DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the EV charger adapter” and “the EV charging port” lack antecedent basis, as these elements are not found in the preceding claim which this claim is depends upon. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva et al. (USPUB 2022/0149641) in view of Farkas et al. (US 2022/0001762) in view of Clay et al. (USPUB 2021/0162867).
As to Claim 1, Silva discloses a universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger comprising: a. modular battery housing (Figure 1); b. battery management system (Figure 30); c. smartphone app monitoring system (Paragraph 83); d. pure sine inverter (Paragraph 59); e. sturdy case (Figure 32); g. AC output connector (Paragraph 59). Silva does not expressly disclose f. built-in fire extinguisher and h. EV charger adapter. Farkas discloses EV charger adapter (Figure 6). Clay discloses a built-in fire extinguisher (Paragraph 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Farkas’s EV charger adapter, and add it to the device of Silva in order to allow for charging of an electric vehicle from the portable power station. It would have been further obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this inventionl6 to take the teaching of Clay’s fire extinguisher and add it to the device of Silva in order to provide potential battery fires.
As to Claim 2, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein the modular battery housing allows for the on-board electric vehicle charger to be aligned by itself or in either series or parallel (Silva Figure 3 and 32).
As to Claim 3, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein the battery management system protects against overloads, critical temperatures, and short circuits (Silva Paragraphs 83, 97 and 98).
As to Claim 4, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein the smartphone app monitoring system allows the user to track current, voltage, SOC, temperature, and the current charge on the emergency on-board electric vehicle charger (Silva Paragraphs 83, 97 and 98).
As to Claim 5, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein the pure sine inverter transfers 110V/220V (Silva Paragraph 59).
As to Claim 6, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein the sturdy case is designed to fit inside of any EV and be light enough to be carried by a single person (Silva Figure 3, 32, and Portable).
As to Claim 7, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein the built-in fire extinguisher deploys in the event of a fire (Clay Paragraph 7).
As to Claim 8, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 1, wherein AC output connector is connected to the EV charger adapter, and this is connected to the EV charging port (Farkas Figure 6).
As to Claim 9, Silva disclosesn a method of manufacturing a universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger comprising: a. modular battery housing (Figure 1); b. battery management system (Figure 30); c. smartphone app monitoring system (Paragraph 83); d. pure sine inverter (Paragraph 59); e. sturdy case (Figure 32). Silva does not expressly disclose f. built-in fire extinguisher; and g. AC output connector (to an EV). Farkas discloses an AC output connector (EV) (Figure 6). Clay discloses a built-in fire extinguisher (Paragraph 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Farkas’s EV charger adapter, and add it to the device of Silva in order to allow for charging of an electric vehicle from the portable power station. It would have been further obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this inventio to take the teaching of Clay’s fire extinguisher and add it to the device of Silva in order to provide potential battery fires.
As to Claim 10, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the modular battery housing allows for the on-board electric vehicle charger to be aligned by itself or in either series or parallel (Silva Figure 3 and 32).
As to Claim 11, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the battery management system protects against overloads, critical temperatures, and short circuits (Silva Paragraphs 83, 97 and 98).
As to Claim 12, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the smartphone app monitoring system allows the user to track current, voltage, SOC, temperature, and the current charge on the emergency on-board electric vehicle charger (Silva Paragraphs 83, 97 and 98).
As to Claim 13, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the pure sine inverter transfers 110/220V (Silva Paragraph 59).
As to Claim 14, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the sturdy case is designed to fit inside of any EV and be light enough to be carried by a single person (Silva Figure 3, 32, and Portable).
As to Claim 15, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the built-in fire extinguisher deploys in the event of a fire (Clay Paragraph 7).
As to Claim 16, Silva, Farkas, and Clay disclose a method of manufacturing the universal emergency on-board electric vehicle charger as in claim 9, wherein the AC output connector is connected to the EV charger adapter, and this is connected to the EV charging port (Farkas Figure 6).
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859