DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyano (US 2004/0125469).
Regarding claim 1, Miyano (figure 4) discloses a compound lens comprising:
four coaxially aligned lenses including a first lens and, in order of increasing distance therefrom, and on a same side thereof, a second lens, a third lens, and a fourth lens L1-L4);
the first lens and the third lens being negative lenses (L1 and L3; see at least paragraphs 0023 and 0064);
the second lens and the fourth lens being positive lenses (L2 and L4; see at least paragraphs 0060 and 0068);
an image-side surface of the second lens and an object-side surface of the third lens having respective radii of curvature of equal magnitude (L2 and L3);
the first lens and the second lens being consecutive (L1 and L2).
Regarding claim 2, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the image-side surface being conformal to the object-side surface (L2 and L3).
Regarding claim 3, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the image-side surface adjoining the object- side surface (L2 and L3; see at least paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 5, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the image-side surface and the object-side surface being convex and concave, respectively, at the optical axis of the four coaxially aligned lenses.
Regarding claim 6, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the first lens having a planar object-side surface (L1).
Regarding claim 7, Miyano (figure 4) discloses a first biplanar substrate, the planar object-side surface on the image-side surface of the first biplanar substrate (cover glass 3); a thickness of the first biplanar substrate being between 0.1 millimeters and 0.6 millimeters (0.2; table 4).
Regarding claim 8, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the first lens, second lens, third lens, and fourth lens collectively having an effective focal length f.sub.eff such that the image is formed at an image plane located a distance T from an object-side surface of the first biplanar substrate, and the ratio T/f.sub.eff satisfying 3.4<T/f.sub.eff<8.4 (10.665/1.742 = 6.1223; tables 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the third lens having a planar image-side surface (L3).
Regarding claim 15, Miyano (figure 4) discloses the first lens. second lens. third lens. and fourth lens collectively having a positive effective focal length (1.742; see at least table 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyano (US 2004/0125469) in view of Yun et al. (US 2013/0235464).
Regarding claim 4, Miyano discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Miyano is silent regarding an adhesive layer between, and conformal to, each of the image-side surface and the object-side surface. Yun et al. (figure 2) teaches an adhesive layer between, and conformal to, each of the image-side surface and the object-side surface (see at least paragraph 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yun et al. in order to achieve a projection lens having improved properties such as a high throughput, a large field of view.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyano (US 2004/0125469).
Regarding claim 11, Miyano discloses the claimed invention except for the ratio f2/feff satisfying 0.7 < f2/feff < 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first lens, second lens, third lens, and fourth lens collectively having an effective focal length feff such that an image is formed at an image plane; the second lens having a focal length f2, the ratio f2/feff satisfying 0.7 < f2/feff < 2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 12, Miyano discloses the claimed invention except for the first lens and the fourth lens having respective focal lengths f1 and f4, the ratio f1/f4 satisfying -0.7 < fl/f4 < -0.4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have -0.7 < fl/f4 < -0.4, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Miyano discloses the claimed invention except for a difference between respective Abbe numbers of the second lens and the third lens being greater than or equal to twenty. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between respective Abbe numbers of the second lens and the third lens being greater than or equal to twenty, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 14, Miyano discloses the claimed invention except for the second lens and the third lens have respective refractive indices n2 and n3 that have respective temperature dependences An2/AT and An3/AT, the ratio (An2/AT)/(An3/AT) satisfying 0.3 < (An2/AT)/(An3/AT) < 1.2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.3 < (An2/AT)/(An3/AT) < 1.2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871