-93]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Riha pulling air through vacuum holes 162 to be pulled from enclosure 334 of El-Siblani from a vacuum line port 346 with vacuum line 348 of El-Siblani because Riha is silent as to how vacuum is pulled from multiple vacuum holes 162 and [0092-93], Fig. 25 of El-Siblani teaches a predictable way to pull vacuum from a plurality of vacuum holes in an upper platen from a single vacuum line. As modified, vacuum holes 162 would take the place of upper air permeable layer layer 342 of El-Siblani, with the remaining structure of El-Siblani below down to the vacuum line 348.
Regarding claim 20, Riha as modified teaches further including a polymeric base film as the base film to thereby configure the additive manufacturing machine to produce a polymeric additively manufactured object on the polymeric (Riha [0041] [0067]). For the sake of compact prosecution, it is noted that Riha does not disclose further including a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) base film as the base film to thereby configure the additive manufacturing machine to produce a PVDF additively manufactured object on the PVDF base film.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (abstract) and solving the same problem of materials for build surfaces (film material 31, [0084], Fig. 25), El-Siblani teaches further including a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) base film as the base film ([0084]) to thereby configure the additive manufacturing machine to produce a PVDF additively manufactured object on the PVDF base film (recitations as to the additively manufactured object do not limit the present system claims. See MPEP 2115; accordingly, a specific teaching of PVDF is unnecessary to the anticipation rejection; as noted above, the object 180 of Riha bonds to build sheet 200, hence the need for detachment, Riha [0046] [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Riha such that the base film is a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) base film because [0084] of El-Siblani teaches that PVDF is a suitable film for this purpose.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riha (US 2019/0322047) in view of El-Siblani (US 2012/0195994) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stolyarov (US 2016/0339633).
Regarding claim 4, Riha discloses wherein the additively manufactured object is made of a material that can be 3D printed ([0117]). For the sake of compact prosecution, it is noted that Riha is not explicit that the additively manufactured object is a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing by extrusion deposition ([0008] of Riha, abstract; [0061] of Stolyarov), Stolyarov teaches wherein the additively manufactured object is a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) object ([0041]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified the material for printing in Riha to be polyvinylidene fluoride because [0117] of Riha teaches the object can be made of any material used for 3D printing and [0061] of Stolyarov teaches PVDF is such a material.
Regarding claim 20, for the sake of compact prosecution, it is noted that Riha in view of El-Siblani does not teach produce a PVDF additively manufactured object on the PVDF base film. As noted above, this is not necessary to reject claim 20.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing by extrusion deposition ([0008] of Riha, abstract; [0061] of Stolyarov), Stolyarov teaches wherein the additively manufactured object is a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) object ([0041]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified the material for printing in Riha to be polyvinylidene fluoride because [0117] of Riha teaches the object can be made of any material used for 3D printing and [0061] of Stolyarov teaches PVDF is such a material. In line with the modification discussed above, the base film and the additively manufactured object would be PVDF.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riha (US 2019/0322047) in view of El-Siblani (US 2012/0195994) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chanclon (US 2019/0061250).
For ease of presentation, claim 7 is presented with claim 8.
Regarding claim 7, Riha as modified teaches a vacuum pulling assembly (vacuum through vacuum holes 162 inherently includes a vacuum pulling assembly in fluid communication with vacuum holes 162, [0082], Figs. 10-11); and pulling air from the vacuum port creates the difference in the air pressure that forces the base film onto the build platform (vacuum through vacuum holes 162 pulls build sheet 200 to the platform, [0082], Figs. 10-11).
Riha as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Riha does not disclose a vacuum pulling assembly that includes a vacuum tab and a vacuum port on the vacuum tab.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing (abstract) and solving the same problem of connecting a vacuum source to a tube to create negative pressure ([0034]), Chanclon teaches a vacuum pulling assembly that includes a vacuum tab and a vacuum port on the vacuum tab (magnetic interconnect 255 connects connection unit adapter 275 to outlet adaptor 208, [0053], Figs. 2, 4; vacuum tab interpreted as the structure that connects to the vacuum port).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Riha and connect the vacuum source in Riha by the structure recited in Chanclon because [0053] of Chanclon teaches it is a predictable way to connect a vacuum source.
Regarding claim 8, Riha as modified teaches wherein: the vacuum pulling assembly includes a magnet (as modified, Chanclon [0053]); and the magnet is positioned to use a magnetic force to hold a vacuum hose to the vacuum port (as modified, Chanclon [0053]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riha (US 2019/0322047) in view of El-Siblani (US 2012/0195994) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boyd (US 2004/0224173).
Regarding claim 9, as noted above, Riha as modified teaches the system as claimed. For the sake of compact prosecution, it is noted that Riha does not disclose the base film is configured as a roll configured to advance new base film material across the build platform or is configured as a folded stack configured to advance the new base film material across the build platform.
However, in the same field of endeavor of 3D printing and solving the same problem of managing a film placed on a build platform, [0043]), Boyd teaches the base film is configured as a roll configured to advance new base film material across the build platform (delivered from a roll, [0034]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Riha to have build sheet 200 delivered from a roll because Riha is silent as to how the build sheets are delivered and [0043] of Boyd teaches that sheets placed over a build platform can be delivered from a roll.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riha (US 2019/0322047) in view of El-Siblani (US 2012/0195994) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ciscon (US 2021/0039315).
Regarding claim 12, Riha as modified teaches the at least one aperture includes multiple apertures in the top plate (vacuum holes 162, Riha [0082], Figs. 10-11; also as modified, pores in mesh 342 and 340 in El-Siblani, [0091-93], Fig. 25).
Riha as modified teaches a system substantially as claimed. Riha does not disclose covers configured for selecting certain apertures for drawing vacuum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of a 3D printer with a vacuum secured build surface (abstract), Ciscon teaches the at least one aperture includes multiple apertures in the top plate that have covers configured for selecting certain apertures for drawing vacuum (zone of holes 103 can be blocked off with a flap or shutter, [0088]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of Riha to have a flap or shutter for specific zones because [0087] of Ciscon teaches that doing so enables multiple print jobs on a common print bed, with a closed off zone able to remove completed printed jobs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 5, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-13, and 19-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of El-Siblani (US 2012/0195994).
Applicant has made numerous amendments to the claims. This has prompted changes in the art cited and how it is presented to address each limitation. Applicant argues the claims as amended are allowable. The rejections above detail the relevant art and teachings.
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 5, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. The relevant rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744