Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 recite the limitation “determine in case” and/or “determine, in case.” This language is indefinite because the limitation is unclear regarding what is being determined, and because “in case” is typically use as a provision against something happening or being true. If the claims are suggesting conditional statements, more appropriate language would be to use “determine whether” or “determine, whether.”
For the purposes of examination, the claim limitations “determine in case” and “determine, in case” are interpreted as “determine whether” and “determine, whether” respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 20220159417 A1, hereafter Zhou).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (wireless device) in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: determining that a multicast discontinuous reception (DRX) pertaining to at least one multicast service is configured in a cell (MBS DRX configuration); determining whether a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE is in an active time of the configured multicast DRX (during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration); and transmitting at least one of a channel state information (CSI) (CSI report), a semi-persistent CSI, a periodic sounding reference signal (SRS), and a semi-persistent SRS to a base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”), in case that the MAC entity is in the active time of the configured multicast DRX (during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration) (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou further discloses:
further comprising determining in case that power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring is not configured for an active downlink bandwidth part (Zhou, [0359], “The wireless device may determine the wireless device is in an Active time of the MBS DRX when the first DRX on duration timer is running. During the Active Time, the wireless device may monitor a (MBS dedicated) PDCCH for a DCI with an MBS dedicated RNTI”; [0319], “one or more second RNTI(s) may comprise one or more RNTI dedicated for an MBS session (e.g., G-RNTI, SC-RNTI, MBS-RNTI or generally an MBS dedicated RNTI, which may be equally referred to as in this disclosure”, A wireless device may monitor a PDCCH for a DCI with a G-RNTI, SC-RNTI or MBS-RNTI) wherein, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”) corresponding to the DRX group considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast are received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to a current symbol when evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group (Zhou, [0310], “A DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element may be received. The MAC entity may stop drx-onDurationTimer and stop drx-InactivityTimer”; [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou discloses the Active Time of the MBS DRX may be based on whether the DRX on duration and DRX inactivity timer are running and further that when a DRX Command MAC CE or Long DRX Command MAC CE are received, the MAC entity may stop the drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer), and wherein, in response to determining that the MAC entity is in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group (Zhou, [0352], “In an example, the wireless device may be configured, in addition to the DRX configuration for unicast transmission in a cell, with a second DRX configuration for an MBS transmission in the same cell. The wireless device may be configured to transmit, in addition to a first CSI report for unicast transmission in a cell, a second CSI report for the MBS transmission in the same cell”, A wireless device may be configured with a DRX configuration for unicast and multicast transmission in the same cell. Unicast and multicast DRX configurations corresponds to different DRX groups), the UE transmits the at least one of the CSI, the semi-persistent CSI, the periodic SRS, and the semi-persistent SRS (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”) to the base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhou further discloses:
further comprising: determining in case that DRX on-duration timers of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group are not running (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou describes a method to determine for a MBS DRX configuration that the Active Time is based on the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration) based on at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC CE, and a long DRX command MAC CE for multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to a current symbol when evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group (Zhou, [0310], “A DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element may be received. The MAC entity may stop drx-onDurationTimer and stop drx-InactivityTimer”; [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou discloses the Active Time of the MBS DRX may be based on whether the DRX on duration and DRX inactivity timer are running and further that when a DRX Command MAC CE or Long DRX Command MAC CE are received, the MAC entity may stop the drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer); and in response to determining that the DRX on-duration timers of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group are running (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”), transmitting the at least one of the CSI, the semi-persistent CSI, the periodic SRS, and the semi-persistent SRS (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”) to the base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”), wherein a CSI masking is configured by upper layers (Zhou, [375], “a CSI masking parameter (e.g., csi-Mask) may be set up (or configured) by a base station via RRC message comprising DRX configuration parameters. The base station may transmit, to the wireless device, MAC configuration parameters of a cell group, the MAC configuration parameters comprising the CSI masking parameter”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 11, Zhou further discloses:
wherein the CSI is configured on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Zhou, [0213], “The base station may transmit configuration parameters to the UE for a plurality of PUCCH resource sets…When configured with a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, the UE may select one of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a total bit length of the UCI information bits (e.g., HARQ-ACK, SR, and/or CSI)”; [0214], “After determining a PUCCH resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, the UE may determine a PUCCH resource from the PUCCH resource set for UCI (HARQ-ACK, CSI, and/or SR) transmission”, A UE may determine a PUCCH resource set for CSI transmission based on configuration parameters for a plurality of PUCCH resource sets from the base station) in a DRX group (Zhou, [0352], “In an example, the wireless device may be configured, in addition to the DRX configuration for unicast transmission in a cell, with a second DRX configuration for an MBS transmission in the same cell. The wireless device may be configured to transmit, in addition to a first CSI report for unicast transmission in a cell, a second CSI report for the MBS transmission in the same cell”, A wireless device may transmit a CSI report based on a DRX configuration for unicast or multicast transmission in the same cell. Unicast and multicast DRX configurations corresponds to different DRX groups) in case that the CSI is transmitted to the base station (Zhou, [0211], “The UE may transmit the CSI to the base station”).
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, Zhou further discloses:
wherein the semi-persistent CSI is configured on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Zhou, [0326], “In an example, a base station may instruct (e.g., by transmitting the DCI) a wireless device to perform SP CSI reporting on PUSCH”) in a DRX group (Zhou, [0352], “In an example, the wireless device may be configured, in addition to the DRX configuration for unicast transmission in a cell, with a second DRX configuration for an MBS transmission in the same cell. The wireless device may be configured to transmit, in addition to a first CSI report for unicast transmission in a cell, a second CSI report for the MBS transmission in the same cell”, A wireless device may perform SP CSI reporting on PUSCH based on a DRX configuration for unicast or multicast transmission in the same cell. Unicast and multicast DRX configurations corresponds to different DRX groups) in case that the semi-persistent CSI is transmitted to the base station (Zhou, [0211], “The UE may transmit the CSI to the base station”; [Fig. 33] Zhou describes CSI reporting as including SP CSI reporting).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhou discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Zhou, [0220, Fig. 15], “a wireless device”) in a wireless communication network (Zhou, [0049], “This disclosure may refer to, for example, a plurality of wireless devices of a given LTE or 5G release”), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Zhou, [0220, Fig. 15], “a wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 may include multiple antennas. The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming”, Zhou discloses a wireless device with multiple antennas, a TX processing system and a RX processing system which corresponds to a wireless device comprising a transceiver); at least one processor (Zhou, [0222, Fig. 15], “processing system 1518”); and wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Zhou, [0222], “processing system 1518 may perform at least one of signal coding/processing, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that may enable the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 to operate in a wireless environment”): determine that a multicast discontinuous reception (DRX) pertaining to at least one multicast service being received is configured in a cell (MBS DRX configuration), determine whether a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE is in an active time of the configured multicast DRX (during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration), and transmit at least one of a channel state information (CSI) (CSI report), a semi-persistent CSI, a periodic sounding reference signal (SRS), and a semi-persistent SRS to a base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”), in case that the MAC entity is in the active time of the configured multicast DRX (during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration) (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to (Zhou, [0222], “processing system 1518 may perform at least one of signal coding/processing, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that may enable the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 to operate in a wireless environment”) determine in case that power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring is not configured for an active downlink bandwidth part (Zhou, [0359], “The wireless device may determine the wireless device is in an Active time of the MBS DRX when the first DRX on duration timer is running. During the Active Time, the wireless device may monitor a (MBS dedicated) PDCCH for a DCI with an MBS dedicated RNTI”; [0319], “one or more second RNTI(s) may comprise one or more RNTI dedicated for an MBS session (e.g., G-RNTI, SC-RNTI, MBS-RNTI or generally an MBS dedicated RNTI, which may be equally referred to as in this disclosure”, A wireless device may monitor a PDCCH for a DCI with a G-RNTI, SC-RNTI or MBS-RNTI), wherein, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”) corresponding to the DRX group considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast are received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to a current symbol when evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group (Zhou, [0310], “A DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element may be received. The MAC entity may stop drx-onDurationTimer and stop drx-InactivityTimer”; [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou discloses the Active Time of the MBS DRX may be based on whether the DRX on duration and DRX inactivity timer are running and further that when a DRX Command MAC CE or Long DRX Command MAC CE are received, the MAC entity may stop the drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer), and wherein, in response to determining that the MAC entity is in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group, the UE transmits the at least one of the CSI, the semi-persistent CSI, the periodic SRS, and the semi-persistent SRS (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”) to the base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhou further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to (Zhou, [0222], “processing system 1518 may perform at least one of signal coding/processing, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that may enable the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 to operate in a wireless environment”): determine in case that DRX on-duration timers of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group are not running (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou describes a method to determine for a MBS DRX configuration that the Active Time is based on the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration) based on at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC CE, and a long DRX command MAC CE for multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to a current symbol when evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group (Zhou, [0310], “A DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element may be received. The MAC entity may stop drx-onDurationTimer and stop drx-InactivityTimer”; [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou discloses the Active Time of the MBS DRX may be based on whether the DRX on duration and DRX inactivity timer are running and further that when a DRX Command MAC CE or Long DRX Command MAC CE are received, the MAC entity may stop the drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer), and in response to determining that the DRX on-duration timers of all the configured multicast DRXs corresponding to the DRX group are running (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”), transmit the at least one of the CSI, the semi-persistent CSI, the periodic SRS, and the semi-persistent SRS (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”) to the base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”), wherein a CSI masking is configured by upper layers (Zhou, [375], “a CSI masking parameter (e.g., csi-Mask) may be set up (or configured) by a base station via RRC message comprising DRX configuration parameters. The base station may transmit, to the wireless device, MAC configuration parameters of a cell group, the MAC configuration parameters comprising the CSI masking parameter”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol specification (Release 16)”, 3GPP TS 38.321, version 16.7.0, December 2021, 3GPP Organizational Partners, 158 pages, hereafter 38.321.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou further discloses:
determining in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring (Zhou, [0257], “A wireless device monitors PDCCH candidates in one or more of the following search spaces sets…a Type3-PDCCH CSS set configured by SearchSpace in PDCCH-Config with searchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by INT-RNTI, SFI-RNTI, TPC-PUSCH-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI, TPC-SRS-RNTI, CI-RNTI, or PS-RNTI”) is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part (Zhou, [0251], “In an example, a MAC entity may apply normal operations on an active BWP for an activated serving cell configured with a BWP comprising: transmitting on UL-SCH; transmitting on RACH; monitoring a PDCCH; transmitting PUCCH”, Zhou describes that a wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates on an active BWP and in a search space set defined by a DCI format with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI); wherein a DRX on-duration timer associated with a current DRX cycle pertaining to the unicast DRX is not started (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration"; [0365], “during the second active time (e.g., when the second DRX inactivity timer is running, when the second DRX on duration timer is running, or when the second DRX retransmission timer is running, etc.) of the unicast DRX configuration”, Zhou describes a UE can transmit a CSI report for a MBS session regardless of whether the device is in an active time of unicast DRX configuration. Zhou further describes active time of a unicast DRX configuration as when the DRX on duration timer is running); and determining, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”) considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (Zhou, [0310], “A DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element may be received. The MAC entity may stop drx-onDurationTimer and stop drx-InactivityTimer”; [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou describes the Active Time of the MBS DRX may be based on whether the DRX on duration and DRX inactivity timer are running and further that when a DRX Command MAC CE or Long DRX Command MAC CE are received, the MAC entity may stop the drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer), wherein, in response to determining that the MAC entity is in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs, transmitting the at least one of the CSI, the semi-persistent CSI, the periodic SRS, and the semi-persistent SRS (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”) to the base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
determining in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part; determining in case that a current symbol occurs within a DRX on-duration timer duration; and determining, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 38.321 discloses:
determining in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring (38.321, [3.2], “DCP” is defined as “DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI”) is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part (38.321, [5.7, pg. 64], “if DCP monitoring is configured for the active DL BWP”); determining in case that a current symbol occurs within a DRX on-duration timer duration (38.321, [5.7, pg. 64], “if the current symbol n occurs within drx-onDurationTimer duration”); and determining, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured DRXs considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (38.321, [5.7, pg. 64], “if the MAC entity would not be in Active Time considering grants/assignments/DRX Command MAC CE/Long DRX Command MAC CE received and Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all DRX Active Time conditions as specified in this clause”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include the determining in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part; determining in case that a current symbol occurs within a DRX on-duration timer duration; and determining, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs as taught by 38.321. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, so “the MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH discontinuously using the DRX operation” (38.321, [5.7, pg. 61]) according to 3GPP protocols.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhou further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to (Zhou, [0222], “processing system 1518 may perform at least one of signal coding/processing, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that may enable the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 to operate in a wireless environment”): determine in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring (Zhou, [0257], “A wireless device monitors PDCCH candidates in one or more of the following search spaces sets…a Type3-PDCCH CSS set configured by SearchSpace in PDCCH-Config with searchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by INT-RNTI, SFI-RNTI, TPC-PUSCH-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI, TPC-SRS-RNTI, CI-RNTI, or PS-RNTI”) is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part (Zhou, [0251], “In an example, a MAC entity may apply normal operations on an active BWP for an activated serving cell configured with a BWP comprising: transmitting on UL-SCH; transmitting on RACH; monitoring a PDCCH; transmitting PUCCH”, Zhou describes that a wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates on an active BWP and in a search space set defined by a DCI format with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI), wherein a DRX on-duration timer associated with a current DRX cycle pertaining to the unicast DRX is not started (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration"; [0365], “during the second active time (e.g., when the second DRX inactivity timer is running, when the second DRX on duration timer is running, or when the second DRX retransmission timer is running, etc.) of the unicast DRX configuration”, Zhou describes a UE can transmit a CSI report for a MBS session regardless of whether the device is in an active time of unicast DRX configuration. Zhou further describes active time of a unicast DRX configuration as when the DRX on duration timer is running), and determine, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (Zhou, [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”) considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (Zhou, [0310], “A DRX Command MAC control element or a Long DRX Command MAC control element may be received. The MAC entity may stop drx-onDurationTimer and stop drx-InactivityTimer”; [0320], “In an example, for the MBS DRX configuration, the Active Time of the MBS DRX may comprise a time during which the DRX on duration timer or the DRX inactivity timer of the MBS DRX configuration is running”, Zhou discloses the Active Time of the MBS DRX may be based on whether the DRX on duration and DRX inactivity timer are running and further that when a DRX Command MAC CE or Long DRX Command MAC CE are received, the MAC entity may stop the drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer), wherein, in response to determining that the MAC entity is in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs, transmit the at least one of the CSI, the semi-persistent CSI, the periodic SRS, and the semi-persistent SRS (Zhou, [353], “The wireless device may transmit the first CSI report for the MBS session during an active time of the MBS DRX configuration regardless of whether the wireless device is in an active time of the unicast DRX configuration”) to the base station (Zhou, [158], “The UE may provide the CSI report to the base station”) corresponding to the cell (Zhou, [0376], “In an example embodiment, when configured with a MBS DRX configuration in a cell, in addition to a unicast DRX configuration in the same cell, the wireless device may determine a CSI report transmission, for an MBS, based on a CSI masking parameter”).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
determine in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part; determine in case that a current symbol occurs within a DRX on-duration timer duration; and determine, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 38.321 discloses:
determine in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring (38.321, [3.2], “DCP” is defined as “DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI”) is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part (38.321, [5.7, pg. 64], “if DCP monitoring is configured for the active DL BWP”); determine, in case that a current symbol occurs within a DRX on-duration timer duration (38.321, [5.7, pg. 64], “if the current symbol n occurs within drx-onDurationTimer duration”); and determine, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured DRXs considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs (38.321, [5.7, pg. 64], “if the MAC entity would not be in Active Time considering grants/assignments/DRX Command MAC CE/Long DRX Command MAC CE received and Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all DRX Active Time conditions as specified in this clause”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhou to include the determine in case that downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving-radio network temporary identifier monitoring is configured for an active downlink bandwidth part; determine in case that a current symbol occurs within a DRX on-duration timer duration; and determine, in case that the MAC entity is not in the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs considering at least one of a multicast assignment, a DRX command MAC control element (CE) and a long DRX command MAC CE for the multicast received from the base station until 4 milliseconds prior to the current symbol in case that evaluating the active time of all the configured multicast DRXs as taught by 38.321. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, so “the MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH discontinuously using the DRX operation” (38.321, [5.7, pg. 61]) according to 3GPP protocols.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 20220210766 A1) discloses a base station configuring UE with a DRX cycle for MBS.
/J.B.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418