DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the second attachment devices are configured to be removably attachable to the first attachment devices”. However, as best understood from applicant’s disclosure, the second attachment devices are not capable of being attached to the previously recited first attachment devices. Rather, the second attachment devices are capable of being attached to the first attachment devices of a second housing, which is not recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 11 and 15 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hardie et al. (GB 2493572 A).
As for claims 1 and 9, Hardie et al. disclose: a structural/storage system comprising: a plurality of storage elements (1a – 1d), each of the storage elements comprising: a housing comprising: an outer surface; an inner surface; and at least one opened end (Fig. 2); first attachment devices (3) disposed at the outer surface; and second attachment devices (4) disposed at the outer surface, wherein the second attachment devices of a first one of the plurality of storage elements are configured to be removably attachable to the first attachment devices of a second one of the plurality of storage elements.
As for claims 2, 6, 10 and 15, Hardie et al. disclose: a cross-section of each housing/storage element is a polygon, namely a rectangle (Fig. 1).
As for claims 3 and 11, Hardie et al. disclose the housings/storage elements providing structural support for an associated system (i.e., storage system for filing and sorting mail).
As for claims 4 and 5, the housing of Hardie et al. is capable of receiving batteries with cooling channels therebetween. It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention (i.e., “configured to receive”) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As for claims 7 and 16, Hardie et al. disclose: the first attachment devices are disposed on first and second orthogonally adjacent sides of the housing; and the second attachment devices are disposed on third and fourth orthogonally adjacent sides of the housing (see Fig. 2).
As for claims 8 and 17, Hardie et al. disclose: beveled corners capable of receiving an adhesive (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 9 – 15 and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valmet Automotive Solutions GmbH (DE 20 2019 104 441 U1).
As for claims 9 and 18, Valmet discloses a system comprising: a load device; a power element configured to power the load device; and a plurality of storage elements, each of the storage elements comprising: a housing (16) comprising: an outer surface; an inner surface; and at least one opened end (Fig. 6); first attachment devices (54) disposed at the outer surface; and second attachment devices (56) disposed at the outer surface, wherein the second attachment devices of a first one of the plurality of storage elements are configured to be removably attachable to the first attachment devices of a second one of the plurality of storage elements.
As for claims 10 and 15, Valmet discloses a cross-section of each storage element is a polygon, namely a rectangle, inasmuch as the cross-section disclosed by applicant (i.e., polygonal except for the attachment devices).
As for claims 11, 12, and 19, Valmet discloses the storage elements providing structural support for an associated system, the system including a vehicle (see Abstract).
As for claims 13, 14, 20, Valmet discloses an electric motor (see “motor vehicle”) and batteries having cooling channels (42) therebetween.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613