DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 02/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II & III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/13/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a rate-controlling porous or non-porous membrane disposed in the reservoir” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by D’Amour et al. (US 2019/0328934).
Regarding claim 1, D’mour discloses a device, in Figs. 1-2D, for delivering one or more therapeutic agents subcutaneously to a mammal in need thereof, the device comprising:
Note: Examiner uses Fig. 1B for clarification.
a port 85 for receiving one or more therapeutic agents that is to be delivered to a mammal subcutaneously, the port having a stem 85;
a reservoir (inside a weld area) in fluid communication with the stem 85 and comprised of at least two areas, the first area being comprised of a more rigid elastic material (e.g., 60 & 63 as film rings at the periphery of the weld area, para [0103]) and the second area being comprised of a less rigid elastic material (inside the weld area, i.e., reservoir area, or non-woven fabric 59, 62, 63, 68), the reservoir being capable of being inserted subcutaneously into a mammal in need of the one or more therapeutic agents and filled (via stem 85) or refilled (via stem 85) to contain the therapeutic agents that are to be delivered to the mammal subcutaneously while at least the reservoir of the device is inserted subcutaneously in the mammal in need of one or more therapeutic agents; and
a rate-controlling porous or non-porous membrane 62/65 disposed in the reservoir that allows the one or more therapeutic agents to be delivered to the mammal at a controlled rate;
wherein at least the reservoir portion of the device is capable of being inserted subcutaneously into the body of the mammal in need of one or more therapeutic agents and the one or more therapeutic agents can be removed from the reservoir of the device or filled or refilled into the reservoir of the device without the device being removed from the body of the mammal in need of the one or more therapeutic agents, para [0088].
Regarding claim 2, wherein the reservoir is further comprised of a reinforcement 61 or composite membrane 61 located between the more rigid elastic material 60 & 63 and the less rigid elastic material 59/68 of the reservoir, see Fig. 1B.
Regarding claim 3, as seen in Fig. 1B, the reinforcement or composite membrane 61 is located in between the film ring 60/63 (rigid material), and less rigid material layers 59, 62, 63, 68; wherein the weld area is located at peripheral of the device, see Fig. 2A. Therefore, the reinforcement or composite membrane 61 is cladded on both sides of the reinforcement or composite membrane with the more rigid elastic material or the less rigid elastic material and the more rigid material and the less rigid material overlap at least a portion of the reinforcement or composite membrane and create a heat seal (at weld) with the reinforcement membrane in the reservoir, see Figs 1B & 2A.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the more rigid elastic material and the less rigid elastic material sufficiently overlap the reinforcement or composite membrane and create a heat sealed joint (at weld area) of the more rigid elastic material, the less rigid elastic material and the reinforcement or composite membrane at least at the outer edges of the reservoir, see Fig. 2A.
Regarding claim 5, wherein at least a substantial portion of both ends (e.g. weld area is at peripheral of the reservoir, see Fig. 2A) of the reservoir are comprised of the more rigid elastic material and at least a substantial portion of the middle of the reservoir is comprised of the less rigid elastic material, see Fig. 2A.
Regarding claim 6, as seen in Fig. 2A, wherein the device does not have a sleeve covering the reservoir, the reservoir is tapered from at least the reservoir to the stem and the largest diameter of the device when the reservoir does not contain any therapeutic agents is the diameter of the port or the stem allowing for easy removal of the device from the mammal in need of one or more therapeutic agents.
Note: the device is expanded device when filled of therapeutic agent, therefore, an interior space or volume space in the device is expanded and larger in diameter in vertical direction, see Fig. 9. When the device is emptied, the device is deflated, see Fig. 2A-2D, and therefore the larges diameter (or the length of the device), at this point, the device is allowing for removal easily.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amour et al. (US 2019/0328934) in view of Joseph et al. (US 6,471,689).
Regarding claim 7, D’Amour discloses all the claimed subject matter as required in the claimed invention except for the limitation that a multi-lumen tube that is in fluid communication with at least the stem of the device.
Joseph discloses a drug delivery device comprising: a port 12 for receiving one or more therapeutic agents that is to be delivered to a mammal subcutaneously, a multi-lumen tube 34 & 36 that is in fluid communication with at least the stem 14 of the device, see Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of D’Amour with providing a multi-lumen tube that is in fluid communication with at least the stem of the device, as taught by Joseph, in order to introduce one or more therapeutic agents in the device at the same time
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Amour et al. (US 2019/0328934) in view of Kharul et al. (US 2005/0006302).
Regarding claim 8, D’Amour discloses all the claimed subject matter as required in the claimed invention. D’Amour discloses the rate-controlling membrane 62/65 has porous but does not disclose the limitation that the device further comprises one or more chemical stabilizers or plasticizers to keep the pores of the rate-controlling membrane open.
Kharul discloses a pours membrane includes one or more chemical stabilizers or plasticizers (e.g., glycerol, water, poly vinyl pyrolidone, polyethylene glycol, and polyethylene oxide, see claim 10 in Kharul).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of D’Amour with providing one or more chemical stabilizers or plasticizers, as taught by Kharul, in order to provide viscosity in the pores, having excellent combination of high-water fluid and solute rejection and also to keep the pores of rate-controlling membrane open.
Conclusion
/Quynh-Nhu H. Vu/
Quynh-Nhu H Vu
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783