DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-12, 14-16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tempelmeier US 10,335,866.
In regards to claim 1, Tempelmeier discloses a drill (Figures 1-5) comprising at least one main cutting edge (16) and a helical flute (6) abutting the main cutting edge (16), wherein the surface of the flute has a spiral segment1 (any arbitrary segment of 12A) and an edge segment (any arbitrary segment of 12B) abutting the main cutting edge (16), and wherein the edge segment (any arbitrary segment of 12B) extends over an axial length L which is at most 200% of a diameter of the drill (note that since the specific boundaries of where to where this segment is being defined are not set forth, any arbitrary segment along 12B can be considered the edge segment that extends at most2 200% of the diameter of the drill), and wherein the roughness of the edge segment (any arbitrary segment along 12B) is less than the roughness of the spiral segment (any arbitrary segment of 12A) (see column 5, lines 20-22 and column 7, lines 9-12).
In regards to claim 8, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment (any arbitrary segment of 12B) does not extend to a tip (apex most point) of the drill (see Figures 4 and 5).
In regards to claim 9, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment (any arbitrary segment of 12B) radially outwardly abuts a side cutting edge (17) of the drill (see Figures 1 and 2).
In regards to claim 10, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment extends (any arbitrary segment of 12B) over an axial length (L) which is at least 50% of the diameter of the drill (as in Figure 2, note that since the edge segment can extend over the entire axial length of the drill, then it meets the at least 50% of the diameter of the drill).
In regards to claim 11, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment extends (any arbitrary segment of 12B) over an axial length (L) which is at least 75% of the diameter of the drill (as in Figure 2, note that since the edge segment can extend over the entire axial length of the drill, then it meets the at least 75% of the diameter of the drill).
In regards to claim 12, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment extends (any arbitrary segment of 12B) over an axial length (L) which is at least 100% of the diameter of the drill (as in Figure 2, note that since the edge segment can extend over the entire axial length of the drill, then it meets the at least 100% of the diameter of the drill).
In regards to claim 14, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment extends over an axial length (L) which is at most 150% of the diameter (D) of the drill (note that since the specific boundaries of where to where this segment is being defined are not set forth, any arbitrary segment along 12B can be considered the edge segment that extends at most3 150% of the diameter of the drill).
In regards to claim 15, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment extends over an axial length (L) which is at most 100% of the diameter (D) of the drill (note that since the specific boundaries of where to where this segment is being defined are not set forth, any arbitrary segment along 12B can be considered the edge segment that extends at most4 100% of the diameter of the drill).
In regards to claim 16, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment (any arbitrary segment of 12B) has a smaller spiral angle (W2) than the spiral segment (any arbitrary segment of 12A) (see column 5, lines 34-36).
In regards to claim 17, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 16, Tempelmeier also discloses that the spiral angle (W2) of the edge segment (any arbitrary segment of 12B) is smaller by at least 1° than the spiral angle (W1) of the spiral segment (any arbitrary segment of 12A) (see column 4, lines 47-49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelmeier US 10,335,866 as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claims 2-4, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the edge segment has a roughness and that the spiral segment has a roughness, where the roughness of the edge segment is less than the roughness of the spiral segment (see rejection of claim 1 above)
However, Tempelmeier fails to explicitly disclose that value of the roughness of the edge segment is less than 0.3Ra (claim 2); less than 0.1Ra (claim 3) and that the value of the roughness of the spiral segment is at least 0.3RA (claim 4).
Since Tempelmeier does, however, disclose that the edge segment has a roughness and that the spiral segment has a roughness, where the roughness of the edge segment is less than the roughness of the spiral segment; the value of each of the roughness of the edge segment and the value of the roughness of the spiral segment constitute a defined value of the flute of the cutting tool. Therefore, the value of each of the roughness of the edge segment and the value of the roughness of the spiral segment is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the value of the roughness will depend on the desire surface quality which ensure good removal of chips during operation (see column 4, lines 13-46). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the cutting flute is made up of a defined edge segment with a defined roughness and a defined spiral segment with a defined a roughness, were disclosed in the prior art by Tempelmeier, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to provide Tempelmeier’s value of the roughness of the edge segment to be within a desired range such as less than 0.3Ra (claim 2) and less than 0.1Ra (claim 3) and Tampelmeier’s value of the roughness of the spiral segment to be within a desired range such as at least 0.3RA (claim 4). In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claims 5-7, Tempelmeier discloses the drill according to claim 1, Tempelmeier also discloses that the main cutting edge (16) abuts the edge segment (12B), and there is a suggestion in Figures 3 and 5 of Tempelmeier, that 100% of the main cutting edge 16 abuts the edge segment.
However, Tempelmeier fails to disclose that at least 25% of the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment (claim 5); at least 50% of the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment (claim 6); and at least 75% of the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment (claim 7).
Since Tempelmeier does, however, disclose that the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment, the extent to which the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment constitutes a defined value of the cutting edge. Therefore, the extent to which the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the extent to which the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment will depend on the desired removal of chips during operation. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the cutting flute is made up of a defined extent to which the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment, were disclosed in the prior art by Tempelmeier, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to provide Tempelmeier’s value of the extent to which the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment be within a desired range such as at least 25% of the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment (claim 5); at least 50% of the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment (claim 6); and at least 75% of the main cutting edge abuts the edge segment (claim 7). In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Rejections not based on Prior Art
In view of Applicant's amendments, the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection of claims 1-12, 14-16 and 17 has been withdrawn.
Rejections based on Prior Art
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/11/2015 with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-17 have been carefully and fully considered, and in light of Applicant’s amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 USC § 102 over Tempelmeier US 10,335,866 has been incorporated as aforementioned.
Providing further clarification, regarding the limitations of “the edge segment extends over an axial length L which is at most 200% of a diameter of the drill”. Giving broadest reasonable interpretation to claim 1, since claim 1 is bare of any specific boundaries that specify and limit exactly where this edge segment is to be defined (from where to where), any arbitrary segment along 12B of Tempelmeier can be considered as the edge segment that extends at most5 200% of the diameter of the drill; as any arbitrary segment along 12B, will cover and expand an area along the axis to an extent. Below are some examples of different arbitrary edge segments extending at any number less than 200% of the diameter of the drill.
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 “a portion cut off from a geometric figure by one or more points, lines, or planes” SEGMENT Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
2 200% used “as an extreme limit”, so as to any number 200% or less, meets the claimed limitations. AT MOST Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
3150% used “as an extreme limit”, so as to any number 150% or less, meets the claimed limitations. AT MOST Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
4 100% used “as an extreme limit”, so as to any number 100% or less, meets the claimed limitations. AT MOST Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
5 200% used “as an extreme limit”, so as to any number 200% or less, meets the claimed limitations. AT MOST Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster