DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2026 and 06/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/13/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 is amended, Claims 11-12 are newly added and Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20190140262 A1), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Jeong et al. (KR 20150040141 A – Machine Translation referenced for citation), hereinafter “Jeong”. Kim and Jeong et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely silicon carbon active materials.
In regard to Claims 1-4 and 6-7, Kim et al. discloses a negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery, the negative active material comprising: a core including a silicon-carbon composite and an amorphous carbon, the silicon-carbon composite being an agglomerated product of a crystalline carbon and silicon particles wherein the crystalline carbon is natural graphite, artificial graphite, or a combination thereof (Kim, Abstract, [0025], Example 1). While the skilled artisans of Kim et al. contemplate a coating layer (Kim, [0046]), they are silent as to a coating layer on a surface of the core, the coating layer including catecholamine.
Jeong et al. discloses a negative active material comprising a core including a silicon-carbon composite comprising a crystalline carbon-based compound, an amorphous carbon-based compound, or a mixture thereof (Jeong, Abstract, [23]) wherein the core comprises a beneficial coating layer on a surface of the core which is at least 10nm thick, which anticipates the claimed ranges and the coating layer is derived from a catecholamine (dopamine), i.e. the coating includes catechol (and amine) functional groups characteristic of polydopamine (Jeong, [16, 18]) as is consistent with the description of a coating including catecholamine in the current application (Original Specification, [0027, 0050]) and is included at 5.5 wt% (Jeong, [15]), which is about 5wt% and anticipates the claimed range.
Jeong et al. teaches that by introducing a polycondopamine layer containing a large amount of a catechol group on the surface of carbon-silicon core, it is possible to produce a negative electrode active material having improved surface hydrophilicity and improved dispersibility and accordingly, when the electrode is manufactured using the negative electrode active material, the effect of improving the negative electrode performance for the secondary battery can be obtained by minimizing the intergranular agglomeration (Jeong, [21]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a coating layer including catecholamine on the surface of a Si-C core as taught in Jeong et al. to the Si-C core of Kim et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Jeong and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claims 8-9, Kim in view of Jeong et al. discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as claimed in claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: a negative electrode including the negative active material as claimed in claim 1; a positive electrode including a positive active material; and a non-aqueous electrolyte (Kim, Claim 8) and wherein the negative electrode further includes additional crystalline carbon (Kim, [0032]).
Claims 5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20190140262 A1), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Jeong et al. (KR 20150040141 A – Machine Translation referenced for citation), hereinafter “Jeong” and further in view of Shen et al. (CN 108043239 A – Machine Translation cited for reference), hereinafter “Shen”. Kim, Jeong and Shen et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely ion exchange materials.
In regard to Claims 5 and 10-12, Kim in view of Jeong et al. discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as claimed in claim 1. While Jeong discloses coating a Si-C composite with polydopamine combined with Tris-HCl (Jeong, [34]), it is silent as to variations in the polydopamine coating.
Shen et al. also discloses a polydopamine coating combined with Tris buffer which is then sulfonated using NaOH solution and HCl solution and subsequent processing which results in a sulfonated polydopamine coating which would reasonably have a catecholamine bonded with an anion of S03- wherein at least one hydrogen of a benzene ring of the catecholamine is substituted with an anion of SO3-. Shen et al. also discloses that the sulfonated polydopamine coating has the advantages of maintaining dopamine like self-polymerization and adhesion, forms a stable surface layer by deposition from Tris buffer and introduces sulfonate functionality that improves io transport selectivity (Shen, [7-8, 15]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a sulfonated polydopamine coating as taught in Shen as an obvious to try variation of the polydopamine coating disclosed in Jeong as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Shen and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Finally, the skilled artisans of Kim would also find it obvious to provide a coating layer including sulfonated polydopamine on the surface of a Si-C core as taught in modified Jeong et al. to the Si-C core of Kim et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Jeong and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725