DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komaba et al. (US 20170040612 A1), hereinafter Komaba.
Regarding claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, and 13, Komaba teaches a rechargeable lithium battery, in this case a lithium cell [0007] capable of repeated charge-discharge cycles [0008], comprising:
A positive electrode [0160];
An electrolyte [0160]; and
a negative electrode [0160], the negative electrode comprising:
a silicon-based negative active material [0007, 0139]; and
a binder [0007, 0122],
wherein the binder is an acryl-based copolymer [0122], and the acryl-based copolymer comprises an acrylic acid first monomer [0122], an acrylonitrile second monomer, in this case the compound of general formula (III) [0059], and a (meth)acrylate third monomer, in this case the compound of general formula (I) [0045],
the acrylic acid first monomer comprises an acrylic acid (AA) substituted with a lithium ion, in this case lithium is known to be highly reactive with acrylic acid and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the acrylic acid to inherently include substituted lithium during repeated charging and discharging, and
the (meth)acrylate third monomer comprises an ethylene glycol group and has a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) less than about 900 g/mol, in this case polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether methacrylate [0045], as also required by claims 6 and 13, which is considered to be equivalent to the 2.5 g, or 5.4 mmol, of methacrylate methoxypolyethylene glycol used in synthesis Example 3 [0165] that can be calculated to have a weight-average molecular weight of 462.96 g/mol, which also lies within the claimed range of 300 g/mol to 600 g/mol of claims 2 and 9. "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8, wherein the binder is a first binder, and the negative electrode further comprises a second binder, in this case a binder excluding the polymer pertaining to the invention of Komaba, wherein the second binder is an aqueous binder selected from among styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) and acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber (ABR) [0148].
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8, further comprising a carbon-based negative active material [0139].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaba.
Regarding claim 5 and 12, Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8. Komaba is silent as to an amount of the (meth)acrylate third monomer being about 5 wt% to about 30 wt% based on the total weight, 100 wt%, of the acrylic acid first monomer, the acrylonitrile second monomer, and the (meth)acrylate third monomer.
However, Komaba teaches the compound shown by the general formula (I) being present in an amount of 10 to 1 weight parts based on the total weight of the acrylic acid first monomer, the acrylonitrile second monomer, and the (meth)acrylate third monomer [0133]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaba in view of Cho et al. (US 20210305658 A1), hereinafter Cho.
Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8. Komaba is silent as to the acrylic acid first monomer comprising an acrylic acid substituted with a lithium ion at a substitution degree of about 40 mol% to about 80 mol%. However, Cho teaches a binder that may be used in the negative electrode [0094] comprising polyacrylonitrile and polymethylmethacrylate [0045] in addition to a polyacrylic acid with a mole ratio of acrylic repeating units substituted with lithium ions of 0.3 to 0.8 [0043]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Komaba and Cho are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of acrylic polymer binders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copolymer of Komaba to include the lithium substituted acrylic acid of Cho as the first monomer. Doing so would have provided a binder with a reduced heat shrinkage rate and increased adhesion force, producing a lithium battery with enhanced thermal stability and suppressed deterioration in the charging and discharging process [0042].
Claims 4, 11, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaba in view of Yoon et al. (US 20180114988 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8. Komaba is silent as to a weight ratio of the acrylic acid first monomer, the acrylonitrile second monomer, and the (meth)acrylate third monomer being about 60 to 25:40:5 to 35 by weight. However, Yoon teaches an acrylic binder comprising at least 30% by weight of an acrylic monomer, like acrylic acid [0019], 30 to 100 parts by weight of a polymerizable monomer having a polar functional group [0030], like acrylonitrile [0029], and 5 to 30 parts by weight of an alkyl (meth)acrylate [0039]. This is equivalent to a ratio o 30 to 100:30 to 100:5 to 30. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Komaba and Yoon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of acrylic polymer binders. Examiner acknowledges that Yoon teaches the binder as being included in the cathode layer and is silent as to any interaction with the anode layer. However, Komaba teaches this particular composition as being compatible with the preparation of both positive electrodes and negative electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight ratio of the three monomers of Komaba to match those taught by Yoon. Doing so would have provided a binder with excellent dispersion characteristics [0098], as well as prevented dissolution of the electrode active material and ensured excellent cycle characteristics [0097].
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8. Komaba further teaches the electrode composition containing preferably 1 to 10% by weight of the first binder [0147]. Komaba is silent as to a mixing ratio of the first binder and the second binder being about 70:30 to about 40:60 by weight. However, Yoon teaches an electrode composition containing 0.01 to 10 parts by weight of a similar acrylic binder [0052] and 0 to 20 parts by weight of a second non-acrylic binder [0062], such as styrene-butadiene rubber or acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber [0061], relative to 100 parts by weight of the solid content of the composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mixing ratio of the first and second binders of Komaba with the weight contents taught by Yoon. Doing so would have imparted further resistance to dissolution for the electrolyte [0060] and secured desirable binding properties and dispersion characteristics [0052].
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaba in view of Son et al. (US 20140272574 A1), hereinafter Son.
Komaba teaches the negative electrode of claim 1 and the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 8. Komaba also teaches the negative electrode further comprising a carbon-based negative active material, as discussed regarding claims 17 and 20 above. Komaba is silent as to the silicon-based negative active material comprising silicon and carbon. However, Son teaches a similar negative electrode composition comprising both a non-carbon based negative active material, like silicon [0072, 0076], and a carbon-based negative active material that are present tangentially, for instance as two separate active materials, or as an equivalent composite, for instance in a single silicon-based negative active material [0078].
Komaba and Son are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrodes comprising silicon and carbon active materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active material composition of Komaba to include the silicon carbon composite of Son. The selection of a known material, in this case a silicon carbon composite, based on its suitability for its intended use, in this case as a silicon-based negative active material, supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-12, and 18-20 of copending Application No. 18/504,987. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant claims 1 and 7 combine to be identical to claim 1 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 2 is identical to claim 8 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 3 is identical to claim 9 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 4 is identical to claim 10 of 18/504,987 and overlaps with claim 12 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 6 is identical to claim 11 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 8 is identical to claim 20 of 18/504,987.
Instant claims 15 and 16 are identical to claims 18 and 19 of 18/504,987 with swapped dependency.
Further, after combining claims 1 and 20 of 18/504,987:
Instant claims 1, 8, and 14 combine to be identical to the prior specified combination.
Instant claim 9 is also identical to claim 8 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 10 is also identical to claim 9 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 11 is also identical to claim 10 and overlaps with claim 12 of 18/504,987.
Instant claim 13 is also identical to claim 11 of 18/504,987.
Instant claims 18 and 19 are identical to claims 18 and 19 of 18/504,987 with swapped dependency.
All other instant claims depend from claim 1 and are, therefore, also rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN VAN KIRK/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722