DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Yeh does not disclose the limitation as presented in claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yeh (figure 1) discloses a compound lens as claimed including the first lens, second lens, third lens, and fourth lens collectively having an effective focal length f.sub.eff such that an image is formed at an image plane In fact, Yeh discloses that the wide-angle lens assembly 1 includes a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, an aperture stop ST, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a glass EG and an image plan IP, all of which are arranged in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis OA (see at least paragraph 0034). The applicant should note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claimed invention does not exclude the compound lens from having more than 4 lenses.
The applicant further argues that Yeh does not disclose the limitations as presented in claims 11-14. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yeh is silent regarding the second lens having a focal length f.sub.2, the ratio f.sub.2/f.sub.eff satisfying 0.7<f.sub.2/f.sub.eff<2. Yeh (figure 1) teaches the second lens having a focal length f.sub.2, the ratio f.sub.2/f.sub.eff satisfying 0.7<f.sub.2/f.sub.eff<2 ((R8/2) / 1.641 = 0.92; table 1; L4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yeh in order to achieve a wide-angle lens assembly having a wide-angle usage with miniaturization, less amounts of lens and better imaging quality.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh (US 2017/0052349).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh (figure 1) discloses a compound lens comprising:
four coaxially aligned lenses including a first lens (L1 or L2,) and, in order of increasing distance therefrom and on a same side thereof, a second lens (L4), a third lens (L5), and a fourth lens (L6);
the first lens and the third lens being negative lenses (L1 or L2 and L5; see at least paragraph 0017);
the second lens and the fourth lens being positive lenses (L4 and L6; see at least paragraph 0018);
an image-side surface of the second lens and an object-side surface of the third lens having respective radii of curvature of equal magnitude (R9; see at least paragraph 0034);
the first lens, second lens, third lens, and fourth lens collectively having an effective focal length f.sub.eff such that an image is formed at an image plane (IP; see at least paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh (figure 1) discloses the image-side surface being conformal to the object-side surface (R9; see at least paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh (figure 1) discloses the image-side surface adjoining the object-side surface (R9; see at least paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh (figure 1) discloses the image-side surface and the object-side surface being convex and concave, respectively, at the optical axis of the four coaxially aligned lenses (R9 and 0-A; see at least paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 15, Yeh (figure 1) discloses the effective focal length feff being a positive (1.641 mm; see at least table 1).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Do et al. (US 2015/0062722).
Regarding claim 16, Do et al. (figure 1) discloses a compound lens comprising: four coaxially aligned lenses including a first lens and, in order of increasing distance therefrom, and on a same side thereof, a second lens, a third lens, and a fourth lens (L2-L5);
the first lens and the third lens being negative lenses (he second element L.sub.2 is a meniscus lens element having a negative focal power and protruding toward the object plane, the third element L.sub.3 is a meniscus lens element having a positive focal power and protruding toward the image plane, the fourth element L.sub.4 is a meniscus lens element having a negative focal power and protruding toward the object plane, and the fifth element L.sub.5 is a lens element having a positive focal power; see at least abstract);
the second lens and the fourth lens being positive lenses (he second element L.sub.2 is a meniscus lens element having a negative focal power and protruding toward the object plane, the third element L.sub.3 is a meniscus lens element having a positive focal power and protruding toward the image plane, the fourth element L.sub.4 is a meniscus lens element having a negative focal power and protruding toward the object plane, and the fifth element L.sub.5 is a lens element having a positive focal power; see at least abstract);
an image-side surface of the second lens and an object-side surface of the third lens having respective radii of curvature of equal magnitude (R9); and
the first lens and the second lens being consecutive (L2 and L3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 2017/0052349) in view of Yun et al. (US 2013/0235464).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding an adhesive layer between, and conformal to, each of the image-side surface and the object-side surface. Yun et al. (figure 2) teaches an adhesive layer between, and conformal to, each of the image-side surface and the object-side surface (see at least paragraph 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yun et al. in order to achieve a projection lens having improved properties such as a high throughput, a large field of view.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 2017/0052349).
Regarding claim 11, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 10 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding the second lens having a focal length f.sub.2, the ratio f.sub.2/f.sub.eff satisfying 0.7<f.sub.2/f.sub.eff<2. Yeh (figure 1) teaches the second lens having a focal length f.sub.2, the ratio f.sub.2/f.sub.eff satisfying 0.7<f.sub.2/f.sub.eff<2 ((R8/2) / 1.641 = 0.92; table 1; L4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yeh in order to achieve a wide-angle lens assembly having a wide-angle usage with miniaturization, less amounts of lens and better imaging quality.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding the first lens and the fourth lens having respective focal lengths f.sub.1 and f.sub.4, the ratio f.sub.1/f.sub.4 satisfying −0.7<f.sub.1/f.sub.4<−0.4. Yeh (figure 1) teaches the first lens and the fourth lens having respective focal lengths f.sub.1 and f.sub.4, the ratio f.sub.1/f.sub.4 satisfying −0.7<f.sub.1/f.sub.4<−0.4 ((R2/2)/(R12/2) = -0.41; table 1; L1 or L2 and L6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yeh in order to achieve a wide-angle lens assembly having a wide-angle usage with miniaturization, less amounts of lens and better imaging quality.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 13, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding a difference between respective Abbe numbers of the second lens and the third lens being greater than or equal to twenty. Yeh (figure 1) teaches a difference between respective Abbe numbers of the second lens and the third lens being greater than or equal to twenty (68.62 - 24 = 44.62; table 1; L4 and L5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yeh in order to achieve a wide-angle lens assembly having a wide-angle usage with miniaturization, less amounts of lens and better imaging quality.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding the ratio. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second lens and the third lens have respective refractive indices n.sub.2 and n.sub.3 that have respective temperature dependences Δn.sub.2/ΔT and Δn.sub.3/ΔT, the ratio (Δn.sub.2/ΔT)/(Δn.sub.3/ΔT) satisfying 0.3<(Δn.sub.2/ΔT)/(Δn.sub.3/ΔT)<1.2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 2017/0052349) in view of Yin et al. (US 2016/0004049).
Regarding claim 6, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding the first lens having a planar object-side surface. Yin et al. (figure 2) teaches the first lens having a planar object-side surface (220(1) and 230(2)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yin et al. in order to achieve additional degrees of freedom for optimizing performance of the lens system.
Regarding claim 7, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding a first biplanar substrate, the planar object-side surface on the image-side surface of the first biplanar substrate; a thickness of the first biplanar substrate being between 0.1 millimeters and 0.6 millimeters. Yin et al. (figure 2) teaches a first biplanar substrate, the planar object-side surface on the image-side surface of the first biplanar substrate; a thickness of the first biplanar substrate being between 0.1 millimeters and 0.6 millimeters (0.3 mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yin et al. in order to achieve additional degrees of freedom for optimizing performance of the lens system.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding the ratio. Yeh (figure 1) as modified by Yin et al. teaches the first lens, second lens, third lens, and fourth lens collectively having an effective focal length f.sub.eff such that the image is formed at an image plane located a distance T from an object-side surface of the first biplanar substrate, and the ratio T/f.sub.eff satisfying 3.4<T/f.sub.eff<8.4 (18.5/1.64 = 10.98). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yeh in order to achieve a projection lens having improved properties such as a high throughput, a large field of view. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio T/f.sub.eff satisfying 3.4<T/f.sub.eff<8.4, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Yeh discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yeh is silent regarding the third lens having a planar image-side surface. Yin et al. (figure 2) teaches the third lens having a planar image-side surface (250(3) and 230(5)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lenses as taught by Yin et al. in order to achieve additional degrees of freedom for optimizing performance of the lens system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871