DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted 5/08/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 12/29/2025:
Claims 1-9 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended.
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112 are overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US-20160315301-A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Koshikawa JP-2008218196-A (hereinafter “Koshikawa”) and Kong KR-101927390-B1 (hereinafter “Kong”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a rechargeable-battery cell (secondary battery in the form of a pouch) (see abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0005]) comprising:
an electrode assembly 10 including a first electrode plate (positive electrode plate) 11, a separator 13, and a second electrode plate (negative electrode plate) 12 in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0051]-[0060]);
an electrode lead portion 30 connected to a first or second uncoated electrode portion 11a/12a extending from the first or second electrode plate 11/12 of the electrode assembly 10 in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0051]-[0061]);
a sealing member (portion of sealing portion 23 including lead films 40 that may be thermally fused to the pouch 20 so as to enhance sealing between the pouch 20 and the electrode leads 30) through which the electrode lead portion 30 passes in Figs. 2-5 (see paragraphs [0063]-[0066]); and
an exterior material 21/22 from which portions of the sealing member and the electrode lead portion 30 are externally exposed and in which the electrode assembly 10 is disposed in Figs. 2-5 (see comparison of structures below) (see paragraphs [0056]-[0060]).
Figure 1. Instant Application
Figure 2. Kim
Kim also discloses wherein the sealing member has a thickness smaller than that of the electrode assembly 10 (the sealing portion 23 with the vent holes V1/V2 and lead films 40, which functions as the sealing member, is narrower) in Figs. 1-2 and 5-7 (see annotated Fig. 5 below) (see paragraphs [0029], [0056]-[0060], [0074]-[0077], and [0103]). Kim additionally discloses the sealing portion 23 with the vent holes V1/V2 and lead films 40 being narrower allows pressure to concentrate in those portions and discharge gas so the secondary battery may be used safely and reliably in Fig. 13 (see paragraphs [0074]-[0077]).
Figure 3. Annotated Fig. 5 of Kim
Kim is silent on wherein the exterior material includes a folded surface folded along one edge of the electrode assembly, the folded surface being unsealed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of sealing members (see paragraphs [0001] and [0003]), Koshikawa discloses a sealing member (heat-sealing member) 20/30 on the terminals and a housing member (exterior material) 15 including a folded surface 38 folded along one edge of the electrode assembly (battery element) 11, the folded surface being unsealed in Figs. 1 and 4 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0026], and [0032]).
Koshikawa additionally discloses forming a pouch battery in this way would prevent the heat-sealing member from becoming an obstacle when folding (see paragraphs [0007]-[0008] and [0020]-[0021]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way of forming a pouch battery with a sealing member.
Kim and Koshikawa are silent on wherein the sealing member is disposed perpendicular to the folded surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor of pouch batteries (see paragraph [0001]), Kong discloses a pouch battery design where the exterior material includes a folded surface folded along one edge of the electrode assembly, the folded surface is unsealed, three sides are sealed (310 and both ends of 320), and the electrode leads 111/121 are disposed perpendicular to the folded surface in Figs. 2 and 12 (see comparison of structures below) (see paragraphs [0001], [0028]-[0033], and [0060]).
Kong additionally discloses sealing the battery in this manner improves the sealability and stability of the pouch-type secondary battery (see paragraphs [0013] and [0024]). As such, a skilled artisan would recognize this as a functional and appropriate design for a pouch battery.
Figure 4. Instant Application
Figure 5. Kong
In the combination of Kim (disclosing a battery with sealing members through which electrode leads pass disposed at each of two ends of the battery), Koshikawa (disclosing sealing members should not interfere with the folding portion), and Kong (disclosing a pouch battery with electrode leads disposed at each of two ends of the battery perpendicular to the folding portion), a skilled artisan would be capable of achieving a battery cell wherein the exterior material includes a folded surface folded along one edge of the electrode assembly, the folded surface being unsealed and wherein the sealing member through which the electrode lead portion passes is disposed perpendicular to the folded surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the pouch-type battery of Kim wherein the exterior material includes a folded surface folded along one edge of the electrode assembly, the folded surface is unsealed, and the sealing member is disposed perpendicular to the folded surface, as disclosed by Koshikawa and Kong, as it is a known and functional design of a pouch-type battery that would prevent the heat-sealing member from becoming an obstacle when folding.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kim further discloses the lead films 40 may be attached to the electrode leads 30 in such a manner that the lead films 40 surround the electrode leads 30 in a width direction of the electrode leads 30 and the lead films 40 and the pouch 20 may be thermally fused to each other so as to enhance sealing between the pouch 20 and the electrode leads 30 in Figs. 4B and 5 (see paragraphs [0060]-[0067]). Kim additionally discloses the vent holes V2 in the lead films 40 may overlap and be the same shape as the vent holes V1 on the electrode leads 30 to allow gas generated in the pouch 20 to be rapidly discharged externally (see paragraphs [0066]-[0078]).
Therefore, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to evenly attach the lead films 40 being included on each side of the electrode lead 30 and being thermally fused to the pouch 20 to form the sealing member, so that the sealing member would have the same overall thickness since the lead films 40 would add an even thickness when attached, in order to allow gas generated in the pouch to be rapidly discharged externally.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kim further discloses the electrode lead portion 30 is a quadrangular shape and the lead films 40 forming the sealing member surround the electrode lead portion 30 in a width direction in Figs. 1-2 and 4B (see paragraphs [0060] and [0066]). As such, a skilled artisan would expect the lead films 40 forming the sealing member to also be a quadrangular shape in order to appropriately surround the quadrangular electrode lead portion 30. Since the sealing member would exist in 3D and surround the electrode lead portion 30, it would be a hexahedral shape.
Alternatively, if Kim is found to not be sufficient, in the same field of endeavor of sealing members through which electrode lead portions pass (see paragraph [0009]), Koshikawa discloses sealing members (heat-sealing members) 30 with a hexahedral structure (rectangular shape that may be cut to have varying widths, such as being cut into a trapezoidal shape) that can be reliably manufactured to form a sealing member with good airtightness in Figs. 1 and 3-4 (see paragraphs [0008], [0015], [0019], [0044], and [0048]). Since the sealing member would exist in 3D, it would be hexahedral shape.
A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate shape to cover the quadrangular electrode lead portion of Kim and function as a sealing member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell of Kim wherein the sealing member is a hexahedral shape, as disclosed by Koshikawa, as it is an appropriate shape for a sealing member and can be reliably manufactured with good airtightness.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kim further discloses the sealing member includes a venting hole V2 for venting a gas in Figs. 4B-7 (see paragraphs [0074]-[0077]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kim further discloses the sealing member is disposed at each of two ends of the electrode assembly (disposed on both electrode leads 30) in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0051]-[0059]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Koshikawa and Kong, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Yagata et al. JP-2000223108-A (hereinafter “Yagata”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Kim is silent on wherein the thickness difference between the sealing member and the electrode assembly is 2 mm or less.
However, in the same field of endeavor of sealing members (see paragraphs [0001] and [0013]), Yagata discloses a sealing member 9 through which electrode leads 5a/5b/5c/5d pass, and the thickness of the electrode stack is equivalent to the thicknesses of 5a to 5d in Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 (see paragraphs [0001], [0009], [0013]-[0015], [0018], and [0021]-[0024]). Yagata also discloses the active material coating on one side of the sheet may be 50 to 150 μm and the thickness of the sheet may be 10 to 30 μm (see paragraphs [0010] and [0012]). As such, a skilled artisan would expect a maximum thickness difference of about 360 μm (0.36 mm) between the sealing member 9 and the electrode lead group 5a/5b/5c/5d. This falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of a thickness difference between the sealing member and the electrode assembly being 2 mm or less.
Yagata additionally discloses thick electrode stacks with large thickness differences to the sealing portions leads to poor sealing and good sealing can be achieved by minimizing the thickness difference in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0007], [0015], [0018], [0023], and [0029]).
As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to optimize the thickness of the sealing member in comparison to the thickness of the electrode stack in order to ensure a tight seal and avoid poor sealing and would recognize the thickness difference around 0.36 mm as disclosed in Yagata would lead to an appropriate seal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell of Kim, Koshikawa, and Kong wherein the thickness difference between the sealing member and the electrode assembly is 2 mm or less, as disclosed in Yagata, in order to ensure a tight seal and avoid poor sealing.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Koshikawa and Kong, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie et al. CN-110190206-A (hereinafter “Xie”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Modified Kim is silent on the thickness of one end of the sealing member being greater than the thickness of the other end of the sealing member.
However, in the same field of endeavor of sealing members for batteries (see paragraphs [0007]-[0008]), Xie discloses a sealing member 213 wherein the thickness of one end of the sealing member 213 is greater than the thickness of the other end of the sealing member 211, increasing via transition areas 214 and 215 in Figs. 1-2 and 5 (see paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0016], [0077]-[0079], [0099], [0103]-[0105], and [0121]).
In the combination of Kim and Xie, the sealing member would include the varying thicknesses of Xie and since it is still disposed on the electrode leads as in Kim, the larger end of the sealing member would still be smaller than the electrode assembly, as discussed above.
Xie additionally discloses varying the thickness of the sealing member portions results in improved sealing performance (see paragraphs [0007], [0020]-[0021], [0131], and [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell of Kim, Koshikawa, and Kong wherein the thickness of one end of the sealing member is greater than the thickness of the other end of the sealing member, as disclosed by Xie, in order to achieve improved sealing performance.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Koshikawa, Kong, and Yagata as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Xie.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Modified Kim is silent on the thickness of one end of the sealing member being greater than the thickness of the other end of the sealing member.
However, Xie discloses a sealing member 213 wherein the thickness of one end of the sealing member 213 is greater than the thickness of the other end of the sealing member 211, increasing via transition areas 214 and 215 in Figs. 1-2 and 5 (see paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0016], [0077]-[0079], [0099], [0103]-[0105], and [0121]).
In the combination of Kim and Xie, the sealing member would include the varying thicknesses of Xie and since it is still disposed on the electrode leads as seen in Kim, the larger end of the sealing member would still be smaller than the electrode assembly, as discussed above.
Xie additionally discloses varying the thickness of the sealing member portions results in improved sealing performance (see paragraphs [0007], [0020]-[0021], [0131], and [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the sealing member of Kim, Koshikawa, Kong, and Yagata wherein the thickness of one end of the sealing member is greater than the thickness of the other end of the sealing member, as disclosed by Xie, in order to achieve improved sealing performance.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim discloses the battery cell of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above).
Modified Kim is silent on wherein the thickness difference of the one end of the sealing member and that of the electrode assembly is 2 mm or less.
However, Yagata discloses a sealing member 9 through which electrode leads 5a/5b/5c/5d pass, and the thickness of the electrode stack is equivalent to the thicknesses of 5a to 5d in Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 (see paragraphs [0001], [0009], [0013]-[0015], [0018], and [0021]-[0024]). Yagata also discloses the active material coating on one side of the sheet may be 50 to 150 μm and the thickness of the sheet may be 10 to 30 μm (see paragraphs [0010] and [0012]). As such, a skilled artisan would expect a maximum thickness difference of about 360 μm (0.36 mm) between the sealing member 9 and the electrode lead group 5a/5b/5c/5d. This falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of a thickness difference between the sealing member and the electrode assembly being 2 mm or less.
Yagata additionally discloses thick electrode stacks with large thickness differences to the sealing portions leads to poor sealing and good sealing can be achieved by minimizing the thickness difference in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0007], [0015], [0018], [0023], and [0029]).
As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to optimize the thickness of the sealing member in comparison to the thickness of the electrode stack in order to ensure a tight seal and avoid poor sealing and would recognize the thickness difference around 0.36 mm as disclosed in Yagata would lead to an appropriate seal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell of Kim, Koshikawa, and Kong wherein the thickness difference between one end of the sealing member and the electrode assembly is 2 mm or less, as disclosed in Yagata, in order to ensure a tight seal and avoid poor sealing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Imamoto et al. US-20200091473-A1 (“Imamoto”) discloses a pouch battery with a folded side, 3 sealed sides 44/45/47, and a tab sealant 43 located on an electrode tab 42 perpendicular to the folded side in Figs. 11(a)-11(g) (see abstract and paragraphs [0014], [0023], [0030], and [0401]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729