DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the filter case comprises” in lines 1-2. It is suggested to amend it to --- wherein the filter case further comprises ---.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a third part” in line 18. It is suggested to amend it to --- the third part ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation “sealing member” in claim 6 which has been interpreted to mean or include a sealing rib 111 corresponding to a nozzle rib 103 to surround the nozzle rib 103, a cavity 112 through which a nozzle 101 penetrate the sealing member 110, and a sealing groove 113 having a shape corresponding to an upper portion of the nozzle 101. (Page 22, lines 6-9 of the Specification of the instant application; Figs. 9, 10 of the Specification of the instant application)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2013/0212894; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 17, Kim shows a clothes treating apparatus (100, fig. 2) comprising:
a cabinet (110, fig. 2);
a tub (120, figs. 2, 3) inside the cabinet (110, fig. 2), the tub (120, figs. 2, 3) including:
an air outlet (air outlet of item 120 where item 160 disposes, fig. 7);
a tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) protruding outward from an outer side of the tub (120, figs. 2, 3), and configured to guide air discharged through the air outlet (air outlet of item 120 where item 160 disposes, fig. 7), the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) having a duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) formed in a side of the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7);
a filter case (161, fig. 7) to which a filter (162, fig. 7) is installed, the filter case (161, fig. 7) inserted in the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7); and
a cleaning nozzle (170, fig. 7) including a nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) inserted into the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) through the duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) to be positioned inside the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7), the cleaning nozzle (170, fig. 7) coupled with the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) to be inclined with respect to the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) (as shown in fig. 7, item 316 of item 300 of item 170 being inclined with respect to item 151) so that the nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) faces the filter (162, fig. 7),
wherein the nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) has a first part (right portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7), a second part (left portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7), and a third part (middle portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7) located between the first part (right portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7) and the second part (left portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7), the first part (right portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7) is located close to the duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7), and
wherein the cleaning nozzle (170, fig. 7) is positioned so that a distance between the nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) and the filter (162, fig. 7) is a minimum (minimum distance between item 316 of item 300 and item 162 at middle portion or part of item 300 as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 7) at a third part (middle portion or part of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7) of the nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2013/0212894; hereinafter Kim) in view of Shin et al. (US 2017/0037560; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a clothes treating apparatus (100, fig. 2) comprising:
a cabinet (110, fig. 2);
a tub (120, figs. 2, 3) inside the cabinet (110, fig. 2), having a shape of a cylinder (as shown in fig. 3), and including:
an air outlet (air outlet of item 120 where item 160 disposes, fig. 7) formed in a circumference of the tub (120, figs. 2, 3); and
a tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) protruding outward from the tub (120, figs. 2, 3) and configured to guide air discharged through the air outlet (air outlet of item 120 where item 160 disposes, fig. 7), the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) having a duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) formed in a side of the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7);
a filter case (161, fig. 7) to which a filter (162, fig. 7) is installed to filter a foreign material (lint, [0068]) included in air passing through the air outlet (air outlet of item 120 where item 160 disposes, fig. 7), the filter case (161, fig. 7) coupled to the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7); and
a cleaning nozzle (170, fig. 7) coupled to the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7), having one side (left side of item 170, fig. 7) corresponding to a shape of the air outlet (air outlet of item 120 where item 160 disposes, fig. 7), and inclined (as shown in fig. 7) with respect to the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) to face the filter (162, fig. 7), the cleaning nozzle (170, fig. 7) including a nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) inserted into the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) through the duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) to be positioned inside the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) and configured to spray water (spraying the cleaning water, [0114]) toward the filter (162, fig. 7),
wherein the duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) has a shape so that the nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) which passes through the duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) is fully exposed to the filter (162, fig. 7) for the sprayed water to reach the filter (162, fig. 7).
Kim does not disclose the duct opening has a quadrangular shape.
Shin teaches the duct opening (Shin, opening of item 311 where item 32 disposed inside, fig. 3 and ANNOTATED figs. 1, 6) has a quadrangular shape (Shin, as shown in figs. 3, 6, 7, item 321 of item 32 has a rectangular shape or quadrangular shape, so the opening of item 311 should have a rectangular shape or quadrangular shape for receiving the item 32)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the clothes treating apparatus of Kim with the duct opening has a quadrangular shape, as taught by Shin, for allowing to provide the filter case and the nozzle of the cleaning nozzle as one piece which can be accessed from an outside of the tub duct. Consequently, it provides an ease of cleaning the filter within a shorter period of time when the filter is heavily clogged. Thus, the maintenance cost is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified discloses wherein the nozzle (300, figs. 7, 8, [0114]) extends along a first direction (inclined direction of item 316 of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7) inclined with respect to the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7), and the first direction (inclined direction of item 316 of item 300, ANNOTATED fig. 7) is parallel to a tangent line (tangent line of item 162, ANNOTATED fig. 7) to a point (point on item 162, ANNOTATED fig. 7) on the filter (162, fig. 7).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Shin as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (US 2013/0318813; hereinafter Hong).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified discloses wherein the duct opening (opening of item 151 where item 311 disposed inside, ANNOTATED fig. 7) is formed by passing through the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7) along a second direction (horizontal direction or second direction, ANNOTATED fig. 7) perpendicular with respect to the tub duct (151, figs. 3, 7).
Kim does not disclose the duct opening is formed by passing through the tub duct along a second direction inclined with respect to the tub duct.
Hong teaches the duct opening (Hong, duct opening where item 200 disposed inside as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 11) is formed by passing through the tub duct (Hong, 161, fig. 11) along a second direction (Hong, direction or second direction of duct opening of item 161 as shown in ANNOTTED fig. 11) inclined with respect to the tub duct (Hong, 161, fig. 11).
It would have been obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the clothes treating apparatus of Kim with the duct opening is formed by passing through the tub duct along a second direction inclined with respect to the tub duct, because the applicant has not disclosed that the duct opening being formed by passing through the tub duct along a second direction inclined with respect to the tub duct provides an advantage or solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either the of or the claimed because both perform the same function of equally well.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first direction along which the nozzle extends is perpendicular to the second direction.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “The clothes treating apparatus of claim 3”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the first direction along which the nozzle extends is perpendicular to the second direction”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 4 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the first direction along which the nozzle extends is perpendicular to the second direction” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 4.
As to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cleaning nozzle further comprises a nozzle rib inserted in the duct opening to cover the duct opening, and
the nozzle rib has a quadrangle shape to prevent water sprayed from the nozzle from being blocked by the nozzle rib.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “The clothes treating apparatus of claim 1”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the cleaning nozzle further comprises a nozzle rib inserted in the duct opening to cover the duct opening, and the nozzle rib has a quadrangle shape to prevent water sprayed from the nozzle from being blocked by the nozzle rib.”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 5-8 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the cleaning nozzle further comprises a nozzle rib inserted in the duct opening to cover the duct opening, and the nozzle rib has a quadrangle shape to prevent water sprayed from the nozzle from being blocked by the nozzle rib.” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 5-8.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the filter case comprises: a case body having a shape corresponding to the tub duct and inserted into the tub duct; and a case opening formed in a side of the case body to correspond to the duct opening of the tub duct so that the nozzle is passed through the duct opening and the case opening.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “wherein the filter case comprises: a case body having a shape corresponding to the tub duct and inserted into the tub duct; ….”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “…, wherein the filter case comprises: …; and a case opening formed in a side of the case body to correspond to the duct opening of the tub duct so that the nozzle is passed through the duct opening and the case opening”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 9-12 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the filter case comprises: …; and a case opening formed in a side of the case body to correspond to the duct opening of the tub duct so that the nozzle is passed through the duct opening and the case opening” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 9-12.
As to claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the filter case comprises a support groove formed along a circumference of the filter in a bottom of the filter case, and the tub duct comprises a support rib formed along a circumference of the air outlet and inserted into the support groove to support the filter case.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “The clothes treating apparatus of claim 1”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the filter case comprises a support groove formed along a circumference of the filter in a bottom of the filter case, and the tub duct comprises a support rib formed along a circumference of the air outlet and inserted into the support groove to support the filter case”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 13-14 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the filter case comprises a support groove formed along a circumference of the filter in a bottom of the filter case, and the tub duct comprises a support rib formed along a circumference of the air outlet and inserted into the support groove to support the filter case” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 13-14.
As to claim 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the filter case comprises a first support surface positioned at a lower end of a bottom of the filter case, and a catching protrusion positioned at an upper end of the bottom of the filter case and protruding outward from the filter case, the tub duct comprises a second support surface corresponding to the first support surface and supporting the first support surface, and the filter case is coupled with the tub duct by the first support surface supported by the second support surface, and the catching protrusion caught by a circumferential surface of the tub.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “The clothes treating apparatus of claim 1”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the filter case comprises a first support surface positioned at a lower end of a bottom of the filter case, and a catching protrusion positioned at an upper end of the bottom of the filter case and protruding outward from the filter case, the tub duct comprises a second support surface corresponding to the first support surface and supporting the first support surface, and the filter case is coupled with the tub duct by the first support surface supported by the second support surface, and the catching protrusion caught by a circumferential surface of the tub”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 15 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the filter case comprises a first support surface positioned at a lower end of a bottom of the filter case, and a catching protrusion positioned at an upper end of the bottom of the filter case and protruding outward from the filter case, the tub duct comprises a second support surface corresponding to the first support surface and supporting the first support surface, and the filter case is coupled with the tub duct by the first support surface supported by the second support surface, and the catching protrusion caught by a circumferential surface of the tub” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 15.
As to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein a first part of the nozzle is positioned outside the tub duct and a second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and both the first part of the nozzle and the second part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “wherein a first part of the nozzle … and a second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and both the first part of the nozzle and the second part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “wherein a first part of the nozzle is positioned outside the tub duct and a second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and both the first part of the nozzle and the second part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 16 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein a first part of the nozzle is positioned outside the tub duct and a second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and both the first part of the nozzle and the second part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 16.
As to claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the clothes treating apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first part of the nozzle is positioned outside the tub duct and the second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and the first part of the nozzle, the second part of the nozzle, and the third part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Kim as modified discloses “wherein the first part of the nozzle … and the second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and the first part of the nozzle, the second part of the nozzle, and the third part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter”. However, Kim does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the first part of the nozzle is positioned outside the tub duct and the second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and the first part of the nozzle, the second part of the nozzle, and the third part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 18 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “wherein the first part of the nozzle is positioned outside the tub duct and the second part of the nozzle is positioned inside the tub duct, and the first part of the nozzle, the second part of the nozzle, and the third part of the nozzle are fully exposed to the filter to spray water to the filter” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 18.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762