DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/09/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 20 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/09/2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “1. (Currently Amended) A first node for wireless communications, comprising: a first receiver configured to receive a first signaling, the first signaling being used to configure a first bearer and a second bearer, both the first bearer and the second bearer being associated with a first cell group that is a Master Cell Group (MCG); the first receiver being further configured to detect a target bearer failure; and a first processor configured to execute, as a response to detection of the target bearer failure, a first operation set, the first operation set being related to whether the target bearer is the first bearer or the second bearer; wherein: the second bearer is associated with a first relay, and the first relay is a Layer-2 UE to Network (L2 U2N) relay User Equipment (UE);when the target bearer is the first bearer, the first operation set comprises at least a former of transmitting [[an]]a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message and receiving an RRC message, and the first operation set comprises at least one of cell selection or relay selection; when the target bearer is the second bearer, the first operation set comprises transmitting first information used to indicate the target bearer failure, wherein the first information is transmitted to a network via the first bearer and is associated with an existing RRC connection established on the first bearer..”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See HAN et al. (US 20200178145 A1; hereinafter as “HAN8145”).
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Foreign Application No. CN202210078084.5 (filed on 01/24/2022), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. See MPEP § 211.05(I)(A).
In particular, the examiner fails to find support for “
when the target bearer is the second bearer, the first operation set comprises transmitting first information used to indicate the target bearer failure,
wherein the first information is transmitted to a network via the first bearer and is associated with an existing RRC connection established on the first bearer..”
as required by independent claims 1, 20 . The examiner couldn’t verify these claims limitation in Foreign Application No. CN202210078084.5 (filed on 01/24/2022) because it is not in English language. The applicant must submit English language of Foreign Application No. CN202210078084.5
“The foreign priority filing date must antedate the reference and be perfected. The filing date of the priority document is not perfected unless applicant has filed a certified priority document in the application (and an English language translation, if the document is not in English”) (see 37 CFR 1.55(g))”. The applicant must show that the Applicant has all the support for the claim languages in all the prior documents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 20240373321 A1; hereinafter as “CHEN”; which has a priority date December 17, 2021) in view of ZHENG et al. (US 20240314669 A1; hereinafter as “ZHENG”, which has priority date, December 1, 2021) and further HAN et al. (US 20200178145 A1; hereinafter as “HAN8145”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to CHEN unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 1, CHEN teaches,
A first node (==wireless communication terminal or Remote UE ) for wireless communications (see fig. 2a where Remote UE is in direct connection with gNB and remote UE in indirection connection with gNG via Relay UE in wireless communication : [0219], also Fig. 5; remote UE ), comprising:
a first receiver (==Fig. 5 element 320: communication Unit : [0271]) configured to receive a first signaling (==a multi-path configuration), the first signaling being used to configure a first bearer (==direct path ) and a second bearer (==in direct path), both the first bearer and the second bearer being associated with a first cell group that is a Master Cell Group (MCG) group (=eNB) (see fig. 7 “: receiving, by a wireless communication terminal (==Remote UE ) from a wireless communication node (==gNB), a multi-path configuration for at least one of an indirect path (==second bearer ) or a direct path (==first bearer ) of the wireless communication terminal” to communicate with gNB in Fig. 2a: [0282]; both direct path/primary path and indirect path/secondary path are part of a cell group with cell group identification number: [0027]-[0029]; Cell group is Master Cell Group MCG: [0169]);
the first receiver being further configured to detect target bearer failure (aforesaid remote UE detects a Radio Link Failure (RFL) on direct path “When the UE performs a multi-path transmission through the direct and indirect paths, the remote UE may detect an RLF (Radio Link Failure) on the direct path”: [0256]); and
a first processor (see fig. 5: processor in Remote UE : [0271]-[0275]) configured to execute, as a response to detection of the target bearer failure, a first operation set, the first operation set related to whether the target bearer is the first bearer or the second bearer (see fig. 7: aforesaid Remote UE has a data transmission to gNB via Direct path or indirect path according to multi-path configuration : [0282]; “ the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication comprises at least one of: a Uu link failure (==remote UE to gNB direction connection ), a PC5 link failure (==Remote UE to Relay UE connection ), a wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link failure, or a failure cause”: [0080]; “ In an embodiment, the direct path RLF indication or indirect path RLF indication may include at least one of the following: information of Uu link failure, information of PC5 link failure, information of UE to UE link failure, or failure cause. If the UE is configured with more than one direct path or indirect path, the direct path RLF indication or indirect path RLF indication may further include the relay UE identifier corresponding to the PC5 link or UE to UE link, the MCG identifier, SCG identifier, cell identifier, or DU identifier corresponding to the Uu link.”: [0257]; aforesaid remote UE had RLF indication via DIRECT Path or via In DIrect PATH; if one of them fail, it uses other one to communicate with eNG: [0076-[0081]);
wherein, the second bearer (==indirect path ) is associated with a first relay (==Relay UE in Fig. 2a) (Remote UE connects to Relay UE and Relay UE connect to gNB in Fig. 2a; so Remote UE connects to gNB via Relay UE in indirect path :{ 0165] ), and
the first relay (==Relay UE in Fig. 2a) is a Layer-2 UE to Network (L2 U2N) relay User Equipment (UE) (aforesaid Relay UE is L2 U2N Relay : [0171]-[0172]; Relay UE is L2 U2N Relay: [0208]; [00259]-[0260]);
when the target bearer is the first bearer (==direct path ), the first operation set comprises at least a former of transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message and receiving an RRC message ( aforesaid “ multi-path communication, the base station can send a multi-path activation or deactivation indication to the UE through RRC signaling”: [0217] ; “ After receiving the multi-path configuration, the remote UE performs a random access procedure on the Uu path according to the multi-path configuration. The remote UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the base station, and then, the remote UE can transmit and receive a part of the data flow through the Uu interface according to the multi-path configuration.”: [0229]).
While CHEN teaches, Remote UE selects either direct path or indirect path via Relay UE to communicate with gNB in Fig. 2a ([0261]-[0262]) ;
CHEN does not expressively disclose:
the first operation set comprises at least one of cell selection or relay selection;
when the target bearer is the second bearer, the first operation set comprises transmitting first information used to indicate the target bearer failure, wherein the first information is transmitted to a network via the first bearer and is associated with an existing RRC connection established on the first bearer.
ZHENG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the first operation set comprises at least one of cell selection or relay selection (see fig. 2 where Remote UE connect to Base Station directly, DIRECT PATH or via RELAY UE, INDIRECT PATH: see fig. 1d-1e, “ the remote UE performs a first operation or a second operation for at least one of a direct path and an indirect path”: [0034]; NOTE: Remote UE select either eNB/Cell directly or select a RELEAY UE to connect to Base Statom: “the first operation includes an establishment operation, a reestablishment operation, or a first recovery operation. To be specific, when the remote UE needs to establish both a direct path and an indirect path, or when at least one of a direct path and/or an indirect path supported by the remote UE fails or encounters another problem and needs to be recovered or reestablished, the remote UE may establish, reestablish, or recover the direct path and/or the indirect path by triggering an RRC process to perform the establishment operation, the reestablishment operation, or the first recovery operation. In this way, the remote UE can implement path reestablishment and recovery in multi-path transmission while supporting the multi-path transmission. In addition, because the remote UE supports the multi-path transmission, even if one of a plurality of paths supported by the remote UE fails, transmission can still be performed through another path without a failure, to ensure RRC robustness of the remote UE.”: [0035] ; “ a direct path of remote UE includes a master cell group (MCG) path and a secondary cell group (SCG) path. To be specific, the direct path of the remote UE shown in FIG. 1d is in dual connectivity.”: [0029]);
when the target bearer is the second bearer (==indirection connection), the first operation set comprises transmitting first information used to indicate the target bearer failure ( “. In this way, the remote UE can implement path reestablishment and recovery in multi-path transmission while supporting the multi-path transmission. In addition, because the remote UE supports the multi-path transmission, even if one of a plurality of paths supported by the remote UE fails, transmission can still be performed through another path without a failure, to ensure RRC robustness of the remote UE.”: [0035]; see fig. 4: aforesaid Remote UE determin “first information “ to determine resource for DIRECT PATH or INDIRECT Failure reasons : 0105-[0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of CHEN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide quick recovery for a remote UE to communicate with network device or eNB : (ZHENG; [01119]-[0122]).
The combination of CHEN and ZHENG does not expressively disclose:
wherein the first information is transmitted to a network via the first bearer and is associated with an existing RRC connection established on the first bearer.
HAN8145, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the first information is transmitted to a network via the first bearer and is associated with an existing RRC connection established on the first bearer (Terminal device/UE fails to establish second bearer with the target base station, aforesaid target device/UE sends first RRC response message to the target base station using first bearer with reason why a second bearer fails to be established : [0124]-[0125]: NOTE: examiner interpreted “first RRC response message as “an existing RRC Connection” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of CHEN in view of ZHENG to include the above recited limitations as taught by HAN8145. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide a reason for not establishing second bearer connection with target base station including QoS flow improving communication efficiency (HAN8145; [0124]-[0125]]).
Regarding claim 2, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches,
The first node according to claim 1, wherein Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) of the first node is only associated with the first bearer in the first bearer and the second bearer (“ Preferably, the multi-path configuration comprises a path indication (corresponding to a Signaling Radio Bearer, SRB, or a Data Radio Bearer, DRB, of a remote wireless communication terminal), the path indication comprises at least one of: [0024] an identifier of SRB or DRB; [0025] a path indication corresponding to at least one of the indirect path or the direct path, a primary path indication, a secondary path indication, [0026] a path identifier, [0027] a cell group identifier corresponding to a direct path, a primary path or a secondary path,”: [0023]-[0029]; “ when the path indication corresponds to a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) of a remote UE, the path indication includes at least one of: [0191] an identifier of SRB or DRB; [0192] a path indication corresponding to at least one of the indirect path or the direct path, a primary path indication, a secondary path indication, [0193] a path identifier”: [0190]).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches,
The first node according to claim 1, wherein Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1)of the first node is associated with the first bearer and the second bearer at the same time. (“when the path indication corresponds to a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) of a remote UE, the path indication includes at least one of: [0191] an identifier of SRB or DRB; [0192] a path indication corresponding to at least one of the indirect path or the direct path, a primary path indication, a secondary path indication, [0193] a path identifier”: [0190]; “ direct connection of the Uu interface and the indirect path through the relay UE at the same time.”: [0161]).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHENG teaches,
The first node according to claim 1, wherein the first operation set comprises: releasing the second bearer, suspending Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) associated with the target bearer, executing any of cell selection and relay selection, and transmitting an RRC re-establishment request message; and the target bearer is the first bearer (reestablished connection : [0035]-[0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of CHEN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide quick recovery for a remote UE to communicate with network device or eNB : (ZHENG; [01119]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 2, wherein the first operation set comprises: releasing the second bearer, suspending SRB 1 associated with the target bearer,transmitting an RRC re-establishment request message; and the target bearer is the first bearer (“ The remote UE accesses both of the relay UE and the gNB initially, and subsequently releases the relay UE.”:[0230]; “ When the remote UE moves to the edge of the cell, the base station may configure the remote UE to only transmit and receive data through the relay UE according to the measurement result. Similar to the embodiments for the initial state (3) described above, the gNB can send the multi-path configuration update information to the remote UE, including a Uu path setup, modification, or release. The multi-path configuration update information can also include a PC5 path setup, modification, or release. In an embodiment, the base station can send related configurations through RRC signaling for the establishment, update and release of the multi-path connection.”: [0235]).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches,
The first node according to claim 1, wherein the first operation set comprises: wherein the first operation set comprises: executing at least one operation in a second operation set only for a former of the first bearer and the second bearer; the second operation set comprising suspending, re-establishing, and releasing; and the target bearer is the first bearer (“ After receiving the multi-path configuration, the remote UE performs a random access procedure on the Uu path according to the multi-path configuration. The remote UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the base station, and then, the remote UE can transmit and receive a part of the data flow through the Uu interface according to the multi-path configuration.
[0230] (3) The remote UE accesses both of the relay UE and the gNB initially, and subsequently releases the relay UE.
[0231] In this case, the remote UE initially performs the multi-path transmission for the control plane and user plane data through the relay UE and the gNB. Later, because the remote UE moves to the cell center, SL resources are congested, or because the remote UE no longer has requirements for high data transmission reliability and transmission rate, the gNB configures the remote UE to only transmit data through the direct path. In an embodiment, the remote UE sends (forwarded by the relay UE) the Uu measurement information (such as a cell ID and a Uu RSRP measurement result) of the gNB and/or the PC5 measurement result of the relay UE to the gNB. In an embodiment, the remote UE can send a multi-path configuration request to the gNB (e.g., via the Uu path), or the remote UE sends an uplink congestion mediation indication to the gNB, to trigger the gNB to send a multi-path configuration update to the remote UE. In an embodiment, the gNB may receive the PDU session update information for the remote UE from the AMF. If a QoS flow requiring high PER is released, it will also trigger the gNB to send a multi-path configuration update to the remote UE.”: [0229]-[0231]) .
Regarding claim 7, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches,
The first node according to claim 5, wherein the first operation set comprises: executing at least one operation in a second operation set only for a former of the first bearer and the second bearer; the second operation set comprises suspending, re- establishing, and releasing; and the target bearer is the first bearer (”After receiving the multi-path configuration, the remote UE sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message on the PC5 path according to the multi-path configuration to the gNB. After that, the remote UE can transmit and receive data through the PC5 interface according to the multi-path configuration.
[0234] (4) The remote UE accesses both of the relay UE and the gNB at the same time, and subsequently releases the gNB.”: [0233]-[-234] .
Regarding claim 8, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 1, wherein whether the first operation set comprises initiating a random access is related to whether the target bearer is the first bearer or the second bearer; when the target bearer is the first bearer, the first operation set comprises initiating a random access procedure; and when the target bearer is the second bearer, the first operation set does not comprise initiating a random access procedure. (“ Preferably, the multi-path configuration comprises at least one of: [0040] information for setting up, modifying, or releasing the direct or indirect path, [0041] information of conflict-free random access resources corresponding to 4-step or 2-step random access type of the wireless communication terminal in the direct path, [0042] a Uu RB configuration, [0043] a PC5 Radio link Control, RLC, channel configuration, [0044] a Uu RLC channel or logical channel configuration, [0045] a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the PC5 RLC channel, or [0046] a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the Uu RLC channel.”: [0039]; [0175], [0229]).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, the first node according to claim 5, wherein whether the first operation set comprises initiating a random access is related to whether the target bearer is the first bearer or the second bearer; when the target bearer is the first bearer, the first operation set comprises initiating a random access procedure; and when the target bearer is the second bearer, the first operation set does not comprise initiating a random access procedure. (“ Preferably, the multi-path configuration comprises at least one of: [0040] information for setting up, modifying, or releasing the direct or indirect path, [0041] information of conflict-free random access resources corresponding to 4-step or 2-step random access type of the wireless communication terminal in the direct path, [0042] a Uu RB configuration, [0043] a PC5 Radio link Control, RLC, channel configuration, [0044] a Uu RLC channel or logical channel configuration, [0045] a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the PC5 RLC channel, or [0046] a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the Uu RLC channel.”: [0039]; [0175], [0229]).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, the first node according to claim 7, wherein whether the first operation set comprises initiating a random access is related to whether the target bearer is the first bearer or the second bearer; when the target bearer is the first bearer, the first operation set comprises initiating a random access procedure; and when the target bearer is the second bearer, the first operation set does not comprise initiating a random access procedure (“ Preferably, the multi-path configuration comprises at least one of: [0040] information for setting up, modifying, or releasing the direct or indirect path, [0041] information of conflict-free random access resources corresponding to 4-step or 2-step random access type of the wireless communication terminal in the direct path, [0042] a Uu RB configuration, [0043] a PC5 Radio link Control, RLC, channel configuration, [0044] a Uu RLC channel or logical channel configuration, [0045] a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the PC5 RLC channel, or [0046] a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the Uu RLC channel.”: [0039]; [0175], [0228]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHENG teaches, wherein: the first receive
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of CHEN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide quick recovery for a remote UE to communicate with network device or eNB : (ZHENG; [01119]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, ZHENG teaches, The first node according to claim 3, wherein: the first receive
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of CHEN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide quick recovery for a remote UE to communicate with network device or eNB : (ZHENG; [01119]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 13, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHENG teaches, The first node according to claim 1, wherein :the first receiver, as a response to receiving a second sub-signaling, is configured to start first timer, suspend a third bearer, and configure the second bearer; the first operation set comprises: activating the third bearer; and at least one of suspending the second bearer, releasing the second bearer or re-establishing the second bearer; the first signaling comprises a first sub-signaling, a second sub-signaling and a third sub-signaling, the first sub-signaling being used to configure the first bearer, the third sub- 11 signaling being used to configure the third bearer, and the second sub-signaling being used to configure the second bearer;
the third bearer is associated with a second relay, the second relay being an L2 U2N relay UE, the first relay being different from the second relay, and the third bearer being associated with the first cell group; the target bearer is the second bearer;
the second sub-signaling comprises a first field, the first field is reconfigurationWithSync, the first field is used to indicate a path switch for the third bearer, and the first timer is a timer other than T304; and the behavior of detecting a target bearer failure comprises detecting an expiration of the first timer : [0125]-[0130], [0172]-[0187]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of CHEN to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide quick recovery for a remote UE to communicate with network device or eNB : (ZHENG; [01119]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 1, wherein :the first receive
the target bearer is the first bearer; and the third signaling is used to indicate switching from a direct path to an indirect path ( “the wireless communication terminal receives an activation or deactivation indication, to activate or deactivate at least one of the direct path or the indirect path.”: [0059]-[0061]; “ the wireless communication terminal transmits a direct path Radio Link Failure, RLF, indication or an indirect path RLF indication to the wireless communication node.”: {0077]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 1, wherein: the first receive (“ In some embodiments, the present disclosure also provides solutions of triggering conditions of the update of the path configuration, configuration methods for multiple paths, activation and deactivation methods of multiple paths, and a reporting method for path unavailability.”: [0161]).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 1, wherein the first bearer is a direct path and the second bearer is an indirect path ( “the direct path (e.g., a Uu path) in which the remote UE directly transmits data to the base station (e.g., the gNB or the gNB2) through the Uu interface of the remote UE.
It should be noted that the indirect path and the direct path may be connected to the same gNB (see FIG. 2a) or different gNBs (see FIG. 2b). Besides, if the remote UE has multiple indirect paths, these indirect paths may also correspond to the same or different gNBs. In some embodiment, the gNB1 and the gNB2 in FIG. 2b can also be regarded as two different gNB-DUs (distributed units) (e.g., DU1 and DU2) (also referred to as DU) under the same gNB-CU (Central Unit) (also referred to as CU) (also see FIG. 2c). In some embodiments, the base station mentioned in the present disclosure can be at least one of the gNB, the gNB1, the gNB2, or the CU.”: [0164]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 17, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 2, wherein the first bearer is a direct path and the second bearer is an indirect path ( “the direct path (e.g., a Uu path) in which the remote UE directly transmits data to the base station (e.g., the gNB or the gNB2) through the Uu interface of the remote UE.
[0165] It should be noted that the indirect path and the direct path may be connected to the same gNB (see FIG. 2a) or different gNBs (see FIG. 2b). Besides, if the remote UE has multiple indirect paths, these indirect paths may also correspond to the same or different gNBs. In some embodiment, the gNB1 and the gNB2 in FIG. 2b can also be regarded as two different gNB-DUs (distributed units) (e.g., DU1 and DU2) (also referred to as DU) under the same gNB-CU (Central Unit) (also referred to as CU) (also see FIG. 2c). In some embodiments, the base station mentioned in the present disclosure can be at least one of the gNB, the gNB1, the gNB2, or the CU.”: [0164]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 18, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 5, wherein the first bearer is a direct path and the second bearer is an indirect path ( “the direct path (e.g., a Uu path) in which the remote UE directly transmits data to the base station (e.g., the gNB or the gNB2) through the Uu interface of the remote UE.
It should be noted that the indirect path and the direct path may be connected to the same gNB (see FIG. 2a) or different gNBs (see FIG. 2b). Besides, if the remote UE has multiple indirect paths, these indirect paths may also correspond to the same or different gNBs. In some embodiment, the gNB1 and the gNB2 in FIG. 2b can also be regarded as two different gNB-DUs (distributed units) (e.g., DU1 and DU2) (also referred to as DU) under the same gNB-CU (Central Unit) (also referred to as CU) (also see FIG. 2c). In some embodiments, the base station mentioned in the present disclosure can be at least one of the gNB, the gNB1, the gNB2, or the CU.”: [0164]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN in view of ZHENG in view of HAN8145 teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The first node according to claim 8, wherein the first bearer is a direct path and the second bearer is an indirect path ( “the direct path (e.g., a Uu path) in which the remote UE directly transmits data to the base station (e.g., the gNB or the gNB2) through the Uu interface of the remote UE.
It should be noted that the indirect path and the direct path may be connected to the same gNB (see FIG. 2a) or different gNBs (see FIG. 2b). Besides, if the remote UE has multiple indirect paths, these indirect paths may also correspond to the same or different gNBs. In some embodiment, the gNB1 and the gNB2 in FIG. 2b can also be regarded as two different gNB-DUs (distributed units) (e.g., DU1 and DU2) (also referred to as DU) under the same gNB-CU (Central Unit) (also referred to as CU) (also see FIG. 2c). In some embodiments, the base station mentioned in the present disclosure can be at least one of the gNB, the gNB1, the gNB2, or the CU.”: [0164]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411