DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spreen [U.S. Patent No. 5155676].
Regarding claim 1, Spreen discloses a planar transformer comprising:
a first core unit (e.g., comprising core portions 5 and 7, column 5, lines 10-20, Fig. 3-4) including a first receiving portion (e.g., open area between link portions 73, 74, legs 81, 84, Fig. 3-4) extending in a first direction (e.g., passage direction of the receiving portion, Fig. 3, 4) thereof;
a second core unit (e.g., comprising core portions 6, 8, column 5, lines 10-20) spaced from the first core unit (e.g., spaced by gaps g4, g5), disposed in parallel with the first core unit in a second direction (e.g., horizontally perpendicular to the first direction, as seen in Fig. 3, 4) thereof, and including a second receiving portion (e.g., open area between link portions 71, 72, legs 82, 83, Fig. 3-4) extending in the first direction;
a first coil unit (e.g., 100, column 5, lines 50-60, Fig. 4) including a first through hole formed in a center portion (e.g., center through hole of coil 100) thereof, and a first coil pattern (e.g., circular pattern of coil 100) passing through the first receiving portion and the second receiving portion around the first through hole to form a turn (e.g., coil 100 includes at least a turn, Fig. 4); and
a second coil unit (e.g., 110) including a second through hole formed in a center portion (e.g., center through hole of coil 110) thereof, and aligned with the first through hole in a third direction (e.g., direction perpendicular to the first direction and second direction such as the leg direction) thereof, and a second coil pattern (e.g., circular pattern of coil 110) passing through the first receiving portion and the second receiving portion around the second through hole (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Spreen discloses wherein the first core unit (e.g., comprising core portions 5 and 7) includes a first leg (e.g., 84, Fig. 3) and a second leg (e.g., 81) extending in the third direction (e.g., perpendicular to surfaces portions 73, 74) and spaced from each other in the second direction, and
wherein the second core unit (e.g., comprising core portions 6 and 8) includes a first leg (e.g., 83) and a second leg (e.g., 84) extending in the third direction and spaced from each other in the second direction.
Regarding claim 3, Spreen The planar transformer of claim 2, wherein the second leg 81 of the first core unit and the first leg 83 of the second core unit face each other in the second direction (sides of the legs 81 and 83 aligned with the gap sides of gaps g4, g5 technically face each other).
Regarding claim 4, Spreen discloses wherein the second leg 81 of the first core unit and the first leg 83 of the second core unit pass through the first through hole (e.g., through hole of coil 100) and the second through hole (e.g., through hole of coil 110) in the third direction.
Regarding claim 5, Spreen discloses wherein the first core unit includes a first upper core (e.g., 5, Fig. 3) and a first lower core (e.g., 7) coupled to each other in the third direction, and
wherein the second core unit includes a second upper core (e.g., 6) and a second lower core (e.g., 8) coupled to each other in the third direction.
Regarding claim 9, Spreen discloses wherein the first coil pattern is formed in a plurality of turns (e.g., coil pattern for coil 100, see Fig. 4) and the second coil pattern is formed in a single pattern (e.g., coil pattern for coil 110, see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spreen [U.S. Patent No. 5155676].
Regarding claim 12, Spreen discloses a converter wherein the planar transformer comprises,
a primary switching unit (see column 5, lines 50-52) including a DC terminal receiving DC power (e.g., terminal at the load connected, Fig. 4), and
a secondary rectifying unit (e.g., 120, column 5, lines 55-57) including one end portion connected to an opposite end portion of the planar transformer and an opposite end portion connected to an output end portion (e.g., load connected to the circuit, Fig. 4).
Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for an explicit disclosure an AC terminal connected to one end portion of the planar transformer and the primary switching unit including a plurality of first switching elements.
However, Spreen discloses a converter circuit and therefore is connected to AC terminal and a plurality of first switching elements (e.g., noted the converter as having a bridge primary circuit, column 5, lines 50-51, the bridge must have plurality of switches).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an AC terminal connected to one end portion of the planar transformer and the primary switching unit includes a plurality of first switching elements since those are essential elements in the converter circuit for proper operation of the system.
Regarding claim 13, Spreen discloses the converter further includes a substrate (e.g., conductors such as busbars and circuit lands or terminals are printed, see Abstract, and therefore must be printed on substrate).
Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the secondary rectifying unit is disposed in a center portion of the substrate, the primary switching unit is disposed at one side of the secondary rectifying unit on the substrate, and the transformer is disposed at an opposite side of the rectifying unit on the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the secondary rectifying unit disposed in a center portion of the substrate, the primary switching unit disposed at one side of the secondary rectifying unit on the substrate, and the transformer disposed at an opposite side of the rectifying unit on the substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, Paragraph 0061, Specification, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secondary rectifying unit be disposed in a center portion of the substrate, the primary switching unit disposed at one side of the secondary rectifying unit on the substrate, and the transformer be disposed at an opposite side of the rectifying unit on the substrate to accommodate the essential elements of the converter on a substrate to miniaturize the device and require less materials used to lower cost of production.
Claim(s) 6-8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spreen in view of Koprivnak et al [U.S. Patent No. 8054154 B2].
Regarding claim 6, Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the first coil unit includes a plurality of first printed circuit boards stacked in the third direction.
Koprivnak discloses first coil unit (e.g., 12) includes a plurality of first printed circuit boards (e.g., 22a’s for unit 12, column 6, lines 16-42, Fig. 2A) stacked in the third direction (e.g., stacking direction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first coil unit includes a plurality of first printed circuit boards stacked in the third direction as taught by Koprivnak to the first coil unit of Spreen to provide the transformer with more winding turns to increase the inductance capacity.
Regarding claim 7, Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the second coil unit includes a plurality of second printed circuit boards spaced from each other in the third direction.
Koprivnak discloses second coil unit (e.g., 14) includes a plurality of second printed circuit boards (e.g., 22, 22b, 22c, column, lines 16-42, Fig. 2A) spaced from each other in the third direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second coil unit includes a plurality of second printed circuit boards stacked in the third direction as taught by Koprivnak to the second coil unit of Spreen to provide the transformer with more winding turns for the secondary winding to increase the inductance capacity of the device.
Regarding claim 8, Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the second coil pattern includes a second upper coil pattern and a second lower coil pattern, that form a single turn, respectively.
Koprivnak discloses second coil pattern (e.g., coil traces 21 of second coil unit 14) includes a second upper coil pattern (e.g., coil pattern 21 on 22s1) and a second lower coil pattern (e.g., coil pattern 21 on 22s2), that form a single turn, respectively (Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second coil pattern includes a second upper coil pattern and a second lower coil pattern, that form a single turn, respectively as taught by Koprivnak to the second coil pattern of Spreen to provide the transformer with wider conductor winding for the secondary winding to increase the current or power capacity of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the first coil pattern includes a first upper coil pattern and a first lower coil pattern that form a plurality of turns, respectively.
Koprivnak discloses first coil pattern (e.g., coil traces 21 of first coil unit 12) includes a first upper coil pattern (e.g., electrical traces 21 on upper circuit board 22a, Fig. 2A) and a first lower coil pattern (e.g., electrical traces 21 on lower circuit board 22a, Fig. 2A) that form a plurality of turns (more than one turn each), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first coil pattern includes a first upper coil pattern and a first lower coil pattern that form a plurality of turns as taught by Koprivnak to the first coil unit of Spreen to increase the inductance capacity of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Spreen discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the first coil pattern includes a first upper coil pattern and a first lower coil pattern that form a plurality of turns, respectively,
wherein the second coil pattern includes a second upper coil pattern and a second lower coil pattern, that form a single turn, respectively, and
wherein the first coil pattern is disposed between the second upper coil pattern and the second lower coil pattern.
Koprivnak discloses first coil pattern (e.g., coil traces 21 of first coil unit 12) includes a first upper coil pattern (e.g., electrical traces 21 on upper circuit board 22a, Fig. 2A) and a first lower coil pattern (e.g., electrical traces 21 on lower circuit board 22a, Fig. 2A) that form a plurality of turns (more than one turn each), respectively,
second coil pattern (e.g., coil traces 21 of second coil unit 14) includes a second upper coil pattern (e.g., coil pattern 21 on 22s1) and a second lower coil pattern (e.g., coil pattern 21 on 22s2), that form a single turn, respectively (see Fig. 2A), and
wherein the first coil pattern (e.g., electrical traces 21 on upper circuit board 22a, Fig. 2A) is disposed between the second upper coil pattern (e.g., coil pattern 21 on 22s1) and the second lower coil pattern (e.g., coil pattern 21 on 22s2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first coil pattern includes a first upper coil pattern and a first lower coil pattern that form a plurality of turns, respectively,
the second coil pattern includes a second upper coil pattern and a second lower coil pattern, that form a single turn, respectively, and
have the first coil pattern be disposed between the second upper coil pattern and the second lower coil pattern as taught by Koprivnak to the transformer of Spreen to provide the device with an alternate stack of the primary and secondary windings to improve magnetic inductance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892.
/J.S.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837