DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments as filed 02/03/2026 have been filed. The amendments overcome the 103 rejection as previously set forth in non-final office action filed 11/06/2026. New grounds of rejection are set forth below as necessitated by amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO-2012077878-A1) hereinafter referred to ‘Han’ in view of (KR-101287417-B1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim’ in further view of (KR-101124534-B1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim II’
Regarding Claim 1,
Han teaches an automatic pressing jig apparatus to couple a bus bar and a lead assembly of a battery module to each other (Han, “The present invention relates to a welding apparatus, and more particularly, to a jig for welding a battery electrode, a welding apparatus, and a method.”, pg. 1 par. 1), the automatic pressing jig apparatus comprising: a first presser and a second presser to secure the bus bar to the lead assembly (Han, pressing means, 220 and 230, Fig. 11)
Han does not teach having a first pressing rod and a second pressing rod , respectively; and at least one contactor connected to both the first presser and the second presser and configured to receive a pressing force from the first presser and the second presser to secure the bus bar to the lead assembly.
Kim teaches having a first pressing rod and a second pressing rod (Kim, third transfer block and second transfer block, 620 and 630, Fig. 7) , respectively; and configured to receive a pressing force from the first presser and the second presser (Kim, first transfer block, 610, Fig. 7)
Kim teaches that this arrangement allows for the pressers to be properly spaced from each other and move independently and improve productivity (Kim, “The first presser block 210 can be transferred singly, the second presser block 220 can be transferred together with the first tilting link 310, and the third presser block 230 Can be transported together with the second rotation link 320”, see [0033])(Kim, “The first pressing block, the second pressing block and the third pressing block are arranged in parallel so as to be spaced apart from each other, and are positioned between the first pressing block and the second pressing block and conveyed along the second pressing block A first rotating link configured to be rotatable”, see [0009])(Kim, “he productivity can be improved and the manufacturing cost can be reduced,”, see [0044])
Han and Kim are analogous as they are both of the same field of pressing mechanism for battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressers as taught in Han to have the rods as taught in Kim in order to allow them to move independently, be properly spaced, and improve productivity .
Modified Han does not teach wherein the first pressing rod and the second pressing rod extend in a direction perpendicular from a longitudinal direction of the at least one contactor and at least one contactor connected to both the first presser and the second presser from opposite directions respectively
Kim II teaches wherein the first pressing rod and the second pressing rod extend in a direction perpendicular (Kim II, first and second slide bar, 120a and 120b, see Fig. 1 ) from a longitudinal direction of the at least one contactor and at least one contactor connected to both the first presser and the second presser from opposite directions respectively (see annotated figure below).
Kim II teaches that this arrangement of bars allows for efficient movement of the perpendicular pressers (Kim II, “When the driving means 140 is configured to include the pivotal link 142, the connecting link 144 and the elevating cylinder 146, a pair of pressing ends 124 are simultaneously moved to the one elevating cylinder 146 So that the configuration is simplified and the power consumption can be minimized. Particularly, in the case where a plurality of pressure clamps 124 are provided on the first guide rail 110 and the second guide rail 110 to mount a plurality of the charging clamps 130 as shown in this embodiment, Since the plurality of charging clamps 130 are simultaneously operated by the cylinder 146, it is possible to more effectively charge the plurality of secondary batteries 10 at one time.”, see [0039]).
Modified Han and Kim II are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery jigs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamps of modified Han to have the rods and bar arrangement as taught in Kim II in order to allow for a simplified and more efficient power consumption arrangement.
Regarding Claim 2,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one contactor includes a lead pressing frame having a surface to press an end of the lead assembly at least at one location and to expose another location of the end of the lead assembly (see annotated figure below)
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 2, wherein the lead pressing frame includes at least one horizontal bar that contacts the end of the lead assembly at the one location, and at least one vertical wall that exposes another location of the end of the lead assembly (Han, pressing means, 210, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one contactor presses on the bus bar and the end of the lead assembly from intersecting directions (Han, pressing means, 210, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one contactor includes a lead pressing frame having a surface to press the end of the lead assembly from a first direction and a pressing portion that press on the bus bar from a second direction that intersects the first direction (Han, pressing means, 210, Fig. 7) (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Han teaches wherein the at least one contactor includes a first contacting frame and a second contacting frame coupled by a hinge (see annotated figure below), wherein the first contacting frame includes a first pressing portion (Kim, pressing block, 230, Fig. 7) and a first distance adjusting portion (Kim, elastic member, 420, Fig. 7) , and the second contacting frame includes a second pressing portion (Kim, pressing block, 220, Fig. 7) and a second distance adjusting portion ( Kim, press, 610, Fig. 7)(see spring).and wherein the first pressing portion and the second pressing portion are configured to press on the bus bar from opposite directions (Han, “according to the embodiment of the present invention includes a first pressing unit 210 positioned below the object to be bonded 100 and a second pressing unit 210 located above the object to be bonded 100 And a pair of second pressing means (220, 230)., pg. 4, par. 11 )
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first pressing portion and the second pressing portion have a same length based on the hinge, and wherein the first distance adjusting portion and the second distance adjusting portion have different lengths based on the hinge (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first distance adjusting portion is connected to the first presser, and the second distance adjusting portion is connected to the second presser (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 8, whereinb the first pressing rod (Kim, third transfer block, 630, Fig. 7) connects the first presser(Kim, pressing block, 220, Fig. 7) and the first distance adjusting portion and the second pressing rod (Kim, second transfer block, 620, Fig. 7) to connects the second presser (Kim, pressing block, 220, Fig. 7) and the second distance adjusting portion, wherein the first pressing rod and the second pressing rod are arranged parallel to each other (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one contactor is provided in plural, and wherein among the first distance adjusting portion and the second distance adjusting portion, the first pressing rod is connected to only the first distance adjusting portion and the second pressing rod is connected to only the second distance adjusting portion ( see second annotated figure above)
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one contactor is configured to simultaneously press the bus bar and an end of the lead assembly so that the lead assembly is not bent against the bus bar t(The examiner notes that the welding is done by a laser and is not formed by ‘bending’ as described in the instant application, noting Fig. 1 of the instant application)(see annotated figure below) .
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Han teach the lead assembly and a distance adjuster connected to the support frame and configured to ascend or descend the support frame to move the at least one contactor away from or close to the battery module (Kim, “as shown in FIG. 7, the first conveying block 610, the second conveying block 620, The block 630 is moved so that the tips of the first pressing block 210, the second pressing block 220 and the third pressing block 230 contact”, see [0039]).
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first presser further includes a first pressing actuator, a first support plate connected to the first pressing actuator (Kim II, elevating cylinder 146, Fig. 2), and a first connecting plate connected to the first pressing rod (Kim, pivotal link 142, Fig. 2) , and wherein the second presser further includes a second pressing actuator (Kim II, elevating cylinder, 146, Fig. 2), a second support plate connected to the second pressing actuator, and a second connecting plate connected to the second pressing rod (Kim, pivotal link, 142, Fig. 2)(see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first pressing actuator is fixed to one side of the first support plate to move together with the first support plate, and the first pressing actuator includes a first pressing cylinder and a first pressing piston inserted into the first pressing cylinder and is movable in a direction towards or away from the at least one contactor, and wherein the second pressing actuator is fixed to one side of the second support plate to move together with the second support plate, and the second pressing actuator includes a second pressing cylinder and a second pressing piston inserted into the second pressing cylinder and is movable in a direction towards or away from the at least one contactor (Kim II, “Therefore, the driving unit 140 can move the first slide bar 120a and the second slide bar 120b at the same time so that any one point between the one end and the other end is moved to the guide rail 110 A first slide bar 120a and a second slide bar 120b which are connected to one side of the pivotal link 142 coupled to the guide rail 110 And a second slide bar 120b hinged to the other of the pivotal links 142 on the other side (the right side in FIG. 3) of the point where the pivotal link 142 is coupled to the guide rail 110, 2 connecting link 144b and an elevating cylinder 146 that rotates the rotating link 142 by raising and lowering one side of the rotating link 142 (left side in FIG. 3). 3, when the piston of the lifting cylinder 146 is drawn upward, the pivoting link 142 is rotated in the clockwise direction”, see [0038]).
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 13, wherein one end of the first connecting plate (Kim II, pivotal link, 142, Fig. 2) is connected to the first pressing rod (Kim, first slide bar, 120a, Fig. 2) and another end of the first connecting plate is connected to the at least one contactor(see first annotated figure below), wherein one end of the second connecting plate is connected to the second pressing rod and another end of the second connecting plate is connected to the at least one contactor, and wherein the first connecting plate and the second connecting plate are arranged parallel to each other(see second annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first pressing rod includes a pair of first rods, and the second pressing rod includes a pair of second rods, wherein the pair of first rods are parallel to each other, and are located on opposite ends of the at least one contactor, and wherein the pair of second rods are parallel to each other, and are located on opposite ends of the at least one contactor (see annotated figures above and below).
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Han teaches the automatic pressing jig apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first distance adjusting portion has an end distal from the hinge that extends parallel to the hinge (Kim, elastic member, 420, Fig. 7), and wherein the second distance adjusting portion has an end distal from the hinge that extends perpendicularly to the hinge ( Kim, press, 610, Fig. 7)(see spring).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11588211 B2 in view of (KR-101124534-B1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim II’
Regarding Claim 1,
The examiner notes that the claim language of claim 1 of US 11588211 B2 states, “An automatic pressing jig apparatus that closely contacts a lead assembly and a bus bar provided in a battery module to each other, the automatic pressing jig apparatus comprising: a plurality of contactors configured to simultaneously press each of a plurality of bus bars provided in the battery module”, which is almost identical to claim language of claim 1 which describes a automatic pressing jig apparatus comprising two pressers (which the examiner notes is the same as plurality). Both inventions also describe the bars being used to press a bus bar, and are depicted with identical figures.
US 11588211 B2 does not teach wherein the first pressing rod and the second pressing rod extend in a direction perpendicular from a longitudinal direction of the at least one contactor.
Kim II teaches wherein the first pressing rod and the second pressing rod extend in a direction perpendicular (Kim II, first and second slide bar, 120a and 120b, see Fig. 1 ) from a longitudinal direction of the at least one contactor and at least one contactor connected to both the first presser and the second presser from opposite directions respectively (see annotated figure below).
Kim II teaches that this arrangement of bars allows for efficient movement of the perpendicular pressers (Kim II, “When the driving means 140 is configured to include the pivotal link 142, the connecting link 144 and the elevating cylinder 146, a pair of pressing ends 124 are simultaneously moved to the one elevating cylinder 146 So that the configuration is simplified and the power consumption can be minimized. Particularly, in the case where a plurality of pressure clamps 124 are provided on the first guide rail 110 and the second guide rail 110 to mount a plurality of the charging clamps 130 as shown in this embodiment, Since the plurality of charging clamps 130 are simultaneously operated by the cylinder 146, it is possible to more effectively charge the plurality of secondary batteries 10 at one time.”, see [0039]).
Modified Han and Kim II are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery jigs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamps of modified Han to have the rods and bar arrangement as taught in Kim II in order to allow for a simplified and more efficient power consumption arrangement.
Regarding Claim 12,
The examiner notes that the claim language of claim 1 of US 11588211 B2 states, “a distance adjuster connected to the support frame and configured to ascend or descend”, which is almost identical to claim language of claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 2, the applicant argues:
“In the Office Action, Han and Kim are applied, but as discussed during the interview, Han and Kim fail to disclose or suggest that the first pressing rod and the second pressing rod extend in a direction perpendicular from a longitudinal direction of the at least one contactor.”
The examiner finds this persuasive, but through further search and consideration has found (KR-101124534-B1) hereinafter referred to as Kim II. The new claim limitations and new added claims are rejected under Kim II. Therefore, a new grounds of rejection is set forth and the double patenting rejection remains in place. The foreign references, as outlined in the IDS, were found as indicated in parent application 16/768018.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752