DETAILED ACTION
2. The Amendment filed on November 10, 2025, have been received and entered.
Claim Disposition
3. Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 16-20 have been added. Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. To date no Information Disclosure Statements have been filed. Applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose.
Claim objection
5. Claims 1, and 3-20 are objected to for the following informalities:
For clarity and precision of claim language it is suggested that claims 1, 4, 6, 12, 16-17 and 19 are amended to delete, “sufficient and sufficiently” in these claims. The dependent claims hereto to are also included.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horowitz et al. (Transfusion, vol. 24, Issue 4, July 1984, pages 357-362).
The claimed invention is directed to preparation of a method of preparing a fibronectin concentrate (see claim 16 in its entirety).
The Horowitz et al. reference teaches production of fibronectin via a preparation of antihemophilic factor (AHF) from a large pool of human plasma cryoprecipitate (see abstract and page 357). The reference teaches that human plasma cryoprecipitate is rich in both antihemophilic factor (AHF); are utilized in a pool of plasma from proteins and uses human albumin. The fibronectin is separated from contaminants and purified (see pages 357-359 and FIG 3). The reference does not per se teach irradiation to inactivate bacteria, fungi and viruses, however, the fact that they removed contaminants and filtered the fibronectin to recovery it means the same was performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to arrive at the claimed invention as a whole because the reference teaches producing fibronectin and isolating from fibrinogen and other impurities. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to filter the desired product to obtain a pure protein concentrate, thus obvious.
Moreover, the Supreme Court pointed out in KSR, “a patent composed of several elements is not proved obvious merely by demonstrating that each of its elements was, independently, known in the prior art.” KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1741. The Court thus reasoned that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the “inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 1741. The Court further advised that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation.” Id. at 1742. Therefore, the claimed invention was obvious to make and use at the time the invention was made and was prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s comments have been considered in full. Withdrawn objections/rejections will not be discussed herein as applicant’s comments are moot. Note that a new rejection has been instituted over newly submitted claim 16 for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
9. No claims are presently allowable.
10. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new/modified ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOPE A ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652