DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The response filed 05/19/26 has been entered. Claims 1-10 and 13-15 are in the original/previously presented form. Claims 11-12 and 16-29 have been withdrawn. Claims 30-35 are cancelled. There were no objections or 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/23/26. Therefore, there are no objections or 112 rejections withstanding.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/26 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cianci et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,167,623), hereinafter Cianci, in view of Muse et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0339131), hereinafter Muse.
Regarding claim 1, Cianci discloses a rapidly insertable central catheter ("RICC"), comprising:
a catheter tube (12, see FIG. 1A or ‘Modified FIG. 1/1A’ above for ease of reference), including:
a first section (20) in a distal portion (toward tip 46) of the catheter tube (12), the first section (20) of the catheter tube (12) distally terminating with a catheter tip (46, see col 3 lines 29-40); and
a second section (18) proximal (toward proximal end of device 14 and see col 2 line 65- col. 3 line 4) of the first section (20) of the catheter tube (12);
a catheter hub (40) coupled to a proximal portion (see col. 2 lines 50-64) of the catheter tube (12); and
a plurality of extension legs (34/36/38, see FIG. 4 and col 4 lines 35-56. Note, FIG. 1A appears to have a typo noting one of the extension legs “32” instead of “38”. See correct numerals as shown in FIG.4) extending from the catheter hub (40, see col. 4 lines 35-48) equal in number (3 legs/ 3 lumens, see FIG. 4 and col. 4 lines 35-48) to a plurality of lumens (24/30/32, see FIG.4) extending through the RICC (see col. 4 lines 20-56).
Cianci is silent to the catheter tip “reinforced with a reinforcement band therein”.
However, Muse teaches a catheter tip (114, see FIG.3, [0094], [0164], and [0107]) reinforced (see [0107]: structure 106 for reinforcement) with a reinforcement band (106, see [0107]: 106 is tubular==band as disclosed by Applicant in at least Figs.5A-B of the current Application and see [0131]: 106 inserted into catheter 102) therein (see FIG.4E and [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter tip disclosed in Cianci to be reinforced with a reinforcement band therein as taught by Muse for the purpose of forming the catheter tip such that it is flexible in the transverse dimension yet rigid in the axial direction to counteract axial forces applied to the distal portion of the catheter during insertion into a vessel (see [0107]), thus achieving the catheter tip “reinforced with a reinforcement band therein”.
Regarding claim 2, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 1, and Cianci further discloses wherein the catheter tip (46, see FIG.1A) is sufficiently rigid over its length to support aspiration through the RICC without collapsing the catheter tip (see col. 3 lines 40-48: catheter aspirates fluids via tip and therefore the tip MUST be sufficiently rigid to support aspiration without collapsing the catheter tip).
Cianci is silent to “the reinforcement band” is sufficiently rigid over its length to support aspiration through the RICC without collapsing the catheter tip.
However, Muse teaches a catheter tip (114, see FIG.3, [0094], [0164], and [0107]) reinforced (see [0107]: structure 106 for reinforcement) with a reinforcement band (106, see [0107]: 106 is tubular==band as disclosed by Applicant in at least Figs.5A-B of the current Application and see [0131]: 106 inserted into catheter 102) therein (see FIG.4E and [0113]), wherein the reinforcement band (106) is sufficiently rigid over its length to support aspiration through the RICC without collapsing the catheter tip (see [0131]: 106 may be formed of stainless steel, which, according to Applicant disclosure in at least [0009], must be sufficiently rigid to support aspiration).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter tip sufficiently rigid to support aspiration as disclosed in Cianci to be reinforced with a reinforcement band therein as taught by Muse for the purpose of forming the catheter tip such that it is flexible in the transverse dimension yet rigid in the axial direction to counteract axial forces applied to the distal portion of the catheter during insertion into a vessel (see [0107]), thus achieving “the reinforcement band” is sufficiently rigid over its length to support aspiration through the RICC without collapsing the catheter tip.
Regarding claim 3, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 1, and Cianci further discloses wherein the catheter tip (146, see FIG. 1A) is sufficiently rigid over its length to prevent buckling of the catheter tip (see col. 3 lines 40-60: catheter is inserted into patient vasculature for aspiration and/or fluid delivery and therefore the catheter tip MUST be rigid enough to prevent buckling during insertion) when the RICC is inserted into a needle tract to a blood-vessel lumen (device is inserted into vasculature without buckling and therefore must be rigid to prevent buckling in the function of being “inserted into a needle tract”), optionally, over an access guidewire (see col 4 lines 12-20: device can receive guidewire for insertion over).
Cianci is silent to “the reinforcement band” is sufficiently rigid over its length to prevent buckling of the catheter tip when the RICC is inserted into a needle tract to a blood-vessel lumen, optionally, over an access guidewire.
However, Muse teaches a catheter tip (114, see FIG.3, [0094], [0164], and [0107]) reinforced (see [0107]: structure 106 for reinforcement) with a reinforcement band (106, see [0107]: 106 is tubular==band as disclosed by Applicant in at least Figs.5A-B of the current Application and see [0131]: 106 inserted into catheter 102) therein (see FIG.4E and [0113]), wherein the reinforcement band (106) is sufficiently rigid over its length to prevent buckling of the catheter tip when the RICC is inserted into a needle tract to a blood-vessel lumen (see [0146-0148]: needle first inserted vessel, followed by catheter + reinforcement band insertion such as shown in the progression from FIG. 4B-4E. Therefore, the reinforcement band 106 MUST be rigid enough to prevent buckling during this process), optionally, over an access guidewire (see [0138]: optional use of a guidewire).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter tip sufficiently rigid to prevent buckling during insertion as disclosed in Cianci to be reinforced with a reinforcement band therein as taught by Muse for the purpose of forming the catheter tip such that it is flexible in the transverse dimension yet rigid in the axial direction to counteract axial forces applied to the distal portion of the catheter during insertion into a vessel (see [0107]), thus achieving “the reinforcement band” is sufficiently rigid over its length to prevent buckling of the catheter tip when the RICC is inserted into a needle tract to a blood-vessel lumen, optionally, over an access guidewire.
Regarding claim 4, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 1, but Cianci is silent to “wherein the reinforcement band is formed of a thermoplastic polymer or a metal over which the first section of the catheter tube is molded or extruded.”
However, Muse teaches a catheter tip (114, see FIG.3, [0094], [0164], and [0107]) reinforced (see [0107]: structure 106 for reinforcement) with a reinforcement band (106, see [0107]: 106 is tubular==band as disclosed by Applicant in at least Figs.5A-B of the current Application and see [0131]: 106 inserted into catheter 102) therein (see FIG.4E and [0113]), wherein the reinforcement band (106) is formed of a thermoplastic polymer or a metal (see [0131]: stainless steel, aligning with Applicant disclosure in at least [0009]) over which the catheter tube is molded (see [0131-0132]) or extruded.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter tip disclosed in Cianci to be reinforced with a reinforcement band formed of a metal over which the catheter tube is molded as taught by Muse for the purpose of forming the catheter tip such that it is flexible in the transverse dimension yet rigid in the axial direction to counteract axial forces applied to the distal portion of the catheter during insertion into a vessel (see [0107]) and obtaining a desired adhesion between the reinforcement band and catheter (see [0131-0132]), thus achieving “wherein the reinforcement band is formed of a thermoplastic polymer or a metal over which the first section of the catheter tube is molded or extruded.”
Further, the limitation of “over which the catheter tube is molded or extruded” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim and is unpatentable if the claimed product is structurally the same as a product of the prior art (see MPEP § 2113. I : "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”).
Regarding claim 5, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 4, but Cianci is silent to “wherein the reinforcement band is formed of the thermoplastic polymer, the thermoplastic polymer selected from a thermoplastic polyurethane, a carbonate-based thermoplastic polyurethane, a polyamide, and a polyamide-block-polyether copolymer.”
However, Muse teaches a catheter tip (114, see FIG.3, [0094], [0164], and [0107]) reinforced (see [0107]: structure 106 for reinforcement) with a reinforcement band (106, see [0107]: 106 is tubular==band as disclosed by Applicant in at least Figs.5A-B of the current Application and see [0131]: 106 inserted into catheter 102) therein (see FIG.4E and [0113]), wherein the reinforcement band (106) is formed of the thermoplastic polymer (see [0140]: polycarbonate), the thermoplastic polymer selected from a thermoplastic polyurethane, a carbonate-based thermoplastic polyurethane, a polyamide, and a polyamide-block-polyether copolymer.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter tip disclosed in Cianci to be reinforced with a reinforcement band formed of a thermoplastic polymer as taught by Muse for the purpose of forming the catheter tip such that it is flexible in the transverse dimension yet rigid in the axial direction to counteract axial forces applied to the distal portion of the catheter during insertion into a vessel (see [0107] and [0140]), thus achieving “wherein the reinforcement band is formed of the thermoplastic polymer, the thermoplastic polymer selected from a thermoplastic polyurethane, a carbonate-based thermoplastic polyurethane, a polyamide, and a polyamide-block-polyether copolymer”.
Regarding claim 6, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 4, but Cianci is silent to “wherein the reinforcement band is formed of the metal, the metal selected from stainless steel, titanium, and nitinol.”
However, Muse teaches a catheter tip (114, see FIG.3, [0094], [0164], and [0107]) reinforced (see [0107]: structure 106 for reinforcement) with a reinforcement band (106, see [0107]: 106 is tubular==band as disclosed by Applicant in at least Figs.5A-B of the current Application and see [0131]: 106 inserted into catheter 102) therein (see FIG.4E and [0113]), wherein the reinforcement band (106) is formed of the metal (see [0131]: stainless steel), the metal selected from stainless steel (see [0131]), titanium, and nitinol (see [0140]: nitinol).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter tip disclosed in Cianci to be reinforced with a reinforcement band formed of a metal, such as stainless steel or nitinol as taught by Muse for the purpose of forming the catheter tip such that it is flexible in the transverse dimension yet rigid in the axial direction to counteract axial forces applied to the distal portion of the catheter during insertion into a vessel (see [0107]) and obtaining a desired adhesion between the reinforcement band and catheter (see [0131-0132]), thus achieving “wherein the reinforcement band is formed of the metal, the metal selected from stainless steel, titanium, and nitinol”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cianci in view of Muse as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osypka et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0120000), hereinafter Osypka.
Regarding claim 7, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 1, and Cianci further discloses wherein the RICC is a triluminal catheter (see lumens 24/30/32 in FIG.4) including a trifurcated catheter hub (see branches 54/56/58, see col. 4 lines 35-56) as the catheter hub (40, see FIG.4 and col 4 lines 35-56. Branches 54/56/58 formed in hub 40) and three extension legs (34/36/38) for the plurality of extension legs (34/36/38).
Modified Cianci is silent to “each extension leg of the three extension legs including a Luer connector coupled to a proximal portion of the extension leg.”
However, Osypka teaches a trifurcated hub (see 3 branches extending through hub in at least Fig. 7) with three extension legs (644/646/648, see FIG.6), each extension leg of the three extension legs including a Luer (150, see [0037]: connectors include conventional luer 150 as shown in FIG. 2) connector (see ‘Modified FIG. 6 below) coupled to a proximal portion (as seen in Fig. 2/6/7) of the extension leg (see each of 644/646/648).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the three extension legs taught by Modified Cianci to include a luer connector coupled to the proximal end as taught by Osypka for the purpose of forming the extension legs with removable side ports for different functions such as blood sample/infusion/etc. (see [0037]), thus achieving “each extension leg of the three extension legs including a Luer connector coupled to a proximal portion of the extension leg.”
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cianci in view of Muse and Osypka as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Mitchell et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0220786), hereinafter Mitchell.
Regarding claim 8, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 7, and Cianci further discloses wherein the RICC includes a primary lumen (30, see FIG. 4) extending from (see col. 3 lines 29-34) an opening in a proximal end (see opening at proximal end of 36 in FIG. 1A) of a first extension leg (36) to an opening (44) in the catheter tip (46), a secondary lumen (32) extending from an opening in a proximal end (see opening at proximal end of leg 38, incorrectly labeled ‘32’ in FIG. 1A) of a second extension leg (38, incorrectly labeled ‘32’ in FIG. 1A) to a secondary-lumen opening (48) in a distal portion (see FIG. 1B) of the catheter tube (12), and a tertiary lumen (24) extending from an opening in a proximal end (see opening at proximal end of leg 34 in FIG. 1A) of a third extension leg (34) to a tertiary- lumen opening (50) in the distal portion (see FIG. 1B) of the catheter tube (12).
Cianci is silent to the primary lumen extending from an opening in a proximal end of “a first Luer connector”, the secondary lumen extending from an opening in a proximal end of “a second Luer connector” to a secondary-lumen opening in a distal portion of “the second section” of the catheter tube, and the tertiary lumen extending from an opening in a proximal end of “a third Luer connector” to a tertiary lumen opening in the distal portion “of the second section of the catheter tube proximal of the secondary-lumen opening.”
However, Ospyka teaches a trifurcated hub (see 3 branches extending through hub in at least Fig. 7) with three extension legs (644/646/648, see FIG.6), each extension leg of the three extension legs including a Luer (150, see [0037]: connectors include conventional luer 150 as shown in FIG. 2) connector (see ‘Modified FIG. 6 below) coupled to a proximal portion (as seen in Fig. 2/6/7) of the extension leg (see each of 644/646/648).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the three extension legs taught by Modified Cianci to include a luer connector coupled to the proximal end as taught by Osypka for the purpose of forming the extension legs with removable side ports for different functions such as blood sample/infusion/etc. (see [0037]), thus achieving the primary lumen extending from an opening in a proximal end of “a first Luer connector”, the secondary lumen extending from an opening in a proximal end of “a second Luer connector”, and the tertiary lumen extending from an opening in a proximal end of “a third Luer connector”
Modified Cianci in view of Osypka remain silent to the secondary-lumen opening in a distal portion of “the second section” of the catheter tube and the tertiary lumen extending to a tertiary lumen opening in the distal portion “of the second section of the catheter tube proximal of the secondary-lumen opening.”
However, Mitchell teaches a multi-lumen catheter system (see FIG. 1 and [0026]) including a catheter tube (12) with a first section (catheter tube forming the tip portion) and a second section (from the proximal end of catheter tip to the hub 33, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ below),
the catheter system comprising a primary lumen (20, see FIG. 2 and [0029]) extending from an extension leg (30) to an opening (see opening where needle 14 is disposed as in FIG. 2) in a catheter tip (38), a secondary lumen (16, see FIG.2) extending from an extension leg (29) to a secondary-lumen opening (22) in a distal portion (23 in distal portion relative to proximal portion of second section located adjacent the hub, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) of the second section (from tip to hub) of the catheter tube (12), and a tertiary lumen (18) extending from an extension leg to a tertiary- lumen opening (23) in the distal portion (as seen in ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) of the second section (from tip to hub) of the catheter tube (12) proximal (toward hub) of the secondary-lumen opening (22).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second and tertiary openings disclosed in Cianci to be disposed in the distal portion of the second section as taught by Mitchell for the purpose of ensuring that the openings are located in a distal portion of the catheter that will be disposed in the vessel to facilitate intravenous communication by the openings (see [0027]), thus achieving the secondary-lumen opening in a distal portion of “the second section” of the catheter tube and the tertiary lumen extending to a tertiary lumen opening in the distal portion “of the second section of the catheter tube.”
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tertiary opening taught by Modified Cianci in view of Mitchell to be located proximal of the secondary-lumen opening as taught by Mitchell for the purpose of placing the lumen openings in proportion to the catheter French sizes so as to axially separate the openings and maintain structural integrity of the catheter tube (see [0028]), thus achieving the tertiary lumen extending to a tertiary lumen opening in the distal portion of the second section of the catheter tube “proximal of the secondary-lumen opening.”
Regarding claim 9, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 8, but Cianci is silent to “wherein each lumen of the secondary lumen and the tertiary lumen terminates at a distal end of the second section of the catheter tube.”
However, Mitchell teaches a multi-lumen catheter system (see FIG. 1 and [0026]) including a catheter tube (12) with a first section (catheter tube forming the tip portion) and a second section (from the proximal end of catheter tip to the hub 33, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above in the rejection of claim 8) and a primary (20, see FIG.2), secondary (16), and tertiary lumen (18), wherein each lumen of the secondary lumen (16) and the tertiary lumen (18) terminates at a distal end (distal and proximal ends of second section separated as shown by break-line, see ‘Modified FIG. 2’ below) of the second section of the catheter tube (12).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second and tertiary openings disclosed in Cianci to terminate at a distal end of the second section as taught by Mitchell for the purpose of ensuring that the openings are located in a distal portion of the catheter that will be disposed in the vessel to facilitate intravenous communication by the openings (see [0027]), thus achieving “wherein each lumen of the secondary lumen and the tertiary lumen terminates at a distal end of the second section of the catheter tube.”
Regarding claim 10, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 9, and Cianci further discloses wherein a proximal end (see proximal end in FIG. 1) of the first section (20) of the catheter tube (12) is disposed within (see FIG. 1 and col2 line 65- col 3 line 4) to the distal end (22) of the second section (18) of the catheter tube (12).
Cianci is silent to the first section of the catheter tube being “bonded” to the distal end of the second section of the catheter tube.
However, Muse teaches a catheter tube (1402, see FIG. 26A) with a first section (1403) and a second section (1405), wherein a proximal end (1407, see FIG. 26B) of the first section (1405) of the catheter tube is bonded to (see [0256]: 1403/1405 affixed such as by adhesive or welding) the distal end (see distal end of 1403 in FIG. 26B) of the second section (1403) of the catheter tube (1402).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second sections of the catheter tube disclosed in Cianci to be bonded together as taught by Muse for the purpose of allowing the first and second sections to be formed of different materials (harder/softer) and then assembled (see [0255-0256]), thus achieving the first section of the catheter tube being “bonded” to the distal end of the second section of the catheter tube.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cianci in view of Muse as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LeBlanc et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0180255), hereinafter Leblanc.
Regarding claim 13, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 1, and Cianci further discloses wherein the first section (20,see FIG. 1A) of the catheter tube (12) is formed of a first polymeric material having a first durometer (see col 3 lines 5-13: 18 and 20 can be formed of different materials) and the second section (18) of the catheter tube (12) is formed of a second polymeric material (see col 3 lines 5-13: 18 and 20 can be formed of different materials and thus inherently have different durometers).
Modified Cianci is silent to the second polymeric material “having a second durometer less than the first durometer.”
However, Leblanc teaches a catheter tube (see FIG. 5) having a first section (130) formed of a first polymeric material having a first durometer (see [0028]: 130 is pebax of 60 to 70) and a second section (120) formed of a second polymeric material having a second durometer (see [0027]: 130 is Pebax of shore D hardness 50 to 60) less than the first durometer (see [0027-0028]: 50 -60 is less than 60-70).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the second polymeric material disclosed in Cianci to have a durometer less than the first durometer of the first polymeric material of the first section as taught by Leblanc for the purpose of facilitating the first section to slide within the second section (see [0029] and as depicted in Leblanc FIG. 5), which would be advantageous during a bonding process, thus achieving the second polymeric material “having a second durometer less than the first durometer.”
Regarding claim 14, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 13, and Cianci further discloses wherein each polymeric material of the first and second polymeric materials is a polyurethane (see col 3 lines 5-13: 18 and 20 can be formed of different materials including polyurethanes).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cianci in view of Muse as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wisman (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0094025).
Regarding claim 15, the modified system of Cianci teaches the RICC of claim 1, but Modified Cianci is silent to “wherein the first section of the catheter tube is tapered from the second section of the catheter tube to the catheter tip, the second section of the catheter tube having a constant diameter.”
However, Wisman teaches a catheter tube (see FIG. 2) with a first section (16) and a second section (14), wherein the first section (16) of the catheter tube is tapered (see FIG. 2 and [0062]) from the second section (14) of the catheter tube to the catheter tip (46), the second section (14) of the catheter tube having a constant outer diameter (see FIG. 1 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first section of the catheter tube disclosed in Cianci to be tapered from the second section to the catheter tip while maintaining the second section of the catheter tube at a constant diameter as taught by Wisman for the purpose of gradually increasing the puncture of the needle tract to enter and advance into the vasculature of the patient (see [0062] & [0092]), thus achieving “wherein the first section of the catheter tube is tapered from the second section of the catheter tube to the catheter tip, the second section of the catheter tube having a constant diameter.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of Applicant remarks, Applicant argues that Muse fails to teach the reinforcement band on the distal catheter tip and therefore the 35 U.S.C. §103 claim rejections under Cianci in view of Muse should be withdrawn. The examiner disagrees and maintains the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections. The examiner asserts that Applicant argument does not align with the breadth of the claim language. Claim 1 requires “…a catheter tip reinforced with a reinforcement band therein;”. This recitation merely requires some form of reinforcement band/ tubular element structure that achieves a function of the catheter tip being reinforced. The claim does not require that the reinforcement band be formed of the same tubular element as the catheter tip, as seemingly argued by Applicant on page 8 (such as when Applicant notes that Muse’s reinforcement band 106 is a separate tube from the catheter tip). Thus, the examiner maintains that a tubular element such as the stiffener 106 inserted into the catheter tip in Muse would sufficiently teach a reinforcement band reinforcing the catheter tip as currently claimed. Therefore, the examiner maintains that the combination of Cianci in view of Muse meets the limitation as claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the catheter tip comprises or is formed on a single sheath with a reinforcement band) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, the examiner was not persuaded by this argument and maintained the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections under Cianci in view of Muse.
Next on page 8, Applicant argues that Muse does not teach a “band”. However, in [0077] of the current Application, Applicant discloses a band as a tubular element (122, see FIG. 5A of the current Application) inserted into the catheter bore of the catheter tip. Therefore, the examiner maintains that the reinforcement band/ tubular element inserted into the catheter of the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection under Cianci in view of Muse meets the definition of a “band” as set forth by Applicant. Thus, the examiner was not persuaded by this argument and maintained the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections under Cianci in view of Muse.
Then on page 8, Applicant argues that because the reinforcement band can disengage from the catheter tip, the combination of Cianci in view of Muse does not meet the claim language. The examiner argues that at least at the point in time where the reinforcement band is within the catheter tip (i.e.: before the retraction as asserted by Applicant), the reinforcement band achieves the function of reinforcing the catheter tip as claimed. Thus, the examiner was not persuaded by this argument and maintained the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections under Cianci in view of Muse.
Lastly, Applicant discloses the reinforcement band (122, see FIG. 5A) as being a separate tube form the catheter tube (102, see [0077]: “The reinforcement band 122 can be formed of a metal or a thermoplastic polymer inserted into a bore of the first section 110 of the catheter tube 102…” ). Therefore, the examiner further asserts that the combination of Cianci in view of Muse (Muse teaching the reinforcement band 106 inserted into the bore of the catheter 114 as shown in FIG. 3) aligns with the structure as presented in the disclosure in Applicant’s specification and as currently claimed (see previous paragraphs). Thus, in totality, the examiner is not persuaded by Applicant arguments.
No further arguments were made and therefore the depending claim rejections were subsequently maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN PAIGE VOKES/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783