DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
logic circuitry configured to compare
in claim 1.
By reviewing the specification (paragraph [0038]) it appears that the logic circuitry is any battery controller or battery management system which can store and control the operation of the battery by comparing the current value with the stored value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hinterberger et al. (US 2018/0026312), herein after Hinterberger.
Regarding claim 1, Hinterberger discloses a safety system for batteries and/or supercapacitors, the safety system comprises:
a housing (a battery cell housing 32, fig. 3);
a controller encased within the housing (a control unit 40 is provided, which is in the present case arranged within the interior of the battery cell housing 32, paragraph [0055]), the controller configured to cease charging and/or discharging of one or more battery cells (the control unit 40 can be used to ensure that the when the control voltage applied to the switching element 38, an electrically conductive connection is interrupted or established, paragraph [0055]), the controller is configured with a threshold temperature and a threshold pressure for the one or more battery cells (the control unit is provided with an interface by means of which a threshold value of at least one parameter can be changed, paragraph [0034] Note: the threshold values of the battery parameters e.g. temperature, pressure are stored in the control unit 40);
a pressure sensor configured to sense a current pressure of the one or more battery cells in near real-time; a temperature sensor configured to sense a current temperature of the one or more battery cells in near real-time (sensors 42 are shown schematically which are arranged inside the battery cell housing of the battery and which thus detect the corresponding parameters inside the battery cell housing 32. These parameters can include for example a temperature, a pressure, accelerations (which can be detected for example by means of a force sensor), mechanical stresses or the composition of an electrolyte of the galvanic element, paragraph [0057]);
a logic circuitry operably coupled to the pressure sensor and the temperature sensor, the logic circuitry configured to compare the current temperature and the current pressure of the one or more battery cells to the threshold temperature and the threshold pressure respectively (paragraph [0028]-[0029] the control unit inherently compare the current battery parameters (e.g. temperature and pressure) and trigger interruption of the battery cell), the logic circuitry operably coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive a signal from the logic circuitry, the signal indicative of the current temperature or the current pressure exceeding the threshold temperature or the threshold pressure respectively; and in response to the signal, ceasing the charging and/or discharging of the one or more battery cells (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the safety system further comprises one or more MOSFETS (38, fig. 1; paragraph [0018]), the one or more MOSFETS operably coupled to the controller and configured to stop the charging and/or discharging of the one or more battery cells (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the battery is a power bank, the one or more battery cells comprise a plurality of battery cells, wherein the controller is configured to isolate a single battery cell of the plurality of battery cells of the power bank (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the battery is a standalone battery (the battery 24 is a standalone battery 24, fig. 3), the one or more battery cells comprises a single cell (a cell 26, fig. 3), and the safety system is configured to be encased with a shell of the standalone battery (the safety components e.g. 42, 40 and 38 is encased inside the housing 32, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the housing is in contact with the shell for dissipating heat to the shell (Information about such thermal stresses which occur in the in the battery cell or in the vicinity and which have an impact on the battery cell can be preferably communicated by means of the control unit (paragraph [0027]), shows that the shell is in contact with the housing and also capable of absorbing and dissipating heat to and from surrounding).
Regarding claim 8, Hinterberger discloses a method for enhancing safety of batteries and/or supercapacitors, method comprises: providing a safety system comprising:
a housing (a battery cell housing 32, fig. 3); a controller encased within the housing(a control unit 40 is provided, which is in the present case arranged within the interior of the battery cell housing 32, paragraph [0055]), the controller configured to cease charging and/or discharging of one or more battery cells (the control unit 40 can be used to ensure that the when the control voltage applied to the switching element 38, an electrically conductive connection is interrupted or established, paragraph [0055]), the controller is configured with a threshold temperature and a threshold pressure for the one or more battery cells(the control unit is provided with an interface by means of which a threshold value of at least one parameter can be changed, paragraph [0034] Note: the threshold values of the battery parameters e.g. temperature, pressure are stored in the control unit 40);
a pressure sensor configured to determine a current pressure of the one or more battery cells in near real-time; a temperature sensor configured to sense a current temperature of the one or more battery cells in near real-time(sensors 42 are shown schematically which are arranged inside the battery cell housing of the battery and which thus detect the corresponding parameters inside the battery cell housing 32. These parameters can include for example a temperature, a pressure, accelerations (which can be detected for example by means of a force sensor), mechanical stresses or the composition of an electrolyte of the galvanic element, paragraph [0057]);
a logic circuitry operably coupled to the pressure sensor and the temperature sensor, the logic circuitry configured to compare the current temperature and the current pressure of the one or more battery cells to the threshold temperature and the threshold pressure respectively(paragraph [0028]-[0029] the control unit inherently compare the current battery parameters (e.g. temperature and pressure) and trigger interruption of the battery cell),
the logic circuitry operably coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive a signal from the logic circuitry, the signal indicative of the current temperature or the current pressure exceeding the threshold temperature or the threshold pressure respectively, and in response to the signal, ceasing the charging and/or discharging of the one or more battery cells(paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the safety system further comprises one or more MOSFETS(38, fig. 1; paragraph [0018]), the one or more MOSFETS operably coupled to the controller and configured to stop the charging and/or discharging of the one or more battery cells(paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the battery is a power bank, the one or more battery cells comprise a plurality of battery cells, wherein the controller is configured to isolate a single battery cell of the plurality of battery cells of the power bank (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the battery is a standalone battery(the battery 24 is a standalone battery 24, fig. 3), the one or more battery cells comprises a single cell(a cell 26, fig. 3), and the safety system is configured to be encased with a shell of the standalone battery(the safety components e.g. 42, 40 and 38 is encased inside the housing 32, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the housing is in contact with the shell for dissipating heat to the shell ((Information about such thermal stresses which occur in the in the battery cell or in the vicinity and which have an impact on the battery cell can be preferably communicated by means of the control unit (paragraph [0027]), shows that the shell is in contact with the housing and also capable of absorbing and dissipating heat to and from surrounding).
Regarding claim 15, Hinterberger discloses a battery comprising: a safety system for keeping the battery safe, the safety system comprises: a housing(a battery cell housing 32, fig. 3);
a controller encased within the housing(a control unit 40 is provided, which is in the present case arranged within the interior of the battery cell housing 32, paragraph [0055]), the controller configured to cease charging and/or discharging of one or more battery cells(the control unit 40 can be used to ensure that the when the control voltage applied to the switching element 38, an electrically conductive connection is interrupted or established, paragraph [0055]), the controller is configured with a threshold temperature and a threshold pressure for the one or more battery cells(the control unit is provided with an interface by means of which a threshold value of at least one parameter can be changed, paragraph [0034] Note: the threshold values of the battery parameters e.g. temperature, pressure are stored in the control unit 40);
a pressure sensor configured to determine a current pressure of the one or more battery cells in near real-time; a temperature sensor configured to sense a current temperature of the one or more battery cells in near real-time(sensors 42 are shown schematically which are arranged inside the battery cell housing of the battery and which thus detect the corresponding parameters inside the battery cell housing 32. These parameters can include for example a temperature, a pressure, accelerations (which can be detected for example by means of a force sensor), mechanical stresses or the composition of an electrolyte of the galvanic element, paragraph [0057]);
a logic circuitry operably coupled to the pressure sensor and the temperature sensor, the logic circuitry configured to compare the current temperature and the current pressure of the one or more battery cells to the threshold temperature and the threshold pressure respectively(paragraph [0028]-[0029] the control unit inherently compare the current battery parameters (e.g. temperature and pressure) and trigger interruption of the battery cell), the logic circuitry operably coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive a signal from the logic circuitry, the signal indicative of the current temperature or the current pressure exceeding the threshold temperature or the threshold pressure respectively; and in response to the signal, ceasing the charging and/or discharging of the one or more battery cells (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the safety system further comprises one or more MOSFETS(38, fig. 1; paragraph [0018]), the one or more MOSFETS operably coupled to the controller and configured to stop the charging and/or discharging of the one or more battery cells(paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 18, Hinterberger further discloses wherein the battery is a standalone battery(the battery 24 is a standalone battery 24, fig. 3), the one or more battery cells comprises a single cell(a cell 26, fig. 3), and the safety system is configured to be encased with a shell of the standalone battery, the housing is in contact with the shell for dissipating heat to the shell(the safety components e.g. 42, 40 and 38 is encased inside the housing 32, fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinterberger (US 2018/0026312) as applied to claims 1, 8, 15 above, and further in view of Stafl (US 2023/0198276).
Regarding claim 2, Hinterberger discloses the safety system of claim 1. However, Hinterberger does not explicitly disclose a load resistor configured to dissipate energy as heat, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the signal, place the one or more battery cells in a dormant state and slowly cause the one or more battery cells to discharge through the load resistor.
Stafl discloses a load resistor configured to dissipate energy as heat, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the signal, place the one or more battery cells in a dormant state and slowly cause the one or more battery cells to discharge through the load resistor (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hinterberger’s safety system to connect a resistor to the battery cell as taught by Stafl, in order to protect the battery components, manage inrush current, and balance cells, thereby enhancing safety and extending system life.
Regarding claim 9, Hinterberger discloses the method of claim 8. However, Hinterberger is silent over wherein the safety system further comprises: a load resistor configured to dissipate energy as heat, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the signal, place the one or more battery cells in a dormant state and slowly cause the one or more battery cells to discharge through the load resistor.
Stafl discloses a load resistor configured to dissipate energy as heat, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the signal, place the one or more battery cells in a dormant state and slowly cause the one or more battery cells to discharge through the load resistor (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hinterberger’s safety system to connect a resistor to the battery cell as taught by Stafl, in order to protect the battery components, manage inrush current, and balance cells, thereby enhancing safety and extending system life.
Regarding claim 16, Hinterberger discloses the battery of claim 15. However, Hinterberger does not explicitly disclose a load resistor configured to dissipate energy as heat, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the signal, place the one or more battery cells in a dormant state and slowly cause the one or more battery cells to discharge through the load resistor.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hinterberger’s safety system to connect a resistor to the battery cell as taught by Stafl, in order to protect the battery components, manage inrush current, and balance cells, thereby enhancing safety and extending system life.
Claim(s)7, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinterberger (US 2018/0026312) as applied to claim 1, 8, 15 above, and further in view of Iqra et al. (US 2018/0006341), herein after Iqra.
Regarding claim 7, Hinterberger discloses the safety system of claim 1. However, Hinterberger does not explicitly disclose wherein the safety system further comprises a thermally conductive epoxy, the housing is filled with the thermally conductive epoxy.
Iqra discloses the housing is filled with the thermally conductive epoxy (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hinterberger’s safety system to fill the housing with thermally conductive epoxy as taught by Iqra, in order to have high-performance thermal management, efficiently wicking heat away from cells to prevent thermal runaway and, ultimately, prolonging battery lifespan. It provides, superior structural bonding, electrical insulation, and vibration damping while ensuring temperature uniformity across the pack.
Regarding claim 14, Hinterberger discloses the method for the safety system of claim 8. However, Hinterberger does not explicitly disclose wherein the safety system further comprises a thermally conductive epoxy, the housing is filled with the thermally conductive epoxy.
Iqra discloses the housing is filled with the thermally conductive epoxy (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hinterberger’s safety system to fill the housing with thermally conductive epoxy as taught by Iqra, in order to have high-performance thermal management, efficiently wicking heat away from cells to prevent thermal runaway and, ultimately, prolonging battery lifespan. It provides, superior structural bonding, electrical insulation, and vibration damping while ensuring temperature uniformity across the pack.
Regarding claim 19, Hinterberger discloses the battery of claim 15. However, Hinterberger does not explicitly disclose wherein the safety system further comprises a thermally conductive epoxy, the housing is filled with the thermally conductive epoxy.
Iqra discloses the housing is filled with the thermally conductive epoxy (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Hinterberger’s safety system to fill the housing with thermally conductive epoxy as taught by Iqra, in order to have high-performance thermal management, efficiently wicking heat away from cells to prevent thermal runaway and, ultimately, prolonging battery lifespan. It provides, superior structural bonding, electrical insulation, and vibration damping while ensuring temperature uniformity across the pack.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859